RIP Ogbonna Amadi. Vanguard Entertainment Editor Dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 August 2012

RIP Ogbonna Amadi. Vanguard Entertainment Editor Dies

Heard about his death last night but refused to write it because I was hoping someone would tell me it was all a joke. Whenever I heard a story, he was one of the first people I'd call to get confirmation. He knew everything and everyone...speaking figuratively.

Ogbonna Amadi was the Group Entertainment editor of Vanguard Newspaper. He was the one who broke the D'banj/Don Jazzy break up story. He had been a veteran entertainment journalist for over two decades. He died yesterday evening, August 29th, at a hospital in Apapa after suffering serious Asthma Attack.

Such a huge loss to the media and entertainment industry. Rest in peace, Amadi. #still in shock!

62 comments:

Atobatele said...

Death is truly inevitable. May his soul rest in peace.

Topless said...

Rest in peace!
Topless

OMG wat lost

may his soul rest in peace.

Amarachi said...

RIP to him.Indeed its a huge loss

Michael says...
RIP Ogbonna. I'm sure you're in a better place. Sad news indeed :(

RIP Ogbonna... May the good Lord console your family. Amen

JESUSSS

so sad:(

Diet, no. Fitness! said...

RIP SIR #SAD!!!! I hate hearing about death.but what can we do as we'll all go 2 meet wiv our lord some day. All we should do is ask for long life.And I pray we do have long life. Amen

OMG!!!May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace,I've known him and he's wife for ages now,I remember down Haruna Ifako in d 90's...o no,pls Lord help and strengthen his family and loved ones.Amen!

Rip sir

Leeely Clinton said...

OMG we were neighbours, such a lively person. May the Lord bless your soul IJN Amen.

Kaii I met dis guy in d bank 2 months back where he was discussing his plans to do a huge reality show,Wat a Life.R.I.P Bro

Rest in peace bro

Nollywood Forever said...

Imagine people dying in Nigeria of Asthma attack? this is a serious shame.

gist talk said...

OMG! This is truly a great loss, rest in peace brother

Warri Girl said...

May his soul rest in peace.

Check out my gift from Google,@ www.warrigirl.com

gist talk said...

OMG! This is truly a great loss, rest in peace brother.

Asatma attacks can Be very severe especially in a highly polluted area like Lagos! Bros RIP!

Wale said...

Rest in Peace Sir!

Haba! Death u no dey tire? *teary eyes* rest in peace my brother

So sad......RIP

Oga Amadiiiiiii,words fail me.even d tears v refused to flow yet I want to vent my pain.in all situations,we shld praise God so even at ur death,I m praisn him for d purposeful life u lived.this is a huge blow to journalism,d entertainment industry n d world.ADIEU big bros

RIP Oga AMADI, we'll miss you.

RIP Igwe Ogbonna. RIP

Keizy said...

He used to tell me i am d best I.T student he ever had....He was supposed to sign my log book today...This is unbelievable.!!!!!!!!!!!

RIP bruv ...

May his soul rest in peace

My God athsma attack! My colleague had athsma attack ysdy tank God we got an inhaler for her on time and I was jst crying cause I knw what she was going tru.. And blessed God for healing me of it!! Dis is a sad one! May his soul RIP amen.. God knws best

Bukola said...

Indeed it's a great loss to the media industry.RIP Ogbonna.

ayaba kokolet said...

May his soul rest in peace!

RIP God please accept his soul and comfort his family

it is a great lost indeed, but we look 4ward 2 d time whn God will wipe away every tears from mankind faces n death d worst enemy of humankind will be no more.

Nekky said...

RIP Sir. may God console his family.

it is a great lost indeed, but we look 4ward 2 d time whn God will wipe away every tears from mankind faces n death d worst enemy of humankind will be no more.

Keizy said...

''Nwokibe''...Datz wat he used to call me...A great Loss.!

Tina said...

Rest in peace sir. So so sad

RIP IN PEACE

So sad. May he RIP.

Rip

Rip

Rip

babycute said...

hmmm wat a loss! i neva would believe dat astma atttack could be dis severe RIP ogbonna

Lechie said...

Linda, this is sad news. Ogbonna was a veteran in entertainment journalism in Nigeria.I was wondering why he was not at The Future Awards ceremony in PH last Sunday.He was such a big influence in the industry.RIP Ogbonna.

Rest in Peace bro. so sad u are gone kai

Rest in Peace. I agree with Anonymous 10: A.M.

Where did he keep hs inhaler now. Oh. What a loss. My vanguard gister. Hope u had Jesus so u R.I.P.

May his gentle soul rest in peace

tuto said...

RIP sir,may God give d family and loved ones fortitude †Î¦ bear d irreplaceable loss....

So sad. Linda, how old was he because I have seen his by-line (name) for years?

There is something that I don't understand about Nigeria and Nigerians. In most European countries, asthma suffers have free inhalers that they carry around in case they get attacks. I did not see that in Africa.

Can't the Federal Ministry of Health in Nigeria provide free inhalers with all the oil revenue? People pay too much taxes and get less services from the government.

Chei...serious asthma attack....Na aw for naija health system o

Rip and god bless the family

palominose said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace Amen!!!

Let's talk about domestic violence visit: http://lwtze.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

RIP. I remember him from my mbgn days back in 1998. Such a lovely chap. So sad. May d lord grant his famz fortitude to bear Dix loss oh xxxDesto

Sato said...

Really feeling bad nw. RIP bro.

Charlotte said...

What a LOSS?

Timileyin said...

RIiP

God bles ur soul. Im stil shocked. I wish it was a bad dream and u r stil there. Amadi i wil mis u

I miss you a lot✽̴̤̩̈·̵̭̌·̵̭̌«̶⌣