About a year later, (They have since met physically) Sede Alonge and Remi Adekoya are engaged and planning to get married this year. Now, how romantic is that?
Hmmm...and see me o, I've been online and blogging for seven years o. God dey sha! Lol. Continue to read Sede's article which was published on UK Guardian today about how she met the love of her life on an online forum...
How my below-the-line adventure led me up the aisle - By Sede Alonge
My interest in news and current affairs took an unexpected and life-changing twist in the comments section of a Comment is free piece
Looking back, following the news was a habit I subconsciously acquired from my mother. I remember how, in the evenings after supper, the family would sit in the living room talking, and before long someone would switch on the TV. Most of us preferred to watch light entertainment – a movie or something similar – but invariably, my mother would plead with us to watch the news, leading to sharp protests, frustrated groans and ultimately the rest of us slowly filing out to our bedrooms.
We hated having to watch the news, something we generally believed to
be drab. Perhaps, if it had been just one episode, we would have
endured "knowing about events happening around us", as mother would put
it. But she insisted on watching re-runs, back to back, and on all the
different available channels. We hated the fact that our mother
tirelessly watched the news as if she was some kind of analyst. It
didn't matter to her that she often dozed off in her armchair, midway
through stories that had in all likelihood lulled her to sleep with
their boring, repetitive drone. The most annoying part of it all was
that if anyone attempted to change the channel, she always woke up.
So it was ironic that, years later when newspapers began to publish their contents online, I became something of a news lover myself. The fascination was stirred during my postgraduate days at university, when I would scour the internet for articles in support of my course work; I was usually the one with a random news article to back up an argument, brandishing a link or even a printed page. The internet home page on my laptop became a news website. The absorption continued post graduation, but I was unaware how addicted I was to browsing news websites until a house mate commented on the weirdness of my habit. She had stumbled upon my homepage, and said it was the oddest thing she'd ever come across (unsurprising, as she much preferred tabloid gossips and the like). She simply couldn't get my "news fix" being the first thing I needed whenever I switched on my laptop.
When the cyberworld shrunk even smaller and was able to fit into our palms I transferred the habit on to my phone, savouring news even more frequently than before. If I had given it much thought I would have said it was nothing more than a time filler; something to do when a reading distraction was needed. So when one day I found myself reading and commenting on a Cif article on a subject I would not have usually found interesting, I could not have imagined the events it would precipitate.
Before long, the author of the article and I became engaged in a chain of discussion in the comments section – also something totally uncharacteristic of me. We eventually moved it elsewhere, discovering mutual interests and a growing attraction for each other along the way. In retrospect, commenting on that article was the best chance decision I'd ever made. Soon, nearly every minute – both day and night – was spent in endless discussions of topics, ranging from the serious to the mundane.
Despite the fact we lived thousands of miles from each other, we inexorably felt closer than our physical space permitted us. And when we finally met in person, it couldn't have felt better and stronger. Nearly one year later we are engaged and planning on tying the knot – and it all still feels absolutely amazing, surreal, and increasingly beautiful by the day. It also made me realise the truth of the saying that we find things when we are not looking for them. And to think I didn't have to go through the rigours of sorting through Guardian Soulmates (just kidding, but true) to find my "one".
Thank you, Guardian, for bringing me my perfect soulmate.
So it was ironic that, years later when newspapers began to publish their contents online, I became something of a news lover myself. The fascination was stirred during my postgraduate days at university, when I would scour the internet for articles in support of my course work; I was usually the one with a random news article to back up an argument, brandishing a link or even a printed page. The internet home page on my laptop became a news website. The absorption continued post graduation, but I was unaware how addicted I was to browsing news websites until a house mate commented on the weirdness of my habit. She had stumbled upon my homepage, and said it was the oddest thing she'd ever come across (unsurprising, as she much preferred tabloid gossips and the like). She simply couldn't get my "news fix" being the first thing I needed whenever I switched on my laptop.
When the cyberworld shrunk even smaller and was able to fit into our palms I transferred the habit on to my phone, savouring news even more frequently than before. If I had given it much thought I would have said it was nothing more than a time filler; something to do when a reading distraction was needed. So when one day I found myself reading and commenting on a Cif article on a subject I would not have usually found interesting, I could not have imagined the events it would precipitate.
Before long, the author of the article and I became engaged in a chain of discussion in the comments section – also something totally uncharacteristic of me. We eventually moved it elsewhere, discovering mutual interests and a growing attraction for each other along the way. In retrospect, commenting on that article was the best chance decision I'd ever made. Soon, nearly every minute – both day and night – was spent in endless discussions of topics, ranging from the serious to the mundane.
Despite the fact we lived thousands of miles from each other, we inexorably felt closer than our physical space permitted us. And when we finally met in person, it couldn't have felt better and stronger. Nearly one year later we are engaged and planning on tying the knot – and it all still feels absolutely amazing, surreal, and increasingly beautiful by the day. It also made me realise the truth of the saying that we find things when we are not looking for them. And to think I didn't have to go through the rigours of sorting through Guardian Soulmates (just kidding, but true) to find my "one".
Thank you, Guardian, for bringing me my perfect soulmate.
210 comments:
1 – 200 of 210 Newer› Newest»That's cool #bright bravo#
Awwww so sweet
FTC :D
gross
Awww so sweet
Ehmmmm,hapi for em , buh its not always rosy especially in Nigeria where u hav to be security concious
Dats nice. Linda U must nt meet Ūя̲̅ soul mate online too. Be patient, God is on Ūя̲̅ §i̶̲̥̅̊Ƌ̲̣̣̣ε̲̣̣̣̥.
Linda, God will do it for you… Amen!
Omg the guy is so hot.
Awwwwwe.... We shud start crying abi?*jst kidding* how sweet.. I see bonario nd bonita falling in lov tho...lol
What do you mean by "see me o". If one bobo toast you online, you go gree? I beg go sidon.
That's sounds like a script in an Hollywood movie, and its romantic, really romantic, but Linda dear, things like that are actually possible, very possible, even here on your blog people meet, people get to know themselves just by commenting, what a world that has become a global village
Na Dem sabi
Lol @ Linda.....u no dey see my comments? Nwa Nkwere will u marry me?...#runsaway#
hiss!! One success story out of the 15million internet users in Nigeria. Reports like this is what gives false hope to people like my spouse who spend all day glued to her computer, foolishly believing the standard template of recycled lines that is distributed by men to many other women in the hope of getting hitched. internet= lazy way to date.
Lindiway this could us but you're from Mbaise. Looolz
linda lets start our own conversation here too we never can tell what God has in stock for us..bliv
Such is life,U never can tell where you will meet good people in life.
Dear linda,Ur path may not be like this?
Humility is a virtue you can imbibe.
Be friendly on line,acknowledge mails and be more humble. D Best will come your way.
Paul.
We find love in strange places
Dats y am always coming here 2 comment O°˚˚˚. Lol
$$k@y$$
Awwwgh pretty nicey wish u guys luck
Congrats to them.
Wow! Congrats guyz!!
D@s so swtttt....
Linda - u r forming too big for most of us. Because we comment on ur blog doesn't mean we are not well to do dudes .... But as you said "God dey"
Is just so funny hw people met their soulmate, this one is kind of romantic though...... May God bless their relationship....
You seeeeee all these agbayas that come here to fight rather than comment sanely...this coulda been you guys too. Congrats.
alright, Linda, here is comes, i have been going out with u in my mind for a year now. lets go out on date, who knows, it might lead to something. i have a good feeling on this one. so what do u say
Why did she leave out the most interesting part though? the meet up and the events surrounding it.
Linda that's not a Problem, reply my comment and we will.....No worry jOor urs is on his way..Amen.
i will be waiting for an answer, fingers crossed
Sweet
Hmmmmmmm. This is kool.And to think it's d same month and year I met my fiancee and we're also walking down d aisle pretty soon. Congrat 2 d both of you.
I love this story.
Perhaps your success is intimidating to the men???
That's cool
Dear linda ikeji can you please stop shoving this straight bull shit down we gay peoples throat.they will still end in divorce.
Linda yours will surely meet with u, at d right place and right time.
Lmao @ ' i have been online and blogging for 7years"lol... Met †ђ3 love of my life online and we got married abt a year after our meeting one on one.. Lindiway, just chilax, ur dude is aound here somewhere *wink
Sooo nice... I met my fiance 5years ago on yahoo messanger, next week sat. We gettin married. We found in d oddest place.
Oh this could be you and Linda but you are too ugly. Sorry!
Linda, it could be you if u commented on your posts, but no u never interact with blog visitors... I dey lie?
Sooo long. Didn't finish reading. Na wa o. Lindiway enta church na. Hahahaha! The guy doesn't look happy in the pic tho. Just saying.
The guy is hot but the lady is ----.
Abeg oh Linda not this ugly bona guy.. Ur luv go come
#Kadnal
Amazing story!!!beautiful 2geda...I pray 2 find mine soon IJN..husbands reli don't grow on trees bt wt God,I'm staying positive..Linda!!!..jst kip being U n surely WE shall find our own.
Haha Linda is so funny!
Ow sweet!
nice one linda we can remix it if you want
*wink*
Since when I don dey read online, no lover... Dear God, remember me for good!
Wot a veri silly and off-d-hand comment to make, most esp comin frm u Mr Bonario! Aint funni!
God wey do am for them e go do am for you.
Just like me, I found my sweetheart in a most unimaginable circumstance, something I wasn't expecting. And soon we will b tying d nuptial knot.
Idiot ni bonario yi...L̳̿ö̤̣̇☺ː̗̀=))ː̖́☺ö̤̣̇L̳̿
Lmao Linda, consider Bonario and co biko.
Check out my blog - ugochivukah.blogspot.com
Am currently involved in an Internet relationship with a guy in the US but am scared, he is white and he is planning to come and see me so that we can get married. ......but I don't know how to tell my family about it. .Rosemary
Bonario u no well I swear. Lmao! Wetin happen to mbaise gehs na. Mw I'm just hearing Linda na Mbaise chick o. Wow. Igbo babes tho...totally reppin' proud of u Linda keep d flag flying
Give ur life to christ, seek ye first the kingdom of God and its rigtheousness and all these things shall be added to you
So sweet.... gd 4 dem
Bonario nwamkpi..... Only misers n broke ass niggas are scared of mbaise. Infact I comment my reserve.....
Still anonymous
Sooo bona pipo 4rm mbaise don't deserve 2 get married???#Nonsense#guess u r 4rm d sixties#
Hahahaha... Bonario, you never seize to amaze me!
lol not the guy is so hot... brains attract only good things. take note ladies.
Even if his frm mbaise no b ur type linda they look 4. Mbaise n human b.
She must be Buttergirl in that comments section
Nice read... Linda I used to enjoy reading about your love adventures, the "openess" was one of those things that made me love your blog. Update us one of these days o... or else :D
Linda God will surely grant u your heart desire dis year say amen. Linda pls wen my song is out pls post it tnks.... Ennyola
Awww cloyingly romantic!
So wetin happen to Mbaise ppl. Bonario grow up o, don't make me say ur brain functions like dat of a baby. Chai. And dont even think am from there. Just dat I hate to realise dat ppl like u still work this earth. Its a pity.
Nooo bonario...dat culd b us buh ur jes nt seeing it*sobs*
Love is found where it is least expected!! Happy for them
Remi my high school crush! I'm heart broken *runs away sobbing*
Linda, what's hard in getting a man on line or wherever. Abi na husband 'made in heaven' u dey find?
Sweetest thing that can ever happen to a man, he who find a wife has found a food thing. Bonario what re u waiting for dis is an avenue for u to find ur better half. Lol
Same would have been possible here on Linda's blog if not that most girls that post things here are so full of themselves,obnoxious and rude individuals, when you say hello they think you want to steal their money . Always thinking they are better than they are. All of you will die single.
U can find true love anywhere,if God is involve.congrats to dem
Linda, you did not see Donald professing love and saying his mama said he should go ahead and wife you up? You are the one selecting. You better follow Donald and his eyes that are chooking looking for free meal.
Awwww..so sweet!Love on the Bookshelf
Olodo, Linda is from Nkwerre.
Linda, don't worry, your turn will soon come. Just that most of the people that comment on your blog are children. Where are the matured men?
I guess it's Testimony time, let me also share mine. One cool evening I got a call from a friend if I can help a girl in need of accommodation, since it's what I love doing (helping people) I gladly said yes, she moved in and I accommodated her for some months until her got her own place. I became friends with her family. Long story short, one year later I got married to her elder brother and we've been happily married for two year with a beautiful daughter.
Gud News not boko haram here n there
Beautiful story...the guy is cute sha...
Awwwwww,so sweet,biko cn I find mine on LIB?looool,linda u must sha marry dis year,if u lk b on d internet 4 100yrs,sha bring d man
Linda is 4rm mbaise!! Yaaay!! I'm so proud of u nwanne tho my mom is frm mbaise nd my dad ngwa,I love momsi's pple more. Love u linlin
Another way of getting ones missing rib
Wow!! Dats nice
Lindodo ur amebo too much guys de fear lol just kidding *everybody wit different destiny and luck*
Lindi love.... Dont worry am coming for yu soon my lolo. Wink
Gud one
Sister Linda, this could be us but are too proud #Temidayour Anonymous#
Wow.... That's lovely
Awwwww so sweet. Lindodo na u knw wan hook.up o, i have a cousin wey dey crush u boyo i knw u are reading this lol,this na.ur chance to run package o
Bonario and Linda!lol. Bonario what do you mean by she is from Mbaise??!!!? Btw we are still waiting for your picture. Lol
You never ever respond to comments,so look somewhere else for a spouse. U̶̲̥̅̊ won't find one on ur blog
Bona sharaaaap.
I read parts of the article and a little of the comments. She shined in that comments section mehn! Proper intellectual. The romantic set-up in this article however took too long and the payoff was minimal. Anyway, I love love so I wish them the best. Congratulations!
Linda you should start match making in this blog
Hmmm...and see me o, I've been online and blogging for seven years o.You're very funny Linda. I'm coming back to marry you this year..wait a minute, i saw your engagement ring in one of your fingers.
Are you not engaged, if so please let me know.
Loool Bonario sef
Before checking the comments, I was thinking, "Linda, but Bonario Nnags is right under your nose" then I Checked the comments and wow Bonario already commented about you both.lol
This Amazing nd Romantic. Aishat A
You are such a bloody fool! How are you better than an mba5 person? Senseless mofo!
This is Amazing nd Romantic.
Oya o LIB reader if u are as hawt!!!! As dat dude make we start to feel closer now ooooo me too can find love via LIB if I hear!!!!!!!! Super story
Awww, I like *Eyelashes*
Jennipukka
Pls my missing rib shud reply under This comment o and mak u gather small o, coz I'm a typical okrika man
Diz could be 3310
The guy is cute, congrats dear, dats wat I call union, not nuella snatching people's hubby,chicks go get single cute guys like dis period
She isn't frm Mbaise! She's from Nkwerre!
That's her destiny linda,don't worry your own dey come.
Awwwwwww...so sweet.
Love is beautiful and true love is usually found in the oddest place and whn its least expected.
Am happy for them.
They are sooo cute together.
Happy married life in advance!!!
That will soon happen on LIB between Bonario and Banario Babe. Watch out.
She's from nkwere.Onye okachamara.#thankmelater
Linda,dnt worry ur tym is fast approaching,it is ur husband dat u will definately get married to.hope u will invite me.Linda if I wnt my name to appear on my comment wat is d proceedure.
Hahahahah......linda sef na wa!!!....wish them the best!
Bonario I had to check again if you actually wrote that! Am yoruba but wont let you talk Linda down.you better stop nonsense.are mbaise not humans?na wa for u o
Lolz. Wickid
Maybe cos you don't have a back and forth conversation with those who comment on your site?
God dey Linda..When it is ur time,it will be ur turn
Hmmm, that's great..
So luvly
Good one #bravo#
Maybe cos you never comment back & forth with your readers :(
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! Diz cud be us but you don't know how to read!! Bonario oooo!
And where is "be"? @ Bona, Awwwww, dis is amazing plus the guy is so cute.
Hahahahahaha@bona pls linda is frm nkwere nt mbaise biko
Awwww so sweet Omosede congrats, u deserve it u r such a sweet person. God bless ur union.
Why is his glasses looking green?
Congrats, Sede & Remi
O boy d guy fine die, I like her statement, we fd things when we r not looking for it
Lol... Linda that prince charming is coming soon.
Linda will U̶̲̥̅̊ marry my brother ?
This is nice. Things happen wen u do not expect them.
Linda.....will you marry my brother ?
linda,dont worry.GOD will giv u ur own husband..dont be in a rush..
My cuzn! Aunty Omosede!!!!oh mi gosh.this is one fine brother!
I can relate to this. Was an avid reader of my wifes articles b4 the kolo woman smiled her wicked smile into my heart. Linda iv got someone for you,
Bonario I agree with u, hmmmm Mbaise girls especially, am scared of who is not scared of them.
Congratulations. Love always finds a way!!!
I'm waiting too. Kk
Hahahaha! Biko Lindiway is from Nkwerre. If she's 4rm Mba5, she for no give u 100k.
Sooo nice... I met my fiance 5years ago on yahoo messanger, next week sat. We gettin married. We find love in d oddest place.
Wats wrong with dat?
Ewu were ur parents divorced.
See sweet guy
Boring!!! too long. Please learn to cut stories short. Its called "SUMARY".
You need summary writing skills sorry!
May be I should start using my full name and picture to comment on Linda's blog, who knows I may find my love here, it may even be you Linda. Plz try and be posting my comment.
Yea cul,nice one. That is why reading & acquiring more knowledge & more is never a waste of ones time.it pays off @ d end even if it didn't mke u find love as regards this article,congrats Sede & Remi.
How many times hav Linda followed up a commentor on her blog? Even dose dat admire her?
Her suport 4 gay nko? Let her come out straight & she will hook sum1.
Wowww omosede alonge!! Se was my sweet friend in uniben. Used to call her professor,lol. So decent and naive 4 a law student! I tink she even left uni as a virgin just like me. Such a trusting and decent. Ede i mss u! Just guess who?lol
Stranger things have happened, they will have a really cute story for their grandchildren.
Funny that,it's u I see settling down with bonaventure;sorry bonario in san francisco
Na Indian movie script be dis act!!! Very unreal kind off.... nice colabo anyway.
Ol boy,betta uncross dose fingers b4 d thing do u like leper
@linda,this cld be us but u're clitless
But linda how u go meet someone online, or ur page, u dont reply comment now..anyway how sweet
Insecured heart. Sowie
$$k@y$$
Hmm Paul nice one. Well said. Linda is humble I knw
$$k@y$$
And her catch na handsome bobo.. She too na diva. ßut linda you made me laugh uncontrollably. You are hilarious! ßut Ɠ♡D dey sha.
Wish them all the best.
See Linda, 'forming'. As if she doesn't receive love advance from guys who comment on your blog. I guess what you are looking for is in 'Hollywood'. ''Brad Pitts face. Tyson Beckford body, Gerard Butler charm, Kevin Harts sense of humour. Okay Tyler Perry! Lol.
Linda, you use to drop comments here but stopped when you became TOO BIG. Good for you. People tend to find love in their work environment and it's only natural for you to find love in your blog.
Come down from your high horse!:-)
May be you already have man cornered, and you're about to spring a surprise on us. Whatever is the case, I sincerely WISH YOU WELL!.
Bonario, you know where pussy dey for woman body? Foolish boy!
Fuck off u shit face
True
When will u just go and die and make the world a beer place?
Ahhhwwww! So cute a couple, wish dem d best.
Wish dem luck, so cute a couple
Bonario should check out Bonario's Boo. She's built for comfort just like he likes 'em.
Eem Lindo! some of us know ur story o!! hehe he
keep calm Linda for the right person is not far from you, besides you don't rush into stuffs like marriage else you rush out ....yours would be different and a beautiful love story told...sha Linda you have to invite me to your wedding *winks*
so its a promise right?
For Linda, so long as you come here to comment, you be small fish. She does not have that special connection with her BVs. She does not regard her blog visitors are potential materials, but as contributing factors to her bank account. That's a fact.
thanks to GEJ, this babe don get her yankee hubby on a platter of internet. And to think say, plenty gals still dey find obodo oyibo husbands.
Linda , the difference is you do not communicate back with your readers. So in this case, the communication worked for them.
This write-up was unnecessarily long. Couldn't she have summarised the story in one short paragraph.. haba. She needs to work on her comments. In any case, I'm happy for them.
Awwww Linda dearie, lol! Dnt worry, urs wil hapn soon...love sure comes in d strangest places...
Gud 4dem
Awwww Linda dearie, lol. Dnt worry, urs wil hapn soonest...Love sure does hapn in strangest places... Gud 4dem
Now nigerian girls will be reading guardian online now, in bid to have copycat effect.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Life could be fascinating sometimes. I wish them the best in their life together.
Waoh! Linda i just like u sha..no airs around u. Urs is around the corner
Beautiful couple.
WTF @make the world a BEER place lmfao I'm outta here lol
No be half man wey linda dey dash 100k she go settle down with,bonario ko bonaventure ni if I hear hian!
@ bonario and @ precious nwogu make una no dey deceive yasef oooo linda aint from mbaise *sticking-out-tongue*......... she's from NKWERRE (so proud to say it sef).....
E be like say u don toast one girl here she don insult u biko no vex.
Who wan settle for thug? Hian
where is the engagement ring?
U just never know where Ur love lies..... *Strange Sometimes*
Dont worry Linda your Man is coming, you are not rushing na
HEY!
HEY!
HEY!
HEY!
HEY!
LINDA!
LINDA!
LINDA!
Linda, STOP it.
STOP! STOP! STOP!
I don't like this.
Why you making it seem like you're single?
Why?
You're NOT single, and you know it. YOU belong to me.
STOP advertising my property. You're my property.
Ask your brother and sisters, I bought them drinks.
I've already PAID your DOWRY.
Smh. Smh. Smh. Smh. Smh.
Btw, Linda, dear, what's for dinner tonight?
[ wink! wink! ]
lol
aunty linda wat for your time, becos GOD time is the best.. and i prayed for happy home!! with good health and long life!!!
www.gistmelove.com
Yea, dat good@olamide
Awww! dis is really romantic and rare. Congrats 2d couple.
make i begin dey write better comment asap, e fit b me o. wat r u all looking @? who no like better thing abeg raise ur hands. lol
its cause u blog trash most of the times. Teeth shinning
well i equally met my wife of 6 years after she wrote an article and i responded in Nigerian Guardian newspaper 11years ago. we dated for 5 years and now we have been married for 6 good years. Thongs like this can only happen to you when you have a free and open mind and you dont believe the hype. ....its very possible... congrats to them
wow..thats the power of the print media..wishing you both the best.
Stop fooling yourself
Some desperado comments left me Rotfl...@Linda dnt worry, ur Mr Right will find you...Definitely not d ones I see,commenting on your blog...Alot of dem are too young,rude,immature and jobless (fear dem) lol..**Runsaway**
that is graet testimony
lol, Pele Linda. God will soon answer you too.
It was just meant to be.
Am commenting now, hope some hot dude sees it o