Idris Elba to star in an adaptation of Uzo Iweala's Beast of No Nation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 August 2013

Idris Elba to star in an adaptation of Uzo Iweala's Beast of No Nation

Uzodinma Iweala is the son of Minister of Finance Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala. His first novel, Beast Of No Nation, is being made into a film staring Hollywood actor Idris Elba. See press release below...
Red Crown Productions has set Idris Elba to star and Cary Fukunaga to direct Beasts of No Nation, an adaptation of Uzodinma Iweala’s bestselling novel.
The story follows the journey of a young boy, Agu, who, when civil war engulfs his West African country is forced to join a unit of mercenary fighters. Not only must Agu face the death of his father and disappearance of his mother and sister, but must also join a life of violence and brutality. Agu befriends a mute boy named Strika and together they face the crimes and hardships of war. Elba will play the lead role of Commander and he will serve in a producing capacity as well.
Elba joins Red Crown Productions’ Daniela Taplin Lundberg and Riva Marker, Parliament Of Owls’ Cary Fukunaga and Primary Productions principal Amy Kaufman as producers on the film. Daniel Crown and Bill Benenson will serve as executive producers. Red Crown is funding the film.

Beasts Of No Nation was packaged by WME Global, which arranged the financing and will make the domestic deal. IM Global’s specialty label Acclaim will make international sales at the Toronto Film Festival. Fukunaga has helmed Jane Eyre and Sin Nombre and is currently helming the HBO series True Detective. Elba is really hitting stride. He reprises his title role in a new season of Neil Cross’s celebrated detective series Luther, which premieres on BBC America in September, and he plays Nelson Mandela in Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom, which The Weinstein Company releases in November. He’s coming off the Guillermo del Toro-directed Pacific Rim, which is approaching the $400 million mark in worldwide gross.

“We fell in love with Iweala’s powerful narrative and Idris and Cary are a tremendous pairing,” said Red Crown Productions partner Lundberg. Said Fukunaga: “This project has been seven years in the making, so to say I’m excited to start shooting this — and with Idris Elba as lead — would be me trying to play it cool. Red Crown has real moxie standing behind this story.”

Both Elba and Fukunaga are repped by WME and managed by Anonymous Content. Elba is also with Headshell Management and Roger Charteris at UK-based Ken McReddie. Fred Toczek is his attorney while Fukunaga’s attorney is Michael Adler.

47 comments:

kunle said...

That's one my favourite actor. Great choice.

Learn the secrets to burning fat and eating healthy

SolaDunn said...

don't you just love idris! lol!

amazing stuff on my fashion blog here www.soladunn.blogspot.com

i've always been a great fan of idris elba.. And he has indeed come a long way.. Cheers to all involved.... Can't wait.

He's so cute#love Struck#
*Dat gurl*

this novel is an interesting piece of art. i wrote about it alongside with A Sunday at The Pool in Kigali by Gil Courtmanche in my project. you should read it

Can't wait 4 d movie to be out. Idris is such an amazing actor.

Nice one! For ldris Elba this is just a good act for his West African roots.

I would love 2 watch dis movie when it is out. Pls Linda let us knw wen its out & tanks 4 d continous hard work. I love Idris Elba cos he his a very good actor & can't wait 2 c him perform in dis movie.

Adanna said...

ok o

Good for him.
wish this could provide the fund his mum clained wasn't available to settle ASUU.

Rough Diamond said...

Nice one! Its all good, good, good, good......good!

alitee said...

congrats..*dts all*

Cut and paste from Variety??

chai! idris nwoke mara mma; chai! kip kipin it real

Please is the son married

Idris elba, I love ur movies.

That is what she is doing with 3 billion Nollywood fund. No website to even get information on the fund like the UK film council. #useless

Bonario na only God go bless u for dat word wey u talk

Rubbish no be our money him use publish dat book, mstcheeww. Abeg tell ur fat face mother to provide d money ASUU is asking 4. Fat face bitch

Aint coming as a suprise tho *money speakn*

Well said.

Well said.

His perfect 4 d role...good 4 him

clained or claimed?haha.o my God.some people shaaa,is dz tin cal english by fire,by force?u dnt knw hw to write gud english,y nt kep ur dirty mouth shut n be readin people's coment,maybe from u wl learn hw to write perfectly wel.No 4 bonario or wateva.he or she must belong.plz dnt bombard us here wt rotten spellings.thank me later.unam ebot.DARREL TOM.

See his big nose and mouth like ASUU strike. Hisssssss

like seriously?@rough diamond.so must ur comment sound so dumb as ur name,bfor we knw how dumb u are.wat wont i see on dz blog.DARREL TOM.

Bona pls I want u to star in my. Nxt movie "the rise n fall of soaking garri - follow @tweetest_boi

AimLegend said...

I respect this man and the way he plays his roles, for takes those roles and make you believe.

Rough Diamond said...

Ur fada dumb! U can kiss my black ass for all I care! #Modafucker

It's either you have beef for this nnags or you are just being stupid. Read your lines and tell if it's worth reading. Silly thing.

Anon 12:29 it ws a mistake jire u too shut up ur gutter mouth.busy bodi Psquare broda ode oshi.

Toksyb: i will watch this movie cos of idris wooooow hes so cute and i ve a crush on him.....lol

I do hope we get some shirtless scenes with Mr Elba!

Wow, my own elba... I'd simply do anytn wt him.

Mimi said...

Linda, P-Square is confirming their status as Africa's best. Their US Tour is selling out TOO FAST. Pls giv us updates! Thanks Luv!

@Anon1245 'M' is next to N on most keyboards and only a fool will not know that Bonario's mistake was a typo.
PS leave a space after a punctuation mark and well is spelt with a double 'l', 'please' is abbr as 'pls' not 'plz' and its supposed to be; is this thing 'called' English not dz tin cal english.
Your own comment is filled with errors and you dare challenge a simple typo.
Remove the log in your eyes...
As far as mechanical accuracy is concerned in the use of English language; you are royally fucked

OGE said...

Shut up ur gbonga fish mouth.dats a mistake.if use a touch screen device such mistakes are bound to happen.I guess u surf d internet with a nokia asha 200.hence u neva get to make any typo.meanwhile dat word 'coment'comes with a double m as in 'comment'.yea I c u hurrying to tell me thank u.buh its alright.nd yea u welcome!

Bonario dnt b stupid,wot does her son have to do with her moms job or the ASUU strike,behave educated pls

Anonymous 12:29, correct urself b4 correcting others. Is that kep in lieu of keep? Ur just commiting grammatical blunders and don't even know when to use ur punctuation marks and capitalisation. You need self education cos I'm sure ur old enough to go back to high school. #SMH for some peeps.

Calm down joR, don't insult the woman.

Anonymous 12.29am, like seriously..... u get beef wiv the dude before? that was obviously a typo error and the nonsense u penned down is hardly understandable sef.

look at dese silly beefers!!!...jeez!!!....wat does d guy's achivement hv to do wit asuu strike??is it his fault dat his mom is a minister??? some of u jus wish u wia in his shoes n u hia jus to pour out ur frustration n anger on d young man whose tryin his best to create a niche for hmself.
if u lookin for pple to beef go n castigate dose armd robbers using pen to siphon billions of nigerian funds n dose pot belly senators who receive millions jus to seat their fat asses n discuss tins that wil not benefit the nation in anyway incliudin dose ministers dat uses taxpayers moni to chatter privte jets at the expense of the economy.

Da Allosian Poet said...

nyc...

I would like to know what the full list of actors on the movie would be. Y Idris Elba??????? Can't we have some local content like some Nigerians in the movie as well.
And his mother is there 'preaching' patronize made in Nigeria, wen her son does not practise what hte mother preaches. Okonjo Iweala's son probably does not even see himself as a Nigerian and I'm sure the story is a very Nigerian one, using an American to potray it.
Proudly Naija

idris Elba! i love! EVE

Hahahahah. some people just love to insult others,simply because their IDs are anonymous. Its a pity.