Vimbai celebrates the African woman with 'Woman of the Soil' project | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 March 2014

Vimbai celebrates the African woman with 'Woman of the Soil' project

Star Gist presenter and 2-time AMVCA host, Vimbai Mutinhiri has collaborated with Nigerian photographer, Reze Bonna on a project to celebrate African women. The project is a photo campaign that showcases and celebrates the origins of African women. Continue...

Speaking about the project, Vimbai passionately says, "It is so important for African women to begin to take control of the image of the traditional roles we have played through history. While we are not competing with men, there is not enough being done to celebrate the strength of the African woman and the central role she plays in society and in particularly in our culture as Africans”

The project is essentially a collaboration between Vimbai Mutinhiri and Reze Bonna to celebrate the beacon that is the African woman: queen, mother, wife, daughter and warrior.

The video below..

26 comments:

God bless Africa and all the beautiful women of Africa, I love Africa, but sometimes I wish I was not born an African, but where ever you are planted, don't complain, just grow. God bless Africa, God heal Nigeria

Nyc 1 she looks cute

Ameriestyle said...

Oh Nice
www.ameriestyle.blogspot.com

Beautiful!!!

May be in their country they dont celebrate women but here in the part of naija i came frm, women are more celebrated than men abeg.....

Vimbai,now you are all up in Nigeria and Nigerians as against your intense dislike for Nigeria and Nigerians during the big brother show.

Abinibi said...

Kai, see the space around that skirt, Lord please bless Vimbai with some meat, she's gonna hurt herself balancing on those toothpicks.. Please please Lord.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Massive respect to all African women in disapora.

She try nd mak she de dress like diz coz she is finer ds way. #justsaying

CRAP!!... Please add some flesh, then talk of an African woman.
Looking like a bony ghost as usual....pppffftttt

*My R1.50c comment *

Cool.

totally love this. nice one vimbai

In my next world i will be an African i love my colour Die!!
#blackwomendoinggreatthings

~~5dMarilyn

Sylvonce said...

I so did that suwe game in d 3rd pic, lol!

Celebrating backwardness. Rubbish!

AnnMarie said...

indeed the strength of an African woman should be celebrated

O wow u r so ignorant it's amazing. England still has a monarchy that dates back to hundreds of years it's their heritage with they proudly nurture and maintain. When it's Africans u term it as been backwards. Go and deal with u very low self esteem and then return to make a valuable productive comment until then keep your ignorant comments to urself.

Celebrating africa woman is backwardness,bt gay is nt,a mentally sound woman cuming out wif see tru clothes showing all nakedness is forwardness in ur stinking brain.well matured woman dat suppose to bring change,moralty to d young girls re giving birth outside wedlock 4 celebrities just to tie d man or bcum popular is frwdness in ur village.dear if u don't support gud fins dat mins u re taboo itself.anu npama

Proudly African

Black is Beautiful

Nice one,proudly african

Africa O! Africa, my pride and my identity

Sara said...

Any one who need my n*du should hit mai name

yusuf said...

Nigeria will not scatter, africa destroy

Go baby said...

ooh! i want to buy these and decorate my house. these are absolutely lovely!