Before I Write A Book (Part 2) - By Basketmouth | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 August 2013

Before I Write A Book (Part 2) - By Basketmouth

As written by comedian Basketmouth...
As I pay respect to those great men that changed my life, the seemingly little gestures that shaped me and have made  me who I am... I recall another long evening...
Year 2000, Fame pre-award concert.  Dele Olukoju and Wale Oluwaleimu were the stage/project managers. I had met Wale before then and he had suggested I come perform in my bid to build a name.
I went there with a friend of mine,we had spent the last kobo on us transporting ourselves and getting food to eat as the event didn't start early enough. Continue...
My performance was done @ about midnight. It was a great outing for me. As it was time  to leave,I met with the show organisers hoping I'd be paid for my service or get a little change for transport. Unfortunately, communication had gone wrong somehow as they thought I was doing the performance for free.

It dawned on me at that moment, that I was in trouble.

My friend and I then decided to just hang around as the concert was still on and our last hope was that we might get a free ride.

By 2am, the concert was still banging in full swing and I was totally exhausted. While moving around I met Six Foot Plus and Terry D Rapman...now, I was a big fan of their work and so we got talking. It so happened that they loved my performance that evening so we hit it off immediately.

After some minutes of small talk, I swallowed my ego and pride and brought myself to ask Six Foot Plus for transport money, he didn't have much on him but he split what he had and  gave me N60 which was more than enough to cover our bus fare.

We happily bounced out from the concert, confident. We approached the main road and as God will have it,there was a bus going our way.  In 30mins we  were in Yaba, walking to Railway Compound-Ebute Meta where I was staying.

By 4am I lay in my little corner, the end of another successful day in my struggle for relevance, I was  happy at my chance to perform.

Exhausted by my ordeal but most importantly, I was grateful for that rapper who shared all he had on him with me, my new friend and saving grace, Six foot Plus

www.basketmouth.tv

65 comments:

Lol... Smh!

More! More! Oliver twist tins

Ohhh! Humble start. Days of little beginning.

There is this saying in my head,"if you can't do great things at a point in your life, do little things in great ways"...

You'll surely excel....and then again, humility pays.

Thumbs up basket! The sky is your starting point.

ebimor said...

Whao ds is very touching o,lord bless my hustle am proud of u 2dy u hv succeed and u ll continue 2 grow ijn amen.

SisiTiti said...

Awwwww how inspiring...May God always send helpers our way in our times of need in jesus Amen...Basketmouth I tap into ur blessings.

awwww! Six foot Plus is a Legend here,but Abuja hot is not allowing him to shine.

Excerpts from a future memoir? Quite interesting short read though.

If you hustle, one day God will definitely smile on you and when he does all you will reminisce on is how fast life can change from grass to grace. Good story. moral anyone in life can be your helper

Sooooooo touching!!!...no condition is permanent...one gats keep pushing man!

seno said...

Waiting for part 3

PINK RUSH said...

Bright "Basketmouth" Okpocha...you are awesome!

Jehnypha said...

Chai!!! And he keeps inspiring me...
Today someone became a character in my future success story too and one day, very soon my story will ne told on this very blog to inspire others.
God bless your hustle Basket Mouth.

what a touching story

Touching

Basketmouth on it again: don't despise the days of little Beginning!

Sexy Ella said...

Awwwww....me likeyyy!

Wat a gud friend

I wish more people will remember their humble beginning

Onyekachi F. said...

Cool story... More pls!

Mich said...

And Six Foot Plus had to relocate to some European country because his music couldn't break through in Nigeria,the irony of life.
I remember 6Foot+ back then,he Terry da Rapman and the rest of SWATROOT team(Mode9 was pretty much rolling with them)...I had every one of their joints on my mp3 player.
Thanks a billion dear Basketmouth for shining light on 6Foot+ and Terry da Rapman,those guys and the rest of SWATROOT crew are Nigeria's illest emcees ever;Pheroshuz,Mode9 and Overdose.
Thanks for the memories you just brought back me,Basketmouth.

OMG, hardwork pays. Dis is very inspirational. From zero to hero

wey d girl wey folo u struggle that time....u don fashie her se.
MK
FIRST TO COMMENT....WATEVER

Pipi Lee said...

Nyc way to show/pay respect...my lov 4 yu kips growin aS I kip readin, GoD bless yu

Nice 1 bro.RESPECT

Yemmie Oscar said...

What a luvin way to pay respect

love me said...

Gud tin u remember all Dem dat assisted u. Nobody is somebody without somebody!

*stilldatsharpishanbabe*

I swear Nigerian artiste just started making money from their crafts. Before now, there was no money in the game. Thank God for shows and endorsement deals

Re u the girl? Tell us o miss pepper body*rme!

This is so motivational....

You can never predict the future. .hmm where is six foot plus now? Na so life just be.

From grass to grace

God changes story indeed..always be a blessing to others,no matter how little..touch some1 positively.God bless you all

Nice 1, met six foot plus recently. The guy is really nice.

Y is the story in parts nau? Finish it once abeg! #sad face# its quite interesting and inspiring bro!

Just like basket mouth,don't think u're in the struggle alone . God is by your side and u'll also write your story someday .

God has really bless ur hustle

ejikebiggerdick said...

Na ur sister be d girl? Ewoo! Sorry d girls snatch wasn't ok to basket, it kept on widening as days passes...I dunno hw she does it bt its so unfortunate anyway

SUE JORDAN said...

Very well written. Basket surely is gifted even in his written words. He honours those who helped him along over the years. Six foot plus is such a talented artist. I met him a few times years back in Abuja. It's so sad that his brand of thought provoking musical lyrics don't sell in Nigeria!

Oh B-mouths ur struggle no b small one o! Sha u've made it.
Hardwork and perseverance does pay!

Haterz Gonna keep Hating.....God Bless u more Bright

Shatap abeg!! How u take know....rme

Humble beginning! You have worked hard for your fortune I rep u a lot 4 this. A true son of the soil! Sky is your limit! Zion.

So touching basketmouth.. This really shows that no matter what you do in life,always aim for the top,and don't ever see your disappointment as failure instead see it as a blessing.. Kide!!

You know what you speak, early 2000's 9ja hip hop.

Eyya!!! Wer's dat six foot plus guy nw????

Basket Mouth, I thank God for your life. am happy that those moments in your life are now been told as a story.To succeed in life, you need to be patient, believe in yourself no matter the situation and above all, put ur trust in God.

Visages Parfait said...

He is in Abuja_Family Worship Center.A youth minister.

Part1 was Tony Tetuila, now six foot plus. hope you are also sowing into the lives of other upcoming artiste so that they can appreciate you too later when they become big.

Please when is this book going to be printed out in hard cover, I am soooooooooooooo buying...

Ivy L. said...

'Do not despise your days of humble beginnings'.This is a touching well written story. Looking forward to the part 3.

didabliz said...

awwww u made me tear up!...c how far God has brought u; may He continue to uplift u. amen!

but seriously, i know basket mouth had really humble beginnings and that is why even his family dint want him to marry any girl for soooo long cos they tot all girls were out to eat the money of "the light in their family at last"
The worst part of ds is how, Bright (Basketmouth) is soooo proud till date, as in, snubbing him 1st is just the best remedy, any sincere witness here would testify

Ways of appreciating.

Exactly! D would would be a better place if they did...

I just love humble beginnings...may God cont to bless u basket my love#if my husband catch me eeh...lol

Exactly! D would would be a better place if they did...

I have always known that it takes God's grace to get to the top, especially if you are less privileged. That's the reason is imperative to always pray to "Merciful God" to order our steps to be at the right place at the right time in order to meet our helpers of destiny. If you are more than qualified and you don't have an authentic helper of destiny, it might be difficult as well takes a while before getting to the top. Kindly take this prayer point: My father my creator, arise in your infinite mercy and connect me with the helpers of my destiny in the mighty name of Jesus...

Very touching... Small beginning is only God that knows tomorrow o

Mich,u seem like u know a lot about Naija hiphop,that was the golden era of hiphop in Nigeria not what these mediocres be dishing out nowadays.

God will ♍É‘̤̈̊ķƹ̵ U̶̲̥̅̊ bigger bro

mariamah said...

I agree with u anonymous 10.45am, he has become very proud, I have seen him treat up coming comedians horribly, u would not believe that he started out small too.

@ Basketmouth i like the way you drop this. taking special note to everyone who affected your life positively. we following up.

Bright if u follow lindas comment u will definetly remember this,back in krikri town wen we were secondary sch we use to ask u to crack jokes for us but u will make us buy u a bottle of soft drink little did we know that dis jokes will fetch u so much 2day God bless u.continue to shine but pls remember to giv back to ur Hood the youths needs it

Don't despise the days of little beginings.

part 3 ooooooo, cant wait