Photos: Perfectly healthy baby delivered still inside his amniotic sac | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 25 February 2015

Photos: Perfectly healthy baby delivered still inside his amniotic sac

His hands and feet were clearly visible - but baby Silas Philips was in no rush to enter the world. Born still inside his amniotic sac, he has since been described as a 'medical miracle' by doctors. 

Silas was delivered three months prematurely at the Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in California. And doctors performing the Caesarean section on his mother, Chelsea, were astonished to see his amniotic sac was still intact. Pictures show Silas curled up inside with the placenta and umbilical cord, his tiny hands and a leg clearly visible.

And until the bag was broken, he was still getting oxygen through the placenta, CBS reported. The amniotic sac is a bag of clear, pale fluid inside the womb where the unborn baby develops and grows.

The fluid helps to cushion the baby from bumps and injury, as well as providing it with fluids it can breathe and swallow. It also maintains a constant temperature for the baby. 

Typically the amniotic sac breaks on its own during birth, which is commonly referred to as a mother's 'water breaking'.
Or during a C-section, the surgeon cuts through it to deliver the baby. 

Doctors say the chance of the amniotic sac remaining completely intact after birth is 'ultra rare'.
It was a moment that mesmerised Dr William Binder, who delivered Silas.
'Even though it sounds cliched, we caught our breath,' he said. 'It really felt like a moment of awe... and one that will stick in my moment for some time.

'He was seconds old and still in the water bag, with the placenta and umbilical cord tucked inside.' 
After taking a few seconds to snap the incredible sight in front of him, Dr Binder set to work removing Silas out of his amniotic sac and getting him breathing. 

However Silas's mother didn't realise the excitement her son had caused until her mother showed her Dr Binder's photo.
'It was definitely like a clear film where you could definitely make out his head and his hair,' she told CBS News.
'He was kind of in a foetal position and you could see like his arms and his legs curled up. 

'It was actually really cool to see. And when I heard that was actually really rare I was like "oh my gosh you're a special little baby".'
Despite being born at just 26 weeks, Silas is doing so well that doctors hope he will go home within the next month.

Actress Jessica Alba has spoken out about her daughter Haven who was born inside the amniotic sac in 2011.
She said at the time: 'The doctor had never seen anything like it before. He grabbed the nurse and said: 'Look at this!'.

'I was in the middle of pushing and he told me to hold on a minute and not to push.
'He was wearing basketball shorts and a T-shirt and said: 'Oh I have to get my scrubs on for this!' The sac burst on its own after she came out. It was a trip.'
In fact Jessica's experience inspired Haven's name.

She explained: 'When I was in recovery we still hadn't chosen her name. [Her father Cash Warren] picked her up and said she came into the world in her 'safe haven' and [her name] clicked right then for both of us.'

Culled from UK Daily Mail

170 comments:

Wow,God is indeed great.

Oh no God

Congrats to her and also pray for the baby sound health.

Amazing!

God is great.... unbelievable

Hand work of God dis is what Satan can Neva and will Neva create a human bean

Awwwwwwwn... So cute... a real miracle baby. :-)

Strange, but that's God at work.

Woooow. Haven't seen a thing like that in my life before. But it's cool. God is indeed great.

Linda daily mail dey supply u news. I ve read it there before u posted it here

miracle. such a lucky boy

bhaykins said...

God is wonderful.

Essy said...

This is beyond Science,God is indeed great.

Great God!! Very happy for them.

Essy said...

This is beyond Man,God is indeed great.

The God that performs miracle to disgrace medicine!

Essy said...

Wow this is beyond man God is indeed great.

Wonderful God..

Wonderful GOD

Essy said...

God is miraculous in mysterious ways.Who could hve thought d bundle of joy was still breathing wrapped in That.God you're indeed great* waving my hand unto heaven.

Its being not bean.. Stop embarrassing Akwa Ibom

chisom said...

God is great. Wow dis is wonderful. Almost shed a tear.

Yoruba people have a name for such children, anyway that is d ancient of days in action

@Fred,every one knows dat Satan can't create human naa y stressing?

Woooow

How great is our God ,how great,how great is our God.

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

portiaknife said...

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahaahha@Gbagun,crazy dude!

Justyswt said...

God is great.

What a miraculous God

What's the oh no God 4? Glory be 2 God.

SWILL MARTIN said...

Wow!

We hear u mam!

Wow!!! This is great!
And if you ask any of our professors of Embryology to explain this, he ll bore you with so much big grammar that you'll either doze of in class or go home with a pounding headache.

Koonley said...

Was just gonna say the same. Its really not a new thing. Many babies are born with the sac covers in Nigeria. Yorubas call them Ole (derived from the ancient sack of money). Still a miracle tho. But guess it's new to the oyinbo pple, not me

shouldisaymyname said...

cool to look at but not really rare...I've seen two (the first one during CS and the next during a delivery of the 2nd twin)...nice

God is indeed Great

Abi oo.....i think aina and ige...am not sure....no be today

Wow!amazing....

It's not news in this part of the world. Yorubas call them OKE. I know cos my grandpa was born so and my brother too. Olive oil is poured on to open up the sac. They are special kinda births, similar to people born with umbilical cords tied round their necks or with legs coming out first. Al ham du lillah!!!

Awesome God!!! Lindo go sleep

Wow,God is indeed great

@fredy,are u ok??? Watz oh no God?,dem tell u say d pikin die ni?? Biko respect urself here! Read b4 posting ur comments.

Xo dats Y u decide fi bcum Native Doctor... Na wa oo, I pray de gods don't bore u soon

U can say that again @aboki. Jst couldn't stop looking at the baby's pic. I just marvel at how God works. I am awestruck.

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

#myopinioncounts# said...

God is great!

Awesome

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

God is great!
ckjacob.blogspot.com

PamRocky said...

Miracle baby.😘😘😱😱 God is Great!!!!!

jesus s lord

wow wonderful

Okason said...

Wow

It happened in the 70's in Nigeria, the Housas call such a child Mai Riga. Meaning he was born with cloth.

This is very old news

Wow wow wow !!! This is the handwork of the most high, the God who was, who is, and who is to come..the only God with a capital G..father take all d Glory...

Woo!!! Amazing,God didn't do it to disgrace medicine,he did it to teach us more

God is good

Indescribable God. He's so full of mystery and His ways are not our ways. I'm so in awe of God's wonders!

emeka-ewenike said...

Glory to God for his wondrous works

emeka-ewenike said...

Tank God

Liddy said...

This is soo beautiful!

Amazing GOD!

@anon12:19 wetin com b ur problem wit linda.leave her alone jari.Abi person force u say make u com here?

Idiot.Is it your father that created medicine,did your pastor told you that medicine is evil?mumu

It's not like it happens everyday too in yorubaland. But when such a child in born in yorubaland, they don't just cut the sac open, they pour palm oil on the sac and it's is believed that it will open up on it's own. They call them Ajayi or something amnt sure

Miracle working God..........Amazing...

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers......Av a great day....

oh wow, iv seen this once in my 4 yrs of practice tho the baby was preterm and didnt survive, its not that suprising to me, maybe bcs iv seen it once

De baby no wan rush him wan de careful befor him go enter this world

Sos so wonderful. Indeed God is great.

Abet give us warning b4 u put pishure

Awwwww congrats dear llnp

Awww
Thank God he is healthy
Really a miracle

Well not everyone goes to daily mail, so chill, I get all my news n gist here.

elo tasha said...

No man can comprehend God's awesomness

Tipsacake.com said...

Amazing,,,,,Wow,God is indeed great.

SUCCESSBASE NIGERIA said...

THAT IS A MIRACLE WORKING GOD. IT'S REALLY SURPRISING.

@àboki haven't u made a mistake in ur life? Tell me

I serve a living God

Yoruba call them Oke

"Did ur pastor told u"????? N u had d guts to call another person mumu!!
King of dummies!!

Money Making Machine said...

Pls has it not happened in Ibo land,pls what do they call such a blessing in the dialect

"Did your pastor told you" like seriously??? This shit is abt to get real

With God everything is possible but not with man.God is working glory!

God is mercifully God indeed a Miracle
amyjessy87@yahoo.com

Really miraculous.

This is incredible... GOD is indeed An Awesome GOD.

heytheredelilah said...

News like this just make you appreciate the greatness of God more.

Our God is an awesome God, He is still doing miracles. Linda take note!

itohanhope said...

Wow...miracle baby,celeb baby automatic

God is great

seu said...

I hereby christen the baby 'Lagbaja', since he arrived fully masked! Lol
Seu

They call those children OKE

Chigo said...

Miracle baby indeed. Thank God!

Wooow! Ds is amazin...TOMJERRYSWIT

NK said...

God is a miracle worker

All these Oyinbo people sef...Yoruba people have a name for such child naw, perhaps, it must have been common among them. Anyway every birth has it's own testimony.

danex said...

blood of God! this God is too much oh.

I was born like that way and that was Why they called okeowo Omo inu apo- In yoruba culture.

God is the Almighty

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

My God and Creator, Ʊ re just so great..

I read this story last week

Wow...this iss beyound beautiful! Am almost in tears! God kip him safe and protect him!

NaijaSurge said...

God is really wonderful!

Wow, A Miracle Baby indeed.

cutie na said...

Awesome God. Really a sight to behold.

Cynthia Iyede said...

This is indeed God's awesome work.

Miracle of God wow jc

No be God?

Goaldyn Boy said...

Thank God he and his mother are healthy and doing well!

Tommy D said...

Dats y we call Him AWESOME GOD

Dat was how all of us were in our mum's belle...God is wonderful

This is beautiful.. nature at its peak.. God is awesome

Peek*

Awesome 🙆 God.

Wow! This is so amazing.

Wonderful Jesus!

Wonderful God

WINIFRED ACHODO said...

He is a miracle baby,just like me.love hearing stories like this,it just shows the marvelousness and wonders of GOD.Get believing.

Amazing stuff!

wow!!! very very rare...thankGod

missvee

God is indeed awesome

OmoYorubaAtata said...

The Yorubas call it OKE (means bag) as a result of the amniotic sac

God is too much!

This is nothing short of a miracle. Congrats to her.
reevolution101.blogspot.com

shollymama said...

Great God,nd all praise 2God he's alive

Oretha said...

It's really amazing what my God can do. That is why I called Him impossibility specialist

Thank you Lord

ndidiamaka said...

Awesome God, Baba you're toooo much, may your Name be praised

M
I
R
A
C
L
E

God is awesome!

awww.. lovely and awesome

God work wonders.....this is the first time am seeing the baby sac...

::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::

Theophilus Elamah said...

Indeed a MIRACLE. That child is set for great achievements in life.

Very great God is wonderful

omotara said...

@koonley ole ke? Ole means thief or a lazy person

Vero O. said...

God is Great. Wonderful

Chim Idi egwu. Dalu

God is super great! Hmmm. I salute all ladies. Its not easy! #24C2086A

Yes ooooo.

Are you a novel lover?
Visit cynthiakalubookclub.blogspot.com

Ritzybaby said...

God is indeed awesome, i tnx God d baby didnt die, Linda take note, ave u taken note?

The awesomeness of God

Chukwuebuka

What a MIGHTY GOD we serve!!!!!!!!!!!!

Child of God said...

Salifu, what do you mean that God disgraced the doctor. Don't you know that God anoints the fingers of doctors to do his work on earth as he does not come down physically himself? He has to use somebody. You spiritual illiterate.

prettiyz said...

The wonderful work of God

thats normal in yorubaland, we call such babies OKE.

Jesus i thank u 4 d life u spear dat little baby and d mum. Be thou glorify

DAMN! God is awesome

Ore said...

My kid sister was born like this too, my mom said she was sucking her fingers when it was torn open. She is 17 now

Miraculous GOD,Mighty GOD.wat can I say but to praise ur name

dodoni said...

wow!! God u r indeed marvelous.

Miraculous God! Always working wonder, can we really understand God's ways? Not possible! For his ways are not the ways of man.

Wooow God is really awesome and does his things in his own beautiful ways.

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

Awesome God

God is really great and wonderful

Hahaha find it hilarious that they think its so rare.

My mum told me I was born still inside of my amniotic sack but no one dares call me Oke!

Am 29 years old and healthy guess that makes me special :)

mum jayjay said...

Awesome God

God is mercifully Wonderful!

Oladele said...

Lind!! it's OJO not IGE

He's indeed a miraculous God, d only one of Israel. Glory b to his holy name, hallelujah

This is a wonder to behold! God is great!

Koonley said...

I meant oke. Lol. It was a typo

toto de try o. how toto manage pass dis pikin wen fold like dis??? some wonen carry ooooo

Wonderful God, I hail!