FG-Okonjo-Iweala spent $2.1bn without approval | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 30 June 2015

FG-Okonjo-Iweala spent $2.1bn without approval

The National Economic Council, chaired by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, on Monday accused former Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, of spending $2.1bn from the Excess Crude Account without authorisation.

“We looked at the numbers for the Excess Crude Account. The last time the former Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Mrs Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, reported to the council, and it is in the minutes, she reported by November 2014 that we had $4.1 bn.
Edo State Governor Adams Oshiomhole told State House correspondents after the NEC’s 58th meeting in Abuja.
“Today, the Accountant-General Office reported we have $2.0bn. Which means the honourable minister spent $2.1bn without authority of the NEC and that money was not distributed to states, it was not paid to the three tiers of government,”
ADVERTISEMENT
According to the economic council, the ‘unauthorised’ spending is among the several anomalies discovered in the management of the nation’s economy between 2012 and May 2015.

Within the period, the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation was said to have earned a total of N8.1 tn but remitted only N4.3tn.

Due to this reason, the Federal Government has constituted Oshiomhole, Kaduna State Governor, Nasir el-Rufai; Akwa Ibom State Governor, Udom Emmanuel; and Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo, into a panel to probe the NNPC and the ECA between 2012 and May, 2015.

Oshiomhole, el-Rufai, Emmanuel and the Zamfara State Governor, Abdulazeez Yari, jointly briefed journalists at the end of the meeting.

Yari told journalists, through the Director of Funds, Office of the Accountant-General of the Federation, Mr. M.K. Dikwa, that council members received the report of the ECA and unremitted funds by the NNPC.

He said:
“On that line, a four-man committee consisting of the governors of Edo, Gombe, Kaduna and Akwa Ibom states was constituted to go through the books of the NNPC and Excess Crude as well as the Federation Account.
”The four-man committee will check the books of the NNPC, most especially the issue of excess crude and what is not remitted into the Federation Account.
“The Federal Government, in conjunction with the Central Bank of Nigeria, will look inwards to see how to support and how much they will give to states, especially on the issue of outstanding salaries owed by the states and even the Federal Government.”
Explaining what happened at the NEC meeting, Oshiomhole said the NNPC and the Office of the Accountant-General of the Federation were compelled for the first time to provide information on the total sales of Nigeria’s crude from 2012 to May 2015.

The Edo governor said,
“We are talking about transparency; we are talking about change. And what we saw from those numbers, which I believe that Nigerians are entitled to know, is that whereas the NNPC claimed to have earned N8.1tn, what NNPC paid into the Federation Account from 2012 to May 2015 was N4.3tn.
“What it means is that the NNPC withheld and spent N3.8 tn.
“The major revelation here is that the entire federation, that is the Federal Government, the states and all the 774 local governments, the amount the NNPC paid into the Federation Account for distribution to these three tiers of government came to N4.3 tn and the NNPC alone took and spent N3.8tn.
“This means that the cost of running the NNPC is much more than the cost of running the Federal Government. That tells you how much is missing, what is mismanaged and what is stolen. There are huge figures.”
“If the Federal Government cannot spend without appropriation, why should any agency spend without appropriation.
“This is what the Constitution provided for and this is what President Muhammadu Buhari has promised to do; henceforth all money must go to the Federation Account.
“If you were doing that, you would not have a situation where the NNPC alone will spend N3.8trn and remit to the federal, states and local governments N4.3trn, which means NNPC is taking about 47 per cent and that explains all the leakages you are talking about.”
El-Rufai said the account was set up in order to be accountable such that every state and local government would know what they had in the account though they could not spend it.

He said,
“The Excess Crude Account is 52 per cent owned by the Federal Government and 48 per cent owned by the states and the local governments.
“So the decision of the NEC is to set up this committee of four to look at the operations of the Excess Crude Account and make recommendations to council on its future.
“The other thing the committee will do is to look at the operations of the Federation Account, particularly the shortfall and again come back to council with very clear recommendations as to what to do.
“We have not been given a time frame but as you can imagine state governments are under pressure, many of our state governments are unable to pay salaries on time without recourse to borrowing, so this is very important to us.
“This is an all-governors’ committee; we wear the shoes and we know where they pinch. So we are going to do this as quickly as possible.
“The next meeting of the council is on July 23; we hope to complete our work and be in a position to report to council on that day. So within the next one month, we will be done by God’s grace.”

Punch 

93 comments:

Chaii,dis woman don finish our money,there is God o
*iyawo Obama

Don't like dis woman a bit,i trust her anyways caus she shabi account for money wela.barao bansa people.

COLLIN said...

Am tired of all dz blames....dey shud strt wrking niii.....cnt remember d ABOKIS promising dey wud apportion blames

Y'all keep trading blames after all that's what Nigerians bargained for

obiora said...

Okwa soh anya anya kam na ene.

Y must dere always be a story after a politician leaves office or even while still in office?

Ify Sam said...

If she claims she spent it on a project and they find out that the said project was not executed, then she should be made to execute the project immediately than asking her to return cash. This is the best way to make the looters return the funds they looted.

She's been spending all along, na news???

Jesus Christ. Nigeria is finished! !!!!!!

I just dey pity this woman, when she finally enter hand,she go hear gwe!

She was the one running naija nah. She scam naija well she deziani and stella oduah. GEJ's women squad.

Eheeeeen am shocked, hope Apc is not trying to be silly

Both Jonathan,okonjo and Daizani are meant to rotten in jail cuz of their illicit spending.

Let the truth be told, the immediate past government has looted our treasury so much. This same woman will be claiming we ain't broke.

fumi said...

I can't just bear finish reading it because am going for my BVN, this woman should be called for interrogation. This $2.1bn isn't the only money she spent without authorization. She should be check properly

There is fire on the mountain

I av never trusted her Sincerity.

Only time would tell d extent at which these bunch of people had stolen from the contry's pulse

Buhari at Work go on baba AKA Prince Karlima

USMAN...KADUNA said...

YOU PEOPLE ARE BUNCH OF LIARS AND JUST BUSY LOOKING FOR CHEAP BLACKMAIL....PROF OSIBANJO...GOD WILL JUDGE YOU FOR SELLING YOUR SOUL TO THE DEVIL FOR MERE POWER THAT WILL WILL PERSIH WITH YOU ONCE YOU DIE....FAKE PASTOR

LOOK AT EDO STATE GOVERNOR THAT NEVER DID ANY SINGLE THING FOR HIS STATE,,,,GOD HAVE MERCY ON NIGERIANS AND THOSE YOU PEOPLE ARE FOOLING.

Buhari at Work go on baba AKA Prince Karlima

DeCode Hack said...

DIS NIGERIA EHN...NA ONLY GOD FIT SAVE US

Gimplex logistics said...

Nyc. God ll give all of u d wisdom to go abt it in jesus name. Dem go hear am ds tym around, all dose ppl behind d missing money. Thieves oshi

Okonjo,Deziani and GEJ should come and defend themselves. Criminals!.Tim28

Jonathan&his Cohorts have finished 9ja!!!.... Chaii!!! There is GOD ooh!!!

NEC made up of the state governors (gang of thieves) who are owing the civil servants in their states salaries are asked to look through the books of the FG. Of course they would try be all means to justify their failure even if it means cooking up figures. I await to hear Okonjo Iweala's response to these figures from ECA. That would give us a clear picture of what is going on because i do not believe anything APC led govt says.

corrupt country ...she will definately come defend her self nd in 3days case closed u wnt hear abt it gain .mitchw

God will judge oooo thief's

Na wah o! She seems to always be sanctimonious having the guts to go on CNN to talk to Richard Quest - 'riishard*in her voice* I hope she can explain her way out of this.

*** mynameisSkelewu

someone stood at a train station and employed..can i stand in LIB and get employed?
NKECHI IBE..HND in ACCOUNTING...INTELLIGENT,DILIGENT ,HONEST...08064805061

How can the accuser also be made the judge and the jury. This man called Mohammadu Buhari is very funny. Unless an "INDEPENDENT" accounting firm preferably and international one eg PWC, Delloitte Touche etc goes through those books, all they are saying is hogwash

With the make up of this committee,I am convinced a thorough job will be done.i wish them fruitful deliberations in serving to cleanse and save our fatherland from total collapse

Hang Her pls.
The Bitch is fraud. Pathetically Lying all around town about the state of the Economy.

MamaLiza said...

Hmmmmm! Naija I hail o

David said...

Well, last I checked, the mandate was; change things, bring to justice all past and present corupt leaders. so, let the pary begins already! Except of cos.......

We r waiting... lets try to cover all loopholes... so we can actually see if the change is here... Rtm cares

Uhmmmmmmmmmmmm $2.1bn so unfair ; yet som pple hav nt been paid 7month salary ?

Ad how on earth will the NNPC be spending much more then the FG ??? Somtin is wrng somwhr .

*DEW*

*DEW*

As long as governor oshiomole and el-rufai is there. I have high hopes for this committee setup. Am only looking forward to the modalities and sanction that will befall shortcoming victims.

sweetie said...

Baba is working, jonathan cabinet is full of thieves, thank GOD for taking power from them, I imagine how next 4years ll b wit them in gov.

These two women namely Okonjo iweala nd Diezani shld be made to face the law ASAP

Nky said...

That's huge

hmmmmmm.......Its a new dawn.....Lets see hw dis goes

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

What kind of nonsense statement is this. Well it is clear they could not say she stole it so they say 'without appropriation' in a quest for their crazed smear campaign but as usual they will come out the fools. Nigerians want to see the handover note from the last government to the present one because there are just too many lies APC is telling so they can cloak the eyes of Nogerians from the stealing of the treasury. I think El Rufai and co are really looking for propaganda and lies on OkonjoIweala. This statement only accuses and doesn't give any information. Nigerians are smarter than that. Anyone can come and say this amount or that amount. Abegi!

Wahala dey, oshio I kinda disagree with u cos sometimes FG dey collect money chop, but all nevertheless we want u ppl to help Nigerians n recover the money

Nna this woman should have bben in jail by nw na.... Wicked woman...

harun said...

Corrupt people....

AMIJEZ said...

See money. But why only Apc governors? Let anyone found wanting be seriously dealt with,am here suffering and some few people are living in affluence.

Oooooooooooh my...!

Mr Osin pls leave her o
Abi ur hand too clean?
Birds of d same feathers.

Nawa for Niger ooo

Human Being said...

Corruption everywhere. Ngozi allowed her self to be dragged into this. She should have resigned than trying to cover up for her boss. From the report above all fingers point to NNPC. I wonder why Deziani Madueke and NNPC directors are not mentioned ???
Everyone is calling on NOI and afraid to mention the other main actors

Human Being No Be God

I'll have to wait for Mrs Ngozi to defend herself and give account on how she spent such amount without approval.

regio said...

Gen gen....yawa don set. I hope we see the positive end of this. Figures in trillion and not even billion.

OMG$

Ngozi Okonjo Iweala spent $2.1b on "what?". The author failed to mention what she spent it on because we would like to know so that we can better access the authenticity of the report. Secondly there are several international forensic audit firms that they could use to do this audit such as PWC, ERNST &YOUNG, DELLIOTE TOUCHE etc. but they decided not too. How then can we vouch for it's authenticity

Wow! I luv dis words "We are talking about transparency; we are talking about change". I pray dis change mak d positive impact, and add to d developments of Nigeria.

International thief thief (ITT). I dey wait for her response. Linda take note!

Hmmmmm! See money ooo. I know Okonjo's hands r not clear

May GOD help us in this country.

HMMMMM....PDP THIEVES. PDP GOVERNMENT ALMOST RUINED NIGERIA. THANK GOD THEY KICKED THEM OUT ON TIME. CORRUPT FOOLS

It has started.....

The counter claims will come soon.

SHEBI PDP HAS BEEN SHOUTING FOR CHANGE? CHANGE HAS STARTED OH. HAHAHAHAHAHA....

NO WONDER STATE GOVERNMENT COULD NOT PAY WORKERS SALARIES. THE STEALING WAS FROM THE OGAS AT THE TOP.

BUHARI FISH THEM OUT. CHANGE HAS STARTED. NO FEAR ANYBODY

Bolatito Onafowokan said...

How can reckless like Oshiomole, stooge Ambode, and naughty el-Rufai be talking when you are talking economics. They should be reminded that this is pure econmics not politics. These insensitive Governors whose knowledge of governance and economics are suspect and largely untested accuse the Okonjo-Iweala of mismanagement of funds when they themselves ran their states aground? Of what interest was it to her as the minister of finance if the states are not funded?

Cyril said...

I am completely at sea as to how some politicians think. It amazes me that people play politics with everything in this country. It is understandable that APC governors will open their mouths and loud cry like babies in need of breast feed.

Kenneth said...

These are merely spurious allegations against Okonjo-Iweala and this is unbecoming of the new administration. The probe should be focused instead on the state governments that insisted on sharing the ECA and how they spent the booty. These people are only throwing a red herring.

Story for the jobless and illiterate. How can u use this story to better the life of one Nigerian?? Was the money spent wrongly? Is she the one these ..... are supposed to be tackling. How about those northern thieves?

Iluyomade said...

Now they are dragging Okonjo-Iweala’s name into it and putting the blame on her. Have the states forgotten quickly that they insisted on sharing the money in the ECA? Oshiomole was one of them – these people are comedians – if you have spent your money, is it not craziness or sickness of mind to be looking for it. Amnesia is worrying them.

Ifeanyi said...

Ifeanyi • a few seconds ago
So much for the CHANGE government that we have waited for. This is very disappointing! The new government we expect to bring CHANGE and transformation, now they are flinging at us bogus unverified facts. Okonjo-Iweala they say has stolen $21 billion from ECA, the same ECA that governors shared the other time; if they have shared it where did Okonjo-Iweala get the $21 billion she stole? These people are trying to play on our intelligence!

Well this is becoming interesting and we ar ptaiently waiting for the outcome... So Linda post the update regularly...tnk u... #Letlovelead

George said...

You know this story is contradictory and confounds the reasonable mind. How is it possible that Okonjo-Iweala who created the Excess Crude Account with the aim that Nigeria should save for the rainy day, is the same one that stole from the till? It is impossible and doesn’t make sense.

Chinedu said...

These are lies against Okonjo-Iweala, a woman who has served this country faithfully and diligently.

This obsession to blame PDP for everything by APC is getting out of hand. There is some level of childishness to call for the books and having discovered something, rush to the press to garner enough sympathy for yourself and hatred for your foe before inviting the accused to defend themselves. That has been the template of APC from campaign to now. Where in this their so-called report is it said that they invited the NNPC or Iweala to defend themselves? And all this orchestrated by a so-called Pastor and SAN. Where is natural justice that says you should hear from the other party? Politics!

The type of you pple can never progress in life. When someone is determined to stretch out neck to do thorough job u will not accept u keep on dwelling on the past,when will you accept change.? In reality your type is a sadist

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala is too busy to be preoccupied with baseless and needless allegations as this. You guys never stop accusing and criticizing the innocent woman. No matter your antics, she is globally recognized and accorded due honour. None of your misgivings can take that away. Its not possible for her to have siphoned such huge chunk from the ECA without authorization from the Presidency.

Okonjo wahala, I never lyk dis woman in d 1st place.

OMO SEE GOBE.....ORIGINAL BEGE.......

royflames007 said...

Na wa oo! Looks are so deceptive..... And she would keep a honest front with her Ankara like formal Governor of Oyo state, Rasheed Ladoja. Dem don chop this country finish. Choi!

Kolade said...

It is obvious that some mischievous persons are at work again. Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala is one woman that served Nigeria with integrity, transparency and accountability. Let her accusers bring up their strong evidence.

Uba said...

The same governors that depleted the excess crude account are turning around to blame the former minister who did everything to dissuade them. How shameless can these governors get? Time will tell.

At the end it may turn out not to be true

I think instead of focusing on Okonjo Iweala, this governors should channel their energy into thinking about how they are going to pay workers salary.

Chop & clean mouth jare