Sudan retracts claim that woman sentenced to death will be freed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 June 2014

Sudan retracts claim that woman sentenced to death will be freed

A few days ago, we heard that Meriam Ibrahim, the woman sentenced to death in Sudan for apostasy will soon be freed after the country's Foreign Minister Abdullahi Alzareg was quoted as saying that Sudan was committed to protecting the woman. But according to new reports, that's not happening as the Foreign Minister is now saying quotes attributed to him was taken out of context. 

The country has officially denied that Meriam would soon be released. Now they are saying Meriam's release will depend on whether a court accepted an appeal request made by her defence team.

A ministry statement said what Alazreg actually told media on Saturday was "that the defence team of the concerned citizen has appealed the verdict ... and if the appeals court rules in her favour, she will be released" and not that she will be released by the government because 'the government does not interfere in the work of the judiciary because it is an independent body."

66 comments:

They should free this woman! How dare they kill another human being bcos of religion. She shld be free to practice whatever religion she wants. Her life is in God's hands and not another human being! God will surely intervene for her sake. Mo-1

Rubbish!

God pls free this woman.

CoolDiva speaks!

Religion is not by force oh,some people just wanna kill, like it's food,sometimes I wish I could change the world

They should pls temper justice with mercy!! I pity her though!

#Pesty

omg ,i kno d almighty will definetly free her.. Tbleez.

I am glad the world is awake to this injustice and I hope merian comes out of this safe and sound, not withstanding that she must be going through hell now.

They shuld just Free her... That's what I know and want... Useless country and barbaric law..

Is Sudan not among of UN, then what is UN doing to her not be killed by this Islamists?

Details: the Bad Things Christian Colonial Masters Did in Nigeria

Thunder fire sudan with thier backwardness and foolishness.This is a wat oyibo people see and start calling us black monkey.black bastards.

i pray d appeal court rules in her favour.....

Too bad #bright bravo#

This guys had better free this woman o .Coz I don't see sudan withstanding the storm they are about to start

wether they said it or not God ll surely set her free, that's my bealief. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

DOBY DOBY said...

They shld jus free d lady nah.. haba

By His grace, this one will be saved
and release

awww Paul Okoye shares new photo of his son

The important thing is to free the woman other that na grammar them they yarn so..

Just like the Nigeria Chibok ish,the world is watching to know how this issue ends.
I pray she regains her freedom as soon as possible.

Dike F(xyz) said...

Sudan is just like the Islamic region of Northern Nigeria. Their Doctrine is just to kill and shed Blood of Christians.
All Barbaric and Demonic laws in this World presently has to do with Islam.

***All Muslims are not Terrorists but all Terrorists are Muslims***.

I pray this Woman will not be killed. May Baba God Protect her.

Na wow! well I no my God is not at sleep.

#King said...

Release d lady pls..she has suffered enough......................#King

NA wa oooO,na 2 fall in luv don turn crime....abeg mke dem free d woman joor wetin sef..

Ow what!

Foreign stupid-minister couldn't keep his word guess he was threatened by his people well d gudnews iS,God ll fight dz battle..*fashionista LeOnOrA*

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Bottom line, she will be set free coz God had risen on her case. Simple.

Kai! Which kain turn turn be dis naa?

JANETPRETTY said...

I never ceased Ï„̲̅Ç¿ mention this woman in my prayers each time I intercede for the Body of Christ facing persecution all around the world. I know God has answered my prayer. She'll be set free, no doubt!

Thank God!

Andra said...

Have ds country suddenly ran out of crimes dat der now catch innocent pple n victimized dem???

TOo bad...there is God oooo

This is not fair....after they would say islam is not by force and doesnt support killing

leecia said...

I knw dis story is 2 gud 2 be true,u never can tell may be God wants 2 glorify his name in dis situation,so pls lets NT make 2much noise bout dis whole tin.

amycool said...

must she be compelled to follow their religion, I detest such law dat's why I like Christian ways of worshipping nobody impels u to follow their religion so u imps should release the innocent woman and her children before amadioha destroys u apple.

SHAME ON YOU SUDAN!

From today, I ll put her in my prayers. The devil is a liar. The church of God is marching on and the gates of hell will not prevail.Christianity has come to stay and we will win souls for the Kingdom Of God!

Useless pple...

For the sake of the children

oludayo said...

The appeal court should better rule in her favour else sudan will fall and forgotten.

Wicked people/heartless country..

~MR EDDY~says so via www.facebook.com/eddywhiz

Meriam jesus wil surely deliver you from the hands of those wicked ones!

Seee her she don black the fyn woman hey is not gud ooooo there is god oooooooo he sees us that's all I no pls god she believe IN̶̲̅» you set her free you say you I̶̲̥̅̊â„“â„“ not leave your people Ï„̅☺ suffer pls god don't her Ï„̅☺ die like chicken

God cannot lie. He cannot take back His word. That woman must be freed in Jesus name. Amen.

So this is what boko haram want to happen in nigeria. God forbid.

Opelicious Morgann said...

Nawa oooo. Religion is not a do or die affair. I pray they free this woman once and for all. And if I were her and I were released, I would just quietly seek asylum in a neutral country.

Emjay said...

We re in d 21st century for crying christ sake,d soul dat sineth shall die,pls free her and let her go in peace.
#AnonymouslyMe#

sha said...

Nothing pass God.

I know they will free her because Islam is getting negative publicities in recent times

They shuld just free dis woman nah.....i'm prayin 4 u!!!!!

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

Why is anything that has to do with the Muslim religion always on the extreme? No freedom to do anything. Anyone that is not for them must die. WTF. Abegi!!! Free the poor woman. Una do suffer am reach.

Rubbish!!! International community will deal with #Sudan if the don't set that innocent woman free. Religious idifs.

.........Atutu said so

Pls continue to pray for her, I will back u up...

Sudan Court should free this innocent woman. No country in the world has the right to impose religion for their citizen.

VIA TECNO B3

Soon some people will say, those that passed the judgement are not moslems! What is it about this Islam of a religion? Its just too confusing men! Fasting no dey start or end same day all around d world! Oga oooo

God always fight and protect his own and dat is wat wil happen to meriam!

Boko haram family people like thosse that kill won't die themselves one day anyway I trust the God I serve to take care of His own dats y I don't care anymore remember. To live is christ. To die is gain

Me too. I will pray for her.

Even God in heaven does not force you to do anything. He gives u choices.

God will fight for her she is going thhrough a lot imagine giving birth with her legs on chain. #Glophil

God i know that u are unfailing. u will vindicate her and her hamman will die in her stead in Jesus name Amen.

o ga
as if they are clean & innocent

o ga
as if they are clean & innocent

Save MERIAM for the sake of her beautiful family if worse come to worse agree to change to Islam and relocate to where you can practice your faith without been harassed and you can bring your children up in the way of The Lord and see them grow. God bless you my sister

EDEE said...

Thought as much.People should be free to practice whatever religion they want.This is not fair

God will fight for this woman and she will hold her peace! I ask God to please confort her in her present state and defend her beyond human and any justice understanding in Jesus name..

HOT-STEPER said...

She shld just hold on to ha new found faith, even if she dies bcos of it, she is a Martyr.Ha life is in God's hands & he alone is Omniscience.

God almighty will fight for you and you shall hold your peace, may God comfort her and speak peace to her where she is presently, may God defend her and rescue her beyond the understanding of the justice or the muslims leaders in Sudan in Jesus name