"Why marriages are no longer working in Nigeria' Seun Kuti breaks it down | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 December 2014

"Why marriages are no longer working in Nigeria' Seun Kuti breaks it down

In a new interview with Encomium magazine, afrobeat singer, songwriter and saxophonist Seun Kuti, who has said many times that he doesn't believe in marriage, said one of the reasons marriages no longer last in Nigeria is because women are no longer submissive. Read below & tell us if you agree
"I don't believe in marriage. The truth is, the marriage institution in Nigeria has collapsed. Nobody is getting married for long anymore. On the average, it's within a year. Although they still marry, they separate. The thing responsible for it is that people get married for the wrong reasons. As a matter of fact, the institution of marriage is fading away in the traditional sense of marriage - for love; for better or worse; and all sort. It's fading because women are no longer submissive.

For you to live together with someone for life, someone must be submissive. That is easier when women are not working, and they depend on their husband. But now, its becoming difficult because they are working; making more money even more than the men. The situation is terrible. Even if you as a man is not looking outside, your wife will look.
I've made a decision and my partner already agreed. In fact there was a wedding we went attended in Ibadan, the couple broke up at the reception. Because of picture, the bride's father wanted to take first, the groom's father said No and they started quarreling. The couple broke up at the reception. How about that?
About my father marrying 27 wives, if you look deep, you will discover that in 1986 my father divorced all his wives. People seem to forget this fact. It also goes to buttress my point that says marriage is becoming a fading institution. Fela was the epitome of marriage. First, he married one woman, then he married 26 at once. He has experienced both, and later he came out to say marriage is bad. What about that?" He said

166 comments:

Ehhhhh

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Marriage is a sacred union. Made in heaven
One of the most important human relations to God. I believe in marriage.
There are more wonderful unions out there to convince the unconvinced.

The women are not the only ones with the fault for marriages not working: the real question is why do we get married! Most men can't even answer that. But it hasn't gotten to the extent of not believing in marriage sir as most marriages built on a solid foundation still work. It is well. Prov 3:10-31, Eph 5:25. BishopDammy#

so true since equal right with women came to the fore.

Kourtney Kardashian covers Dujour magazine Naked-photos

Bia nwokem jeee nodu ani na gutter.....women are no longer submissive n make money evn more dan men my ass! How abt men are No longer faithful? Bet u 4got dat part. Abeg pack!

no be small thing o. truth hurts! even these men want rich wife and don't even consider respect.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

i partially agree with him...buh to be honest marriage is scary

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Saidat said...

Ur father married 26 wives at once and u are here using him as an example?mfhew rada rada

I pity you... marriage is a sacred thing...

seunLondon said...

His opinion! #SeunLondon

Don't understand biko maybe I no dey understand English 4 afternoon ,will read later..

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

ASILAREX said...

I only read the first two lines and already I could tell that it's a very stereotypical piece. Marriage STILL works and some people still get married for the right reasons. We all ain't a bunch of amateur bro.

Ezeokwu to some extent doe.

Long live LIB™

You can't force down your opinion on others . It's yours and yours alone. As for the women being unsubmissive, there must be a reason. Men are supposed to love their wives after which she is to reciprocate with submission. There are still marriages that have lived upto its expectations of "For better or worse".
This doesn't rule out the fact that there are bad marriages.But it's good to be positive and not predict our downfall before it happens.

Oga..wat about the the marriages that are working.e.g. my marriage

susanadie said...

marriage fade when u marry the wrong person. marriage is all about understanding each other and u must tolerate one another. being submissive is for the both parties.

The guy is not rit, Not every women did't submisive. Some forth do come from men.

Oga abeg park well...which 1 is we women shld b submissive so bcus we want our marriage 2 work we shld obey n say yes 2 evrythn a man says abi even wen he says we shldn't work n we end up askn 4 money 2 buy evrythn includn pants n sanitary pads wen we aren't robots pls pls we can't depend on our husbands..nowadays 70 to 80% of women take care of d house financially as men r becoming lazy day by day so really marriage isn't abt d woman becomin totally submissive sure being submissive is a factor dt has 2 b considered bt 4 marriage 2 work d most important thing is understanding n respect 4rm both parties.. NJ

I don't think its because women are no longer submissive. Its as a result of so many things put together, but one of the major reasons has to do with sex. Either one of the partner is unfaithful or one of the partner is not sexual satisfied in the relationship. But unfaithfullness is the major cause.

My marriage will be sweet And it will last

He may ne right in way but i think he also have the wrong orientation about marriage #jojo#

If u don't beleve in marriage u shut up ur dirty mouth

Yes, marriage institutions is nothing to write about. Also most ppl are looking for helper/ assistant not love.
70% of our girls are either ashawo, olosho/ runs girls, only 30% are responsible.

Marriage counsellor Seun.

That is your opinion my man so no hate. I believe in marriage and thats mine.

Seun so on point

Neks said...

>>>>>> He kinda make sense, but the one thing i know is marriage is not for everyone <<<<<

Na him opinion sha........... Marriage is biblical and he doesn't believe in it then he can just pack well

Hmmmmm
He kinda sound confusing
Well over to those who are in the hustle to marry, my time still far

KWIN MEENA said...

I DISAGREEE! Marriages dnt break bcos of lack of submissiveness of wives. It could be either d husband or d wife's fault. And dey are stil a million marriages in Nigeria dt are working jst fyn

Talk2Henry said...

Na so I hear

Dave Mide said...

And hes an expert in this becuz?? Take several seats

I don't believe women shud be submissive... It shud be mutual

#okeyspeaks

Shut up.your life will never allow his to work or look beautiful.
Faceoflib

LORDSTAN said...

True talk shaa.. But we still have good women today who still make millions and yet they are submissive.. That's Y I love my mum

Terrific said...

Who is he to talk about marriage? After all he came out from a failed one. And because like begats like, I am not surprised.

Now to the institution of marriage the problem we face as men is that we are looking for spouses outside the presence of God. We can't locate our God designed woman outside this.
Secondly, after locating Gods presence which is also his purpose, God gave him work.
Thirdly, he gave him a duty to cultivate it (responsibility)
Fourthly, he gave him His word (of all the fruits in the garden, thou shall not eAt of the tree of life).

All this came Before the woman came in.

So my take on this is that marriages fail because we misplace the priorities of marriage which is responsibility before the woman

Another thing is that u are to cultivate the woman. Therefore if UR woman fails it's as result of UR failure in been a the man God designed u to be.

With all our shortcomings Christ still loved and died for us. And that's the same way we are encouraged to also love our wives.

Now ask yourself, can I love my woman no matter what she does?

marriage no longer work because of the selfishness of individual...oluwalobunmi

LOL.......@ d bride's father wanted to take picture....d groom father said no.... and they broke up!!! choi!!!! ise aye of life and death!!!...btw hope say hin baba mama dey see dis one wey him talk!!

DIS IS GRACE B

MamaWhat??? said...

The bible says commit your work in Gods hand and he will see u through...commit your marriage, build it including God in it and he'll establish it. Femi's 50% wrong

LORDSTAN said...

True talk shaa.. But we still have good women today who still make millions and yet they are submissive.. That's Y I love my mum

Thelma Black said...

Anything that makes you sleep well at night dear...THELMA BLACK

Marriage is sweet when you marry for the right reasons.

100% eziokwu

Women are not submissive true,but atleast women have stopped dying unnecessarily from hypertention.Left for me o,there's enough blame to go around.Women stopped being submissive and men stopped luving their wives.Shikenan!

no be your mama started gender equality?

Omoni-J said...

Your school of thought though....

Its totally not about the women. No more tolerance, respect, communication in marriages. Secondly, courtship has declined. People just rush into marriage without knowing their partners

If you don't believe in marriage other believe. If u think marriage institution is collapsing in nigeria, some are not collapsing. Let marry joo so to have happy home. mjabdulk@gmail.com

You can't claim to know too much of an institution you are not into or believe in. Marriage can never fade away because It was ordained by God.

lami said...

Different strokes for different folks, that's your own opinion.

Hahahahahahahahahaha !
Buhahahahahahahaha... SAY WHAT ?
They broke up at the RECEPTION ? ! ?
My belle o o o !

Sorry bros , I disagree with you .
If you ask me , I will say that marriage no longer work because LOTS of US" discovered TECHNOLOGY !
We watch the whites break up after 72 days and get the GUY everybody want , We now have on line dating , LIES through the phone . Some want to be known at all cost , Some got married based on material things , some got married because they believed TIME WAS NO LONGER ON THEIR SIDE, They rush in to bear that title MR/MRS and rush out almost immediately because their partner was never what they want .
Come to think of it , Our fathers and mothers are still together in our lives while some of us, The "SHARP & WORLDLY WISE ONES" are already dealing with husband/wife number 2 !
Oh yeah , don't forget COMPLEX , This also play a major role when it comes to failed marriages .
Some people love borrowed life , so lots of things are also borrowed including emotional feelings . Ask me again and I will say that Marriage is hopelessly OVERRATED !
Sorry Dad , that's how I feel .

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Dat Is Y Dating Is Very Important B4 Marriage. Addup SingleLadies 4 A Serious Date 2bcdd5ed, Luv Is In D Air By IkejiLinda

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Hmmm.....story for the Gods

ORACLE SAYS SO

HE IS ON POINT. PEOPLE DO THINGS BECAUSE THEIR FRIENDS ARE DOING IT NOT BECAUSE THEY HAVE PASSION FOR IT. . REPORTING>. LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>

most of d problem is frm d men

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Hmmmmmm... He is partially right, but its on both sides too, d men take women 4 granted too, nd there are still lots of working class women that are submissive, my believe is wen Ʊ re considering marriage be ready to make lots of sacrifices, two diff individuals wit diff backgrnd nd personality re coming 2geda as one, they should be ready to bend their rules and sacrifice instead of opting out over any lil tin...all is well

okay seen. i hope your partner wont get tired of your philosophy

to long abeg..

OK... we have heard

Wow! How chauvinistic!

Ogechi said...

I don;t think the failure of marriages these days is as a result of women not being submissive. I think it has to do with both parties. Most people marry for the wrong reasons. Most times lack of understanding and communication causes the failure of marriages.

His reason seems sexist and a tad Neanderthal. Common sense is not so common! So women alone are the only reason marriages aren't working, seriously?!

linda ikeji's boo said...

olding days love is gone.but nowadays,the woman you met and married from a disco house,na disco go carry her go ooooo.hmmm I talk my own.

That your wife cheated on u does not mean that other people's wives are cheats

I beg to disagree. Iam a career woman, married for 8 years and marriage is soo sweet. I have a very intolerable husband but I see God in him so that I can be happy. I have chosen to make conscious effort to happy in marriage .

All I can say is Shut Up!! Shut Up!! and Shut Up!! Your so full of shit especially terming Fela an epitome of anything besides stupidity and maybe odd somewhat good music :). Just because things don't work for some people does not mean it won't work for others. Women are no longer submissive? How about men are no longer men (only sensible people will get). If u like expect your woman 2 submit 2 u and don't submit 2 her then let's see how much she'll love u. If you want everything, you have 2 give everything. Life is a risk and so is this so called love. It's your choice and business whether u get married or not just don't go generalising and naming wasted people. How about the 1ns married 4 ages. U won't name them bah. Infact I won't type any further cos it'll get gross. ----C21

Bold Kid said...

Different strokes for different ppl.

He should Save his preaching 4 his family

Sigh!

True word bt marriage no b by force.... Y enta wen u cnt handle

True talk dear. ...It jes d grace of God

These weed-smoking, fried-brained, dysfunctional, promiscuous Kutis should just just shut up for once and be contented with swimming in their waywardness if they like it so much.

I hope u discover one of ur kids is not yours. Better still, all your kids sef!

Roaming goats living off their father's legacy!!

If any one of my girls or boys even try as much as date one of these jackasses, they'll get it REAL HOT from me!!!

Charly Boy better sef.

I will be surprise to hear any reasonable thing from this guy on marriage considering the circumstances in which he was born. The so called marriage Fela had with 26 women which i don't know if his mother was among them; is that what he called marriage? Abeg he should pack well jare! and let better people talk. I blame the people that gave him audience to talk on marriage which he knows nothing about.

With all due respect, I feel sorry for you, your girlfriend and children. If this is what you can say. Instead of encouraging people to work out their differences, you are saying marriage is a failed institution. Not impressed one bit.
And don't be fooled, there are many marriages working, they just don't come out on social media. Guys never ever use social media to generalize what is happening in Nigeria.

Naija Inspirational Zone said...

Wow, they broke up at the reception? thats crazy men. Anyways I sincerely hope my own marriage will last when i finally get married. Dating just one girl saved me a lot of stress, imagine when I marry her? Every man and his own opinion shaa. I still love and respect the institution of marriage.
Please do like my fb page https://www.facebook.com/naijainspirationzone and please visit and drop a comment on this website www.naijainspirationzone.com

it was in the past a woman would be patient with excessive cheating, disrespect, beating etc that destroys their self esteem. and so many other things. women are wiser now they want to be also extremely rich and take charge . that is why the conflict is high .

so because your father was a man whore that gives u the right to act silly? really? my parents have been married for over 30 years and counting how about that? I have friend s and know people who are married for over 20 years .how about that?
when people want to act stupid they start thinking of petty reasons that don't hold water... deep down you know as well as I know your father wasn't any childs role model.. oh yes I said it he was a hero in just one aspect.. on other aspects he was a bad influence..
seems you cant make a statement without trying to justify your fathers misdeed.. even femi doesn't make as much noise as you do. in the end I say let him be ..let dead be or shut the hell up!!!!!

Abegiiii. Point of correction men look outside Coz they want to test every woman now you re putting it on woman.

=CYNTHIA=commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

marriage is scary.. but i'll marry for sure and i'll enjoy every bit of it. Yes!

Why blame only women?I say both sexes are equally responsible.How about addressing the infidelity nature of some men!it's disgusting.I agree that people marry for selfish reasons these days,eg a woman marrying a man she don't love because of money n class, He's most likely to treat her like trash. It pays to live a good life.

Lol..he's got a point sha. But to be realistic. Sometimes men are the cause of it. Most men tend to act all holier than thou,just to win the woman's heart. And when they finally step into matrimony, the man starts to reveal a whole new character. So I think both gender has their flaws..

You have a point but some marriage r still working cos we have sm submissive wives. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

Your personal opinion, nigger.

Some people will not understand but the fact still remain that you atre correct. Marriage can only be successful when the husband met the wife poor.

Well, i have been married for a very very long time and my marriage is great so…It depends on the kind of home you come from. I LOVE MARRIAGE.

Well, some marriages still work so he shouldn't conclude that they all don't. Let me stop here

Walsmorgan said...

Sharrap there. Whatever rocks ur both. To me marriage is sweet and it will work for me. Sip some tea.

My friend sharrap! And he blames the woman . I hate men like you! What of men who batter their wives, those that commit adultery. For a marriage to work it takes two to tango also for its crash both are part of it. Mtcheeew submissive ko, submissive ni! That is how men won't marry your daughters they would be only baby mama,s. Who wants to marry you sef with ur wowo face.. Rubbish

I agree, women not been submissive is a major factor is broken marriages. (I'm a married woman). Many men have always cheated or treated their wives badly, but in the past the women stayed, now modern women just walk out.

Kimmy*****

The fact said...

Poor parental upbringing and societal values play huge roles...A lot of Nigerians want to copy the exact lifestyle of Americans or Europeans...I am totally against the old ways when women were maltreated or somehow had no say in family affairs but I still believe that Nigerians (especially the women) have copied foreign values of intolerance to a very unhealthy extent...Some ladies even think they are cool and classy when they express their intentions of wanting to be single mothers...

Oga, I dnt accept ur argument, marriage is not all about love, is mostly of compromise and understanding. We are all humans no one is perfect, all we need is grace to compromise and forebear excesses of any partner, marriages still work in nigeria

Diva 8 said...

Marriage is tough, I must tell you. I have been married for 6 years and no be joke. Most married people you see (and want to be truthful) will say the same. I know God wanted us to get married for some good reasons, but that is why it takes just Him to make it work.

He does have a point. Well sort of...
I could not stay with my ex hubby. He did not work and was content with being kept but still expected to be the head of the union. I mean, I worked, made the money, paid the bills, the rent, bought the food, cooked the food, did the dishes.
Once I realised his long term plans did not include a job
eventually all the love, companionship and sex in the world could not keep me happy.
So Mr Seun, on the flip side of women's relunctance to submit is the man's unwillingness to be a man.

I agree...

That's because men are not longer worthy of been submitted to.

What a loser! Sounds like all that is in between his ears is jelly...
So because your daddy married 1 and then twenty-six wives, and because you think that women are no longer submissive, marriage must be the worst choice ever?
Check his egg head logic out!
On the next one please...

elovi said...

Make ur own last ooo dis 1 ur. Talking nice 1 tho

SHUGA APRILS $$$ said...

Hmm.... We don hear... I will marry n my marriage would last!

Winyluv@yahoo.com

his opinion...

Atobatele said...

As much as I'll love to agree with you, I'll disagree because I believe some marriages still stand. If only both partner agrees that it takes two to tango.

The devil used eve to cos the first commotion on earth and he is still using lots of women to do his work, lots of them will still not agree with him or me ...... What do you expect when they are copying the whites man tradition ..... They wanna be like Rihanna and Kim k ..... I pity our girls

elovi said...

Oga hope say ur own go last

Dats his own opinion, he shud go and ask omotola how her own is working

Doesn't want to loose his baby mama coz when u marry u'll start looking 4 perfect thing in something that is not perfect.#smartguy

Perfectly Said

Firstlady ngozi said...

It is true women nw seeks to be equal wit men,all dis talk abt female liberation is doing more harm dan gud.it takes only a God fearng woman to build her home

destinysweet said...

Nd his gfrnd go still dey born for who nor bliv in marriage, chai girls sef

---------#Auntylindagoddaughter#

destinysweet said...

Nd his gfrnd go still dey born for who nor bliv in marriage, chai girls sef

---------#Auntylindagoddaughter#

Dozman said...

I don't agree with Seun. Marriage is not an Autocratic institution but an that of tolerance by both parties involved. what what for Couple A may and sometimes will not work for Couple B.

Marriages fail for a thousand reasons from both men n women so saying marriages fail bcos women are no longer submissive is just out of it. U sound like men are saints. Ednamaka3@gmail.com

FEmi Kuti let me tell you something, your father was a great man but there are many greater than him.

So what he divorced 26 women...there are great African men that married more and didnt have to divorce

such men seek out submissive women...a submissive woman is not necessarily stupid

she just realizes that her man's happiness is as paramount as her own, and so sometimes she goes out of her comfort zone to make the husband happy

MOMOGAMY OR NOT

Its just that a lot of women are seeing bubble gum guys these days and they are depressed

So they rebel

Which is where the African man is REALLY dulling

What your wife doesnt know will not kill her

Will it kill you guys to be covert when necessity arises

#Takethemtochurch

Mz..S said...

Story for the gods

MADNESS! MADMAN ABEG GO GET A WIFE AND START TALKING TRASH

what can some1 do now, remain single of what? (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

Na you sabi....if does not work for everyone it will work for me IJN amen.#gift#

Harrie said...

Hehe... Humans beings can never truly understand each other..now don't get me wrong, we've actually got a couple of successful marriages.. Buh at some point they're bound to exchange words or even nag at each other....y'get??
Cherrio.

PeopIe marry for aII the wrong reasons. They forget that itz nt about gettng married bt stayIng married. Wedding day excites aIot of ppI more dan the Journey itseIf

Ziggyflex said...

Different strokes for different folks.A lady working doesn't implies she wont be submissive.Whatever rocks your boat Seun.

ThinkTank said...

Because it does not fit your lifestyle does not mean marriages are not working. your partner did not agree with you just bullied into it. More marriages may be breaking up cos women are now taking less crap aka sub-servant. Fellow women please go to school, work hard and less dependent on men.

Abeg this guy should take a back seat!
.. He's got no clue abt marriage and how it works becos he's never been there.
If you meet your destined partner, it's for life..but deliverance and counselling is advised before the journey of marriage begins.

*My R1.50c comment*

Daily diet tv said...

I gleefully concur! To some extent tho.

~BADOO OF COVENTRY

Seun Stop smoking crack and weeds

Please add in your own opinion anytime you r being interviewed!!!

Dat z ur business if it ain't working for you doesn't mean it ain't working for odas...nd hu sed being a house wife is equivalent 2 being a submissive??....The truth bou most marriages dat work is that they have God as their foundation....nw d sad question is how many couple esp d men are ready 2 have God as the head of their home??

Da real dea said...

Your own point of view.......he jst kept on talkin abt women not being submissive and oda shit....wat abt men?ur talk no follow joor,park well. #Luciaisdarealdeal

elovi said...

So true

elovi said...

Dis man sha

Truly, i agree with the fact that Africans rush into marriage for all the wrong reasons. Marriage is just by luck to me. It doesn't matter how long you have know your spouse. But when you marry for all the right reasons you still enjoy it.

I don't agree with him. Perhaps he is concluding based on his personal experience. Besides why is he putting blames on the women folks as if we men are saints? The truth is that there is decline is our value system and everybody wanna explore and live a life without warning. Ever since we began this issue of court marriage in Nigeria, it has given many of us to see marriage as a contract instead of covenant. In courtship, that is the better part. 'For worse' are those events that take place after wedding like the changes in behaviour. Life after wedding cannot be the same with life before wedding. Until we learn to love unconditionally and prepare for the unexpected, marriages will continue to crash. Religion aside, two people coming from different culture, background, tribe and orientation are coming together. They are not kids but grown up adults. Adolescents can only adjust and it takes time. The bottom line is that people should learn to be a man/woman before becoming a father/mother. Its all about maturity and high self esteem.

Meanwhile Linda, you are advising Lagos single babes to go for that handsome guy, don't you know you stand a better chance,lolz? Funny enough there are many promising guys on your blog. Look inward and you will choose the best option. Best of luck!

Marriage institution is not fading at all. It all depends on your reason for getting married in the first place. If you check the statistics of those are married now and compare it with the era of your dad you will see that the number has increased

frankcben9295@gmail.com

Austine Chijindu said...

No one is more smarter than the CREATOR, GOD knew the the characteristics of the humans he made and therefore stressed the importance of 'submissiveness' and 'patience' as two traits necessary for the longevity of the marriage institution, but then humans have over the years discarded these two traits all under the guise of freewill, women's rights and modernization,and the end result is chaos,deceit and instability of marriages, and the funny thing is that after all these we still has the mouth and boldness to blame GOD.

True talk sha. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

CHIKITO said...

What balberdash! Very myopic and stereotyped thinking. You wont blame your dad who married 26 at a time, you wont blame the men who batter their wives and cheat, you wont talk about communication, compatibility and understanding - buh you will blame the women who work. Marriages are no longer working because women work. Really? Everybody has advise for women: how to get married early, how to make your man love you, how to keep a home.. bla bla bla bla.

Very shallow minded thinking. Poor is the man who ever feels threatened by a working wife. Shame on any african man who still thinks this way. Sorry Sir, The world has moved past you, long past you. Better hurry and catch up with those working women or be left behind. If you're still looking for submissive go back to 1940 and pick a slave woman for a wife, who will quiver at your majestic feet. Rubbish.

Bia Linda, berra mind what annoying pieces you post on your blog. You are just busy posting anything you see, with no screening and no words from you to mark your stand. Its this same myopic minded men that will look at your sexy Range Rover, grow green with envy and say your crown is incomplete because you are still single. Really? So what completes a woman in Nigeria is to have the legal and societal approved ownership of a penis. Shame on some men. Idiats!!

I agree and disagree with him @ the same time. Women are always blamed forgetting that the men also have a role to play to make the marriage work. It doesn't fall on the women alone but both parties have to make it work #onelovefromSnow#

very true.. research says married women cheat more than married men now

Golda Awosika said...

U ve 2 undastand it b4 u do it. Is it dat hard 2 comprehend,ppl shud write exams b4 being allowed 2 get married aswear

Wunmi O. said...

NA WA O. THAT IS WHY ONE HAS TO BE PRAYERFUL BEFORE ONE GET SAY I DO. MAY GOD HELP US ALL SHA. U CAN NOT JUST COMPLETELY RULE OUT MARRIAGE O

He dounds very sexist. I'm baffled by submissiveness in marriage. Guys in these unions are married to themselves. They don't want an engaged active partner preferring to lord over their spouse. Stay single if you can't handle a woman with her own ideas and brain.

Gdys said...

oga I disagree with u, there are so many couple who still stay together, I think u are saying this from d view of celebrities

charlesome said...

It is the responsibility of the both party to make their make work in a good way. Mindless of that, who will take care of it?

@papi chulo you be fool oo,dem don dash u small change we u go take pay 4 data abi,idiot....back to d matter I beg how old dis seun don dey sef? He just dey use india hem sense dey talk 4 hia,u don go take d last rap abi?.

If she stays, does that mean the marriage is working?. It means she's married to herself in the real sense of it. It's not modern women my darling it's wise women who know their worth and have a choice because some women still stay. Some women too cause problems I agree because love means forgiveness that is if ur hubby will forgive u also . Just give ur best but don't die abeg. Leave a cheat, leave a man that treats u badly as long as u've tried Leave for ur own health and peace of mind. I just had2 say this incase u're among those staying ----C21

Kip kidding yourself inugo. Don't Repent

My thoughts exactly! People like him are the problems for failed marriages actually.

Yea yea Marriage is overrated, these days people marry for wrong reasons (Money, fame, physique) but the fact still remains that it is recognized by God and moreso sacred. God hates divorce and not the divorcee.

First time i would be commenting on this blog after years of visiting...True words from Bishop Dammy...Nicely said

@ wilheminna Moses...Gbam Gbamer Gbamest! You hit the nail on the head. They expect us to be submissive while you sleep around. No boo boo, it doesn't work that way.

Yes ooo... I don't believe in marriage either.
I just see people killing themselves staying in marriages, I think is crazy.... my dad and mum's own didn't work but that's not why I'm saying this.
The ultimate thing in life is to serve God and make Heaven, I don't see marriage as that in the Bible.
Marriage even make you to serve God less.
Any body can chose what they want...is your life.
For me, in as much as is not written in that Bible that if I don't marry I won't go to Heaven, then marriage not my main priority in life.
Part of why I'm single today is because women out there want to use something to put you in chains and at the end of the day' where their heart lies is marriage and not really want to know the person they are with. God help us.

Arrant rubbish.

(Twitter/ig)

Abeg tel dat male chauvinist pig.

Rossy said...

Most times one d couple will have to play a fool 4 it to work nd don't mistake maltreatment 4 submissive

Exactly my thoughts. Again he is passing to men to become more insecure and edgy. He must be oppressing his partner. Men who crave for submission are completely insecure people who uses their wives to offset their failures. Yamayama boy!

olu sales consult said...

What's your point, Seun?

I need a chance to shine.

I also disagree becos my grandparents re still married

Na you know,like father like son

Its an individual thing...there are still submissive women though

Mista Short said...

Smokes weed and starts spitting rubbish! This guy can lie for Africa! The couple broke up at the reception cos of pictures!

Story!!!

Story!!!

Men are always d cause of it most of d time

Most men go into marriage as an escape route or for a price tag, I belong too ad to get more accollade as a responsible dude, cut that crap, there must be a real purpose for marriage, here in Nigeria, marriage is the B all ad end all. Ladies too ain't helping the situation, they put d brodas in a diadem for quivering.
Gab2shoessaysso

THE DOWNTURN IN THE ECONOMY HAS PUT SO MUCH PRESSURE ON PEOPLE, BECAUSE OF OUR COMMUNAL NATURE. PEOPLE WHO ARE LACKING HAVE INCREASED IN NUMBER THAT THE ONLY FEW WHO ARE MANAGING TO GET BY ARE BEARING SO MUCH FROM TOO MANY ABLE BODIED DEPENDENTS.

I THINK THAT IS THE NUMBER ONE REASON WHY MARRIAGES ARE COLLAPSING.

AS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE MONEY, IN CASE OF MONIED MEN THEY HAVE TOO MANY YOUNG GIRLS WHO ARE STRUGGLING FINANCIALLY AT THEIR BECK AND CALL.

THE WOMEN WHOSE HUSBANDS CANNOT SUPPORT THEIR FAMILIES HAVE TURNED TO PROSTITUTION TO FEND FOR THEIR LOVED ONES, AFTER A WHILE THE MAN OR THE WOMAN GIVES UP ON THE UNION TOTALLY.

AS FOR THE COUPLE WHO ARE FINANCIALLY BUOYANT, THE PRESSURES AND INTERFERENCE OF FAMILY MEMBERS AND EVEN THE SO CALLED CHURCHES HAVE A WAY OF TEARING FAMILIES APART, WRONG DOCTRINE, PROSPERITY MESSAGES, FEEL GOOD SERMONS, LIES AND LIES FROM THE PULPIT TELLING PEOPLE ONLY ABOUT GETTING RICH QUICK AND NOT SERMONS ABOUT BUILDING STRONG RELATIONSHIP WITH THE MAKER/CHRIST.

FALSE PROPHESIES, FAKE MIRACLES, ENCOURAGING PEOPLE TO SEEK MIRACLES AND NOT GOD IN TRUTH AND SPIRIT.

WE HAVE LOST OUR MORAL COMPASS.

THIS IS MY TAKE.