Actress Gloria Young explains why she caused commotion at a bank over N20k | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 August 2015

Actress Gloria Young explains why she caused commotion at a bank over N20k

Popular actress, Gloria Anozie Young, has explained why she caused a scene at a bank recently. Speaking with Punch, the iconic actress, who is married to Norbert Young, said she had to react after the bank refused to refund her N20,000 which was debited from her account since December 2014.
“I went to use an ATM at Ejigbo, close to NNPC bus-stop in Lagos in December. I wanted to withdraw N20,000 but the machine did not dispense the money after debiting my account. I went to the second machine and it paid me. After six days without hearing a word from the bank, I went to complain. I also went to my bank to report the situation. This was in December. I have gone to them so many times to talk about it but all to no avail.
“Now my lawyer is about to serve them a letter. He has been speaking with them but the bank keeps calling me to beg me instead of paying me my money. The matter has been dragging for too long. I am very angry at my bank because if they cannot fight for me because of N20,000, then they cannot fight for me when it comes to millions of naira. The amount might not sound like a big deal but it can pay some people’s salary. It is not just about me but others who go through similar situations. A letter from my lawyer would soon get to them,” she said.

108 comments:

Bt is dat enough reason to act like dat?

She doesn't need those long talk wit them, let her sue them.

Happy New Month!

Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory of the LORD is risen upon thee. Isaiah 60:1

Henceforth doors r opening, u r moving into a season of open doors. Every door u stand b4 shall b opened b4 u IJN!

God bless Linda Ikeji, all LIB reader's and ur household's! Sweet kisses and luv y'all.

Welcome 2d month of August!
Long Live LIB!

Lol money no dey now,the woman dey parah haha

I can bet it that bank is not First Bank or Gt Bank!!!!

Why hide the bank name in cases like this?

I've had the same problem too.
It took like one month, before I got the money back.

Exactly! That's how de wanted to wave my 30. m wee si fa mba it cant happen. Good job Gloria cos even if it's N500, meehn its ur damn money. Ndoooshi!

Yep! I support her move, that 20k is like a million to someone, they're always quick to make such error but slow to correct it.
The day it happened to me and the bank staff asked me to check back in 15 working days, I felt like going for his collar.

My Oga no vex

It's her money o

Happy New Month!

Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory of the LORD is risen upon thee. Isaiah 60:1

Henceforth doors r opening, u r moving into a season of open doors. Every door u stand b4 shall b opened b4 u IJN!

God bless Linda Ikeji, all LIB reader's and ur household's! Sweet kisses and luv y'all.

Welcome 2d month of August!
Long Live LIB!

Ade said...

My brother's 20k is still hanging so is my 5k since Jan... we don even tire to dey ask

Act like wat??? Were u there? Nwokem u bera go wash ur boxers. Today is Saturday.

Its her money...so she. Can act however she wants.no be her hard work?mumu

It's her money. She shld be refunded

Silence and patience have been proven to solve huge issues... you can give it a try next time. James 1:26

Yea it can pay sm1 salary,u r 100percent rite

Money is money so what she did is gud...

You are correct ma

Yes ooooo

She is making d rit move, incase of next time!

Nwanne wilhimenna said...

Wilheminna I'm beginning to love u (sisterly love o) . Your comments crack me up even from my hospital bed. U r definitely from anambra. Your ibo expressions are awesome. Ngwa nwa nne m kanyi bie oma. (Hugs)

Flabbergasted said...

I have had d same problem wit first bank, it took dem 2mnth 2 reverse it after so mny filling of form and shouts, dis bnks can be stupid @times

Yes o! My dad was debited 50k since december2013 till today, dey hav not refunded d money! Keystone bank debited My dad 50k in December 2013

Tochi Paul said...

I see nothing wrong in reacting at the bank over her hard earned money. Some bankers can be very very annoying...
I have had similar experience using UNION Bank ATM but mad the report to My Bank UBA Plc, the issue was resolved between the both banks and I was credited later though it took time, I had to visit the ATM manager severally who never posted the complaint claiming I gave wrong info not until he was transferred, the new ATM manager helped revisit the form and noticed the error and corrected it and in Two days I was credited.
#Dankwata

I dnt blame her. It can be so frustrating and annoying fot ones money to be withhold by the bank due to erroneous debiting

Yes ooo nah ur money

Even if its 5k, its yours, I know some poor people here will start spitting out nonsense. Its her money.

nigerians are scared of law suit because it takes too long or justice will not be done, that is why our rights are not respected because they think no repercussion. pls sue them for 100 million

Oga don't talk like dat.....she has the right to act anyhow she want cos it's her hard earned moni.....

Lmao @ ka anyi bie OMA...ngwa *hugs*

I pray u get up from d hospital bed hale n hearty IJN. Get well soon

@iameman300 said...

Why do I have a feeling it's Sterling bank? Sterling Bank Staffs I hope you are reading this.... And refund my money since 1st of July!!

Sue dem criminals using suit to disguise. Try dat shit wit me nd I will shout also even if na 5k I wil shout. Ma in-laws 20k is still pending till date. First Bank is d worst bank eva.

Nathaniel,if na u I know say u go dey cry

Bishop,silence and patience you say??? I guess you've never been in those shoes before.Ecobank debited me 30k in may 2014.I tried patience,threats, etc.they were just pushing me back and forth till I gaveup the cash.fraudsters!!!

Lmao

It's he'd hard earned money so she should scream at them. #bankisshh so annoying

LIVING REAL. said...

Y won't she react, is 7 months not enough to refund her money? , u dat don't work and don't have any bank account, wat do u know, beg beg like u, go and eat ur mummy's food and wash ur dirty play pants,idiot

Njar Takon said...

She can act how ever she wants it's her money n there don't grow on trees.

@ Nathaniel go and steal 20k and be caught and see what will happen to u, then u can ask if just 20k is enough to act like that, even if it was 1k she EVERY reason to act anyhow. It's her money she worked hard for it. I'll do worse becos of 1k sef cos I work very hard for money.

Una sha wan talk, No ATM can dispense 50k at a go, or does it mean ur dad tried withdrawing 20k twice and 10k once? People too Bobo, we knw ure rich...lol

Mine was Ecobank, got an alert dat 20k has been debited from so so nd so ATM, so had to rush down to the nearest bank becos it was already past 8pm to change my password but surprisingly the fraudsters has already changed it so had to send stop to a certain number that was given to me by one of the bank officials. Anyway to cut the long story short, I latter found out it was done by one of the bank officers whom I show my Atm card to some time back inside dat week wen I was having prob withdrawing.

Reading' Fifols Kaments'and laughing my heart out. Remember back then trying to withdraw my last 10k for "stomach infrastructure",Was debited but not given the cash.I thought I was dreaming .24hrs
as they said led to 24 days until when I finally saw them that I be real naija guy guy.Seriously its not always funny.I had to go a day without food.

KENE said...

AM STILL FIGHTING MY OWN WITH FIRST BANK,MINE HAPPENED SINCE AUGUST LAST YEAR AND I REPORTED IT THEY KEPT MOVING TO AND FRO ABOUT THE REFUND.I EVEN MET WITH THE BRANCH MANAGER MRS JOHNSON @ RUMUOLA PHC ON THE SUBJECT,BUT SHE TOO DIDNT HELP MATTERS.FIRST BANK IS FRAUDULENT LIKE DEM OTHER BANKS.

I love her for that. Is her hard earned money. They should refund it. Ekwekwa nne . Naru ha ego gi weda na 2k or 20k

TEEDEE said...

Please its your money and it should be paid to you, have a similar issue with GTB BANK over months now my 9,000 debited has not been returned back to me.

In Nigeria first bank is the worst bank. She should sue them. Which ever bank it is sue them.

Adaora.. said...

Gbam..e no fit be first bank at all

@ Nathaniel skink you are funny oooo, na you work for her hand no way she no go complain . My 5k Naira self sink inside gtb electronic center at egbeda bustop , till date my money has not been refunded

She is very correct. N1 million minus N1 will not be N1 million again. It's not the size of the money, it's the size of the service that matters.
Text Fortune to 33020.

GtBank debited my dad 200k four years back nothing has been heard from them since then

THAT WHAT ALL THIS BANKS ARE DOING
IS VERY PAINFUL
SHE NEED TO REACT BECAUSE IS HER SWEAT,
I DONT BLAME HERAT ALL

Isnt it funny? Most of the idiots making fun of this woman cant even boast of such amount in their accounts. If this had happened in an organized country like the United States she would have sued the bank and they would pay her more than double the money. This is common thievery from the bank staffs or management.

Linda, help us tell her that if she did not complain, she will not get her money back. There is a specified period for such dispute resolution in bank. Her getting a lawyer is kinda too expensive fro N20k transaction. Penny wise, pounds foolish. Tell her to calm down, n get down from her high horse, na Naija we dey. She will get her money but she needs to calm down. .

First bank and former intercontinental ate my 20k twice at woji ykc.up to 5 yrs now nothing.

If you work hard for the money in your possession, then you'll understand. Maybe they are still dashing you

Bishop dammy. God will punish u for pretending to b holy everytime u bloody scumbag. I see ur posts nd u r just a damn unrealistic pretender hidn under d cover of preachn d gospel. U ooze of fake

Lmao,idi wicked...her hard earned money 4 that matter.mmmmmtchew,i will do worse gan.

Mihearty said...

Bank pple Ndi oshi. Don't liv the money even if it's 1k

I had a similar experience recently at GT bank....the stupid bank worker said I should wait for 8 working days....after 16 days I went back and threatened to send the issue to linda ikeji...before I got home I got my alert

No b r hard earn money? She never react sf, make my bank try dat rubbish wt me, den go regret having me as 1 of der customers

Na lie...u do broke..shi shi no gum u again.

It is her money, she can cause a scene if she likes.

Ka gbafuo gi dia, she nobi anambra she is ideato gurl akokwa precisely, hapu ya na ona claim ndi anambra but oburo kwa onye anambra, kama odi ka amuru ya na onitsha owe too na anambra

isioku said...

Methinks she is perfectly in order. The problem we usually have is that we tend to pretend to be more civil than the "civilians". For God's sakes, there is a CBN regulation on this that limits reversal time to 24 hours after which the customer can complain. But what you find is that even after the complaint, the usually lazy bank clerks will not treat will complaint. But when you threaten them with lawsuits or tweets on their twitter handle u see action. I suffer this in the hands of Stanbic IBTC all the time and I have a strong suspicion this same bank is Stanbic IBTC. They are zero in treating customers complaint and customer relations.

Nathan u r very stupid

Antoinette said...

Fidelity has my 42k since last year from Lagos and now asaba I have petitioned them no response! I support what she is doing please ride on. When I go to fidelity to ask them, they will say is it that money since last year? Almost as if they are telling to forget it. I have moved all my money to another bank.

Even if its 500 u have all the right to act! 20k isn't a change but a cash that can pay some people's salary and house rent. A wise man or woman doesn't let a pin slip out of them without being accounted for!

It's cold it's cold all is cold

Sir Vin said...

THIS MUST BE ACCESS BANK, BECAUSE THAT IS THE ONLY BANK IN THAT JUNCTION OF EJIGBO - NNPC AREA, THEY ARE FOND OF DOING THIS ...HOW I WISH SHE SCATTERED THE BANKING HALL. HOW WILL THEY BE DEBITING SOMEONE WHEN THERE IS NO MONEY IN THEIR ATM MACHINE. ABI THEY WANT TO GET RICH WITH MY SWEAT?

Banks too can make mistakes

GTB is the best bank in Naija, happened to me twice with them and I got my money back within 5days.

Linda, you re doing a nice job, everyday comments here rock my ribs and i forget my worries.

@nath, u must b sick so u expect her to let go 20k? Have u given 2k to a woman b4?

berry said...

Let her react o wat rubbish dats wat gtb did to me too, madam drag dem well

Bunny said...

Bishop Dammy can you stop sounding foolishly hypocritical?

collabo prince said...

Shut the he'll up if you don't knw wat to say cos u dnt understand how d system works, and wat u dnt knw, u cnt tlk abt..5irect ur blames to the settlement channels cos once u have dispense error frm the ur bank it is treated within 24hrs

YAHWE said...

I have a similar case, I used an ecobank ATM card on sky bank pos machine, my account was debited while the account of the shop owner was not credited, I complained, since June 2014 the N12000. Is still hanging, if this Lady should recover her money through legal action I will file suit against the Bank

Yes o, it is more than enough reason abeg. Is it not her money? Even if na 2 K sef, they should pay!

I hear u.....Gtb debited my friend of 120k 2years ago.til today....no hope!

Tochi Paul said...

Hahahahahahah..... you is funny

@W.Moses lamaoooo you wii not kill me o!

Dis banks can be very annoying......abeg, make una pay her jare

My kinda lady. It's your money so act aueva joor. Criminals parading as banks. Mine was Ecobank 15k for about 4months. D only language dey understand is drama. Dey even claimed d issue had BN resolved meanwhile der was no crdt in my acc.

Benson Ibeh said...

Haba! I know this actress o, we dey leave the same area before she is decent.

Senseless fool, u dat fight conductors over change. Like a miscreant

@Bishop Dammy said...
Silence and patience have been proven to solve huge issues... you can give it a try next time. James 1:26
August 1, 2015 at 10:08 AM

I dont like when people quote scriptures and bring religion into simple logical administrative issues like this..... Why wont d bank refund her money after 8/9 months?

How long will you prescribe as silence/patience in a matter like this?

@Bishop Dammy said...
August 1, 2015 at 10:08 AM

I dont like when people quote scriptures and bring religion into simple logical administrative issues like this..... Why wont d bank refund her money after 8/9 months?

How long will you prescribe as silence/patience in a matter like this?

Please tell us what bank it is so if we have accounts with them, we close it. Or avoid these banks. Pls it's the principle

U must be stupid......money no dey meaning what? Even is she has millions why will they just debit 20k for doing nothing......if u dash someone the money you will know u dashed someone.....

D banks are very lousy.

My 8k oooooooh.. Since Jan oooh

Don't mind her

It her money let her do whatever she want

Same thing happened to my mum..Ecobank jst debited her 20k like dat..nd things were so hard..she waka tire..to no avail..anyways ndo..do dem o..if u can

Nwanne wilhimenna said...

Willy nwanne m , ha na ewulu anyi anya oku (eyes of pain a.k.a jealousy di red).
Ngwa bi chalu oma ma gi anonymous 1.26.
P.s what is anonymous in ibo (I'm guessing onye mmuo )

Olaide Davies. said...

You are v correct,First Bank is the worst bank in Nigeria.

Even if it is a kobo it is your money and you should demand it. They will not let go of even half a kobo if there is anything like that

You donot ve sense,sorry to say.if i may ask?for d years you have b banking with your bank has ur bank ever given 20k as ur interest rate. Mumu talking stupid.I knw dat u re jobless

I agree with you jare

Why not? It's not about the money its about the impunity with banks pinch customer's money These days

rutty said...

And who told you she can't afford the lawyer,20k is just a mere change to her but she choose whoever she wanna dash money too madam.

rutty said...

Exactly,diamond bank is the worse if you dnt create a scene you're not getting your money mine was 20k I had to create a scene a coming over and over for complete one week

eazywealth concepts said...

Banks are always doing this...i think some in house sharp guys wait on those who would not bother and side track those funds..too bad experience to have especially if thats your last cash..

This has also happened to me. I had a 9,000 dispense error at the orange bank via web pay for 76 days. I filled several dispense error forms, called their help center severally. Even submitted proof that the intended merchant purchase site provided me as evidence that they didn't receive the money, still it took them that long to reverse the error.Until I literally choked a certain customer care rep was it reversed.

I noticed these bankers use the dispense error as an avenue to pilfer funds from customers&use the money to make more money through investments or if the customer forgoes the total amount they pocket it as gain. Dispense Error stealing is the latest form of theft in Nigerian Banks.If Mrs Young needs a witness to assist her to sue the bank sign me up cos I ve been there.I know how she feels.I ve a mail trail that proves their theft.