No student died at a Lagos hotel. The real story behind the photo that went viral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 31 July 2013

No student died at a Lagos hotel. The real story behind the photo that went viral

Last week the pic above went viral with many blogs claiming that another student was found dead in a hotel in Lagos. The report claimed that the victim is a girl named Florence Ngwu, a 300L student of University of Nigeria. Erm, no such thing happened in real life. This is a photo from a movie called Murder at Prime Suite Hotel, a fiction but similar to the Cynthia Osogwu murder story.

The character's name is Florence Ngwu played by an actress. The movie stars Joseph Benjamin and Chelsea Eze. The producers of the movie have released a statement. See it after the cut...

Murder At Prime Suite (MAPS): A movie not another social crime

Over the last weekend, news broke out on the Internet about a certain girl, Florence Ngwu, murdered at prime suite, Lagos. We have tried to put a stop to the rumour but it keeps going viral.

I am Jumafor Ajogwu and I am the producer of the movie called, “Murder at Prime Suite” (MAPS). The movie featured stars like Joseph Benjamin, Keira Hewatch, Chelsea Eze, Okey Uzoeshi and a host of other talented upcoming acts. I want to categorically state to the general public that this is a movie; it is not a real life incident. This  movie would premiere nationwide on the 30th of August, 2013 at Genesis Deluxe Cinemas, Lekki Lagos. We cannot trace how the rumour leaked as we had several journalists on our set during principal photography but we want to put a stop to this rumour and make every Nigerian and the rest of the world know that it is a movie and not another incident like the rumour claimed.

The movie is a total fiction and a C&C Screen production’s vision to promote the value for Nigerian lives. Florence Ngwu is a character in our movie and every other character or things in the movie do not represent any true identity of living or dead.

Jumafor Ajogwu

MAPS, Producer

For more information, please visit:

See the movie trailer below

73 comments:

Mz MNB said...

looks lik she is really dead.. lol well she is a gud actress.

Sexily Endowed said...

9ja wit their fake rumors. Declearing de gal dead wen she is still very much alive. I hate dis damn fuckin country, smmmmmh..... Α country where watever SHIT sells.

Looooool. Publicity stunt of life. My God, nice one producer. We go rush watch am now

Na wa o for some blogger sha

Nilla said...

Na wah for people sha!
I read that story too and i believed it. Thank God it didn't happen oo.

first

Na wao,dem don make me fear.

Thank God oo. Wonder who leaked the fake gist.

Miss Roze said...

Dang!!! We were punked! And a lot of pips woulda cussed d said florence for doing runz. Chai! Punked! Painful*bites finger*

0mg 0mg 0mg 0mg fynaallllliiiiiiiii
I'm Firstttttttttt yaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy

_ik

Y do I get d feeling dt dis was a publicity stunt! If it was....nice!!! Lol. Nigerians r getting d hang of it.

nice advert

After bein first... Nw lemme say I think they spread d rumor themmslvz to get publicity n all tht fr their "m0vie"

_ik

Oh please MAPS, and on his I'd card its PID, common. Muvees dese days though, its not only nollywood, hollywood is equally filled with copycats(olympus has fallen=white house down)

Unverified sources spreading rumours and I see it as an underground thingy to promote this movie too.

Dem say dem say...........Stop spreading rumours!

-Blunt Ibo boy-

Eat strong shit dia!!

kai.... nigerians and talk talk

Ameriestyle said...

Thank Goddness
See how to rock your Dungaree here www.ameriestyle.blogspot.com

Wow nice publicity ! Not bad

Can't belive I'm saying this but I'd really love to watch this video to see who killed the lady ..some CSI sturvs ..nice advert ,I pray it doesn't disappoint . Jay

yeah ryt @ prince charming

Nigerians and rumors shaa!!!

NA wAh for people dat don't use to use ear and hear finish before they spread

Yemmie Oscar said...

You neva can tell, it could be another way of promoting the movie.

OMG! Production values are through the roof now. Progress!

Am sure this was a publicity stunt by the movie makers......stupid.

I rest my brain

Jenny Amy Akums said...

Na wah o, people nd fake gist sha. Dat was hw they posted one picture like dat sometime last week on net and captioned it '' Genevieve shows of bikini body'' nd it was all FAKE! Ok o bye linda

Janelicious said...

Pls blogger u peeps used respect your readers and be given us real news not fake.

Nice Publicity Stunt guys......No Shaking, we must watch this movie and see what actually killed Florence.

They ave use that advantage to advertise their movie no problem . Alaba grab ur copy now!!!!!!!!!!

Motivation to lose weight? FOLLOW NELLY AGBOGU'S BLOG said...

Thank God it was all a rumor

See CSI Miami oooo

u dis linda u no dey post my comments sha ooo

The movie looks like an interesting one,dunno bout u guys, but this is grt publicity stunt!I can wait to watch tho

noblenenye said...

What a good strategy to promote their new movie. I bet everyone would want to watch the movie immediatley it drops.

Am telling u. Looool Nigeria my country hehehehe

oak said...

Well, the news was actually carried first by @fake9janews on twitter. They just give fake news. That's what they do. Then some bloggers who just like to copy and paste just took it and thought it was real. That's y its always good to confirm from a reliable source before accepting and posting news.

Yes it was..a very good one too.I'm sure they payed Linda too..

Unconfirmed rumours! Thank God no such thing happened

pearlsJ said...

Tnk God is just movie tin, can't wait 2 watch it.

Lol...marketing strategy.......says GUYSKILLER.i must watch dz movie.

Beevan said...

I wish Nigerian movie producers will put their brains to work as regarding this publicity stunt and advert in their productionz. I tell you, a lot of people will patronize this movie. Biggup!!!

Yes oh! Sharp Lindz... Hehe! Thank u 4gvn us proper info and tnk u 4telln odas ders none as reliable as LIB #winks!

Plus see how mature she interpreted d real story unlike some oda bloggers who'd try 2tarnish odas

My dear no fear ok so u can nw continue with ur runs.....just kiddn

if i hear. .leaked??. .u ppl came up with dat story 4 publicity purposes. . Choi!! Naija!!!

Hahahahahahahahahahahha,na wah o. So this is pure rumour? Can't blv this.

Lolzz, no sha break dat neck..dats Nigerians 4u anyways.

Don't mind the stupid producer acting like she was the one that did the publicity stunt

Don't mind them like I care I love me My Alaba movies than these fake accent kind of movies

Adaobi said...

Publicity stunt!!!Well done producer!!!When is †Ñ’ξ release date??

Yah....I agree wif u

jidetheblogger said...

abi. The stunt na die. I like am too. Thumbs up producer

Jus like una child-marriage misinformation...some people are not suppose to be on media,be it public and or private...baseless stories are jus broadcasted & idiots help dem spread,sote dem wan witch hunts senator for wetin dem no even try do

Hehehehe how are we sure it wasn't the producer that pulled a fast one on the public so as to draw attention to the movie? Anyways nice one

Smart alecs! :)
I would be joining the curious to watch this film when it debuts.

Gary Austine said...

Thank God it was just another fake news.
Gary Austine;
Nigerian voice over talent

OMG!WOMAN said...

Nice publicity stunt, I shall watch, can't wait.

OMG!WOMAN said...

P Emma I see you. :D

mary said...

Nigerian media always misinform the public, the worst part of it is that once a blog puts it out, every other blog copies and paste, nobody cares to verify at all.

The producer of this film had a hand in the so called fake story that circulated last week or so. They planned this publicity stunt to hype the movie upon the premier, for a good sale. Correcting the public assumption about the earlier version of the story now, is believed to launch his work into limelight & make people seek to see & complete the story of the pictured lady's lifeless body that went around with the fake version of the story last week or there about. Cheap pathetic marketing stunt!

omosexy said...

Poor girl...she must be freaked out bout d rumours

Police go fit Joseph Benjamin o lol

Publicity stunt

Cheap publicity. I wont waste my time to watch such rubbish

Kachi said...

Nnaa, this movie picture no come be like the normal nollywood we know. Biko, I go fit see am for Pound Road?

This is absolutely a publicity stunt to popularise the movie.Don't blame the producer.The movie industry in Nigeria,just like any other industry,is now the case of the survival of the fittest. Olusola Oso. http://www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com/

Ren said...

just to check if what i saw in that trailer was right... was the inspector pointing her fucking gun to the guy's local government property hehe

Nonsense movie

Nice publicity stunt

real publicity. producer welldone!!!