Pics from the PDP convention where Atiku & 7 governors pulled out | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 1 September 2013

Pics from the PDP convention where Atiku & 7 governors pulled out

These are photos from the PDP convention that took place in Abuja yesterday where former VP Atiku Abubakar and seven other governors pulled out to form a faction of the party.

See more photos from the convention and a statement from Atiku's PDP chairman explaining why they pulled out from GEJ's PDP...after the cut...

Why We Are Taking Over From Tukur, Factional Chairman of the PDP, Abubakar Baraje explains..
“We address you today as leaders of PDP, who are worried by the increasing repression, restrictions of freedom of association, arbitrary suspension of members and other such violations of democratic principles by a faction of our party led by Alhaji Bamanga Tukur.
While we have done everything humanly possible to bring to the attention of critical stakeholders within the party the dangers inherent in the course being charted by that leadership, it has become very clear that the desperate permutations towards 2015 general elections have blinded certain people from the consequences of their actions.

Not only has the constitution of the party been serially  abused by Alhaji Tukur and his fellow travelers, all the organs of the party have been rendered virtually ineffectual by a few people who act as though above the law. Unfortunately, it is obvious that that they get encouragement from the presidency whose old calculations are geared towards shutting out any real or imagined opposition ahead of the party’s presidential primaries for the 2015 elections.

As leaders of our great party, we consider it a sacred responsibility to save the PDP from the antics of a few desperadoes who have no democratic temperament and are therefore bent on hijacking the party for selfish ends. While the list of their violations of the tenets of our great party is long, we will highlight just a few:
The National Executive Committee of the PDP at its belated meeting of 20 June 2013 approved 20 July2013 for the conduct of a special national convention.
However, that date was changed to August 31 without reverting to NEC (the only authority vested with such powers) by a few people, apparently acting on the authority of the presidency.
Notwithstanding the fact that INEC had noted that the PDP congresses in nine states were not properly conducted, the illegal delegates from such states are being paraded at the so-called convention being held today in a cynical attempt to circumvent the law and further bring the name of the party to disrepute.

In gross violation of the PDP constitution which stipulates that the NEC meeting must hold at least once in a quarter, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur and a few people have been running the party like a personal fiefdom without recourse to that important decision-making organ of the party.
The NEC of the party accepted the resignation of the former members of the NWC whose offices were affected by INEC observations based principally on the agreement that the affected officers would be returned to their respective offices at the convention. However, against the decision of the NEC. And in a not-so-clever bid to exclude some perceived opponents of the few powerful members who are trying to hijack the party, these positions have been made Open to some Yes-men within the party.

Notwithstanding INEC instance that Senator Any Uba is the duly elected candidate of the party in Anambra State and against the background that he is so recognized by majority of our party members, the Bamanga Tukur-led Executives announced a purported suspension of Senator Uba and some other members close to him in defiance of subsisting court orders.

Despite that the PDP Constitution is very clear that the state chapter of the party cannot discipline a national officer, the Deputy National Chairman, Mr. Sam Jaja, has reportedly been dismissed by some renegades who have hijacked the Rivers State chapter of our party with the connivance of the Bamanga Tukur leadership.

The persistent change in the list of the party’s delegates in many states as part of a deliberate attempt to rig the party’s nomination of candidates, especially at the presidential and gubernatorial levels, with a view to foisting on the PDP some unpopular candidates who are bound to lose at the polls. The suspension without due process of the Governors of Rivers and Sokoto states. Even when the illegal suspension on Sokoto State Governor has been lifted, the Rivers Governor remains purportedly suspended for no just cause.

The illegal dissolution of the Adamawa State chapter of the party is a clear abuse of power by Alhaji Bamanga Tukur thus causing confusion in his home state.

Given the foregoing, it is very clear that the Bamanga Tukur leadership cannot guarantee for our millions of party members democracy anchored on free choice and the rule of law. We have therefore taken it upon ourselves to rescue the party from their dictatorial leadership.

It is indeed noteworthy that from 1999 to date, Nigerians have constantly voted the presidential candidates presented by our great party but not only dies such trust come wig enormous responsibility, we recognize that we cannot continue to take the people f granted.

From now, the new leadership of the party under us will strive to build a fairer as well as a more transparent and accountable PDP that will putty interest of members and indeed all the people of Nigeria above that of one single individual.

For all the members of our great party who may have become disillusioned by the anti-democratic tendencies of the Bamanga Tukur’s leadership, there is a new lease of life in the horizon. It’s a new day for the Peoples Democratic Party.

As we take over the leadership of the PDP, our immediate priority is to revive the culture of robust debate of all contending issues while providing a level-playing field for all our members. These were the ideals that differentiated our party from others and endeared us to Nigerians.
We are not, and have never been a political party where one man would be taking decisions for all members and where once you do not kowtow before the presidency, you are deemed a rebel that must be crushed. That is not the PDP bequeathed to us by our founding fathers. That, I dare say, is no longer what PDP under our leadership will represent from today.

101 comments:

Stories....Like your intention is to help the common naija person. We no dey chop ur format again jor...Make una go sit down . Shameless old greedy and unfair politicians .

The joy of seeing PDP in disarray to me is sweeter than sex.
Their disunity is our unity.
Their disharmony is our harmony.
For its only when united they can comfortable siphon our commonwealth.

Just take a look at how they are looking so ceremoniously adorned with regalia, with minds filled with unquenchable avarice! I am so happy about the belligerence going on within the PDP now.

Ayowumi Ben said...

Watched d programme live yesterday on NTA.

Queen Bee said...

Well they have some valid points#thinking#and might as well be propaganda!
As for me,all I pray for is change that will bring positive result in Nigeria.and I hope this is the beginning.so help us God.

Prince Charming supu. Libers kunaka.

DD said...

Well said Bonario. Well said!

i agree bonario...i doubt if these JOKERS know how the common man Despises them...

Teflon Don said...

PDP .....Power to the People ....lmao

omalicha said...

PC$bonario 2of u no well,una dey always comnment after each other,jobless set of people.pc I know u must comment back*parrot*

dis stand 2 show hw stupid dis fools of PDP are,dey ar bizi havin convention nd makin stupid decision,while sum oda sector is sufferin,e.g education..#call of d strike joor.

Foolish people...Where are these stupid Boko Haram people...This is the kind of forum that needs to be bombed...Because all the problems Nigeria is suffering from were present in that meeting...Naija will only be better if these thieves are no more..shiiooo...ole buruku....

Chaos in PDP= unbound joy.

What is dis elephant (patience) doing there? She feels like she owns pdp i see why amechi is not in good terms wit her. this look more like a cult to me than anything i wish u all perish useless pdp, we are where we are at today bcos of pdp (evil)

Imagine Atiku talking about democracy and suppression. When u and obasanjo dealt with this country, what did u have in mind? Take several sits mr righteous.

Jay said...

So long an epistle....

Adamnest said...

All I see is empty heads. Old empty heads. Nawa o. Naija politics tire me.

Can't read, too long and all 4 their personal interest. They can all go rot in hell for all I care.

Today is September 1st 2013,The first day of september,may GOD push out your 7 enemies like he did in PDP convention yesterday,May your enemies cry like Atiku and his gang of 5 governors,May they be confused and abandoned like Rotimi Amaechi,may all your enemies keep their lies to themselves just like LAI Mohammed of APC..May you be gentle super men and ladies in any place you find yourselves just like GEJ is in PDP..HAPPY NEW MONTH !!!

Pdp conglomerate.

Daniel Akobi said...

I wonder if there's a single Nigerian apart from those direct beneficaries of PDP's misrule that's crying over the split of PDP. Serves them well.

Mama Pidgin said...

All of them are the same set of people both the old faction and the new faction. It is what brought them together that seperated them Old set of leaders. You won't believe it that some of this our old generation leaders don't know that blackberry is a phone they taught is a fruit that youth love eating, no prophecy shall go unfulfilled. CLICK ON MY NAME TO LAUGH AND LAUGH UNTILL YOU FORGET YOUR NAME

Linda tot u don't get involved wit politices gist? Pratice what u preach biko...! For PDP, I pray they get to suffer their shits n not innocent pple!

marayah said...

prince charming sha! Oloyinbo rere of LIB.

Lmao @ anon 1:59

ejikebiggerdick said...

Lawd! I no fit read all dis long epistle abeg!
Jonathan is there raising his two arms upwards lyk one who's on miracle ground while millions of student are at home whiling away due Asuu strike....
Meanwhile, un behalf of I and my relations, I want to officially nd publicly apologize to all nigerians for voting Goodluck ebele jonathan to the seat of presidency, please accept our unreserved apology...thank u very much, and God bless y'all!

I'm very happy about the breakup, anything to stop dem from winning elections in Nigeriaa is gr8 news for me.

Bunch of empty heads.

Well said! The same people

ejikebiggerdick said...

Lawd! I no fit read all dis long epistle abeg!
Jonathan is there raising his two arms upwards lyk one who's on miracle ground while millions of student are at home whiling away....
Meanwhile, un behalf of I and my relations, I want to officially nd publicly apologize to all nigerians for voting Goodluck ebele jonathan to the seat of presidency, please accept our unreserved apology for we will never vote for him come 2015, nd we beckon on any citizen who in God's infinite mercies opened his or her eyes to forsee the usage of remote-control in controlling the affairs of the president seat to stick to someone who has shoes on for shoeless being has done us no good...thank u very much, and God bless y'all!

Nija heading into division.I foresee to nigeria having 2 president in 2015...that's the latest for our non visionary leaders,I pitty our great country.

Sorry to digress guys...But I heard this rumour that photographer's are not allowed to capture Patience Jonathan's legs on any official pictures and the second picture seems to confirm it.....Linda na true??????

Mumu man,nobody cares,this is jst d begining,y'all will continue to fight against urselves until u restore this country to order..God is not asleep! Alhaji Banmanga ko,foolish old unenlightend assholes!

GEJ is bleaching, see his knuckles! Ewwwww

Though PDP politicians are old disgruntled, disorganised, disorderly, disoriented men but I still think they are far better than APC where one man "tinubu' makes all the decision. PDP is more of a national party with all tribes,ethnicity and religion are well represented but APC is only a one man led party where tinubu makes the whole decision. Besides all the ESCO'S of APC, starting from the national chairman, chairman,deputy chairman,national secretary, publicity decretary,presidential candidate and vice, are all muslims. These only shows us that APC is not considerate and not anything close to a national party. Tinubu to me is dictatorial in nature and greedy too. For examble, Tinubu is not a serving governor but he single handled closed markets in lagos state for 3days because is lost is mother. He never cared pple would feel or not. Tinubu/fashola led govt has bought almost all the highbrow properties in lagos state and still taxing pple arbitrarily. Now they hv increased the lekki tollgates and tell me what they will use all the money for if not to throw more parties and acquire more properties? both PDP and APC are evils but PDP from all indication is the lesser evil. No sentiments attached though. Linda knuckle head if you like don't post my comment**wink**

Pc ur grammar is too much

Romans were the most powerful people in history,they conquered and ruled every nation in Europe just like the PDP in Nigeria of today. But Rome destroyed itself from within.

Nothing last forever,Jesus is Lord

Bia Linda don't make me scroll down such stupid long posts... Like dey r gonna b any different

Dolly P said...

PC you for just kukuma go become Hon. Obahiagbon secretary or PA cos ths ur English don pass level. The oyinbo people wey get English self nor go fit interpret ll this ur jargons. Back to the matter, I support u Bona, Let them begin to disagree and fight maybe only then can we have peace in that country. Greedy bastards

juicyhawtstuff said...

Who cares????ion care...

We tok as if deres anoda party beta dan PDP!

@PC these ur grammer na WAEC.pls post my comment.

abeg live arm robbers alone

Choi Prince Charming......

All na wash according to Eldee,come 2015 dem go port,no worry.come to think of it'How come this bunch of old men and women are holding this nation to ransom'? See them,them no fit carry one stick of broom.I bet if we deal with all of them 'Jerry Rawlings' style,nobody will bat an eyelid.#just saying oh#. Bunch of nincompoops.

Choi...too long joor

Shameless PDP

We shall have the last laugh.
More factions should emerge nonsense party

oops!!! wrong post! but the comment could still pass for them :p

Iphie said...

Just wish boka haram bombed u guys. fools!

3 Patrick Obahiangbo like coment

hmmmm... APC won

Plz wat re der sayn,2 lng culdnt read it.

Jbankz said...

I don tire fr ds pple,dem de gv me headache

Baraje and Saraki are both thieves who did nothing but impoverish the people of Kwara State. So, their action here is just a manifestation of selfish interest. They and their so called new PDP members do not like the masses. May God punish all of them and their families responsible for suffering of most Nigerians. Amen

Dictionary.com...Oloyinbo opere!

Hopeless leaders without conscience, u will surely scatter, u have not started sef

All this is just religious, so because a christian is president we won't have peace ba??? Smh for this people Gej till 2019 I don't care what some of you think I am a christian from the north I know this people very very well if the oil was from the north they would have seperated Nigeria a very long time...nobody is perfect support Gej for he is a child of God atleast he won't use our money to sponsor Jihad

Our policitians ar clowns LMFAO

True Bonario!!

They look so uglyyyyy.....i am so sure they are ugly inside too. God pls save us from these people. There is nothing God can't do, Ghanaians were worse off but when God said it was time he just placed someone is there to do what was never imagined, pls God let our own time be near.

#Funi they have enough funds to host a convention and dress radiantli; while we rot @home in d name of strike!!!

IF THIS IS THE CHANGE NIGERIA

NEEDS; SO B IT. KINDA BORED

PRAYING AND HOPING FOR A BETA NIGERIA.

TIRED OF THIS SHOW OF FOOLISHNESS ERRDAY BY SOME OLD-WACK MORONZ.

AN OVER DUE CHANGE INDEED. WON'T STOP PRAYING

APPLELIPX

If Atiku and co like them should pull in, some others equally joined PDP that same day, PDP will still be there come 2015, greed North, when they where there PDP was good, now choppings don comot their hand, they want to die...Make dem go die..PDP powerrrrrrrrr!!!!!

Nonsense..asuu is on strike n i dnt think diz fools rili care

Abeg Jona wife na PDP delegate too? Convetion na for (s)elected delegates na!

Folarin Akin said...

Time changed yesterday...When the center can no longer hold...an interesting story developing. When two elephant fights, the ground suffers; this time, the two elephants are fight on a boat, they're both going to drawn :D...

Folarin Akin said...

Time changed yesterday...When the center can no longer hold...an interesting story developing. When two elephant fights, the ground suffers; this time, the two elephants are fight on a boat, they're both going to drawn :D...

Uche said...

Ewolebe ._.

Bonario..lmao

Lmao

Folarin Akin said...

There is no propaganda in this. They are not intelligent enough to cook up such scam rather, corrupt enough to expose themselves shamlessly to the whole world :D...

So???

PDP-People Destroying People...

Hehe...

All - the new faction and the old guard still have one thing in common - they are there for themselves and continue fuck every Nigerian from behind. I don't care about their sorrows.

Stupid old fools who like to hold onto power like its deir birthright...heard hotels where fully booked for dem all around abuja n dats a lot of money which d future of d country(students) need to go back to schl...anyways it shows how much dey care,come 2015 nigerians shd stand up and make deir vote count

Bloody PDP

SPELLCHECK! SPELLCHECK!! SPELLCHECK!!!

TOO MANY GRAMMATICAL AND PUNCTUATION ERRORS. JEEEZ

DID BARAJE REALLY WRITE THIS???

Secret cultish...

Is unfair dat d poor ppl are sufaring in vain

atiku d money u steal 4 us u and ur father obj no do una.watin u wan steal again.d oil money have been by gej bcos na dem geted.stupid ugly old monkeys god go catch una.

Linda why didn't post my picture, abi I no dey important? I was there. Lol.

Mssschew,n dis is y they blocked d road?

Tiana said...

Boko haram no try at all oh, see beta spot to do ur work nd save dis country u no show! *angry face*! Dis is d only country u find d presodents wife visible more than the president him self nd I crack my brain to remember if it was Mr G.E.J I saw on PDP's representation or MR(S)G.E.J (P)! Hmmmmm na wa oh! Linda I no wan fine my post oh

Truth!APC na so so Islamic people. They go Islamize Nigeria before we sabi wetin dey sele.PDP corrupt but na lesser evuls

Bucky said...

Abi ooo!We dont want a Muslim for President. If APC has any sense, they would do well to not elect a Muslim Presidential candidate e.g Buhari!Or else, they've lost already

Mcheeeeew! Stupid old criminals!! International thieves. May thunder scatter them all IJN. Boko haram pple r not doing their Job well *angry face* :(

@Tana where were u during Yaradua's administration when Turai Yaradua was every where carrying presidential functions all round denying GEJ of his rightful functions?she was being notice as the president of Nigeria than the late husband. Is Dame doing de same thing to Namadi Sambo? Y re u pple not being fair to Mr/Mrs GEJ? Besides all these BH's people that re walking out re the same PDP's member even if they form/migrate to any party, they re still birds of the same feathers. All these their dramas is just for selfish interest cos they wanted power back to the North, but time shall tell. Let's keep watching as the drama unfold!

Tee~why said...

Azzziiin. That was the first thought that came to my mind. They look like cultists.

What is patience always doing in the midst of men, she doesnt knw her office again...hissss nways na dem sabi if dey like shld kill theirselves I dnt care

Cherelle said...

"Umbleala" "my fellow widows', she too follow wear the PDP agbada? *cough*...walks away with my two right legs!

Greedy people that will rot in hell, and that Jonathan is a bad luck in this country, dumbest president we have ever had in naija, he doesn't take on serious issues it's d unnecessary ones he takes seriously, like changing d name of uni lag. D subsidy never commot o oloshi, and that his non English speaking wife, may they suffer the way nigerians have suffered

cheryl said...

wheres that my prayer point about confusion in the camp of the enemy...I see God is answering that particular one. abeg another faction should be emerge asap. we cant wait....see hau dey all wasted money to sew uniform...rubbish money miss roads.

May this cult be broken and destroyed in Jesus Name!!!!!!!

Oluwadamilola said...

Thieves! Gbogbo yin ni ole..
See format of life..

Oluwadamilola said...

Anon 6:10, You are so right, so damn ugly..they look like apes..

Gettaway you..

Oluwadamilola said...

Anon 6:10, You are so right, so damn ugly..they look like apes..

And May God get rid of our problems lyk u n d PDP

I can see you are blindfolded. All these you are saying are just meresays. They are just axiomatics. Try and get ur proof before u talk on any forum like this you shit head.

2015 is still 16months away,what Nija expect is account of stewardship,which by my calculation is nowhere near pass-mark,and GEJ & Atiku are busy convening for anoda election.Our children hav been at home for months,d lecturers are poorly treated,d electricity sector is no better,we pay bills for light we don't use,d health sector is a nite mare,d road is a death trap,I can go on & on.I hav been praying for u pple in Govt to hav a change of heart & do d right thing,but now I change my prayer point.since u old folks are bent in selling off Nigeria,God wil flush u all out in shame & disgrace,but Nigeria wil change for better & for best.this is just d begining of d convention of shame.God save Nigeria!-