Lee Thompson Young's behaviour changed after embracing Yoruba? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 20 August 2013

Lee Thompson Young's behaviour changed after embracing Yoruba?

Actor Lee Thompson Young committed suicide in his apartment yesterday by shooting himself, now E online is reporting that the actor's behaviour changed after he 'began practicing Yoruba'. What the heck are these people saying? When did Yoruba become a religion? Read the report below...

From E online.com
"The Rizzoli & Isles star, who was 29 at the time of his death, "didn't drink or party," says a source, adding,  "He was the opposite. Lee loved to travel and was always the first to tell everyone to take a breath and enjoy the beauty of life." He was always "gentle and unassuming," despite his early success, and didn't have the typical "look-at-me" attitude.
That said, those close to Young noticed things "really changed" a few years ago when he began practicing Yorùbá, an Africa-based religion which has a saying, "iku ya j'esin", meaning  "death is preferable to ignominy." Some have questioned whether this means that suicide is an acceptable way to preserve personal or family honor in the face of public shame.
However, Yorùbá culture icon and Chief Priest of Osogbo, Araba Ifayemi Osundagbonu Elebuibon, told the National Mirror earlier this year that the religion "[does] not support suicide. Their belief is that if somebody commits suicide, they will be punished in the hereafter."

The Famous Jett Jackson star "took [his religion] to the next level and started wearing white all of the time," says a source, adding, "This religion was everything to him."  Although he reportedly took a break from practicing Yorùbá, he recently returned to the religion. Just before his death, he visited a small village in Africa for something reportedly related to the religion.

214 comments:

1 – 200 of 214   Newer›   Newest»

Lindaaa........lmaoooooooooo.
Na really practising yoruba

aprokoblog said...

Yoruba????? Duuuuhhhhh

Chineke me o Nigeria has done it again jk, but seriously what are these people talking about abeg don't go there o we never sent aje butter to try and do naija boy olofofo

Loooooool! *cough* *chokes* LMFAO!
Yoruba ppl, una dey hear, na una kill am!
But seriously tho, r these ppl high? Did they nt go to school?

oreka said...

they sure are crazy cos they dunno what they r talking abt

"ignorance the root and stem of all evil" - Plato

Maybe he ws learning the Yoruba Language..He sure didn't tell them d religion he ws practicing.Might be a sect.Maybe a nameless sect covering up wt d name 'yoruba'.Bt it def didn't send him to his death.

They don't know what they r saying.

Lmfao Americans really are ignoramus. Gosh

Takin Ur life is never an option,4 any reason wot so ever. ETTA

Fuck this people mehn....am sick of their bullshit.....Yoruba na religion? Chai

So painful, whyyyyyyy now?

Abeeggggggggggg why are they blaming yoruba? Its not evn a religion and learning a language does not kill you....rahhh man why blame yoruba?????

So everybad thing that happens now in the west, will be blamed on nigeria? Yoruba too has now become a religion. Too bad. We have suffered sha. Sad

How revealing!! All these being said are just hypothetical theories and assumptions, no tribe or religion advocates suicide, and then, suicide is a personal madness accepted by the person involved. How risible of a claim that his death is related to studying a language.

I guess E and all the other mediums are ignorant or so is the Chief priest who has granted them the interview. For all we know, it might not be Nigerian Yoruba since we are not the only ones that speak the language.

Loool

Hian ooo

Over to FFK with his conspiracy theory.
atleast this one is in his shokoto.
waiting for his own contribution as it pertains this.

hmmm. Did he visit Nigeria?

Chaii..why did he have to do this?? he's just too hansome for death nah

I once met a woman on a train in Philadelphia who told me she was a Yoruba priestess. Her priestess name was "ANU-OFIA". I'm not kidding.

MAMA IFU IS ALWAYS RIGHT

American people r STUPID !!! small village in Africa . Really ? I hate they way they act as if Africa is a country

dis is serius

first 2 comment.grt

Ok when I first saw this I literally busted out
laughing, thinking this is ridiculous! This oyinbo people don come oo. I can already see my American coworkers asking me some shit about this.. mschewww.

And they said Africans don't read, Olodo people

Awon ode oshi

Dlapikin said...

Goodness! LIB readers do you guys know that thou nigeria has the largest population of yorubas, there are yourubas in other west african countries like Benin and togo!?

I don't even know how to laugh........are you fuckin kiddin me???

Speechless

Linda,I'm mad as hell,WTF.These ppl are so silly. The oxford dicitoinary says d yoruba's a fun loving people on the west coast of africa. Rubbish.

Educate yourself linda Yoruba is a religion in some countries. Yes I've met people who practice it.

Oyibo ppl are very uneducated sha.

Tgirl Missperfect said...

Wonders shall neva end,Yoruba is now a religion?there's a mistake some were or d news is incomplet,confused peeps

Adegboyega Oyewole said...

This is just absurd... But when did Yoruba became a religion???

Were ma lawon oyinbo yi kee.

TICKED said...

as educated and "sometimes" enlightened as SOME americans are, they sometimes get it completely wrong. died from practicing yoruba???. anyways the news came from E-Online and not some intellectual media house. A media outlet like E! that promotes such filth and nonsense like the kardashians can only have complete uneducated morons working for them. They cater to the dumb americans not the educated ones. mtchewwwwwww

Tee said...

Absolute rubbish

how will he study yoruba and act on that. even me that I was born and bred in ife, i dont know all the proverbs nor their meanings so why would some1 who studied a language briefly act on what he thinks the meaning is. dont let me talk ill of the dead sha

I wish there was a like button to like this your comment PC,your talk with maturity,wisdom and intelligence,all the reasons why your comments move me alot

Idiot u r so tribalistic! Why bring FFK into dis? Because he talked abt ur tribe-igbo? Grow up boy

Risible...learnt a new word today...thanks Prince Charming!!!

Eonline is very stupid for this report. Since when is Yoruba a religion. is English a religion? Ppl stay looking for what to blame his suicide on.

SEXY MAMACITA said...

Its all BULLSHIT. Som persons cud be so unreasonable.

Ignorant Reporters. Yoruba religion ko. Olodo of the highest order. Just like those ignorant so called world power, telling u Africa is a country. I tell them I am an African from Nigeria. They need to embrace history.
Lulu

The bitter truth about Embracing Yoruba.....Foolsh Femi Fuck Kayode, where are u? Write an article about this one. GOAT FFK.

Amuche Yanbul.

The bitter truth about embracing Yoruba.....Femi Fani fucking Kayode where are u? Oya, over to u goat FFK.

Akala yanbul.

I really need to laugh.. Buahaahaa!

These people well so? Yoruba ke? Awon oniraa jatijati!!!

Mo*

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Mtcheew, they beta find D̶̲̥̅̊ real course of his death

Yoruba?a religion since when?wow!I wasnt aware.

For promoting homosexual the west are reaping what the sowed

femi said...

He took his life by himself. No yoruba person or belief advocates for that. Mental instability shouldn't be blamed on other peoples culture!!!

Lmfao! =))º°˚˚˚°ºнa=Ħa=нaº°˚˚˚°º=)) =))•´¨) ¸.•´ ¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨) (¸¸.•´(¸.•´(¸.• =)) нaнaнaнaн. Abeg make person hear word,yoruba religion indeed.

Nawa ooo... And cory monteith wasn't practicing any African religion yet he took his life.. Abeg ds ppl shud find d real reason behind dia stars r takn dia lives
'Barbie gurl'

grunts said...

Enews really should absolutely not take away from the fact that this is mental illness. This boy apparently was not balanced na. Yoruba bawo?

Nawa ooo... And cory monteith wasn't practicing any African religion yet he took his life.. Abeg ds ppl shud find d real reason behind dia stars takn dia lives
'Barbie gurl'

Mtchewww total rubbish.. UpNaija

Esther said...

whc one be yoruba religion again??? no be yoruba language?? an besides according to d story obviously i think its osun they talking about here.. he killed himself they shldnt blame it on any religion or language

When someone dies people make all kind of good comment about them & lmao when did yoruba become a religion for christ sake?? This people sha

Hmmm lemme ask,when did yoruba bcom a religion? All diz white pipul are alwayz lukin 4 something 2 use an derogate naija...can someone plz tell em dat yoruba iz a tribe or iz dia something ai dnt knw abt d yoruba's(joz askin)....even self imposed suicide iz attributed 2 naija plzz let dem focus en find d lurk reasonz dat killed dat young star in dia country en lve naija alone...if naa naija make em kill him self whu make d onez wey dey die 4 our country kill dem selvz naa..ai think we shud blamed too!! Nonsense!!madam post my comment o.

Our Correspondent said...

Can't stop laughing. Iku ya jesi. Lol

Typo..'r'
'Barbie gurl'

Dumb asses these know it all americans. Can't they research what yoruba is before reporting on a story??? Anyways I hate the negative media Nigeria and Nigerians hv bn having lately. Jeez! Give us a breather! Not everythg Nigerian is bad. Report on d Nigerians doing amazing out there, and d positive influence some Nigerians hv

It a sad news, but very funny, how some white folks come up with pathetic theories to rubbish a black man, and what he does. Abeg when has Yoruba language bcome a religion.?

Practicing Yoruba ke!!!! there is nothing i won't hear. Yoruba is now a religion Hian!!!!

SH said...

Since wen did yoruba become a religion,I wonder why white people like blaming evrything on africans. Hian!

These white people are just plain crazy...Tryna blame Africa for a person's decision to take his own Life? SMH! very handsome and rich young man...wonder why he took his own life,RIP Lee :(

PRETTY GIRL

Biger trash. So being a youruba is now sucidial? Hmmm E-online shd get their facts right. The guy probably wanted 2get close to his root. Its unfortunately he ended dis way.

ignorant people

yoruba is not a religion bt, its a language ooo!

Yoruba ppl smh4 'em.
Last time they kill'd some1 in d UK,now dey made dis guy kill himself.
Dis yoruba ppl jst dey give Naija bad names.
Where's that stupid FFK

I hv always known dat dos yoruba pple r evil. na so one yorubA prophet resurrected today afta dying evil pple. ....QUEEN

Lucian said...

They have start o. www.luciandos.blogspot.com

When did Yoruba become a Religion? Let's leave the matter to FFK. Lol

This oshogbo's chief priest name nawa oh,hope ur children don't bear such name Cos dey re doomed. Sandra Osagie

Oyinbo people are one of the most uninformed set of people. There is no need to say more....

Ugh this is so disgusting to read. When did yoruba become a religion? Sigh

Femi Fani Kayode!!! Where are U na? Oya herez international platform! Oya fire!!!

Mtcheeew........... Swag says so! All these oyibo dem no get sense! They feel they know it all.

I believe this shit. If you doubt it, ask that scum of the earth and piece of dog shit called Femi Fani-Kayode. That cancer of the human race knows everything about it. His father Remi Fani-Kayode founded the religion, challenged the great Awolowo and lived a miserable life and died a miserably. He passed it on to that scumbag piece of shit son FFK. We will rid us of the new cancer called femifanikayodengioma. It is susceptible to spitting on it's face, throwing diarrhea feces on it's face and any humiliating treatment. The cancer will surely disappear.

And u had to drag the kardashians into ds whole nonsense!no wonder the boy committed suicide after gettn in touch wt yoruba.u pple re jst foolish haters!hyocrite!!like u re any better than the kardashians!hyocrisy will kill nigerians!filthy thing!!!!go n drown somewhere...TONI

When I was younger, someone said linda means snake.

Very well said Prince charming

seyi said...

There are yorubas in south america. Especially brazil. Have so many of them as friends. They truly practise a religion called yoruba religion. Its a religion of all the yoruba gods. While some are just basic. They follow one yoruba god. Many of them I no bear yoruba names and mostly worship sango and ogun. They don't believe in christ and they keep telling me that the original yorubas have lost their identity. They don't understand why we follow christ. They come every year for osun osogbo festival. Its like a mecca to them. Their names always start wiv ogun, or ifa or sango. Unlike yorubas here who changed theirs to Oluwa. There is a yoruba religion page onfb. You can go there and see for urself.

@Anonymous 10:11- Bonario is dat u using an anonymous profile to buttress ur point and make an issue wit yourubas? Stupid Wanker!

Yoruba is a religion just as Judaism is a religion too! So you get pple practicing Yoruba who are not Yoruba and ain't there Nigerian Jews too lol?

Shanding2k2... said...

So sad.. wat an end 2 life, may God have mercy on him.. R.I.P..

With all the information and information technology available to us at this time in history, I am amazed that such an uninformed piece of dog-sh*t made it into the public domain.

So Wikipedia shows yoruba is actually a religion too#giggles@my ignorance#

EVERYONE SHOULD GO AND REST!!!!!

YES THERE IS YORUBA RELIGION!!!! I PRACTICE YORUBA AND I AM YORUBA

SAYING SOMONE PRACTICES YORUBA IS LIKE SAYING SOMONE PRACTICES JUDAISM, YORUBA AND JEW ARE BOTH TRIBES AND RELIGIONS

I AM SO SHOCKED THAT MAJORITY OF THE PEOPLE HERE ARE YORUBA AND THEY DO NOT KNOW THIS. IS THIS THE EXTENT AT WHICH WE HAVE BEEN STRANGERS TO WHO WE TRULLY ARE?!!!!

SHAKE MY HEAD VIGOROUSLY, NIGERIANS!!! SO PISSED!!!

Lmao! Ders alwys a way 2blame Nigerians... @least it wznt igbo religion #LOL

HAHA said...

hahahaha @mama ifu's comment. I want to believe you so badly but im almost sure you are just pulling our legs. Yoruba priestess named ANU-OFIA ke? MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

TICKED said...

@ TONI Anoyms August 20, 2013 at 10:22 PM may you and your generation yet unborn go and perish in the sea. Oloshi, Olofo. You are fucken sick. How are the kardashians putting money in your ass kissing lost cause behind that you dare curse me becos I mentioned them.... Look fool, dont get me started on this blog cos I will finish your entire bloodline with curses....

Linda i beg no vex o. It is this bastard fighting for the KarTRASHians that got me going and you must post this o cos "IT" came at me first and fair is fair bikonu. Thanks in advance Linda

I don die

Truth is said...

Where have you been Linda, Yaya from America's Next Top Model used to say she practices Yoruba all the time. And people believed she was a Yoruba girl. No she isn't, she just practices. Online it states: The Yorùbá religion comprises the traditional religious and spiritual concepts and practices of the Yorùbá people. Its homeland is in Southwestern Nigeria and the adjoining parts of Benin and Togo, a region that has come to be known as Yorùbáland. Yorùbá religion is formed of diverse traditions and has no single founder. It has influenced or given birth to a host of thriving ways of life such as Lucumí, Umbanda and Candomblé.[1] Yorùbá religious beliefs are part of Itan, the total complex of songs, histories, stories and other cultural concepts which make up the Yorùbá society

Ode ni e ni? What are u talking about

kunle said...

This is pure ignorance. May his rest in perfect peace and receive forgiveness.

Real Secrets to weightloss and healthy eating

Kush Alabi's Blog said...

These Oyinbo people are kinda high on igbo. To them Yoruba is a religion. #MumuPeople

african politics said...

Youngs' death must be mystirous

Yes... Thereis a religion called Yoruba. Mostly those who are Afro Cuban practice it but it originates from the traditional Yoruba religion brought by the slaves. Another name is Santeria.

brownie said...

@seyi, i agree with you! There is lil sense in this report!! They just didn't put it the right way!!

Poor boy hmmmmmmmmm

There's a Yoruba religion practiced in Brazil. Check on it.

Lani said...

It's called Voodoo you ppl lets not get Yoruba and Voodoo confused. Abeg!

Sad
pls visit www.omgville.blogspot.com if you love fashion . Its awesome

Yoruba ke?.... Awa kii pokunso nile yoruba ooo.

fibroid and infertility???

Oluwadamilola said...

Mad people! Always looking for silly excuses for every damn thing..he was tired of life and he took his own life..shikena!

Rough Diamond said...

Yoruba could also mean a religion. The Yoruba they mean is actually the Yoruba Traditional Religion (Ifa) -which can also be shortly referred to as Yoruba, it is a well-known religion worldwide and is even among the list of world religions. So I suggest those of you who don't know much about it should research before making baseless comments. They are very correct to refer to it as Yoruba!
It saddens me to see that many educated Nigerians don't even know about the religions of the world nor do they even know the factual history of their fatherland, only to rely on laymen accounts they inherited from their laymen elders. *smh*

Yoruba religion actually exists, google it.

You need to get your head checked, cause it seems you are mad..oloriburuku omo ale jati jati..

Oluwadamilola said...

Bonario really??? I was expecting more from you..

DJ SPEAKY said...

Yoruba: A family of religions,which spread to the Americas in the 15th to 19th centuries. These include Santeria and Lukumi.

Fani-Kayode, over to you. LMAO. "Yoruba religion"..."village in Africa"...in 2013 people still talk like this?! Even with internet and social media? I can't shout. Idiots

You are freaking smart. I will surely start work on getting rid of the cancer.

Lol! There is Yoruba religion but in Nigeria it's called traditional religion while in other place most especially South America it's called Yoruba religion and I think that is because they worship all the Yoruba gods together. By the way, I laughed because people just posted comments without researching and thinking. Do you really think a media house like E! would make such a mistake? Really?

Are u serious na waoooo, dat means he was practising the America one nah

U ar a big fool 4 dat statement.na u no evil

For real o, when I tell people am yoruba here . Some stupid American start chanting and ask me dumb questions about osun and Oya. Omo ! They are confused especially African Americans , they wanna belong and they fall for everything . I run from some of them that strongly believe in this yoruba thing cause their famzy with me dey too plenty . Make nobody rub that energy on top me abeg. Yoruba religion ni kan kooooo. SMH

Yoruba is sooo silly!!! Imagine what yoruba ppl have made a fine young man to do!!! Mumu tribe with fetish ppl

Some of you people are truly brainwashed idiots. There is such a thing as the Yoruba religion. You just sit there praying to Jesus or Allah. Arabs came and brainwashed half of your ancestors and their offspring into forgetting about their real religion.. And the other half were brainwashed by white people who came and taught you about Christianity, so now you all go to churches worshiping and praying to a white Jesus... Before you were taught to hate yourselves.. There was a Yoruba religion. Perhaps you all should use google. I know it may be hard to believe this, but the Arabs and the Whites just brainwashed you. And you've been brainwashed since birth. And you will in turn brainwash your children. Because you are too afraid to think for yourself. How can you possibly practice a religion when you know that your ancestors were beaten and called heathens for believing in their own indigenous religion? Their babies were taken from them and brainwashed by the white man, and the arab man. And now you willingly brainwash your own children. Keep blindly worshiping Allah and Jesus because you are too weak to realize that BLACK people. AFRICANS. WEST-AFRICANS once had their own religion too. But now you all call the religion of your ancestors evil.. Or you are too ignorant to even know there is such a thing as the "Yoruba Religion"

babe na you ignorant pass!mediums ke?as you fine reach,did you go to secondary school?naija babes are dumb sha,all they know is human hair...olodo oshi!

Queen you're just a fool and you have no sense at all. *yoruba pple r evil* you're a tribalistic motherfucker. Ode of life. Next time, think b4 u talk. POKO!

Remi L said...

my people for your information pls note....The Yorùbá religion comprises the traditional religious and spiritual concepts and practices of the Yorùbá people. Its homeland is in Southwestern Nigeria and the adjoining parts of Benin and Togo, a region that has come to be known as Yorùbáland. Yorùbá religion is formed of diverse traditions and has no single founder. It has influenced or given birth to a host of thriving ways of life such as Lucumí, Umbanda and Candomblé.[1] Yorùbá religious beliefs are part of Itan, the total complex of songs, histories, stories and other cultural concepts which make up the Yorùbá society."

this was culled from wikipedia, pls lets educate ourselves properly before we exhibit our ignorance about things that concern us to the whole world. We are busy abusing the americans, while exposing our own ignorance about ourselves. Yoruba is a religion too o

you all need to read. there is sure a religion called yoruba. Pidgin English is also a language for the AKUS. Linda, you need to educate people with your blog instead of posting news about people's cars and houses. propagating the very cause of corruption in Nigeria. you have been to the U.S and seen the difference. people look up to someone like you. Thanks for the good work.

Fresh Kid said...

Life After Death

Chai,Yoruba people again!
See as Yoruba has killed this boy now.......#shaking my head vigorously#

MamaBaby said...

"Yoruba" religion is a derivative of 'Ifa' religion. It is practiced in many South American countries especially brazil and Haiti. They claim it is the tradition of their fore fathers brought to those lands from west Africa. Even though I'm not well vast in the knowledge of this, I doubt it teaches one to commit suicide.

Josh said...

Awon oyinbo yi sha i reserve my comment

U ar so sick.guess u ar afflicted with cancer sef get well soon scumbag quin kenii says so

SO WHAT WILL FANI KAYODE SAY THIS TIME? WILL HE BLAME THE IBOS FOR THIS?

It is become! Olodo!!!

My American boyfriend recently started, he wants to change his name and move to an African country!
I am so worried!
I am trying to get away from my Nigerian heritage and he is trying to get in!
Oluwa O!
Please people pray for us, i don tire!

Olodo! It is cause!!!

CJ said...

Lol...post just got real estate quiet....

CJ said...

Lmbo....posts just got real quiet...

CJ said...

Lol...post just got real estate quiet....

Ezigbo Anuofia ka o bu

My people, Yoruba is also a religion. It's heavily practiced in South America and was brought to the US. The sect worships ancient Yoruba idols. If anyone of you have seen the movie: For Colored Women. Whoopi Goldberg's role is a typical depiction of that sect.

@Queen God punish ur generation na yoruba kill him mumu osi

Bloomandgrownaija said...

Trash! So my Yoruba now should be a terrorist threat

PC, I'll correct u again (the first was your saying you couldn't Phantom instead of fathom.) now it's hypothetical theories. An impossibility. Once u say theory, it indicates that the subject has moved away from hypothesis. Hypothesis are either nullified or established in which case they become theories. E be like u miss many classes for school sha. And all these mumus go dey praise u. Anyhow, thank me later and consult me for further lessons.

Who wan practice ibo? Registration in progress at okija shrine. Ask linda for more info #runs away#

U're right, Cuba as well. They are decendants of slaves that were taken to the west indies and south America many yrs ago.

No, u need to educate urself! There r people on south America and West indies that practice d yoruba religion; they are products of slave trade

@ seyi anon 10:26 dats d truth...I study history,its nt only in nigeria we ave d yorubas,we ave dem in oda african sates too

I just checked it on wikipedia now. This white pple will just be making jest of us....

U r an idiot.... A big fool.... Even if u r nt Yoruba... Google is ur friend,use it dumb dumb.... Yoruba is a tribe... Not a f**kn religion. Mscheww.... Awon alainironu.

Princy said...

Nigerians will never cease to amaze me,u all talk like illiterates,even the whites know about ur continent dan u,pls there is yoruba religion.u welcome

I swear ds pple r confused&stupid.... LMFAOOO.... A yoruba priestess wt d title *Anu-ofia*.... Do d pple read?? *pheww*

You are the ignorant one. How can yoruba be a religion. That your south Carolina converts label it one does not make it one. You practice yoruba indeed. There are too many fallacies to that statement.

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

When u study the yoruba language in a school setting it's like a religion, cos u are taught how to worship the different yoruba deities like Sango, Obatala, Orunmila, Ifa, Ogun and so on. Its high time we remove the religious aspect of the culture from the language itself just like we study English Language without their different forms of worship. Like sects, groups and so on. So dont be biased when they report dat he was practising yoruba religion. That said am a Yoruba girl and we dont preach violence. That adage was used during the ancient time and it was used mostly by the warriors and Oba's prominent men in the society at that time. Linda post my comment

Oga go and google oooooo! Ders a religion called Yoruba. U will nt do ur research b4 u start blaming E!

Igbos shldnt be talking here!u lots think uer better tribe?u wish....yes we have idiots as yorubas but majority of u are jst low.traveling everywhere stil looking 4 where to call ur own!started a war bck then jst 2 be an independent state!yes adebayo killed in the uk...u muder ur wives and children for money rituals.uer heady and always lk 2 show strength dtz y u ppl can neva b ruled coz everybody is a leader...ur accent no matter d money u make is lk a scar!so take ur critisizin yellow shallow asses outa here!guess what ?ur hatred 4 yorubas is nt 2day...ur ladies now marry yorubas too...question is?whts d diff btw bokoharam and igbos on d level of hatred?low self esteem is lots of ur problem coz u dnt ve 2 always want 2 make ur points known.yoruba religion or not ...sucide is wrong.he is educated and knows that.

Yoruba is not a religion. They most likely meant osun worshipping as they made mention of the fact that he began to wear white clothes always as a result of the religion.

I'm practicing 'yoruba' right now in my toilet..wait..uuuurrggghhh...grrrrr...rrrrggghhhuuhh....*plum* aaaahhhhhh.

Why not do small research?? Yes yoruba is a religion...alot of people in south america practice it. Not only south america but different parts of the world. it pays to do research before making a comment....google is your friend!
You see....we don't even know our cultures or history...there's so much about Nigeria we do not know...

Hater Unltd said...

The Yorùbá religion comprises the traditional
religious and spiritual concepts and practices
of the Yorùbá people . Its homeland is in
Southwestern Nigeria and the adjoining parts
of Benin and Togo , a region that has come to
be known as Yorùbáland. Yorùbá religion is
formed of diverse traditions and has no single
founder. It has influenced or given birth to a
host of thriving ways of life such as Lucumí,
Umbanda and Candomblé .[1] Yorùbá religious
beliefs are part of Itan, the total complex of
songs, histories, stories and other cultural
concepts which make up the Yorùbá society. [1]
[2][3]

SUNSHINE said...

Yoruba is a religion.
I knew this a long time ago.
A Peruvian woman used to buy carved images from my friend's dad and they'd invoke spirits into it.
She told me her husband is an ifa priest and she herself is 'yeye'.
I thought she was mad.
Then i took to google.
Where i discovered that it is a religion practised by those that were sold into slavery to South-America countries like Cuba, Peru, Pueto Rico and most especially, Brazil.
They once showed a documentary on aljazeera.
Their yoruba language sounds so funny and they wear white most of the time.

Obviously he embraced OSHUN OSHOGBO Deity.

Dis is y ibos re always relegated 2 d background cus dey re always condeming odas,see wat dis mumu is saying

Even we yoruba's that speak the language cant commit suicide for the words,they should check his mental records..sh*t

Rotfl... Kai ppl won't kill me o. What are U smoking? Share pls

Queen u r a big fool, I think u need to b strike by d gods of thunder for wht u have jst said, is yoruba a religion? So how can he die of yoruba religion n u r der saying u always knw yorubas r evil. Awon alale yoruba o ni je ki oda fun e, idiot...

Do you normally see a yoruba man taking his own life ? He's on drugs . This is some funny news, joke of the decade

I'm sure u r QUEEN OF FOOLS. TOP FOOLS am sure. N I doubt if u attended a proper skl. Didn't u read d story wella?! Is yoruba a religion? ODE!

Bam.

PC doesn't tuk sense all d tym. It jst apns once in a while.

BAM

As surprise as it sounds,Dis dude committed suicide in one seasonal movie called 'Flashforward'.He jumped out of a Building or am mistaking.Guys Check it out

AbEeeeeeegyyyyy!!!!!!!
Mama IFU is always wrong!
ANU-OFIA na IBO name

Wyt Pple, always lukin 4 a scape goat for dia stupid actions. I'm sure he was depressed. D usual depression.

BAM

BAM

Abubakar Kwanaki said...

Yoruba na religion? Wen chinese man or white man comit succide wy don't u attribute it as chinese or english religion. wawaye kawai

He was possesed by a yoruba demon.lol.d bible says guide ur heart wt all deligence,d devil attacks a persons mind.dats y we here of numerous suicide dez dayz,b careful wit d thoughts u allow in ur head.

Its so interesting to read the way yorubas are sounding here. If its Igbo people that was mentioned,as loud mouthed as u all are, u would have sounded differently. Yoruba have been accused a lot lately but all have been defended. Yorubas should learn to love other tribes especially igbos have crime is not peculiar to any particular tribe.

U make sense die.. Wish I could peck u 4 dis.

Very correct

maureen said...

U have said it all prince charming. Nice 1

The ignorance on here is astounding. Yes, there is as Yoruba religion! Deary me you people need to enlighten yourself. It's because very few Yorubas practice it now but in Brazil and other such countries it is practiced in full force! Where do you think Sango, Ogun, Obatala, Ifa and so on came from? Yoruba religion of course. And there are a number of people who still practice. Abeg, Nigerians educate yourselves. Some of the comments here are so disappointing.

Yoruba religion is a religion fashioned by ex-slaves in South America especially Brazil. For lack of what to call what they practise and to still identify with "motherland", they call it yoruba. It has never been practised in Africa or Nigeria for that matter as yoruba religion but is akin to the practice of worshipping the yoruba gods eg ogun, sango, etc as done by those who practice it in Western Nigeria. Don't confuse this with yoruba being a people and a religion of those same people, as seen in examples given by some by comparing Jews and Judaism. The term yoruba religion has been used as a sense of identity by those practising something which they hold on to as comfort that they belong somewhere.

Hahahaah
Oya oh!
Killer tribe
Una don hear??? Lolzzzzzzzzzzzzz
OMG.

Ok. Sori. But on a serious note, Some people rili practice Yoruba.
I dunno about itz contention to suicide dou.
M sure the victim knew so much about something!

Itz crazy when uv not met JESUS cz u would always live in the dark.

Eve.

this is crazy!...is yoruba a religion?

No u r the uninformed one. It is a religion

Hmmmmmm neva knew yoruba waz also a religion....dat means igbo n hausa n even my language 'mbube' could be a religion somewhere abego dis news is funny plz dis people shld stop blaming their misfortunes on africa cuz oda african countries turn and blame it on Nigeria since we are d BAD PEOPLE/sad face/ tessy nche

i dont think wat u said is right bcos d chief priest said dat yoruba is not a religion. Donjuan says so

U r jst a fool!getawy u

if that is what killed him then others practising yoruba religion or tribe (who knows now) should be dead.

hahahahahhahahahahahahhaha
they are seriously deaating about it o
i just dont have words for them cause they made me spilled my fresh juice

HYBunny

It's the igbos who always behave like that..yorubas are cool headed people..#Fact

The west looks for every opportunity to dis Africa. What an insult to Yoruba culture. E should get their facts right before broadcasting nonsense to the world. This news is so offensive.

Lol..... Stupid people. They should get their facts right, Yoruba is NOT a RELIGION its a TRIBE in Nigeria

there is a religion called Yoruba, Google it, that's what its there for! ahhh!

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Hahahah so Yoruba people and their religion and way of life advocate suicidal teachings to their subjects if na igbo now dey go begin talk thrash were is dat dick-less fani kayode were he at let him respond to this bitch arse fool

Hv u nt hard dat Some pple r looking 4 a man cos d population of men in d word will nt be enough 4 d woman & dis idiot hv d guts 2 take his own life on d name of religion.....nonsense

Its lonliness that killed him......fine boi no babe, he should av just come to naija......he would av learnt d yoruba well plus enough girls to make him happy

My heart is heavy when I read comments laced with hatred and tribalism either from Igbo angle or Yoruba angle. Knowing this is coming from youths, supposed leaders of tomorrow. I weep for this country and our future. where is the love and peace we preach? How are we different from the Boko Haram? I am left to wonder when our hearts are filled with disdain and hatred for our fellow human just because he speaks a different language from our.

satan has blinded the hearts of many that we have all failed to see the beauty of diversity in nature. Just as God in his wisdom has created varieties of everyting has done same with regard humans. The diversities in us should actually bring us closer to our Creator.

You may say I have not killed anyone. But if your words has incited someone to kill another. You are as guilty as the murderer. Your hateful words might have moved another to commit suicide. You are a killer. Jesus Christ said if you call your fellow man 'despicable fool' you will have your part in fairy gehenna much more wicked words I see on this blog. I wonder how we carry so much hatred in our hearts and still go to church every Sunday claiming to worship a God of LOVE. We may think its an harmless fun; but lets pause at times to reflect on ourselves. The person we are within which is what God sees.

i am more disappointed at Linda for giving a voice for any form of hatred or discrimination targeted at any tribe be it Igbo, Hausa, Yoruba, Fulani or whatever nationality. You are one of the youths I have so much respect for. but I honestly think you have to step up your values not to be strictly motivated by money. I tell you for every act of violence perpetrated to any one as a result of any hate message you gave a voice to, God will hold you accountable whether you contributed to it knowingly or unknowingly.

Lets be more like our God. Lets love impartially and see appreciate the beauty of the diversity from the other person.

lobatan!

lobatan!

lobatan!

lobatan!

Ashake said...

YORUBA, is first and foremost a religion that encompasses language and culture. Many believe yoruba's are fetish, no they are not, its a natural religion we practice which we like to attribute as 'traditional'. Presently, majority of the Yoruba pple donot practice their religion. But if you find yourself within a Palace, you'll discover that there are many orisha's being worshipped. I am Yoruba, proud to be.........Aborisha merindin logun.........

Take note, what is being practiced as "Yoruba" is actually Ifa which is a religion of some sort exactly what our so called ifa priests (babalawo's) do.

Learnt this a while back. (from experience)

Take note, what is being practiced as "Yoruba" is actually Ifa which is a religion of some sort exactly what our so called ifa priests (babalawo's) do.

Learnt this a while back. (from experience)

Guy if "ANU-OFIA" is a name, it is not Igbo.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 214   Newer› Newest»