Pics from the fire outbreak at Great Nigeria House, Balogun Market | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 November 2013

Pics from the fire outbreak at Great Nigeria House, Balogun Market

There was a fire outbreak at Great Nigeria Insurance House at Balogun Market in Lagos this morning. Eye witnesses said the fire started around 5am from one of the top floors. The cause of the fire outbreak is unknown but people suspect that it may be as a result of electrical fault. The building accommodates various businesses, including banks.

On the ground were National Commission for Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons (NCFRMI), National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), LASEMA, and the Lagos State Fire Service as well as Federal Fire Service to quench the fire, and evacuate affected persons. More pics after the cut

51 comments:

tnk God no life ws lost n hop its nt sabotuers at wrk! Last to commnt!

Dis is serious ooo, hope dere was no casualties.

yes i saw it this morning on my way to work.

It's still burning sef

Thank God no life was lost.

If the fire started around 3am,I wonder why the firefighters are seen here by broad daylight trying to curb the fire

tharnar said...

God is in control n we tnk God it was nt during working hour so no casualties..... All tnk to God *ogheneworunodo*

OMG! I just hope nobody is getting hurt from this o.. God please help naija

WOW! CHECKOUT THIS PHOTOS OF THE DAY LOL. YOU SHOULD SEE

Jeez! I pray no casualty is recorded. This is not the first time a fire outbreak is emanating from this same building now? Or abi???
Safety measures please!

Efficient security and sound fire system in essential in modern structure.

This is the reason churchgate is rated 7-Star Commercial Structure.

So sad.... :(

Wat a great loss there!!! @Sandradunkwu.

Shaa wat a pity 4 d victims I hope ppl no die

Eh yah, see losses

May God Save us Oº°˚˚°ºoo

Queen of England said...

Wow, serious fire ooo

Madam Linda, the fire didn't start by 5am, it started at about 7am ish.. and Thankfully nobody has entered to open up their shop for the day's business.. and it's still burning now at. 5:05pm.. and really thought u'd have had this up since morning..

Ooooooh! dear God,pls save us and labour

OMA said...

NAIJA NAIJA...SO IT WAS RECENTLY DISCOVERED THAT EMBEZZLEMENT MIGHT HAVE BEEN GOING ON IN THIS ORGANIZATION AS IT WAS EXPERIENCING A FINANCIAL CRASH.JUST AS THE INVESTIGATIONS ARE TO BEGIN, BUM!THE BUILDING IS SET ON FIRE..EVIDENCE DESTROYED...I CLAP FOR THE BRAINS BEHIND THIS....I HOPE WE NIGERIANS BEGIN TO LEARN TO FEAR GOD O

LOL NAIJA NAIJA..THIS COMPANY WAS RECENTLY DISCOVERED TO BE HAVING FINANCIAL DOWNSIDES AND SIGNS OF EMBEZZLEMENTS WERE PERCEIVED.THE INVESTIGATIONS WERE TO BEGIN SOON AND BUM! THE BUILDING IS ON FIRE..EVIDENCE DESTROYED...I CLAP MY HANDS FOR THE BRAINS BEHIND THIS...

Lastma lyk U̶̲̥̅̊ linda!

Oh no great Nigeria house hope no one died o.

These buildings are old am sure poor connection caused it or overloaded meters.

Madam its Niger House not Nigeria House

And yes Ps - it started on the first floor not the top floor....

In Nigeria, all causes of fire out break is always unknown???
Did anybody die? See fire workers after almost d whole buildin have been burnt down

Useless fiighters dat didn't get there on time. A life was lost, some1 jumped down n smashd hs head. Infact its still burning as i type dis.

Thank God ooo for there wwas no life Lost,

Ode r u blind, can't u read? Just in a hurry to type..d fire started around 5am jare.

Shurrup stupid fool. Dnt say wat U̶̲̥̅̊ dnt kno cuz ‎​Đ fire started around 5am as linda said. Linda is makin her money..U̶̲̥̅̊'r dere complainin ova stupid tins..ode

"And really thought I'd have had this up since morning"...bcos she be winch, or she carry satellite for head.

chiamy N said...

ok... this building got burnt some few years ago and another building on balogun street got burnt last year or so, the truth is, as usual, someone is not doing something right... let us identify these root causes, and train our people as well as build properly.
electrical lines should be properly constructed during the building phase and our people have to learn to stop tampering with power lines.
we have a long way to go

Still on fire oooooooooo only Oluwa can help

(˘̯˘ ) @ electrical fault. After they embezzled money they set the place on fire. I pity those chinese. They were seriously in tears. May God bless them sha. N replenish their pocket

Oversabi its Nigeria! Not Niger!

Lair lair! Nobody died u moron!

Aminat said...

Omg the fire fighters aren't even wearing gas mask, aren't they afraid of inhaling CO? Have never seen any fire outbreak in Nigeria with known cause, hope no one was hurt

Oh boy! Xmas has being spoilt for some people. In fact life ma!

Rough Diamond said...

Y is it dat every year, balogun market must burn?!
Na wa o!

Its high time it stops o! Fustrating pple's efforts!
Heard a guy dat jst off loaded his container yesterday 'fainted' after hearing d news!
Wetin dat guy go do? After all d loans he collected from d bank?

Ije nwa! This is sad!

Nigerians ehn!!!!....Y do we attribute evry fire outbreak 2 electrical faults 4rm d building?...........

Rough Diamond said...

Bros/sista u can lie for africa o!

onyi winnie said...

May God see us thru,I cn imagne aw dwncasted d man whose containers of goods was burnt,it was a bizzarre

It's really a great loss to many traders. fireee God help o

It burnt till.8pm @ nite or more Dan sefe

Heeeey! Jesse man. Opakororro!

pwitie B said...

We are approaching d hammatan period people shud b careful ad our fire fighting department should on alerts pls 2 curb fire ad its hazards

nawa ooo God help us all

Hmmmm na wa o pples moni @IYA

we thank God

Even Linda is wrong. The fire started some minutes past 6am

Pls on d contrary,cn 1 tell me were most of these importers stay nw @ balogun,cos dats wia I get my goods cheap...tnx