Court nullifies collection of toll on Lekki-Ikoyi bridge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 March 2014

Court nullifies collection of toll on Lekki-Ikoyi bridge

According to a report by Sahara Reporters, a Federal High Court sitting in Ikoyi, today nullified the collection of any toll or tariff on the Lekki-Ikoyi Bridge.
Ruling on the suit, which was filed by human rights lawyer, Ebun Adegboruwa, presiding judge, Justice Saidu, J. held that the power of control over all navigable waterways in Nigeria resides in the Federal Government, and not any state government.
He held that from all the documents made available to the court, the only justification for the toll fee on the bridge by Lagos State is the private partnership law.
However, he noted that the law could not apply to the Lekki-Ikoyi Bridge since it was built with the money of the Lagos State Government, without the involvement of any private partnership.
“Thus, since there is no law supporting the toll fee, it is illegal and should be stopped forthwith”, Justice Saidu said.

73 comments:

Yeah good one

Tank u sir for dis judgemt !

Traffic will blow up there

Annonymous said...

Kudos to Lawyer Ebun Adegoruwa for a job well done.

TnK God we beginning to fight for Our rights!!!! Guyfisher says so....

Now right things are gradually happening in 9ja goo...it was constructed with our money,why should we always pay?.

And all this time they made it seem like a bulk of the money used to build the bridge was obtained from private sources. Hmnn, Lagos State e ye ma jale. Oya lets see how they control the "riff raff" from entering precious Lekki. Well that's if Lagos state obeys the order cos we all know APC need the money for election

Is really gud to see some individuals standing for others....... May God bless yu man.... Nobi only toll fees na toll fiece...

But mehn, this bridge tap die......

Slowly but surely sanity will return to Nigeria. It is a communal fight, but sanity has got to come back.

Thank God. . . Thiefnubu has done his best to colonize Lagos state using Fashola as his akpan. . . But God pass all of them!

Bloody cankerworms!!! May God destroy you all!!!

Haha, someone's illegal business just ended.
Thus, good news for some and bad news for some..

*My R1.50c comment *

Dogged said...

Plz thank God,let's know d law can still be upheld in this our soon to be great nation

Good rediance.

Hallelujah

Hehehehe I am dancing skelewu.Ah! Uncle Fashola pls no vex o cos we d lekki pikins are very happy.Infact I am going to The place today to pop vodka(tongueout). «««MON AMI»»»

new pin 7439955a said...

Noted. Cheers. Engr E.

Thank God, storm is over. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

this will cause traffic o...abeg they should keep it

Linda I will comment wen u stop using my comments for rituals. Becos am not seeing it.

#Gboaaaaamm!! Foolish money mongers collectin money for a bridge built with public funds

sii Al said...

we want refund oh........if only they obey court judgments in this country

Hallulujah!!! Next step would be to see if this would actually work.
Great news.

LINDA said...

Nice one ojare!

Yimu.. Then still dey collect am oooo

Yess Yess. *dancingAye*

There is a God in heaven

The judge is mad, are we complaining? State government built that brigde to ease traffic before you say jack now they'll close the brigde causing more traffic at the other toll. Biko jugde we are not complaining ok? The ones who don't have 250 to pay, pass the other toll. Go to other countries they have tolls too. Pdps handwork

We hope for it to be implemented asap.......................pretty T

Fantastic news. Yes yes yes. God bless u plenty pastors Adegboruwa of RCCG Christ the King church . Phase 1 lekki. U r indeed God's sent. Thank God for liberating the ppl of lekki from 30 yrs slavery. Tinubu and his cohort, this life na vanity o.

GBAMMMM.GOOD JUSTICE

Wow! This is a welcomed development. Am beginning to admire our judiciary now. Nigerians are also learning to fight for their rights. Thumbs up.

Dee Brown said...

HALLELUJAH!!!!!

GEJ at work. All in attempt to stifle internally generated revenue in Lagos. Were the residents of Ikoyi/lekki complaining?? All PDP can do is to critcize the good work of the opposition. What a joke.

ADAEZE said...

Such good news but...Lekki peeps won't find it funny ooo... Traffic will be a mess!

That's fantastic

London brigde is falling down.... come on guys bridge has to be maintained let's pay just a lil

I hope they will obey d law sha

Opelicious Morgann said...

Thank God ooo if not dis yeye govt will just keep milking its people dry.

Danie said...

Mehn dose guys still dei collect moni ooo! Just passed der

Lagos is not generating enough income to build and sustain the needed infrastructure in the state. If we refuse to pay for some of these things, it only means the Govt would have to limits it's projects to high priority ones based on the limited available funds. Tolling is normal in Europe and other parts of the world to help the Govt continue to raise additional funds to build and maintain infrastructure.

U can't build something completely with taxpayers' money n still charge them for using d same thing,..it's tantamount 2 robbery n fasole shd be jailed

I pray other illegalities will also be uncovered. Na so dem wan rule Nigeria?

MissBusyBody said...

When does this come into effect tho...??

Good job,well done

This is not good news for those of us who reside in Lekki Phase 1. It'll cause unbearable traffic and Admiralty road will be totally degraded!! It's bitter sweet news for me. Though the tolls are high there, we have a bit of sanity because not every road user can go through there.

I can't bear to think about all the public transport buses and heavy duty trucks that might try to go through there. It will be a nightmare. This is one judgement that sucks IMO!

Victour said...

@Anonymous u are d mad one n nt d judge.wen u knew u had notin to say u shld av stayd back on ur high hill rather saying rubbish,dat was y u made ursef anonymous.pls com out openly if u really av a comment to make.for d fact u av 250 to pay doesnt mean other road users can afford it.am sure u one of does pple stealing and loothin fed govt money. Wen wld Nigerians start being brothers keepers for crying out loud imagine sumone talkin senselessly and carelessly like dis.pls stop lets all embrace being concernd abt d pple arnd us nd be caring towards one another.

SUPERVISOR said...

I WONDER WHAT GAIN THIS JUDGEMENT IS TO THE ADVANCEMENT OF LAGOS? TOLLS ARE PAID ALL OVER THE WORLD. THIS WILL DISCOURAGE GENUINE AND VISIONARY DECISIONS OF GOVERNMENT. NOBODY WAS COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS TOLL, WHY CAN SLEEPING DOGS LIE?

Thank you Mr Adegboruwa, God bless you and your family. Thank you Lord.

Faith Ogaga said...

Priase God..

Good! Bet the traffic wey go come dey dere no go be for here.

Great judgement!

It's a ploy jare... what court ruling in Lagos. Why didn't they have a court ruling for Lekki 1 toll gate? Its either they have made back all the money spent in constructing the bridge OR its a pre-election ploy.

Gba be jo! I Just Paid 300bucks on ikoyi bridge!

It should be immediately implemented, shap shap.

Hurray!!!

Ah!!! ori Judge yi o pe shaaaa.....and now Nigerians wud av d opportunity to jampack and destroy dat bridge. if it wasnt for d toll fee dat bridge wud've bn unrecognizable by now...aarrrgghhh????

Good!!!

Would tell judgement be obeyed??. Let us not get too excited😴😴

Doesn't make sense. That defeats the entire purpose

O shut up. If we paid for it then it should be ours. Now Lekki would be like ajao after ejigbo bridge was opened

Shut up. No one criticized. The law works. APC is the only party that rants

Hahahahahahhaha! Babes u jus murdered it

I don't agree with you. The illegal business is the admiralty toll plaza on the lekki expressway. A road already existing is being expanded with tax payers money (forget the PPA) story. Yet they are tolling it. The ikoyi lekki bridge is a new project and has alternatives. It's road like that we expect to be rolled not lekki expressway where the money is going to someone's pocket in the name of LCC

Mr adegboruwa is just being used.Where was he during the lekki expressway troll fight. That is the toll that should be stopped. Not lekki ikoyi bridge

You are on point

please o they should go back to paying money as if the traffic is not enuff.. that place will now be jam packed plus more traffic.

please o im nt complaing ... who beg them to stop paying toll... that place would be packed... what a stupid move ..abegi

We the residents of lekki and environs are going to appeal this, does the judge know the kind of traffic this would cause? Please there are other alternative routes. This should have been for the other toll not lekkoyi toll. Do you know the hours saved just by passing that bridge?

Ashewo. Lynda

Anon 10:45.u are a big fool.itz bcs of pple lik u dat dis country will neva be rit.u will rather pay dan get does looters 2 do d rit tin