Religion must never be used by anyone to oppress or gain unfair advantage'- Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 January 2015

Religion must never be used by anyone to oppress or gain unfair advantage'- Buhari

He said this at the 8th edition of the Annual Lagos Thanksgiving Service that held yesterday. Buhari said religion must never be used to divide the nation or be used by anyone to oppress or gain unfair advantage.
"I am honoured to participate in this year's edition of the Lagos Thanksgiving Service. I am glad to know that this year's service has brought together Nigerians of all faiths just to thank and praise the Almighty God for his mercies. This is how it should be. Religion must never be used to divide or oppress others or gain unfair advantage. All my life, I have always held the belief that all Nigerians must be fee to worship God according to their beliefs. The duty of government is not religion, the duty of government is to ensure peace, security of all Nigerians, regardless of tribe, race or religion. And this is a commitment all of us must make in this service" He said

116 comments:

I laugh in Spanish,anything to win election

Phronesisfashionworld said...

Buhari is guilty of this

True Talk.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Polities driving everybody crazy

...#JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

We hear him!

Very true but they still use, easier said than done

It creates division and hatred across the line.

True Talk.

FOLARIN• said...

I agree with him
But a lot of Nigerians are blinded by religion and tribe.

Buhari for president

True Talk.

Josh Atuanya said...

I can never trust a politician...

Dats ma president...if na PDP pple nw insult 4 must follow...

yes ooo....don't consider by religion but by ability .
GMB
------------LIB prince -----------
----------LIB Prince-------------
-----------LIB prince ------------

www.glowyshoe.com said...

hmmmm we've heard him..we just waiting for 2015

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

He said......

Thank God February is around the corner, we will finally have some peace from all their incessant banter.

Now we know better, this is not the time to get baptized Azikiwe overnight coz of out votes, then we sacrificed competence on the altar of ethno religious sentiments.
Now we know better.

Devil speaking.

Mehn, can't wait for this election to come and again, everything right now is all about politics, if person marry or get a new girlfriend, they would associate it with politics

Nice speech sha

But will he do it

That his how there notions abt things change during d political year..Anyway it's all good. Ask him if he has been in Lagos Thanksgiving Service b4???

Hear hypocrite talking...

All bcos of 2015.

#Royal Priesthood#

Wish it could just be so sire....wish all men could be of good hearts...let me stop here..it is well with us all(all religions). Matt 7:1. @Bishop_Dammy

Nah soo our next President of Nigeria

He is honoured indeed...

Where was he all dis while when it was b conducted in other yrs?

If he likes, attend vatican city for holy mass stil nothing for him.

GEJ all d way to 2019.

#Royal Priesthood#

What about the sharia law he said Nigeria needed?

No body is using any religion to run polictics
Y'all should stop fooling ur self

True talk Sir.
P4dworld @gmail.com

Issokay... We hav hear!

Hmmm......
Make he win Na make we see if he will continue to sing d sane song...

SAI Buhari.....GMB all the 2015.

Blaq said...

That's the truth

Facts!!!! I concur with that....religion is not the religion we all know so why use it as a means to vote? Nigerians should open their eyes and see beyond their religious belief
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

John Philemon said...

The Perfect World is a world without Religion

MR EDDY said.
What do u even know about politics.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

correct but tbh I hate muslims..Crazy set of pple...............................#KingOfKings #6God

Religion from time immemorial has always been an issue.
I hope his unbiased insight wont be short lived if voted into office.

MR EDDY said.
Na thunder go blind him and his sharia law.

Buhari, carry go👍👍👍. Dont mind all these corrupt politicians who are slandering ur name for their selfish aims.

MR EDDY said.
Who exactly are u referring to?

MR EDDY said.
If he wins we are all finished. there will be no more western flexing like night clubs, wearing or jegins and so on and so forth.

MR EDDY said.
Sai Buhari gidan ku

Viktur said...

Yes oo...ask him why he has his caps on when every oda person took theirs off? Politics can make a dog become an elephant...we all know he hates christianity.»»using a passtor as his vice is a camouflage .»GEJ till Buhari dies

MR EDDY said.
Eyes are wide open

Skipper25 said...

And who do you consider d Saint/Angel???....Shut ur f***king mouth there!!!!....

That's the truth

Linda, do us a favour this new year and ban this miscreant from here.

prefer Buhari to GEJ and I agree with the statement but I hope he really means it.

Help ask am o! He is so quick to vomit rubbish and multiple times too!!. Don't know who let him loose from the mental institution where he was been held...lol!

Biko, try to distance your self from sounding like that lunatic Royal Priesthood. Cos right now you seem to be on the same path as him

Na today??make we hear joor

Eddy wiz it's so obvious u jobless😬

All for vote

Princess G said...

It's true but also a political talk.

Skipper,shut ur faggot infested trap,the man started this in Nigeria by sayn no muslim shld vote for a xtan and dats wot the buharites are preaching in d core north now

FOLARIN• said...

It's 2015 already

He is still a beta candidate. Linda take note!

True talk.. why did jonathan choose a muslim running mate if he thinks Muslims are evil in his dumb skull

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

4dia big pocket

Some people can say rubbish oo....is he d only one puttin on cap there??

Steady said...

Religious Spartan wey dey talk shit

We neeed change cum February!!;

angelite said...

Wah r u trying to say....

Unfortunately the only thing you and your opposition have going for you is religion.

Buhari for president.....

swt b said...

story for d gods.

GEJ till 2019.. Who want to vote for mallam. God forbid!

Shanding2k2... said...

True talk sir, those who have ears let them listen coz the days are evil wolves in sheep clothes all over the place. God help Nigeria.

princess said...

I can't be deceived by such talk, its just campaigning. This was d same man that said he will spread sharia in Nigeria.. pple should stop being sentimental, if Buhari is ur choice vote him atleast u av ur reasons but I hate it when politicians try to lure pple and make them sympathetic to their cause..

Buhari is a hypocrite and smooth operating slimy devil.

sodablog said...

Story for ya sef GMB. Me no yike ew..... Babalawo

Gen gen, buhari don turn arna o. If boko haram catch u say u attend end of the year thanks giving u're finish. Yan uwa na musulumi.

MR EDDY said.
Don't u guys ever get? I don't dis anonymous so please if u wanna reply me kindly use an ID.

Good4u!!

Has buhari forgotten wah he said years ago..that Christians should vote for Christians and Muslims should do same..hypocrite

oyekunle bunmi said...

True

south ockendon said...

GMB for 2015

Which ever way I look at d elections we r doomed as a nation. If jonathan wins , bokoham wil continue, if buhari wins niger delta militants start attack on oil installations. D only solution is for us as nation 2 go back 2 tru federalism nd resource control , dat will ensure equity.

kristina said...

Goodluck Jonathan is not the problem neither is
buhari the solution. Nigerians are the problem.
When we begin to shift our perception and
perspective towards realising faults do not come
from others but from ourselves, the world
would be a better place.
That is how change starts.

True but e no de work for naija

JohnCrown said...

Thanks Max, remind him pls

GMB Have Spoken.......

»»Says De-Champion««

Go back in front of you Muslim brothers / imams and say that, then we will believe you.
I though you wanted to sharia Nigeria, changed your mind?

Maxwell are u sure of wat u saying

abujakenneth said...

Buhari has used religion several times and he is still willing to deploy it. That is why most of the APC top notches are muslims

@Maxwell Let's assume what u said of Buhari is true. Please share a link of the video or writeup. Why do you people do this? It's unfair!

He's trying to say vote 4 CHANGE #GMB 2015

This one is for a good reason...don't u realise that Pastor E.A Adeboye was consulted before Prof. Osinbajo was chosen as a running mate for Buhari? GMB 2015

day by day i realize that Buhari is a joker.....mehn what people do to win elections....look at his past and you'll realize that he is a strict fundamentalist and boko haram friendly... all this one he is saying is 'turanchi'

mz_souzee said...

day by day i realize that Buhari is a joker.....mehn what people do to win elections....look at his past and you'll realize that he is a strict fundamentalist and boko haram friendly... all this one he is saying is 'turanchi'

Royal Priesthood you are too dense to understand anything. Idiocy runs in you from head to toe otherwise you would appreciate the words spoken by GMB.

EDDY, Democracy can't be Anarchy..you follow protocols before bills are passed. These protocols involve a lot of Lawmakers so, realise that Buhari cannot and will not do wat u mentioned when he's President. GEJ has failed Children, father's and mothers. Let's have a Change of hands. GEJ clearly has the greediest of advisers and dogs who cannot bring fruitful ideas e.g Reno, Okupe etc His Administration stands for CORRUPTION. #Pointblank

All is well.

After side lining ur supposed running mate for another cos of religion so as to get advantage, you became a preacher, this is hilarious

You are the hypocrite that ought to be banned!!!

For your mind! Dream on!

Come Onyx why don't you take your guy self to the booths and go vote buhari and shut the f**k up. I'm really really tired of your ranting. Childishness oozes from your comments all the freaking time.

Come Onyx why don't you take your gay self to the booths and go vote buhari and shut the f**k up. I'm really really tired of your ranting. Childishness oozes from your comments all the freaking time. Na wetin sef?

..it is either he has amnesia or his brain is weak...the fool once said that xtians n muslims shud vote for their kind...so who is he trying to fool **DOPEY SAID SO**

J Wilson said...

Big hypocrite!

J Wilson said...

@ priceless pearl lmao! Abi o, point am out jare. Just to funny hehehehe

J Wilson said...

Bonario, get ready for sharia law! As e be say ur choice na buhari

J Wilson said...

Can't believe someone as enlightened as u is talking like dis. None of dem are good but in dis case, it's choosing d lesser of two evils.

Vote with your brain, not inherited prejudices.

Favour belle said...

A big one for that matter. .anything means to win election.

Hmmmmmmmmm just thinking.

Optimalgoal@gmail.com

Anon 3:53, it is unfair to quote buhari in his own words, but very fair to blame gej for every single wrong in the country including the fact you can't activate ur data subscription. Rubbish

Abeg oo tell em cuz some peeps b thinking anoda fin entirely

Bros just make sure u mean what u said o.Ama ndi ana eze.uwa di omimi.

Issue said...

No be this Nigeria we dey? Any crisis for North dem go run burn church. Abi Na me talk say make Muslims vote Muslims? Na me talk say sharia must spread for the whole Nigeria? Kai Naija wake up, we sharp pass this nonsense abeg.

AGB said...

@DacDuchess, you speak so ignorantly yet you speak that ignorance with so much confidence. In case you don't know,no single Nigerian president can change the nation to either a full Christian or full Muslim country. The president does not have the powers to make laws, the NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (senators and house of representatives' members) are the ones who make laws under our constitution.
Besides,under the military regime when Buhari was head of state,he had all the powers in the world to do whatever he wanted or pleased with Nigeria and he didn't so how is that even go to be possible under a democratic setting with a legislature? Please read dear. Thank you.

AGB said...

Http://factschecki.ng

I don't care Muslim or Christian....buh Nigeria needs a change n GEJ has shown his incapability to govern dis great Nation. Soo choose der lesser evil. If corruption is ruled out i think nija wud stand a chance.