'We did not ban Abuja protests' - Nigerian Police say | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 June 2014

'We did not ban Abuja protests' - Nigerian Police say

The Nigerian Police Headquarters has issued a statement saying they didn't ban any protests in Abuja. According to a statement signed by CSP Frank Mba, what was issued yesterday by the FCT Commissioner of Police, Joseph Mbu was only an advisory notice and not a ban. Find the statement below.  
The Police High Command wishes to inform the general public that the Force has not issued any order banning peaceful assemblies/protests anywhere in Nigeria. It notes however that against the backdrop of current security challenges in the country, coupled with a recent intelligence report of a likely infiltration and hijack of otherwise innocuous and peaceful protests by some criminal elements having links with insurgents, the Police only issued advisory notice, enjoining citizens to apply caution in the said rallies, particularly in the Federal Capital Territory and its environs. 
Reminding citizens of the earlier position of the Force on peaceful rallies, which the Police High Command regards as the constitutional and democratic rights of Nigerians, the Inspector-General of Police, IGP, M D. Abubakar, CFR, NPM, mni, psc, stresses the need for the organizers of such rallies to ensure that they seek proper advice and guidance from the Police before engaging in any such exercise so as to avoid any unpleasant circumstances. The IGP calls on the general public to see the present position of the Force as a necessary sacrifice for the peace our nation needs, as security is a collective responsibility.

Consequently, citizens are strongly advised to reconsider their positions on the issues of rallies and protests in FCT until the existing threats are appropriately neutralized and removed from our midst by relevant security agencies.

Meanwhile, the IGP reassures citizens of the commitment of the Force to the protection of lives and property and advancing the course of democracy in Nigeria.

CSP FRANK E. MBA
FORCE PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER,
FORCE HEADQUARTERS,
ABUJA.

35 comments:

Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
change of story

Seriously i still think they should ban the protest like serious.....

They said it yesterday... Liars

and who did, rotten fools

Confused ppl

#King said...

Confused people.................#KingOfKings

Etsako Pearl said...

If I hear! ThankGod 4 people like oby ezekwesili...Yeye dey smell.

Why must they wait till matters get worse before they take actions? They didnt refute it when it was spreading. Na when matter reach court. That's how they handle critical matters with levity

CoolDiva speaks!

Whatever!!!

HOT-STEPER said...

Na una. Dey gather, na una dey scatter. But Lindiwe where u frm carry d gist naah?

Overzealous Mbu wanted to use it to please his masters.
The hustler spirit of a sycophant or apologist is nowhere near the determined spirit of a people united.
#BrinBackOurGirls now and Alive!!!!

Liars.

Police? Liars!

So who is lieing now #bright bravo#

DOBY DOBY said...

Oohk.. berra..

Who is fooling who? We dey watch o. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

NPF two edged sword una get 2 mouths

Like Janus tht greek god, this government is just two faced. Say one thing today and tomorrow say another! That ban has being making the rounds all morning, so does it mean the whole of Nigeria heard wrong?!

Now they want to deny cos its allover CNN. Tah!

Which report do i believe now!!!

PLEASE ban protesters, at least in FCT, PLEASE for security reasons.

concerned voice said...

Shut up u bloody twart wt else do u know dan to comment rubbish over here like a jobless idiot dat u are? What do you know about politics and conspiracy theories? You better go and be usefull to ur life , ur family and the society at large cus you are a fucking disgrace for a man to be commenting on every post on a blog instead of reading and just going over to sumtin else u sit dia and insult men of position your father and your entire lineage will never be able to occupy in ur life time

Chris O. said...

They were ill advised. Now the voice of reason have prevailed.

Chris O. said...

They were ill advised. Now that the voice of reason have prevailed they chose to deny rather than apologize for their error.

Be it the truth or lie, #Bringbackourgirls# please! That's αℓℓ.

ADULT HUMOUR said...

The whole thing is getting embarrassing.

ADULT HUMOUR said...

The whole thing is getting embarrassing.

whatever
i need to sleep

BORN TO SHINE!!

It should be banned....the 4kin protest has gone weird!

Cutemanuel said...

Easy na! Na fight?? We have a lot of battles already in Nigeria, lets not add blog battles to it. Thanks.

flaky said...

oncerned voice or what do you call yourself,what is your business about him commenting all the time?.Na ur finger he dey take type and what makes you think he can't get to a position higher than CSP.Pls if you don't have any good thing to say,it's better for you to meshionu,mtschew.#Bring back our girls#

#hmmmmmmmmm??????

@concerned voice, u are really pained. I just pity ur sad life and i pray a lil happiness comes into ur life because at this rate,u are fast forwarding ur journey to the grave. Sorry eh! Just take it easy with bonario

@ concerned voice is damn right.bonario or whatever is jst a big fool....forming intelligence

SIMPLYCOCK said...

By the enabling legislative instruments establishing the Nigerian police, i.e. The 1999 Constitution (as amended) as well as The Police Act; the Public Order Act; the related derogatory provisions under chapter four of the 1999 Constitution, among others, the Nigerian Police has the inherent powers to cause a ban on protest or to require police permit for such a protest to hold if the ban is based on utmost good faith; if the ban is prompted by security considerations...
Besides the protest had been hijacked by persons and political groups leveraging it for political ends, with the ultimate objective of embarrassing the FG....
The police must do its job of policing such subterfuge masquerading as Chibok protest!!!