The incredible sketches of Nigerian artist, Kelvin Okafor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 January 2013

The incredible sketches of Nigerian artist, Kelvin Okafor

27 year old Kelvin Okafor is a graduate of Fine Art, Middlesex University and is now making waves across the world with his incredible pencil drawings that looks like photographs.

Kelvin creates each piece only in black and white, using graphite pencils, charcoal, and black coloured pencil. He's exhibited at numerous major art galleries and won several national awards for his remarkable work. His work is currently on display at the The Watercolours + Works on Paper Fair at the London Science Museum, until February 3.

Kelvin writes on his blog:
'I aspire to create art as vivid as eyes could see. I want my drawings to prompt an emotional response, making viewers feel as though they are looking at a real live subject. I’ve always been creative, but fell in love with using pencils in particular. 
It amazed me, that with only one shade of lead, you can create so many tones and textures, and almost create the illusion of colour. It was only when my images started to create a buzz with other Middlesex University students that I realised their impact.'
See more of his sketches after the cut...

212 comments:

1 – 200 of 212   Newer›   Newest»

Wow dis is nice!God bless him wit more talent

Omas992 said...

This is amazing!

Dimmaonuorah said...

E make sense no b small.................always wanted t b an artist

World class *I can paint a picture with a pencil in m.I's voice* zobie

Hard to believe but i believe sha

OMG Amazing!

sheylee bee said...

Dayum!!!

Jesusssss oooooo, give my offspring such talent and more. The princess Diana one killed me, completely knocked my socks off. Beyonce one is a lower quality but guess thats when he was just starting. Heath ledger, rihanna, Amy winehouse, all perfect. Wowwwww. May God bless this young man and continue to m

This is lovely and a good job well done whao cant just believe it was a sketch job with a pencil at that, this is rilly a raw talent. May God keep u and make u achieve ur motives in life Amen

Patrick said...

This is great!

Wow! So this is a sketch. What a bundle of talent. Wish i had it.

See how to get your partner's friends to like you on GISTville

wow!this is a difficult task. excellent!

Dis is amazing. I knw Niaja got talent. God bless u dearly. Seeing dis made me forget all my sorrows. Indeed deres lite @ d end of the tunnel.

this guy is a genius. incredible works from him.

U re indeed blessed.

A mans gift wld mk room 4 him,urs indeed has n wld continue.u shall stand b4 kings n nt mare men.

My brother wey down, just show then that your from igbo land. you are using your telent well.

I love ur work. God bless u dearly

SAPPHIRE said...

Incredible,whaoooo this looks so real,bravo.

Segunsd said...

Amazing! Its a pro to achieve this flawless sketch. Thumbs up kelvin.

See some of the Worst Fashion blunders of 2012 and we hope your pic isn't among them

Mind blowing. Keep it up bro.

view nude pics

Hw did u even get d glose on deir lips. God pls help dis young man move forward 4eva in life. Ur talent is spectacular

D guy is good in wat he does

Good work

Wow!!!!!speechless

julit said...

God bless you Kelvin. There'll never be another like you

Kudos Kelvin,dis is marvelous.

Wow! Super talented! Yippie. He went to my school! Up middlesex!!!!

These are wonderful sketches! What a great gift! I'm about to google about for his blog!

LINDA said...

Dang! This kid is super talented. They look live. Amazing work bruh!

WHAT A TALENT. THANK GOD HE'S NOT IN NIGERIA, HE MIGHT NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DEVELOP SUCH A HUGE TALENT.

He is a rare gem with an amazing talent.

Wow! He is extremely talented, can't believe this is all pencil. Wow

Hourayh said...

AWESOME...!

Funkiphied said...

WOW! Speechless...

Doris said..... said...

The art works looks so real!! He is quite a genius...

Visages Parfait said...

Jesus!!! Same pencil n charcoal I know????

Jesus!!!!!!!!!!!!! O My God!!!!!!!!!!! This is pure talent. Pls make a portrait of me O! My darling Kevin. You are blessed. Chei!

OMG,nice art work. I love pencil drawings becoz its looks like a black n white picture. Good luck dearie...

Modupsy said...

Wow! I'm in awe

This is awesome, can't wait to see my kid brother works like this.....everywhere

Wow! This talent

DADDY'SWIFE said...

Dis is really incredible,is dt bey in d second pix,doesnt really look like her,dis guy is a wizard in drawins,nice work.

Lolly said...

Oh my God.

DJ Eska Phine said...

He's good ooooo
Thumbs up bro

Handsome meets Talent! Amazing!

This is incredible, they don't look like drawings.

DJ Eska Phine said...

He's good oooooo
Thumbs up bro

tariot said...

This is exemplary, beasutiful; I avent seen an artist dis good even thou I dated one

awesome!!!

Kelvin,pls,come and draw me now pls!I'm very biuriful and I have a monalisa smile.Keep up the good work#Yudy

kay said...

wow... really nice and talented!

Gucchie said...

These are sketches?? Omg! this guy is freaking good! Great work!

Bee Dazzler said...

Common from a Nigerian i Love this....Keep it up

www.beedazzler.blogspot.com

Gucchie said...

These are sketches?? Omg! This guy is freaking goooood!

His works are amazing.

Wow!! That's raw talent!!!

Wow, the man with magic hands!! The guy is simply a genius. I love them all.

His works are amazing

Wow!

beautiful sketches, extremely talented artist, good to know he is Nigerian, God bless him, am sure if he was here his talent would have been squashed, more grace to him....Sassy Stardust.

This is incredible........i could barely believe it.
My dear thumbs up.....the sky is ur starting point......keep the ball rolling

Rhipple said...

This is so AMAZING!!! Rhipple Media

Joe said...

Wow! this is really incredible, an Amazing work, a genus among us! keep it up bro!

Hope said...

Amazing Talent I must say. Nigerians are talented people. I'm glad He is making a positive Impact

He gud.

WOW, he's really talented

Well done kelvin! Creativity at its best

Hiya Linda, went to the blog of Kelvin Okafor and saw some his drawings. Very impressive. But could not find drawings of Rihanna, Princess Di and 2 others as shown on your blog. When I saw them compared to the others, they looked like photographs. Please I stand corrected if they are his drawings but hope you did not import some pictures...

barbie jagz said...

This is almost unbelievable! It really does create d illusioN of colour, wat a talentd soul, God bless u dear

Wow! This is amazing. Keep it up bro

Amazing

wow....that's all i can say

OMG this guy is a pro. This is raw & un diluted talent. Wax strong & make Nigeria proud. I've fallen in love with ur works & ur talent. U are indeed blessed with fingers. B. O.

Damn!! Dis guy is GOOD!!

Chidozie Mario said...

This is amazing, the sketches look so real.
10 Signs He's Not Into You

Just Me said...

this guy is awesome.....wow!!!

omg! beautiful....

WOW!!

He is talented!!! Wow!! Pls come nd marry me #coverface#

Linda who is Toolz dating? she has been tweeting about a special person in her life for a while o!
We want to know who the special person is? i am relying on you to get this jist!

Wow

Oh my goshhhhh....dis guy is so creative...what a genius...Linda,did u mean all dis are drawn and not photograph?? Woww..#still looking at dat Riri's own...lol

Simply Amazing... And I say that as an artist @nicxxs

Etebanks said...

This is definitely FINE art. #omonaija. For the right reasons

If indeed he really used pencil for d Amy winehouse,mother Teresa, rihanna, Princess Di and d last one...
den he is a Genius cos those ones look like photos...
D beyonce, coleen bailey Ray ones look like monsters..
He made Beyonce look like d Ugliest woman in d world!!
Instead of d opposite!
But kudos 2 him..
He is good...
Billie jean

Wow!!!...he is sooooooooo good and cute....God bless his handwork...pls Linda tell us if he is single or married..

Talent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.....

This boy is a genius, ur great boyyy, keep it up.

Is this really real? This guy is half human and half something else

Awesome that's all i can say!!!!!!

wow...this is really amazing! so incredible!

Wow..... They look so so good! Look so much like real photographs. This is talent! Kudos!!

Amarachi said...

WOW that is all i can say.Well gifted

@emeka_chidi said...

my God! the paintings look so real. this guy is an asset... glad 2 knw that unique talents like dis can come out of Nigeria

adaowerri 1 said...

Amazing!!! Esp that of Rihanna. Looks way too real. Thumbs up bro

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̲̅ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊. S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

OOOhhh mmmmyyy Gooooodddddd!!!!! Unbelievable!

W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ Ά̲̣̥ creative being.....S̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ drawing Ŵi̶̲̅τ such pencils culd actually come out real ℓi̶̲̥̅ke Ά̲̣̥ picture? Hmmmm.....Gôd̶̲̥̅̊ Ȋ̊§ great! Weldone bro!

bitchplis said...

Wow!!! Dis guy is damn good...keep it real boy we r proud u!!!

wow gifted child... thank God for the western world if not, that's a talent that would have gone to the grave with its owner SMH for 9ja...

Dmotive said...

speechless, thats all i can say.

Dobby said...

WoW!!!! Now this is what i call raw talent......Jeez!!!Amazing!

Bern said...

Thank you Lord for manifesting ur self in this Man. The pics are more than goooooood. the hardest there to sketch might be mother theresa of calcuta.

Temitope said...

Breathtaking,welldone bro

tynu said...

Raw talent! Am impressed. Looks very real. God bless u dear.

This guy is a genius! Read it takes up to 100 hours to complete a picture and each sells for about 10,000 pounds. A man's gift maketh way for him indeed.

Wow. Wow. Wow. Good work Kelvin. I've neva seen anytin like dis. Ur sketches luk soooo real. Wow. God bless u real good.

r u kidding me?dese sketches r to die for.i totally love a man dat can draw....*wink*

Maggie said...

Very lovely, since his works are displayed in London, i wished the painting of Kate Middleton the Duchess of Cambridge was given to him, he would have done a better job than that artist that made kate look dreamy and like the 1600's painting.

Dee said...

WOW!!!!!!!!! AMAZING TALENT.NICE PICS

This is who I wanted to be... Awesome

See the wonderful work of art...spot d difference btw dis and a real photograph...

Wow... This is talents at its best.. God gv dis guy a huge gift

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̲̅ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊. S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

U̶̲̥̅̊ ds stupid girl Ode ni e sha! Dunno W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̈̊t U̶̲̥̅̊'r A̶̲̥̅ŁWA̶̲̥̅YS feeling ℓi̶̲̥̅ke....J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ A̶̲̥̅ŁWA̶̲̥̅YS feeling ℓi̶̲̥̅ke Ά̲̣̥ talker.....and for all i knw U̶̲̥̅̊ talk shit!

Which Ȋ̊§ he made beyonce LƠ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡K ℓi̶̲̥̅ke T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ ugliest.....W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ can U̶̲̥̅̊ do or W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ Hλ√ƺ U̶̲̥̅̊ eva achieved all ЧЯ miserable-low life!

All U̶̲̥̅̊ knw Ȋ̊§ to bad mouth evrytn D̶̲̥̅̊α† comes ЧЯ miserable way! Ode omo abule jatiti! Ngbeke feeling fly! Mtcheeeeeeeeew!

Promos In Nigeria said...

ALL I CAN SAY IS "WOW"

TimiG said...

How is he a Nigerian Artist?...On his own blog and at the Cork street winter show he called himself a British artist!

These drawings look real, this guy is a genuis

How is he a Nigerian Artist?...On his own blog and at the Cork street winter show he called himself a British artist!

Rukevwe said...

God bless this talent.

So amazing...

gulayetty said...

THIS IS A GIFT FROM GOD.ONE CANNOT BUT WONDER HOW WONDERFUL OUR GOD IS TO HAVE GIVEN THIS KIND OF NEAR PERFECT GIFT TO MEN
THANK YOU JESUS

Wow! this is really beautiful. Aman's gift indeed makes room for him before kings

Well if someone is born in Britain, what does that make them?? British!!! He is of Nigerian parentage so that makes him a Nigerian!

Lol!!! Some people lack intelligence!

Jezzzz see talent God pls help me discover mine is never too late am 22yrs.dis is amazing

God is good. Looking at the picturs almost made tears of joy come out of my eyes.this is talent beyond money. I reaLly wish to c his hand at work. God abeg give my kids this kind of talent

Stargal said...

beautifulllllll

PURE TALENT...

Now dats some talent yo!

His pics sell for 10,000 pounds each....big boi.......

Naijarian said...

Damn! The boy good...

this is really really incredible. rare talent.

Nutty J. said...

Wow!!! And he didn't trace them?

This is miraculous.

Dey actually look like pictures,amazing!!!!!!! More grease Kev.zurielle loves.

Okezie Kingsley said...

Absolutely fabulous!

one word - "supppperrr". this is very very impressive...i love art and i love this guy's work... pls give us contact details....

*MOUTHWIDEOPEN*.......THIS IS INCREDIBLE

Its not our ordinary 2B pencil

Naijarian said...

Damn! Why me i no get this kind talent? Imagine how many ladies would have been queuing up for nude drawings...

amazing!!!

Ijaybaby said...

Guys I just found him on facebook. You would be amazed by his drawings. Check him out. Search for Kelvin Okafor Art on facebook or click http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelvin-Okafor-Art/109909719036016

WAT IS GUD IS GUD !!!!

Wow...

ode!!

Lisa said...

It is people like him who makes one proud to be Nigeria. Well done to him.

SOULJACHIC said...

THIS DUDE IS TALENTED! Geez!

I hope he actually makes as much money as he deserves from this.
Letter to my parents: Can you see that I don't have to double major in Econ and Poli Sci before I am internationally known? Infact sef, I'm going to study dance instead. Lol

this guy must be frm another planet..

AWWWWW SO NICE,,,,,,GOD BLESS THE WORKS OF YOUR HANDS

Senera said...

Amen... Incredible talent

wooow pure talent..marry me plz

who told u is Nigerian? we have Okafor in our country too fools

So proud of this fellow Naija brother.

This represents Nigeria positively, Kelvin Okafor and his talent. Not the thrash that Cossy and (to a lesser extent)Tonto represent. BIG UPS TO U KELVIN.

Wow dis is amazingly unique.

Whao! God bless ur handwork bro! That's how IGBOS roll!

Just checkout his blog now, abeg the guy is good, this is pure raw talentn ride on bro, haters go and hug transformer

Mama somtee said...

Laughing. Out loud ----- agbaya ni eeeh

He has got gifted hands

Kai see correct talent.

Dr. O said...

aww. Heath ledger. still hurts

Beyond believe

Wow! Hz good!!

Agbolade 'shile said...

TRULY AMAZING

Dude is good #shikenan

Oge Nsimah said...

Waiting ,linda what are u saying? U mean this is an art work? Jeeeeez what a gift! Awesome God ... May God bless u Kelvin u will stand b4 kings , Please God I want my kids to have such gift that will make them to stand b4 kings

pipo from Calaber eat dogs sick pipo

Oladimeji Rufai said...

very creative.

@ Linda- babe 4get this guy is raw talent

ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT...come draw me biko.

Gkay said...

oH MY PRECIOUS GOODNESS!!!woww See talent! *mouth open! I thank Almighty for talent.

dis is incredibly amazing!

Goose pimples... OmG dis guy is d ishhhhhh!!! Pheew!
His work is freaking detailed. U could almost wana touch em!
Talent is sth God gives us. Most pple just throw it away.

Simply Amazing!! Good job Kelvin and continue to find favour in the eyes of the Almighty!

adah said...

If only my mother would allow me to explore my hidden talents...but NO I must gather Bsc, Masters and doctorate degrees to be 'well respected' :(

DE said...

There are alot of Nigerians with amazing skill and talent but no one to discover or encourage them, am sure if he was in Nigeria, he would have changed his mind and gone to pursue bank work.

You did not notice Mother Theresa abi? She is not your kind of person.

dami said...

so so hard to believe really, this guy has got a rare talent... big up to him.

NJ said...

No, this can't possibly be drawings!! WOW!!

wow... wat a talent

BeeDee007 said...

@ anonymous 3:13pm: go to his Facebook page "Kelvin Okafor Art". Check his complete works.

TimiG said...

Anonymous 3:56pm.....Well if someone is born in Britain, what does that make them?? British!!!..........Please crawl back to your cave...just so you know being born in Britain doesn't make you British you muppet! ..as much as his talent is admirable, he has identified himself as British, so why unnecessarily celebrate him as a Nigerian?

Ada said...

I'm impressed, great job Kelvin!

new post peeps, check it out! www.adainprogress.blogspot.com

this is perfection at its peak!

Discover your talent people and stop wasting time on social media . Everybody got talents !

Nna mehn! Dis dude is a bunch of genius.

Tsarah! said...

See Tinie Tempah and Rihanna :o:o:o!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing doesn't even cut it! Pure Talent! God bless the work of his hands!

Lawal Adekemi said...

OMG!!!!this is the best i have ever seen.keep it up bro

Gozzy said...

Wow,amazing!i hope he ll go places wit his sketches.

I had to go to his site... this guys talent is OUT OF THIS WORLD. Keep it up

A.D said...

.........So amazing yet so sad to watch, I have such talents, buh Naija just aint the place, just yet

A.D said...

....So amazing, yet so sad, I believe I have such talents, buh Naija just aint the place yet. Keep going K

justynblaze said...

OMG..only one word describes this *phenomenal*...i wanna meet u someday

It's don jazzy, they're always together

Lolzzzzzzz, Linda Ikeji's people will not kill me ohhhhhh

Pregnancy Concierge said...

Lwkmd @ soulja

Middlesex is one of the most expensive universities to attend in the UK and most students do not finish according to online info. Living expenses in the highbrow area is another problem for foreign students.

I must congratulate this art genius for being a Middlesex graduate and achiever. I think his Amy Winehouse is the best ever. This guy is the best of his era. Wow! Beware of envious London people. Watch your back. Wonderful!

None of the UK papers added that he is Nigerian. If na crime matter, they'll capture that as their headline.

Anon said...

Hard to believe that he actually used just different shades of pencils and charcoal to do this. WOW. JUST. WOW.

I am a bit confused as to how he achieves this form of real life human sketches does he sketch on pictures that ve already been taken or he looks at d pictures and begins to sketch/draw on a plain paper I really do nt understand because if he starts to sketch or draw from scratch on a plain paper and they look this real I think he is a genius and can be compared to d likes of Picasso Mozart etc pls I need to be enlightened

U can afford 10,000pounds/painting????

See beef o! Whatever Nationality he claims does not matter. Just appreciate talent when u see one esp one that's so rare.. Hian!!

metche said...

This is so amazing. Can't believe he draws this.

The sky will be ur starting point.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 212   Newer› Newest»