Nigerian football agent caught on video promising to arrange a yellow card for £41k during world cup | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 1 June 2014

Nigerian football agent caught on video promising to arrange a yellow card for £41k during world cup

Henry Chukwuma Okoroji, a Nigerian match fixer has been indicted in a match fixing scam after he was caught on camera telling an undercover UK Sun Newspaper reporter, Mahzher Mahmood, he could arrange a yellow card during the World Cup games for more than 41,000pounds and a penalty for 81,000pounds.

Daily Mail reports that Okoroji spoke with the reporter in company of his associate, Joe, in a hotel room in Milan, Italy. He was recorded saying he could facilitate different outcomes on the football field, including a red card, depending on the amount the reporter was willing to pay. He was reported to have said that he was working with two other Nigerian players as well as a senior official of the Nigerian Football Federation in the match-fixing scam, who he said could help influence the Nigerian squad in the world cup. Continue...

In a bid to prove his credibility, Okoroji was said to have invited a Nigerian/Lazio footballer, Ogenyi Onazi (pictured right) to the hotel but Onazi is not thought to be involved in the plot.

Only last week, the National Crime Agency (NCA) began investigations into claims that the friendly match between Nigeria and Scotland was fixed. Investigations into that allegation is still going on according to an NCA official.

120 comments:

Nigerians only...smh

See gobe!

If d match against sweden is found fixed, shame on nigeria mhen...it goes to show d level of corruption in the jonathan lead administration...I think Mr. Rino will agree with me...

If this is true, then we no dey carry last.Always in the news for d wrong reasons. Btw the name "Mahmood" sounds like a popular word I know. #okBye#.

Ha Nigerians! When una go comot hnd for bad thing?

And I jst wish dey'll ban d national team for this...it will be xo sweet..

BUSTED bitch

Nigeria don spoil finish

*pheew* Nigeria always in the news for the wrong reason.
And this news coming after Nigeria has been accused of match fixing, further compounds the situation.
That guy is a huge disgrace and should be banned from football scouting and any football activity for life.

END TIMES

Mehn see the money wey dey in line abeg.... Na them sabi shah..

HAHAHA,THE GUY WANTED TO SCAM THOSE PEOPLE,NOT KNOWING THEY ARE REAL PRESS MEN.NIGERIA I HAIL THEE.

wow. only if he knew he was gonn be caught on tape.

The easiest way to make money from your phone. click

Cynthia Iyede said...

Na wa o. What can Nigerians not do for money? I ask. They don't even care what is God's stance on any decision taken. Issorai

Disgraceful! It had to be the Nigerians that will taint football and the World Cup with their greed.
Disgraceful indeed!

Ghen ghen!

Hmmm, 9ja blood. habit is a flame you can't just hide it. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

So our dear super eagles can't win a match witout bin fixed! Bad 1 .. D equalizer against scotland is obvious! Tot as much

#Pesty

I read this piece of news earlier and was pissed! This guy doesn't even look like an agent, he is obviously a 2 bit criminal out to make a quick doe! I was even more pissed it was an Igbo guy! A**hole tarnishing the image of Nigerian football.

cyclone said...

9ja for sure.

This is crazy how can dis be truem.....

OK match fixer abi ? e no bad na, if 9ja fit win d world cup

Editor said...

Na them sabi that one, wetin concern bicycle for filling station?

Casting!!!

This is outright outrageous nd irresponsible 4 some players nd officials to try nd fix our matches I hope d cops will grab this agent nd mk him spill it nd tell us who he is workin wit within d nff nd d eagles

This ιƨ not sounding good at αℓℓ.

This is not good...

Ibos are gud @ scam, while yorubas @ killings and Rituals. Which is more deadly?
$$k@y$$

Na wa ooo. Dere is nothing this my ear won't hear oo. All cuz of money

Bbg Eze said...

2bad. Express sack. Wen wl Nigerians stop giving themselves bad names. Wot wud remain of our credibility now? Smh

Naija we hail o

Hen hen Naiga, corruption don finish our lives sotay we no come get control again.

Swaggcino said...

Onazi can't be in on dis

With his brainless head like dat of 4 people. Anu mpa. I hope u land in jail.

This is really outrageous, people can do things for money

Opelicious Morgann said...

I reserve my comment.

Oh my world dis is bad why do we like getting into news for negative things na wa o

Badt sharp guy..no Dulling..

~MR EDDY~says so via www.facebook.com/eddywhiz

scam everywhere
bribing & corruption isn't a new thing in this world we live in. GOD save us...

Really no comment.........

For heaven's sake, why are Nigerians doing dis to us? Givin us bad representations evrywr. D only thin dey now knw us for is Violence, scams, fraud, suicide, etc. Very bad

Can Nigeria ever be good again?, why is everybody acting so selfish and devilish?, just pray that you come out of this, if not, you will find yourself selling garri in the market. Onye oshi.

Ugo said...

You tend to get a sense that this type of news is almost always followed by names from a particular ethnicity in our troubled country. Why would anyone want to compromise a game of soccer? why would you want to corrupt the only source of joy for millions of people across ass social strata and ethnic barriers? truly, i have never been the type to be ehtno-phobic but I think it would be wise to consider offers from this particular ethnic group well before involving with them....

don't mind the stupid SUN, I hate when this British sport writers takes every other countries for granted, u met a scammer and publish a report condemning the National Team of a country.. u present yourself that u want to fix a match with huge amount of money, what did expect him to tell u, of course he will tell u he can do it, just to collect ur money, every Nigeria knows how important the Nation team playing in any competition, and this is the world cup... u want to offer 41k for yellow card, when the probability of a team collecting a yellow card is always 1, not to talk of an Africa team, that the rest of the other continents perceive to be very physical, my guy na free lunch u offer and he would have collect it and inform u he has done it, knowing the outcome is sure, without any help from players

Datz bad!!!

Nigerians! Nigerians!!!! We have to change our ways o. Eh! Eh!!! Wat kind of thinking is this. Millions of people are waiting to be entertained and to be happy for a reason, now because of your own selfish interest you want to dash the hopes of 100million people against the rocks. We need to stop all this make money sharp ideas, it is more costly in the long run. Nigerians! Change your ways, we must all change our ways and thinking

Check emmy blog and see what he wrote about you

iphie said...

mehnn, I duff my hat for my tribe oh. There is no deal an Igbo man doesn't know of; whether good or bad.

Madewithpassion said...

Tufiakwa! Everything must be scam sha! Odiegwu...

Nawa ooooo,dem wan spoil ds world coup fr us abi?naija wif wahala

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Now they are abt to mess up this team for the World Cup!!!

Before we complain about Nigerian, game fixing na white man profession. We are just following along.

Na now our eyes dey open so please no too much of th e Nigerians sef. This has gotten so many in trouble and they are not Nigerians.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Is he fixing for Nigeria to lose? Otherwise what's d need for a Nigerian player? Height of un patriotism.

I think you MAD for Mentioning Jonathan's Name in this acandal.

Reno**

That's Nigerians for u! The quest for money! Sorry for him!

@ Cute G. 10:41pm, June 1

What do you mean by the name "Mahmood" sounds like a popular word you know??? Are you trying to bring religion into this by implying that "Mahmood" is synonymous with "Mohammed", the Islam Prophet's name??

This only shows the extreme lack of sense of those of you who post religious slanders. I'm sure you didn't even read the post properly. For your info, Mahmood in this case was the person who busted the corrupt agent. And this disgraceful agent happen to be a Christian... I suppose you thought it happened the other way round, that's why you posted that silly comment! Enemy of progress. #Mumu

@ Cute G. 10:41pm, June 1

What do you mean by the name "Mahmood" sounds like a popular word you know??? Are you trying to bring religion into this by implying that "Mahmood" is synonymous with "Mohammed", the Islam Prophet's name??

This only shows the extreme lack of sense of those of you who post religious slanders. I'm sure you didn't even read the post properly. For your info, Mahmood in this case was the person who busted the corrupt agent. And this disgraceful agent happen to be a Christian... I suppose you thought it happened the other way round, that's why you posted that silly comment! Enemy of progress. #Mumu

May all your generations never live long.....na trailer go kill all your family,smash your papa brain like fufu for ground,all their blood gushing out of their heads and you smiling over their lifeless smashed bodies

Lady kim kim said...

Dis is so not gud

THIS GUY IS NOT A MATCH FIXER, HE IS A SCAMMER TRYING TO HIT JACKPOT. AM SORRY THAT THE BRITISH PRESS DON'T HAVE A STORY

So the football agent has done nothing wrong? Pls clarify.

Not again!!! Why are we always in the news for wrong reasons? Does that mean patience as a virtue is completely lost in our minds? People always looking for a short cut to make money.

Its always annoying cos naija has to be involed in anything bad....

See d guy face, hunger wan kill em. All ds igbo thieves enh. Linda post my comment o igbo gal

Mrs Davido

Naija people...real gobe,I just hope is not true.

Check out Justin bieber comment about the famous black monkey racist talk http://pay4shares.com/?share=155197

Sharp guy sowi my guy maga no gry fall *scam*

One of the sodje's was also caught recently..why this ppl wan spoil football.

PURPLE said...

Nigerians! So dubious, there is nothing they can not do for money.

Is Jonathan a footballer? Na wa Oº°˚˚°º everything now na jonatha. Pls leave him alone.

fredrickaroro.com said...

This guy is an obvious scammer

Guys stop critisizing the dude, his making money and you guys are there saying rubbish.

Dummy! It was scotland not Sweden! You didn't watch the match you are saying shit! Like you aren't corrupt!

Olodo! Things like this happen Everywhere,UK,italy and all...
And its not just wrong reasons we get in the news for! We won the CAN 2013,Under 17 world cup! What Is this one saying! You just choose to see the bad things only! I guess u dnt even watch football! U here saying shit!

Mr BoneHeadRio! Why don't you get into the News "for the right reason" since you choose to see wrong doings alone! #smelloos

Dummy! Things like this happen all over the world!......and we don't get into the news for just the wrong reason!
Were u blinded when we won the ACN and the Under17 worldcup! U choose to see the negative part only! And you are here saying rubbish! I guess you probably do not know anything about football but you can open your gutter to spill everything out bcus you are on LIB

Hr with Temitope Aloba said...

Not only should he be banned, he should arrested and purnished

Aren't you stupid to link the president to a match fixing scam?? One can see how dumb and unintelligent some of you can be. If you don't know what to say next time, shut up and keep quiet. Am sure if your gf catches you cheating 2moro,you will tell her that the president caused it.

Well, onazi has denied being involved on twitter. Said he went to d hotel but wen he was told d meeting was abt match fixing, he gave dem a "resounding NO"... in his own words

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

I love investigative journalism. Good one. His game is up.

Ah na wa oo! Every tin na jonathan, just cos peeps can't stand to see him on dat sit as an ijaw man.. Even d once dat was born in corruption ll blame Jona.. Na wa oo nigerians. The problem wit us is pride, I must belong, they can do anytin to make money so they can come home and live large, carry chicks etc.. Make una no leave Jona alone pray for God to take una frm Grass to Grace lik he has done it for Jona and Patoo. Lol.

Renee said...

you guys should stop being emotional about this news. it is simply a nigerian trying to scam this people. i doubt the nigerian team or officials in the nigerian team are linked to fixing of matches. am sure this guy is just doing his own illegal runs. every country has its own criminals and nigeria has its own as well. its just unfortunate that our bad side gets publicised more than the good side. lets all shun dis news until there is concrete evidence before we shame our country because believe it or not the Britz would never accept such news until there is evidence but we are ready to swallow what the american and the british dish out to us

JERRIE said...

THUNDER FIRE CHUKWUMA, THE ONLY GOOD THING WE HAVE GOING FOR US IN THIS COUNTRY, HE WANTS TO SPOIL IT. I HOPE HE WONT GET AWAY WITH THIS. BLOODY IDIOT

What a shame. Smh

U re a big fool. Must u call jonathan s name in it. So its GEJ dat told dem to do what dey are doin na. Y not blaim him for ur stupidity. Ewu hausa....

Thunder fire you @meetdrealevans . and Linda we re giving this video the publicity it doesnt need. If this affects the super eagles Okoroji should go on exile. Bcos.......

I don't belief him.

D dude. Slack joor! Nigerians never get caught abeg nt 2talk. of d sharpest igbo pps.

Dis is bullshit.y is it a black man dat d reporter had 2 set up?d wyt men dat r involvd in match fixin,were r dey?nigeria did nt fix any match.d boys played gud,dats all.rubish

Omg!so ashamed of yu..hw cld yu stood so low by tarnishing d image of ur dear country,nw all eyes will be on us,and any game played by nigerian team will be strictly co -ordinated wot a shame.

Pp4great said...

Why wouldn't our own people(Nigerians) continue to do things that makes it difficult for others countries to see any Nigerian as a responsible person? When an average Nigerian is so money conscious and would go as killing to make it big. Nawa o. I wouldn't be surprise if they paint us black the more.

Killing the beautiful game
watch the video on kicotv.com

Why r u guy not thinking proprely,dis dude wan chop those people,this is a game any sharp guy can play,they want a match fixed,yes I can do it,I have been doing it,even planning of fixing nigerian matches at the world cup,u give am money him go ja say him done do.even if is not done,dey wil not hold him responsible cos dey will not want the world to know what dey did,so for that was why the guy involve two nigerian players n top officals in this world cup for it to look real,the guy na fast guy,nig vs Scotland was fixed n the scores was 2-2,who wan fix match like that for draws,no penalty kick offered the referee was not even against the scotlands,abeg free that thing,omo boy wan collect their money jaa.

Evens or wat is dat ur name wat has dis got to do wit GEJ government, u just open ur mouth and talk .

Too bad

The are the biggest mumu here.Fool like you.Who doesn't know she's talking about Mahmood sounding like Manhood. I guess Manhood must be malfunctioning.Idiot.

Your Manhood*

I love u and ya comment anonymous 5:38

Hahahahaha.It must be MANHOOD you're talking about. Silly you.

Diamond said...

You are very stupid.Have you ever read insultive comments frm Cute G?Is your brain deceiving you . Can't you see it sounds like manhood?

U an idiot... Ur 2 comments are foolish... Slave!

Oskirin said...

as som commenters av said here,i also tink d guy is nt an agent,bt a scammers.so he wants 2 use dt opotunity 2 take collect kudi 4rm dos guyz if eventually our players get yellow or red card whc is possible in football.

send him to jail

Diamond said...

@ dumebi you're a fool.She knows football more than you do.Guess you don't read lib often.And she's right, Most times we are caught doing the wrong things. Oloshi.

Steve said...

Lmao.Guess you meant manhood.Mehn you should be awarded for comic relief.

@dumebi kogolo.Your name kogolo says it all.Kongo fool.You are not a match for her when it comes to football.

Since Reno said Jonathan won the match for super eagles last year...since he is now a player'he should answer for this one too.yeye people.

Big shame! Naija people and corruption self. Tufiakwa. And an Igbo boy for that matter. *hiding my head in shame*

I guess Jonathan should also be blamed for not proposing a bill that would make it crime,punishable by castration for retards like you to access the internet.

Rubbish. This has to be a setup to rubbish Nigeria name even more.

you all here ranting Nigeria this Nigeria that,are you all high? incase y'll don't know, we dey learn when it comes to stuffs like this.go ask Indians,middle Easterners and Asians.even Qatar's world cup hosting right is under serious threat as a result of bribery allegation.

Abkhmbbs said...

May God help us o. OK, we all agree it's wrong to be corrupt but the guy couldn't even carry out the operation successfully. The least he could've done is to not get caught

@June 2, 2014 at 5:38 AM
Here we go again.
Why do muslims always think everything is about their freaking religion? I can bet my next pay-check Cute G wasn't referring to your holy prophet but to 'Manhood'! Unless of course you want to substitute your prophet's name with that.
Stupid religionist! SMH

This man is not a football agent nor Ex- football in his life, Yet he wants to ruin Nigeria & Players reputation in football; he's seem guilty of the allegation.

VIA TECNO B3

U don't have sense

eazywealth concepts said...

Mr. Okoroji..please get a life.

Amazing news for football crazy fan kids in United States they can add his name with favorite team song with Kurt Penberg Personalized Gifts and came in lamplight with kurt penberg personalized gift gift.