The Sunday Sun headline that's got people irritated... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 11 January 2015

The Sunday Sun headline that's got people irritated...

They are talking about it on Twitter. Apparently people are irritated with Sunday Sun for its choice of word in a headline today. Many people think the word 'rape' is too strong to be misused at any time.

Abuja based Virgin Kids academy are like a football team. The Golden Eaglets beat them 3-1 at the NFF / FIFA goal project in Abuja. The problem causing outcry is the way Sunday Sun captioned the story. Many feel the use of 'rape' to tag the Golden Eaglets victory over 'Virgin Kids' is inappropriate.

123 comments:

Very inappropriate

Highly inappropriate ..... common!!! Who does this ..... the word rape on its own is highly offensive

D choice of word is bad, dey should know beta. Linda take note!

AMIJEZ said...

very inappropriate word to use. the editor should take a course in english 101.

Very very inappropriate words

Yes it is!

Daralohi said...

Na wa d caption is akward.

Miss indomie says so.

eka said...

Well, i think so too. It would really take an intelligent discerning mind to get the true meaning behind the headline

KINGING said...

Stupid people

For a Newspaper company like the Sun,the term "rape" as used there was inappropriate.

Wrong,wrong,wrong

the editor smoke that expired and soured benin weed that ceaser artist smoked for that his 'ashawo' music.

Typical of Nigerian journalists, no sense of decorum. Going for the sensational with no taste, why not caption it
as 'Nigerian Eaglets murder virgin kids' instead?

Journalists these days can't even spell not to talk of write a good story, spend all my time reading through the spelling mistakes and inappropriate use of words. Story lines are just useless drivel that go on endlessly and leave you leaving confused and amused.

It's like they were never taught english at school let alone manners.

Hmmm football fans headace

Abdul Mk said...

this is funny
jst wondering

Bella j said...

Very inappropriate!

Helena said...

Lmfao they are insane

its a very sensitive word for sure, whoever did the write up should be sanctioned immediately

Jst a piece of Art to me. Maybe wordplay taken too far, bt i don't mind the headline.

nawa oo..shameful..d animal dat put dis out should be sacked..why use rape? why not write Disvirgin?..................................#KingOfKings #6God

LMAO.....Rape and beat na the same nah....but seriously those editors must be high on something local. chaii nothing I won't see for this my sweet country....
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Den wan sell market nii.....

hahahahaha...let anoda heading roll...oya...

Wetin concern rape and soccer again? Abi the male players actually gbensh their female counterparts? Lips sealed!!!

sunday sun don dey mad , its like they deserve some flogging

Hmmmmmmm

Gifted... said...

The sunday sun oughts to apologize for this headline! It can't and should never be accepted!

Olusoji said...

Well the choice of word should carefully be scrutinised. Rape is a very sensitive word and should not be used to describe eaglet is victory over the virgin kid.

Whoever wrote that caption is very stupid and insensitive and obviously has an equally stupid supervisor!

Yea is inappropriate

Smh

Lol... Sunday sun & wahala tho!

Jus too target d audience! Not 2 gud!

I certainly agree with the critics

yes now

Worrisome, highly inappropriate.

MR EDDY said.
I honestly see nothing wrong with the headline.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

Hian! Who was d editor of this article biko? I wonder why people must base everything with sex...oh well..

Very inappropriate, did they even read that caption before releasing it?

Sugarvie said...

Ya its so inapproriate abeg.
***SUGAR***

I totally agree...rape is a very strong word to use in this instance

Etymology said...

Loool

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

Very very inappropriate. in very poor taste. terrible judgement. what editor approved that headline??? i'm all for sensationalism in reporting news but this is simply out of control!!! it's going beyond the beyonds!

pls visit my blog...

Liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERYDAY!

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

That's what u get when uv got mediocre as editors

Soo inappropriate! Mayb their Editor went on vacation!

princess said...

Yea right, it's a bit inappropriate..

Dave onos said...

Stupid headline.

Oh my! The headline made my heart skip till i read d remaining part of d story. Whoever wrote that should be jailed. He's clearly a rapist. If not, he won't be able to freely use that word!

Yeah, its inappropriate

Wow..we'v gone international..hahaha

Linda thanks for this..I once was a member of this team..virgin football academy founded and funded by a Catholic priest,Rev Fr Boniface Emeka Nnaemeka Ezenwaka..i lived with him for 5yearsb@ asokoro in Abuja..he was and still is my father.. he fostered the live for dogs on me..so grateful to him..yea the by beat us buh we had the possession through out the game..a leap of fate it was for them..witnessed the match

Wow and i was thinking that an actual rape really happened here......

Pun backfired

That's a strong word to use.

I agree, the word Rape is very inappropriate..

This is gross.

Linda Na ur own headache be that..they publish

Mtcheeew, people will always talk.

Hahahahaha I Laff in Chinese Omo the word is really harsh abeg what happened to words like beats , won etc.... Lmao

senseless headline.

Na with with those journalists oo

#Abbytohxoft

Lollll hilarious indeed

what is in the mind of the person that coined the caption.

They should be charged for using such odd acordment

###########Dat Igala boi###########

what is on the mind of the very person that coined the caption.

Lmaooooooo

Highly irresponsible journalism. The Editor-in-Chief should be ashamed for approving this!

Okay,at least the word is understood

Ferrary said...

It's out of order...Rye edit should apologise

I agree there are other ways to have address it

joy Egbunu said...

Extremely inappropriate! Wat were they thinking?

#icantcomeandgoandkillmysef

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... Sunday sun should b careful in choosing of words to write their report. Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECHNO F7

Hahaha,wetin dem want make dem write again?

Yeah, the word rape is highly inappropriate, used in this context.

It ain't right at all. Not even on a national dailies.

This is unprofessional.

KWIN MEENA said...

D word rape also means to win or defeat someone by a wide margin. Pple are irritated bcos many relate d word rape wit forced sexual intercourse. I dnt blame sunday sun, dey knw wat dey mean

The word is not even good for football or any game!!!

This is just inappropriate

Totally inappropriate and disgusting

So inappropriate...

the headline is wrong,but also is your sentence about the football club,whats with the "it's like" a football club,it should be it's a football club.

I concur.... Rape has got nothing 2 do with defeat.....its a very bad headline

The caption is bad ( meemee ).

lol. yeah peeps would really get pissed. rape and virgin kids together? lol.

JUST MA OPINION...

i agree, its very inappropriate

May be its their strategy to attract more customers.

Well to many male Nigerians rape is a made Up descriptor for person weydey do Small shakara. They dont Know its a huge life changing offense never to be taken lightly

Lol...the person wey write dat headline is high on cheap drug.

bukkylove said...

What a confusion. I never like d sun newspaper especially for it's lack of investigative journalist

Very very inapropriate. that's too raw.

It's inappropriate actually

Lol, I think it is funny though. It's inappropriate and the editor and copy writer need to have their cranium checked.

chyoski said...

Hmm..bad choice of words no matter how well it fits it

Favour belle said...

....that's why they used the inverted comma up. Its an idiom. #my guess

It's really inappropriate,i agree

Golden Eaglets dis Virgin 'Virgin Kids' would have been more appropriate abi? Ok noted.

lol....but dey are ryt sha

Absolutely inappropriate!

Golden Eaglets dis Virgin 'Virgin Kids' would have been more appropriate abi? Ok noted.

rape should'nt be d word to use

It got me thinking too..like seriously, in as much as a Headline must be catchy, this one is totally out of it..that word shouldn't have been used at all..

Damilola said...

Looks misleading for those of us who do not know Virgin kids is the name of a football team

Dania said...

Thank You I Love You

They have to issue an apology. That is insensitivity at its height.

smh #some headlines can be misleading

A usual term in football dese days, especially wen d losing team was totally outclassed. Maybe inappropriate for d national dailies, but it couldn't get dere if it wasn't accepted on a grassroot scale.

Wow..we'v gone international..hahaha

Linda thanks for this..I once was a member of this team..virgin football academy founded and funded by a Catholic priest,Rev Fr Boniface Emeka Nnaemeka Ezenwaka..i lived with him for 5years @ asokoro in Abuja..he was and still is my father.. he fostered the love for dogs on me..so grateful to him..yea they won us buh we had the possession through out the game..a leap of fate it was for them..witnessed the match

Actually, it's a wrong choice of caption, too bad

DaBabe said...

Unacceptable, very poor choice of words

Lolafunmi said...

I know right
I'm sure they are regretting it lolababy

D sports editor is d crazy one here WTFF!!!!!! N its just 3-1 o! **DOPEY SAID SO**

Henry said...

Juliet take note

This is going over board

Clearance sales: 16 inches Human Hair for 14k and 24 inches for 18k. Other types also available. BBM 2B6C82C7. +free delivery

Abdulmalik Yusuf said...

It's like journalist dis days are either half-baked or high on some kind of weed of good quality, 'cos who does such a thing, rape ain't a word for such a caption, I am no journalist but if I were to intrigue people with d heading I would use "molest" in place of "rape".....

Abdulmalik said so via Motorola T191

So inappropriate.. I literally thought it was like a real "RAPE"

This is rubbish! Absolutely rubbish, this is something journalists can say and joke about within themselves, NOT to print it for the public, it's inappropriate!

@gr8akin

Very inappropriate. I guess thy intended to make sales or headline with this.

Inappropriate choice if words

Inappropriate choice of words