Progressive Govs Forum statement on police invasion of G7 meeting | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 November 2013

Progressive Govs Forum statement on police invasion of G7 meeting

Yesterday, the DPO of Asokoro police division, CSP Nnanna Ama, invaded the meeting of the G7 governors at the Kano government lodge in Asokoro, Abuja. The Progressive Governors Forum have released a statement condemning the incident. Their statement below...
Nigerian Police: Now Armed Wing of PDP
The Progressive Governors Forum (PGF) hereby registers its dismay that for the second weekend in a row, officers of the Nigeria Police illegally stormed and disrupted a meeting by seven governors and other Nigerians going about their constitutionally guaranteed rights of association.

The police action is not only alarming but also demonstrates clearly that the force, instead of carrying out its constitutional responsibilities of maintaining peace and order in the society has become no more than the armed wing of the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Coming barely a week after storming the Adamawa State Governor’s Lodge in Abuja to disrupt a lawful meeting of like-minded individuals, and despite public outcry at the tactics of the police, the Force, in clear violation of all rules of civility still went ahead to disrupt a G7 caucus meeting at the Kano State Governor’s Lodge on the 3rd November, 2013, in Asokoro, Abuja.

If the Nigeria Police has not become the armed wing of the PDP, why should the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) in charge of Asokoro Police Unit, CSP NnannaAma, burst into the venue and order the meeting stopped, threatening to mobilize troops to abort it if his order was not obeyed?

For a DPO to have the impudence to force his way into the meeting of perceived opponents of President Goodluck Jonathan to disrupt meeting of governors and members of the Senate and the House of Representatives that were duly elected by Nigerians, and also threaten them with arrest can only indicate that the orders must have come from the Presidency. But for the police to carry out what is evidently an illegal order reflects a new low in the history of the Nigerian police.

The PGF hereby condemns in totality the antics of the Nigeria police in breaking up peaceful meetings and harassing Nigerians, while also calling for a probe into the PDP – Nigeria Police relations. Is the police established and paid to serve all Nigerians or merely to serve the interests of the PDP? If the police have become the armed wing of the PDP, then what differentiates it from the terror tactics of those who seek to violently impose their political beliefs on others?

The PGF salutes the resilience, tenacity and patriotic commitments of the G7 Governors and all leaders of the New PDP calls on them to continue the fight to rescue Nigeria from the grip of a tiny clique that has cornered the political space in Nigeria and now regards the rights and commonwealth of Nigerians as disposable in their desperation to continue in office despite growing unrest in the polity occasioned by PDP’s politics of poverty exclusion. We wish to emphatically restate our resolve to join hands ad work with our colleagues in G7 and New PDP to ensure that the current regressive trend towards authoritarianism, increasing poverty, unemployment and incompetent leadership is arrested.

The PGF also restates its position that another four years of the PDP and the current administration will spell doom for Nigeria and its over 170 million people, thus our determination to rescue Nigeria and provide security and prosperity for Nigerians.

55 comments:

iOmoge said...

See Gobe

mstcheewww I so hate politics ehn

Oops: Maheeda Releases New Topless Photos

Tiana said...

Lol! Far cry, attracting sympathy frm civilians dat go tro worse situation frm dis police nd army people! Anytin abt PDP weither old or new group is a NO for me!!!!!!!!!!

OMG!WOMAN said...

Hmmmn! Nigeria what's the future, its sad

markettinf strategy....on point

For their poccket kwa onwee nke gbasaam linda emeche gi sendirim yhur digitz biko kai ruo well #ndi oko kooh

Oh this explains ur earlier post...

The PGF salutes the resilience, tenacity and patriotic commitments of the G7 Governors and all leaders of the New PDP calls on them to continue the fight to rescue Nigeria from the grip of a tiny clique that has cornered the political space in Nigeria and now regards the rights and commonwealth of Nigerians as disposable in their desperation to continue in office despite growing unrest in the polity occasioned by PDP’s politics of poverty exclusion.

May i remind the so called Progressive Governors that high court in Abuja have labelled the so called G7 governors as nonentities and should be dealt with since they operate without registration..

NYC-1 says: If in the helms of affairs, these guys will also do the same thing. This is why decentralizing Nigeria Police Force is the best alternative. Yes, there will be setbacks, but state policing is the solution, and will create a better accountability and neutrality relative to performance and elections.

That's the plan of d Jonathans nw to threaten citizens with police or military men & I know this is there plan for 2015 election.Jona must go!! EURO voice

GEJ is bcomin a dictator o

Injustice anywhere is a threat everywhere.
Hope the Abacha era is not staring us in the face
This Govt must learn to be tolerant.

APPLELIPX said...

HMMMMMMMM...........

@LEAST JONA DEY WT ASUU WATS MY BIZ. YOU ALL WILL NEVER SEE PEACE IF SCHOOLS DON'T REOPEN......

KEEP HOLDIN MEETINGS FOR YOUR WATERLOO

So the cause boko haram is championing using terror & mayhem is now political; no longer religious? Nigeria! Sorry. I blame the britons.

One word,politics

Everything they said in the statement is so true! What has Jonathan become?? The man 's thirst for power is unbelievable! He is like a dictator, he imposes everything on Nigerians like he's our master, just like he did with the subsidy. Yet he'll claim to be a man of God. A man of God that cannot step aside just for peace to reign, so that lies will be saved! Instead, he's enriching thugs like Asari Dokubo just to intimidate pple into keeping him in power. The action of the Nigerian police did not surprise me as usual, fools!

Well, for me, its good these governors and who so ever are also victimised, know what an average Nigerian suffers in the hands of the buffons U call security agents, meanwhile, am sure one or if not all of them has used their authorities to also harass helpless citizens at some point of their lives........... Shuts the dOor after exit#

So ordinary DPO wey hin salary no reach 200k fit treating Governors ha. No more fairness in dis country again. Omo onile say so.

Linda I hear ASUU strike has been called off? Biko confirm

tsk tsk said...

Awwww not to take away from the seriousness of what happened but these men are indeed the true face of what naija should be. All shapes, sizes, skin tone, faith, tribe, creed and we should all live happily as one but the igbos and hausas sha want to run that place to the ground with tribalism(igbos) and forcing their nonsense religion down our throats(HAUSAS). Nonsense

Duke says.........
NPF una d try wella

But why should they have secret meetings?? the police iss right for stopping such meetings...as for all they (the police) care, the meetings might be on how they aim to loot money

GEJ continues to use police and army to oppress his opponents ...nigeria is headed for doom due to GEJs wickedness ..God please help us to rid us of this man ..we beg of you lord

this is undemocratic and very sad. we cant move forward with PDP thinking the can rule over anybody. i hope we nigerians are seeing what GEJ is doing to this country with his power. the "mumu president" suddenly turn to "power hungry" man. shame on them, that coward act. it shows they are scared of competition and we must unseat PDP come 2015 IJN. Say NO to PDP and YES to CHANGE #ThatFunctionGuy

So if the police do this to the big men, you can imagine what could happen to 'non-entities'(nonentities) like the common man- slaps, flogging, breaking of legs, and finally, quotation of twisted laws by a policeman said to have read law in school. Jonathan is too crude; he wants to use OBJ's style. One would have expected that that style is NOW considered archaic even in Naija. He should use his PhD brain to work out other patterns with finer rims.

SunnyC said...

Great info

Dis dpo need to be stack abeg lili my comment

fake progressives. these guys are worse than PDP

No comment

G7 kan G7 ni. U left ur states dey appoint u 2 govern. Came 2 abj n do G7 meeting.so u guys ar above d law ba.police cannt intrude n arrest u guys if dey smell any rat.so na only our body police go get powr.sharrap n go bck 2 ur villaiges dey nid u dere.n stp lookn fr sympathies

A dose of their own medicine,how many of them have assasinated others to get there...Abeg,park one side....if they are just realsing thst the police is no protector of civilians or human right. but thr oppressor,then they are fools! I keep saying this,we dt need Christians nor Muslims but pure objectivist as a leader to garner strong minds to draw the roadmap for success for naijs as a country.right now,its a wilderness journey nd all man for himself. #fongerscrossed.

There is something called freedom of association and the police have infringed on their human rights. A meeting between like minds in no way breaks any law, this is supposed to be a democracy for crying out loud!

Peanut mind. You have only read but one side of the story. Keep mind open and see worries released (in Spartacus language).

And you?

No matter wat PDP do, dem no go win come 2015 ijn.....wah kyn of babaric nonesense is dis 4 cryin out loud...Dah DPO nids to b sack, buh I'm sure noffin will b done to him....APC 4 me

Adanna said...

@tsk tsk u just proved 2 b a certified insecure mofo mschwww.... D lyk the igbos av finished destroyin ur father's 1 room apartment, or the hausas av forcefully turned you into a muslim. Better carry ur dead carcass into abyss nonsense

awwwww!dis pictures are so touching! IGBOS,YORUBAS AND HAUSAS!...SHEBI NA DEM BE APC??RIGHT??
WOH!me i am tired of pdpd jare,let una party enter make we see wetin dem fit do...as far as am concerned,pdpd don turn to am2 family tin,haba! sebi na democracy,no be kingship thingy...am kinda prefering military rule sef...lets compare,fordemocracy,ur free to do or talk watever u want to some xtent so our leaders r free to loot...dem no born dem well for military rule,at least na few person fit dey steal for thr...

Ode..mumu..blame the west..Britons told Patience Jonathan to use tax payers money for the celebration on death of her mother...the Britons stole the police pension fund..the Britons told PHCN to ensure no electricity..the Britons told ASUU to strike and also told FG not to pay them...the Britons killed that man in my village that was stunk to death by bee when trying to get pawpaw from the tree to feed his hungry children..the Britons came to Nigeria and dug several pot holes on our road that killed those precious NYSC students on their way to camp..the Britons told Alamaysia or whatever that punk name is to steal all the money and also told Jonathan to grant him pardon..Britons told the cabals to steal all the subsidy money and told Jonathan to stop subsidy so that average Nigerians will suffer..the Britons are behind the BMW over inflated cars that the minister of finance bought with our money..the Britons told Gbenga Daniel to steal all those money an also told EFCC to free him..they did the same to Alao Akala, Dimeji Bankole etc. the Britons told James Ibori to loot delta state's fund and then put him in prison..when I go out at night in the street of Lagos ..I look around for Britons so they dot rob me..when at the ATM you have to cover ur pin bcos Britons may be watching..they also told oga Jona that 1 billion is fair for feeding allowance..do u know that they are probably behind the ALUU 4...they also cause the plane crash that happen in Lagos..they told the police to storm the G7 meetings ..the west has cause so many damage to our country abi? None is our fault it's the Britons. Mumu ..ode..u better start taking responsibilies west are moving on..Africa is doomed because of our actions and we still blame them..I weep for we future..am out..

Gbam !! The idiot will go to Israel to go an do pilgrimage . Mstcheew , GEJ must Go ewu

* and

Shut up , you said that we should all be living in harmony but u are there insulting Igbo and Hausa people . We yoruba's have our own to so please shut up

I laugh to dis shady politicians,D earlier d beta...PDP should confirm dat dey can't go anywia dis time around...APC rules.

Thank you!

"but the igbos and hausas sha want to run that place to the ground with tribalism(igbos)" just one word 4 u #F00L#

*sack* thank me later olodo

pwitie B said...

Wen d police wud b brutalising d common man they won't knw they ar deviating frm their constitutional rights buh now its d turn of d high ad mighty they ar crying foul nt interestd jor stupid pipo

Wetin Igbos do u? Mr. Wise man, idiot like u.

why are these men making noise when tinubu and fashola used police to beat and terrorise us at lekki toll gate it was ok
abeg they should park well

Those guys are not the saints we need, give a chance i bet you will more than PDP

Coming to Nigeria for xmas. pls can someone link me up to one or two of these governors? I wanna get down with them. hit me up pls.. Thanks sweet hearts.

Loveth said...

Bona i disagree wit u dis time. U people shuld not be foold by dis G7 of a thing. They ar greedy, al dis they ar doin is not for d interest of d masses, but theirs, they dont hv us mind. Many of them hav not don any reasonble thin in their states sincce elected. Now they want us to pity them.

Its minister. Of Aviation not finance

Nasarawa state Governor have not paid workers of tertiary institution of learning their promotion and increment since last year. September salary was paid in the middle of October. Here d Governor is part n parcel of G7. Fools are supporting these governors that have no plans for us but their selfish interest. I pity people that support G7
Hameed Lafia

Why won't you morons support them. I guess your job in Abuja is for the politicians to fvck you in the ass. Mumu United.

The PGF also restates its position that another four
years of the PDP and the current administration will
spell doom for Nigeria and its over 170 million
people, thus our determination to rescue Nigeria and
provide security and prosperity for Nigerians.
Hmmm I guess they know what's going on with the insecurity of dis country..Ђδω do they intend stopping Bokoharam if they don't have link with them..mtcheeww birds of the same feather..