Lagos state government rescues 25 children from alleged trafficker | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 August 2013

Lagos state government rescues 25 children from alleged trafficker

The Lagos State Government has rescued 25 children from an alleged child trafficker in the Egbeda area of the state, according to a story by Punch

The suspected trafficker, Mrs. Rosemary Nwachukwu (pictured right), was also arrested and has been handed over to the Alausa Police Division, while the children are currently in government’s custody.
The government accused Nwachukwu of operating an illegal orphanage named, Saint Stephen Charity Foundation, on Abiodun Adebanbo Street, Egbeda.
It was gathered that officials from the Office of Youth and Social Department, led by the Director, Child Development, Mrs. Alaba Fadairo, in conjunction with personnel from the Office of Public Defender and policemen, stormed the orphanage on Saturday.
The government said findings showed that the suspect was using the orphanage as a front for another illegal business.

The Director, OPD, Mrs. Omotola Rotimi, said of the children, whose ages ranged from three months to 12 years, were victims of human trafficking.

Rotimi said, “It was discovered upon investigation that Nwachukwu trafficked 27 children and kept them in a room. We were able to rescue three infants of ages three to six months and 22 other children. Efforts are still on to locate the remaining two.”

The OPD director added that the suspect used the victims for financial gains by putting them up for adoption. She said the suspect would be charged to court after investigations had been concluded.

However, Fadairo, said, “Investigation also shows that there are no records of each child and no evidence of how the children got to her orphanage. No police or security report.”

Read the rest on Punch

53 comments:

KOSI said...

BUSTED!!

Oh God not again.... Ibo pple n their illegal businesses-QUEEN

Nawao, for ds 21century. May God help our children. Via Twitter @stcharles_ Follow me

The signs of things like this are ominous! How much more of such are out there operating untraced? Parents should be more stringent who they give their kids to, poverty is the culprit of all this.

chz™ said...

This world sef. Girls get pregnant put to birth and dump their babies in gutters, some women are out there begging God for children, other are busy kidnapping peoples kids and doing what ever they like with these children and God is just up there watching.

abeg, is this not the same orphanage that was reported recently as being located next to the LASG deputy Governor's house in Egbeda? the story was that the kids could hardly get food or clothes even though they were right next door to affluence. if it's the same orphange, meeeen, i tire o!

hmmm with each passing day the sanctity of the human is being desecrated coz of the ruthless ambition of some people to make money at all cost.
Thank God they were rescued.

Wat a heartleSs woman!nothing person no go see 4 naija

Prodigy1 said...

Awesome, up lagos

Hmmm....innocent children!!! God have mercy. RHEUBHEN

Wickedness.

Hi Linda,i've never commented on your blog before but I cldnt resist the Urge on this issue. I always knew there waas something shady abt this particular orphanage. They've been bringing the children to my church consecutively for about 5 Sundays now. On one of the occasions,a lady in my told me she would like adopt one of the children, saying it has always being her wish to help a child like that and raise him/her like her own. So We went to their guardian and asked her about the procedures for adoption and to our amazement she said 'We no dey do adoption o,our madam no go gree'. That statement didn't settle well with me,and I prayed silently that whatever evil this people were up to God will expose them. I hope the police does proper investigation on this matter. This Children are the Leaders of Tomorrow.

The government said "findings" ...can they let us know the findings and what the investigation revealed???

Na wao wonders shall never cease to end

Dis is incredible

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Gø̲̣̣̥d̶̲̥̅̊ catxh, she W̶̲̥̅̊È‹̊ƪƪ wrought ɪ̣̝̇₪ jail

Good one!

Wonders shall nevr end! Wat is dis world turning to? She must pay 4 her evil acts.Wicked soul!

Hey Lindiwe,is today for Sad news?esp on children.this is soo heartbreaking. I wonder where these kids' parents are. Pple just have children and don't bother what happens to them,or they keep having kids that they can't afford to train? What's gonna happen to these little ones? Oh,God plse let ur kingdom come.

They shld get a job and leave d innocent woman alone. She's just trying to help abeg.

Look at her old witch.... Esther

God don catch u madam.Kudos to the Lagos State Govt.

God will judge this woman, she's supposed to b a mother to protect kids,not to trade on them.

Linda,Pls use ur good office to appeal to the Govt to pls answer the auxillary nurses that have gone on strike.Patients have been told to to go home even the ones who are in pain most esp.National Orthopeadic Hospital Igobi.Pls Govt should pls come to their aid ooh.

Can you guys get your facts right before writing such about a woman that all she does is try to help the needy in her society.. The saying that no good deed you do ie to Nigerians goes unpunished is certainly true because now its come to bite her in the butt.. Now I know why plp are reluctant to help the needy in Nigeria.. You show kindness and your prosecuted,your tight with your hard earned money and Nigerians talk shit about you..There isn't a win win situation with you all.. You guys are so WRONG....

She must have stolen those innocent kids from their parents, God forbid bad thing.

This is one of the ways Igbos enter Lagos. The other way is thru kidnapping. They pretend they are running from kidnappers and then come begging Lagosians to take them in and after they do, then they claim they own Lagos. Forgetting how they got to Lagos. They should deport the trafficker and the children she brought with her.

Precious....... said...

Na wa! wonders shall never end, what will human being NOT do because of money.So sorry for the innocent kids.

Hmmm! Something smells fishy here. Isn't this the same Orphanage that was in Saturday/Sunday Punch this August calling for help that though their Orphanage was beside the Lagos State Deputy Governor's personal house (where she lived before she became Deputy Governor, the deputy governor had never helped them and had rebuffed all attempts by the Proprietress/Head to see her?

Linda please look up the story in the Punch. I think it was last weekend or so. I'm not surprised the ORphanage has been closed down. I was expecting it because that story really called Mrs Orelope-Adefulire's generosity into question.

God have mercy. Every thing is possible here in nigeria

NDI IGBO mmeru nu onwe unu ebere!!! Ehn!!! Have mercy on yourselves!!!

There's more to this story than meet the eyes.something isn't right here! How can the proprietress call for help just last week and she's closed down this week? Missing puzzle! Is it just a move to mess the woman's reputation because she was too loud? She couldn't have exposed herself to the media if she wasn't duly registered. I smell a big fat rat here

U better go back to school, mumu!

@Anonymous 3:44. is it in the dept governor's job description to be sponsoring orphanages? (even when they are a front for an illegal activity). i think it is a good thing she didnt give them money. at least now they wont say the poor woman is sponsoring human trafficking. Nigerians sha

if this woman could not take care of the orphans then she should have handed them over to the state government instead of complaining that the deputy governor did not give her money. the state government should not be sponsoring charities out of sentiment.i know that the deputy governor built homes to cater for abandoned children while she was the commissioner for women affairs /poverty alleviation so it is no surprise that she would not want to sponsor unregistered orphanage. it is obvious that this woman just wanted to use the orphanage as a way to raise money and she felt mentioning the deputy governor in the matter would help her achieve that but it backfired.

Wat do u mean by ibo people... Every tribe is also affected

Hi Linda u need to be carefull on what u put on your blog, because this woman you are talking about is my friend's mum, and she as always been a good mother to everyone, and she's been running her orphanage for a very long time, always find out the truth before posting ur articles.

Anon 11:50, don't comment foolishly. When are u going to open ur eyes to d truth?? Everyone regardless of d tribe, OS capable of evil. Grow up. Sheeesh!!

--Teeteelahyo--

What are you saying?!?!

tymahpearl said...

Kinda confused here, well only GOD knws.. But if dis woman is innocent, GOD pls come to her rescue.. I hope dos kids are bn takn care of ooo

The Igbos are very deceitful. They bring all these kids to Lagos. We do not want them kids in Lagos. Go to the east and open orphanages for your kids there and not in Lagos. Why are u all running to Lagos. Federal Govt is no longer in Lagos. It is in Abuja. Pls go there . Leave Lagos for Lagosians. We take u in, then u turn around and u say u develop Lagos, u own Lagos, u generate all d revenues of Lagos state, etc. We do not want u to generate any revenue for us. Go and generate revenue for the south east. Go and develop the south east. Ole. U come to Lagos to take our jobs and turn around and complain. Ole

Hmmmm #lipsealed......LIZ

miss dejavu said...

Some ppl r just foolish...which 1 is*linda get ur facts ryt?!!!!.she said ALLERGED!!!!!pls read wit ur senses n if u dnt av ask sm1 2 xpalin simple eng dat u cnt undastand

Abeg go and sleep.

whoever is refering to ibo should warch before they talk.let him who say he has done good all his life be the first to throw the stone what is so special about lagos. if the ibos should go back to their state i bet that u that is refering to ibo people will not survive. i u have the opportunity you will do worst. look at your mouth.

I am sure most of the kids were kidnapped

Am so shocked linda bcos dis woman attends my church . How can people be so heart less. I have contributed my money before .

U r d worst n most frustrated fool in dz generation for makin such a comment.well I blame ur parents for nt training u well.if they had trained u well,u wudnt hav been dis frustrated.kip rottin away in ur poverty infested life

Words of a poverty infested soul..don't worry,kip waiting for d igbos to ur so called "Jobs"...lazy fool

Confirm mumu,idiot do u no ur parents.monkey ewu, okuko ocha, nkita ara

Linda, permit me some space in ur blog so that I can educate ur readers about the revenue of a country or a complex state like Lagos. Let say for simplicity that Lagos state derives its revenue from three sources namely: Federal govt, corporate entities and individuals. How in the world given this breakdown can Ibos contribute 55% of Lagos revenue. Let us simplify it further, Lets say we take federal govt out. Now we are left with just the corporate entities and individuals. For your information I am not privy to the Lagos state revenue structure. This is purely an academic exercise. Now, from my experience, I will say that corporate entities ( i.e Dangote cos, Glo,IBM, GE and other multibillion dollars conglomerate ) will probably contribute between 60-70% of the revenue the other 30% by individuals ( which include the ibos and their petty trading biz). Now given this scenario, how do u expect the ibos to CONTRIBUTE 55% Of the state revenue ? At best they will contribute about 5-6% of the revenue. That is all. The person who made the 55% statement, did it probably out of sheer ignorance, or mischief. Now, get it into your had u are not as important to Lagos state as u may think that u are. Even if all d ibos were to leave Lagos state tomorrow, Lagos state will not feel their departure bcos others will move in to take up the vacuum. It is as simple as that. So, stop all these exaggerated opinion of yourselves. u are not important in the scheme of things

Linda,time you Ave used in posting this crap written by a mysterious punch writer that is deluded should Ave been spent finding out the truth... There is 3 sides to a story:The mysterious writer that obviously thinks will get away with writing lies about a woman that contributes in her society by helping the poor kids that didn't choose to be born into poverty side : And Mrs rose that is a role model to plp that know her in her communities side: Then you can figure out the truth before posting on your blog... That's what a good bloggershould do...

Its obvious you are sick...dumb fellow