Charles Novia compares Omotola and Genevieve's acting skills... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 September 2014

Charles Novia compares Omotola and Genevieve's acting skills...

While congratulating Omotola for her National Award honour which she received yesterday, movie producer and opinionated writer Charles Novia compared Omotola and Genevieve's acting skills, saying Omotola has more depth in acting than Genevieve. Read below and see if you agree with him.
Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde is known to many. Her acting prowess is arguably in a class by itself and her being nominated as one of the world's 100 most influential persons by TIME magazine a couple of years back must have paved the way for her present national recognition by the Federal Government. Frankly speaking, I personally think she has more depth in acting than her 'rival' Genevieve Nnaji. I have worked with both of them in the past and also studied their acting styles. Omotola has the gift of role immersion. She gives everything into her characters. There is an organic style of interpretation she is gifted with. Very few actors have that. She Is not a Method Actor, mind you but she has delivered roles which many method actors would give her a standing ovation for. 
What he says about Genevieve after the cut...

Genevieve Nnaji, on the other hand, is a fantastic actress and a trend - setting one too who was first honoured by Mr President a couple of years ago. But she lacks the intrinsic ability to evolve artistically beyond her present heights in her career. That is my opinion. There is an underlying stereotype in her interpretation of her roles in many of her movies; a linear aloofness and veiled disdain at the thought of being pushed further down the exploratory lane. Of course she has an uncanny screen presence which generally veils her artistic shortcomings when it comes to acting and between her and her rivals, she comes tops on the fan base list. However, with an attitude which seems to say she has nothing more to prove, even the fans would become restless if new artistic exploits are not offered from her to which they can beat their chests. 
And for fans of both actresses, this is a professional review of their acting abilities and not an attempt to rekindle old rivalries. Somehow, this post on the National Honours dove tailed into their artistry. All well and good.

261 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 261 of 261
chima said...

I hate Charles novia but I am constrained to agree with him a hundred percent . Omotola s acting prowess far surpasses that of Genevieve

I usually don't comment on blogs, but i must tell this man that he is not relevant, nobody cares what he thinks because he knows nothing and has just confirmed how shallow he is... this is the height of immaturity from someone who claims to know, but then "a fool who does not know, and does not know that he does not know is a complete ....
You are wasting your time thinking this will bring you to the limelight you're obviously craving...

Charles Novia is a very stupid man. whatz his aim? Who asked 4 his opinion?? Congratulate OmoT & leave Genny out of it. Nonsense

Dese are 2 ladies dat I admire so much & dey hv done so well 4 demselves....
Keep criticizing............Olofofo

nkgurl said...

Look at this fool. U agree with him and Genny is better? Did u even read what he wrote? He said Omotola is better and thats the truth

Charles dey look for trouble

U're a very foolish Ozo for wasting all this space as an anonymous entity!

Mr whatever u call u self that's ur biz I still love both of dem ok... kelefrankins@yahoo.com

lami said...

I agree Omotola is far better and deeper

Charles Novia is such a talented/gifted/energetic critic and yet his state govt, no his local govt chairman have not deemed it fit to honour him with a bottle of coke for his efforts and contribution towards the film industry...... Movie thespians like Sam dede, Pete Edochie,Chico ejiro, Teco benson, liz benson needs to offer this man his "mediocre seat"....He is blowing his trumpet for himself by himself and now it looks like he is a citizen of "United state of desperadoes".......#cheEzyjayne

I have to agree with this write up. The assessment is fair. Omotola is way deeper

jaybeyblu said...

U do realise he dissed her right? In summary he says she has a proud (aloof) attitude so she doesn't push herself and if she continues that way she won't grow and further!

Cutest Babe said...

true. ..well said

Ok seen
Lordemma4love50@yahoo.com

Nk girl may be you're the fool . Read the comment again

Cutest Babe said...

Thanks o jare, don't mind Mr Trouble maker....

Billie said...

Genneveive is trully a pretty lady and a good actress but it is very true that , when she acts she always portray aloofness and bearlly veiled disdain . Mr. Novia is saying the truth, though I still like her and I always marvel at her beauty.

Treasure said...

Who made you a judge? Charles Novia the attention seeker. a sadist, always seeking for ways to cause trouble where they shouldn't be one.
You are gradually turning yourself into another FFK. E go belle full you! Rubbish.

iffy said...

Hiaa oh!!,nke a kwa raising the dead!I can hardly remember again what OMO Ts acting looks like buh I know I was never her fan.I love Gene's acting though I can't remember too.how many times do I visit the cinemas kwan?Genevive is calm and I love her acting.So,Novia Go stick your butt some place I dunno.you like criticising.You are not a good analyst.always biased.well.#justsaying#

Which film him don direct wey make any Cinema in Nigeria full throway.

He should be about doing all to learn why that October 1 director is light years better than him.

TBELLZ said...

Speak for urself ooo. It's Omotola anyday

Nailtorious Mikee said...

They are both good in their unique ways, Charles this just your opinion.

Na wa oo

Eclectic said...

Am sure if u want to judge d best actress in nollywood based on role interpretation, niether of them will get it. All round talent is what we are after. As for me, Genevieve is the only Nigerian actress I see that will always be herself no matter the actors she is working with be it foreign or local. She doesn't try to outshine others with her acting on set, she is calm, she doesn't try to impress, she just gives u what is needed. She is just Genevieve

mariana said...

whatever, mariaonyemali@gmail.com

self acclaimed professional. You are obviously suffering from delusional disorder. I am a very big fan of Genevieve and YES am very PROUD to say so. I can watch her movies over and over again because she interprets roles beautifully and effortlessly. That is why she has the highest fan base. Omotala is just over hyped. I stopped watching her movies after seeing BEYONCE vs RIHANNA, c'mon! really? She forces herself to interpret any given role. How dare you Mr man compare this two? there's obviously no comparison between the both. Genevieve is wayyyyyyyyyyy above Omotola league in every ramification. No matter the number of awards or recognition she gets. NONSENSE!

this dude is handsome, mariaonyemali@gmail.com

Mr Nova i say shutup ur mouth!, Mr compare and contrast....mtchewwww!...briggsluna@gmail.com.

Omotola the married whore.

Confusionist why compare

Speak for yourself

i-fab said...

Linda! What is it? You didn't post my comment. Pls post my comment cos it takes time and energy to comment.

Trouble maker..... Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

What brought about dis ? I guess dis Novia man needs a FAVOUR from Omotola. Must he now talk bad about my Genevieve? Anyway, he's just a nobody talking trash.

Wetin dis fool dey misyan...abeg o na lie!Genny al d way!Genny only act interestn nd challengn movies!mayb she ddnt act much of urs bcos ur movies were wack(Charles Novia).please derez no comparison here @ al!Genny has acted so many challengn roles such as lover gal,runz babe,blind,sick babe,warrior,old woman,twinz.wicked sis,rich, e.t.c nd she interprtd her roles perfectly well in al of dem!I can't say same 4 Omosexy!she's gud in her on way sha!I'll alwz go 4 Gennys movie!so stp talkn rubbish failed director/producer!Go get a life!cos d both of dem re far beta dan u!Rubbish

There's no need for comparison between the two. They're both exceptional in their own ways and are role models to many. Charles Novia is just employing the oldest trick in the book to garner publicity. Pit two acting legends together and bham! Your name is splashed everywhere.

this man or guy which one i will call u i disagree stop making noise.

Genevieve's No 1 Fan said...

your opinion is totally biased as there is no way in hell Omotala is better than Genevieve. First off, Omotala does not take roles that actually suit her and her age. Trying to prove that you are in your twenties when nature says otherwise is so ridiculous not forgetting the fact that she cannot pull off the role is funny whilst you have Genevieve who can pull off any role given to her because she is just that good and nature seems to agree with her.
Then again she is not afraid to take challenging roles. Omotala tries so much to conform to the western culture which is utterly painful to watch as she cannot even get the accent right especially when acting with foreigners but my girl Genny is proud to give them the real thing which is to deliver and be the character she is paid for. I have loads more to say but just understand that the truth is so glaring when it comes to these two as there is no comparison whatsoever. Genevieve can be anyone you want her to be and that is the true definition of an Actor/Actress.

Charles is so RIGHT. Honestly, Nigerian youths have so lost it that they can not even read an article and see the substance in it before running down the man. Truth be told, Omotola is a BETTER actress because he totally goes into xter in interpreting her roles. Not a big fan too of Nolly movies, but I stumbled on Ties That Bind recently on TV and by the end of the movie, alone in my room, I was giving Omotola a standing ovation. She had it all down pat right to even her tonal inflection (ok, this means the way she spoke). On the heels of that was Half of A Yellow Sun which I had just watched 2 days prior and It was no suprise that our "Julia Roberts" had a very small role of a liquor loving, ciggarrete smoking University lecturer whilst 2 American girls were given lead roles to act as Igbo girls, and I must say they did very well with superb acting to boot! My point is even in HOAYS, Genevieve acted and sounded like.....well Genevieve! Nothing new except for the costume and setting.

In summation, methinks Genevieve has the talent but she just has not bothered to honed it to get her really flying above the stars. And I strongly believe that most Nigerian youth like whose comments I see abound here, who celebrate her current mediocrity when she should have excelled far better, are to blame. They do not see beyond the celebrity, fashioista, always turning up in the best outfit Genevieve to see the would-have-made-Hollywoood Genevieve she could have been.

Ok, that's it! My longest post ever on any topic on this blog *phew*

Ntuen Etim said...

"Anonymous said...

Charles Novia, you clearly praised Omotala while bringing Genevieve down! U didn't tell us Omotala's flaws but u detailed Genny's. Why bring in Genevieve if u want to pay homamge to Omotala? Is it necessary?
September 30, 2014 at 1:27 PM"
----------------------------------

The MOST observant comment here. Indicating CLEARLY that charles nova is NOT being objective. Mr nova is undoubtedly BIASED. And being so biased and so subjective make a mockery of his opinion and "conclusion". We conclude here that he is being comical.

Ntuen Etim said...

"Anonymous said...

Charles Novia, you clearly praised Omotala while bringing Genevieve down! U didn't tell us Omotala's flaws but u detailed Genny's. Why bring in Genevieve if u want to pay homamge to Omotala? Is it necessary?
September 30, 2014 at 1:27 PM"
----------------------------------

The MOST observant comment here. Indicating CLEARLY that charles nova is NOT being objective. Mr novia is BIASED. And being so biased and so subjective make a mockery of his opinion and "conclusion". He is being comical.

Mercy johnson? Really? Are you really that stupid? That's so dense. Her name alone sounds dirty. Her acting is nothing to write home about.

No need for d comparism,they are both good at their job.

ukbliss said...

His a movie producer

Wen wl Charles stop wit ds his annoying reviews?!(wizzykay4@gmail.com)

ukbliss said...

U can write English ehhh

Both of them are very good. Genny still deserves an award too

PRETTY GIRL said...

Anyone who says Omotola has better acting skills than Genevieve clearly knows next to nothing about professional Acting#SEAT DOWN CHARLES, YOU'RE AN IDIOT FOR SAYING ALL THAT BULLSHIT TALK

Ever so true!!
Genny only ever plays role of super star aristo babe. In all her films, she is always set apart from the rest of the crew. Very aloof, only willing to play aje butter, fine girl roles.
Very boring.

Responsible people do not compare people. They are both good in their various field. you cannot compare rice and sugar or moi moi and beans. we must stop fueling unnecessary rivalry between colleagues and friends. Hollywood is big to accommodate various experts.

This is seriously being unprofessional... aka bad reference.. you can be sued. You are not 2 give some1 a bad reference.

Notice no comaradie amongst Nigeria guild of actors....

Anyman just di waka di critise each actor. please stop it.
I can't recall in the west a director publicly comparing two Hollywood or world known actors style of acting. like literature each script is open to interpretation by the diff persons. so far as you do deliver well and convince the audience to relate with you character bravo...

Charles we have NOTICED YOU... TAKE SEVERAL SEATS...

I hope he is willing to read the comparison between himself and Kunle afolayan , when you praise these people the then start to feel comfortable and start messing up, novia's views and write ups "used " to be sensible but I guess he just got lost in stupidity see the case if etcetera

Can he keep his views to himself. who is he afterall?

But he's right though Genny is just a mediocre actress that has stayed relevant thanks to Nigerians overhyping her. She better stick to yanshing around.

zibaintl said...

i like d both of dem but i 100 percent agree with charles...dis is exactly wat i told a friend weeks back about genevieve nnaji...she is stereotype n lacks dat expression n interpretation..d only tin helping her is her charisma...but my best is mercy johnson...she is on point any role u give her.

ChiLOVE said...

I absolutely agree with his opinions especially about Genevieve. I have been saying the same thing about her for years, she is limited in her acting because she feels she is too big to get down and dirty. Omotola is always willing to do what needs to be done to get a role across to the audience, to make the audience feel the plight of the character while Genevieve has relegated herself to playing aloof, cold, unapproachable career women perpetually in search for love. I love both ladies, I am a fan of both of them but levels dey. It has been a very LONG LONG time since Genevieve Nnaji as played a role in which "Genevieve Nnaji" didn't show up in all her divaness. In the movie Dr. Bello, her character was supposed to be educated but down to earth, a local having lived in the village and learning at the feet of the local native doctor. She refused to not wear a weave, she refused to wear her natural nail, she refused to not wear makeup. She came in with her weave, diva shades, full nails and makeup. How is someone to believe that this character has lived with the locals in this village for years when she looked like she was a visiting tourist from Lagos? Meanwhile, check out Omotola in Ties That Binds, she looked like a proper village wife going through difficulty in her marriage, going through child loss after child loss, she went from naïve girl to a woman who stood up for herself against her mother in law. She braided her hair, wore native, slippers, no nails, no make up and showed her acne ravaged face on screen with no problem because the character demanded that sacrifice.

This is what Mr. Novia is talking about IF people will open their eyes and stop speaking out of SENTIMENTS! You can like a person's work and still be able to say that they could do much better.

Vex said...

You wetin? Disgrace with him??? Jesus! Who paid your fees! They need a refund ASAP!

Too many quacks in Nollywood.Certainly this fellow is one.It is unprofessional for a director to criticize actors publicly

@Chilove, I am Anon 7:56pm. I wish I could just hug you thru my ipad screen. Your comments are soooo spot-on!! Nigerian youths have to learn to appreciate substance and not worship/praise mediocrity. Maybe Charles really should not have bothered because really Omo T is BETTER in delivery than Genevieve; those who know, know. Without prejudice. On the flip-side, style and fashion wise Genevieve may be always turn up better and never seem to get it wrong which is obviously why she has some semblance of cilt-followership now, but hey, the issue here is about their profession, not appearance. Possibly, Ms. G will soar even higher in the fashion realm.

And that movie Ties That Bind! What????!!! OmoT totally killed that role, got me having more respect for her and her professionalism. A must-watch. I am scouting for the DvD now so I can watch it again and again.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 261 of 261   Newer› Newest»