Today is Fela Anikulapo Kuti's remembrance | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 August 2013

Today is Fela Anikulapo Kuti's remembrance

Afro beat king Fela Anikulapo-Kuti died on August 2nd 1997. His first son Femi sent out a special message to his father on twitter. May his soul continue to rest in peace...Amen.

79 comments:

DownUnder said...

It's 16 years already?

Abami Eda....continue to rest in peace!!!

Long live FELA!!!!!

Amen.

How many souls rest in peace nowadays.......only if you die in the lord. The prince of peace

I rest my brain

Baba Fela I hail U ooooooo!!! On ma way 2 ur Shrine! 2day na 2day!..Linda post ma comment ooo b4 I go vex carry U enter fela Shrine! ***KOD***

Lol at sent out a special message to his father,he cant hear you... but we've heard and yes he still echoes. Ells

Hmmmm he pulled only his shirt when our leaders were looting in hundreds of thousand,wonder what would av happened if he were to be alive when the looting is now in billions.
continue to rest Abami eda.

obianuju said...

What did he do for Nigeria ?

May the icon continue to rest in peace, amen!

Continue 2 rest in peace Dope King

ebimor said...

Baba 70 ur legacy will live on ooooo.femi nyc 1 kudos 2 u.

Baba fela will always be a king forever...RIP fela!!!

One of greatess of all time.rock steady abami eda.

He told the truth that scared and shook d govt officials...something we only seem 2 do this days when we havnt gotten the attention of d or joined association of d "national cake looters"

Someday the leaders of our BBC will be hearers of what you prophesied. Let off!

Continue to rest in peace baba 70

e bonto said...

I am happy,his children r doing well,so I think he is" resting in peace"

D greatest philospher I hail o....most pple didn't believe him wen he ws singing....dem go dey course oppression,coruption and ws singing...it ws demostration of crase..RIP baba 70....4rm funky

Shrine loadin!!! A bottle of Heineken plz.

He is a real legend

B4 ur death...u told us wat dis democracy is all abt,pple tink he ws jus blabbing all came 2 reality 2day...continue 2 RIP baba 70....4rm Funky.

Long live Fela!!!

A radical man called fela trying to change a radical nation called naija.

Ask ur stupid father. Ewu!

What did ur own father do for nigeria? Fool

RIP abami eda ur thought will always remain in our brain and mind.@obinuju wetin ur papa do for ur house talk more of Nigeria fool like u mumu.

just like yesterday, i remembered when the news broke, guys were having fun at lasu epe campus jamming things and when the news came folks brought out their bed, laid them in the streets and literally entered the spirit i.e fela's spiritual underground jamming all night for real. it was a fun like no other. long live BABA 70. your music makes even more sense today literally.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

rip fela,he use to be my role model at 4years,may ur soul rest in d lords bossom

He stood against injustice and corruption!!!!!

Live on BABA

kalakuta Republic... Forever Remembered...

Mich said...

Fela Bumaye!
Enough said,deuces!

Omas992 said...

Fela Anikulapo Kuti was Africa's greatest music artist. He was very authentic. Words are not enough to describe my love for his music, for this reason I have ALL his CD's in my collection which I bought from HMV. In my opinion he sang better in Yoruba, even though I don't understand the language. I made a compilation of eight of my favourites and I titled it Fela's Timeless Classics:

1. Gbagada Gbagada Ogbogodo Gbogodo.
2.Black's man cry.
3.Who are you.
4 Buy Africa.
5.Fight to finish.
6.Jeun Koku(Chop 'n' quench)
7.Eko Ile.
8.Je'nwi temi.

All eight songs are in Yoruba, some with a mix of pidgin. I can connect to them. He was the only musician that will play a track for 30 mins and still hold you spellbound.

He sang our problems, he will always be with us through his music.

Toju said...

I wish we have muscians like u..u stood up for Nigerians, u were our voice. U were not afraid to say the truth even though u were beaten for it...we remember u today for your legacy, strength,love for nigeria,persistence and soo many more..... R.I.p fela.... Bhu am not a fan of d smoking and all thos other things

Your manhood lives forever LMFAO..*lips sealed*

noblenenye said...

Abami Eda the world will never forget you. The things you sang about are still happening. In fact, they are getting out of hand.
Continue to rest peacefully.

please you all should stop deceiving yourselves that when people die that they are resting in peace. more than 99% of all these people are in hell fire burning including some of your relatives and u guys are talking about resting in peace.......when you die and succeed after judgement then their comes peace.

Blog mistress said...

All hail the Afro beat legend..fela remains an unbeatable inspiration to many contemporary artists both home n abroad

How will this man rest in peace when you guys will continue to disturb him every year? *rolling my eyes*

Obianuju u get luck say I no dey with u I for slap that mouth and hand wey u take write and talk this can tin idioticc girl

Rest in Peace.

Continue to rest. AIDS kill.

Bonario Nnags, I trully share ur tots.just 1da wot it wud really be like if he was really alive 2day.
FELA D GREAT!

Fela anikulapo kuti rest in peace.

kiki said...

was he saved?

May you rest in peace, Amen

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

Yes o

Read Juicy & Amebo Gist Here

RIP baba70

A true legend a loyalist a true voice of the people . He made music with love. Unlike the musicals today

Without u there will be no afrobeat. Which u were here to comment on some of the social ills in present day naija. Respect to 1 of naija's finest.

ITALIAN said...

I love his music wela, Fela kutie ur gone but never forgoten, rest n rest in perfect peace.

His voice and music is still alive

Dear Baba Fela, u ar den Elijah wen d corruptn hasn't extended 2 Education sector til ur AfterLife., pls don't hesitate 2 send us Elisha Asap, 2 com & end d ongoin Strike, cos witout him nobody culd do xo. Al dis i pray 2ru Christ our Lord, Amen. (OFFICIAL+SWAGG said xo.

West winger said...

Long live the black president. peace

Bonario,I just love you!!! Best comment.

letz pour some liqour 4 d lost memory,.RIP 2 d realiest musicial ever 2 come outta naija..#ORDER in fela's voice.

Longlive Baba 70

Hope dis is not Lilian?

He lives on

Abami Eda

How I wish he is here to witness this demo crazy

Rest in Peace Fela .

nydraps said...

Maybe γφυ were still α baby then when he was singing against bad leaders. Always try to make researches kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥....

Abi o! Apart from sow his oats around the world.

Skay said...

As if fela knew where d country is heading those years he sangs those songs but, noone heed ti his warning...now naija has gone down d drain. Long live Fela. RIP

Kanu was wished "happy bday" cos He's still alive. What do We wish Baba Fela now??
I for say "happy death day ni"
how una see am??

B4 u were born he fought the military government and their injustice through his music and went to jail severl times. Go and read about his life so that u don't ask such dumb questions anymore.

Stewart said...

That was lame,bro.

Jay Ricki, you are a COMPLETE FOOL!

Uyi Iredia said...

The Abami Eda lives on. My top 3 from Fela's stable are:

* Beast Of No Nation
* Water No Get Enemy
* Teacher Don't Teach Me Nonsense

Not to talk of Zombie, Expensive Sh*t, Observation Is No Crime etc. I wish the best for his kids and grandkids.

Kod in luth?

I love fela,Hiz muzik n Hiz boldnezz,I wish I can be like him someday,imagine ur so call senators callin for girl slavery tru early marrage,o how i wish fela is here,d nation will be to hot to handle,1 day i beliv God will raise anoda fela for uz,Amen.maggic bone....abuja

Anytime u puff and pass, its fela's spirit #legend

How old are you? N incase u you are under Age, just type FELA to any of ur browser not even google jst any browser and see more.

FOOL in suit!!!

The best comments ever on this blog because the small children are not commenting. Thats what talking about.#RIP sir.

Baba. The greatest out of the motherland. Respect.
My favs are
ODOO.
Beast of no nation.
Army arrangement.
Still have fond memories of your hours long saxophone solo inside Oduduwa hall after the aborted amphitheater show in Great Ife.
Respect !!!!!!!.

Oba of Lake Forest