Obama Declares Nigeria As World's Next Major Economic Giant | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 August 2012

Obama Declares Nigeria As World's Next Major Economic Giant

The President of the United States of America, Senator Barrack Obama has declared Nigeria as the world's next economic success story, stressing that the discovery was one of the major reasons why his government is committed to helping the country build strong democratic institutions and as well remove constraints to trade and investment through the African Growth and Opportunity.

Making this declaration at the ongoing US-Nigeria Trade and Investment Forum, an event organised by the Nigerians in Diaspora Organisation (NIDOA) in Washington DC, on Sunday, President Obama who was represented by Ambassador Eunice Reddick, a top official of the US Department, said that his country expanded opportunities for Nigeria to effectively access its neighbor's market, and diversify its economy beyond a narrow reliance on natural resources as a result of the discovery that the West African nation will emerge as the world' next economic giant.

"As we support these efforts, the Diaspora can play an important role in contributing to a strong, vibrant, and economically prosperous Nigeria" he noted.

President Obama pressed further that his country invests in Nigeria's success because it recognizes Nigeria-s as a strategic center of gravity, stressing that the country's success will as well be Africa's success if the US can help Nigeria chart a secured, prosperous, and democratic course.

The US leader also make it known that his government will encourage Nigeria in the area of private investment in the power sector as well as other sectors to help seal the promise of growth and opportunity for all Nigerians.

He continued that the US government will also work to strengthen Nigeria's agricultural sector, which employs nearly 70 percent of the country's population, by encouraging improvements to infrastructure that would facilitate agricultural growth.

He also said that his government will help Nigeria to iberalize trade policies to foster regional trade, reform the customs system to bring it in line with global best practices, and as well encourage policy reforms to enable private investment in agriculture.

Speaking on the US-Nigeria Bi-National agreement, Obama said that the joint Commission has grown into a forum for frank, high-level concersations, in which both nations have seen substantial reforms and mutually reinforcing initiatives implemented in Nigeria.

His words: "Some key outcomes of the Binational Commission so far have been successful integration of civil society into the electoral process prior to the 2011 elections, sustained and elevated dialogue with energy sector officials on energy policy, reforms to increase investment, and agreement to support the development of a civil affairs training center in the coming year"

"Energy and Investment, the subject of one of the four working groups of the Binational Commission, is critical to Nigeria-s present and future"

Source: Leadership

72 comments:

Kolo said...

This guy dey yarn o

KELSONLINE7 said...

PERFECT NEWS FOR MY DAILY MOTIVATION..I KEEP SAYING NIGERIA WILL BE THE MOST DESIRABLE NATION TO LIVE IN VERY VERY SOON.. Fela Durotoye also thinks so..things will start changing by 2015..watch dis space. i suggest everyone should start looking to start up businesses of their own cos very soon loads of white folks would soon start trooping in to invest....TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE...ALL d best people..Do not give up on Nigeria..

IVORY CHI said...

HOW IRONIC IS IT THAT THE BEST NEWS WE HAVE HEARD ABOUT OUR OWN COUNTRY HAS TO COME FROM A FOREIGN SOVEREIGN STATE?????

NIGERIA WILL RISE

all na washhhh!!!! if IBB, OBJ, GEJ, DAVID MARK are still on top, Naija is not going anywhere.

Nah!! Nigerians and Nigerian Leaders should not be blown away by these words. they speak truth but with selfish intention..... as we open up to libralisation, it is also important we come up with strong policies that will protect the Nigerian interest. [ I speak as an economist]

~Nigeria will remain Africans giant, only if we also wise up!!

James said...

Hardy Har Har.
Very funny Obama :/

avant said...

Good to hear him say somethin positive about Nigeria.. Meanwhile u can make some easy cash online simply by referrals,no commitments required,just visit http://referraltask.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=83734

If I hear say no b beta omo him dey use wash us!!!!yimu as long as those old fools r still up dere nah oyo we dey!

Sakara said...

One minute Obama s saying Nig is a failed country and wl collapse come 2015, d next minute he's thinking Nig wl be d best come 2015, I think d problem is when they don't get enough crude oil supply in d US he'll misyarn and when they get more than enough, ESP when they didn't pay d proper money for it, knowing fully well d monies wl go Into private pockets, he praises us to high heavens, no wonder he visited our neighbors and never bothered to say Hello Nigerians, he shd go Nd sit down, westerners don't like us, they r just interested in what they can gain from us and Obama is no exception kapish

Scratches head.

wash wash.... just to rob us of our resources

But not with all the Old miltary bulldogs still barking!!..if they get them out of the way..there might be a bit of turbulence in transition..but after that should herald a new dawn!!

Obama very very funny ehn...d man has turned himself 2 a comedian overnight

Linda, you need to work on a few things. Firstly you referred th Barack as President, Senator.........

Think about it, which one is he?

Wash wash..just 2 rob us off our natural given resources

@Anonymous 11:22am, Negativity takes u no where, @Kels, nice 1, very soon, Nigeria would be the most desirable nation.

Agree with you

All I can say is AMEN! May all these come to pass,Whether we have bad leaders or not.AMEN

big penis guy. said...

cool story bro.

YINOTINTO said...

all na wash. there must be something Obama is aiming at. anyways gud luck 2 us.

daniel said...

THINK POSITIVE,THINK BIG,THE BEST NEWS THAT CAN HAPPEN TO US.....NOT THINK BLACK,PRINT NAIRA,OR CORRUPTION.

I think Obama wants something. Something is def up.

estrella said...

okay..
first of all,Obama isn't saying anything that i don't already know.Nigeria has always had the potential to become a super power whether others care to admit it or not.
secondly...common!Nigeria's agricultural sector employs seventy percent of its population? REALLY???
Thirdly,i don't mean to be a pessimist but America hardly HELPS any nation unless it can benefit big time.I never thought i would see the day that Nigerian soil would house the parasitic roots of American culture and policies but hey! never say never right? God help us!

guys dont believe wat obama is saying Americans are users,obama needs funned for his campaign.and knwin that Nigeria has wat it takes to support.but my dear obama we re nt that foolish. lets talk abt did after the election

dizi said...

Translation: nigeria wld b d nxt country D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ wld send soldier to in d name of peace keeping,den wld steal our oil,cos d country go soon scatter.nigeria is not gng anywhr until dis our past n present politicians pass away naturally or ...

anjie said...

whoa...HUGE!!

Every sane person knows that NIGERIA STAND TO BE ONE OF THE GREATEST NATION ON EARTH...is it Natural o human resources??? Just unfortunate that we allowed shoeless and directionless leaders...

Obama said no such thing, the US Ambassador to Gabon, Eunice Reddick did.

I know you didn't write this so not blaming you, but NAIA people embellish no be small.

FYI when it comes to speaking on US foreign policy it is Obama then Clinton then Deputy secretary then under secretary and so on and so forth, ambassador to a nowhere place like Gabon is exactly that, nothing.

its like the chairman of a random PDP ward in Sagamu is speaking for GEJ when it comes to domestic policy for naija...

He wants more "oyel"

Eldee said it all....If you really check am na wash

With GEJ in charge? I seriously doubt it! By the way Linda...what's up with all this'GEJ..the best loves presido in naija ever' being posted all over ur blog...pls remove it! These pple are seriously delusional its pathetic

All dis nah wash...... Well he can fool our politicians but he can't fool us, the populace, I also bliv nigeria is a great nation if only we could get good leaders we will b stronger nd more than we currently are. but hearing it from Obama! my mind thinks he has a hidden agenda.

palominose said...

Washi!!! Nigeria economic giant hahahaha very funny not with †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ devalueing of †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ naira our leaders are planning on I hope? I am not an economist but I don't see any hope for †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ economy atall.

Check this blog on domestic violence; http://lwtze.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

olumide said...

Some of you may be happy that Obama is seeing the good of Nigeria. The truth Obama is a cat, a schemer and a regular politician. Think of this, this guy has never been interested in Nigeria for once. Now he is told one out of every four blackman is a Nigeria. Election is around the corner;now he wants to romance nigerian-americans; he wants to win. And after the victory, Nigeria will be back as a Boko boko nation ...

Where are the realists in this blog? If U.S no get motive they don`t give a shit about who you are and what u do.
They surely wanna rob us of our naturals afterall they knew how immensely we contributed to China`s growth. Hardly would u see no one doing biz with US now but check out China. Shiorrrr.

AND LET MORE CHOPPING CONTINUE...DOES HE REALISE HE IS TALKING ABOUT THE MOST CORRUPT NATION ON EARTH...LEADERS WHO LOOT THE COFFERS OF THE ECONOMY WITH UNRELENTLESS ABANDON!!!!....

When the West starts talking this way they are up to some conspiracy.... They are definitely interested in Naija's sewwt crude oil...Dont fall for his finely coated oratorical speech...

Big Joemayocis said...

The craziest Optical illusion I've seen in a decade. If u look at the title as a Nigerian, u'd see "Obama declares Nigeria as the WORLD'S NEXT economic giant", but if u look at it as a realist, u'd see "Obama declares Nigeria as the NEXT WORLD'S economic giant...

He's solicting for GEJ against 2015!

Gbam! My thought exactly...

so much potential is the graveyard, and this means nothing.!!! If we don't work on using what we have, someone else will take it away and do a better job with it.
P.S. right now, I hate Nigeria

Amen!! I have the faith and believe too so shall it be IJN.

U TALK AM!!!

Morlard said...

I Smell Something Fishy ... The topic is captiviting , the body is encouraging , the conclusion is hopeful .. But then again, I smell something fishy .. Its written clearly in History , Americans are deceitful profit makers ... @morlardybaba

Don't get excited people, the representative is speaking diplomatese.

miz_d said...

sweet consolation......................

What's the meaning of grown into a forum for frank, high-level concersations?
Forum For Frank, following by alphabetic numbering where F stands for 6, does it means that he trying to introduce(666) to Nigeria.

Warri Girl said...

Anon 11:22, you are so right

cc.uzoma said...

abegi., there are nigerians out there that for long believe that no matter what we are gonna turn out a great nation, how come its now people have chosen to appreciate this fact like its some super news jus cos its obama that said it..m not hating buh m jus a little disgusted that we've not learnt to blv in ourselves/.

http://ashirigbakaute.blogspot.com/ said...

It's better to believe and equip urself for a greater future. You never know.

ole .. he want oil money pls kill gej for us ... abe now, thief u want oil,

OIL MONEY GANG.
JOIN.

NA WASH THE GUY IS WASHING PEOPLE . HE SHOULD DENOUNCE USA AND BECOME A NIGERIA .

come earn now .. if u ll survive in that hot sun for one week

all na politics startegy so dat nigerians overseas will vote for him. mscheew n nigerians will be happy with demselves instead of seein wat his aim is. POLITICS!!!!

"The President of the United States of America, Senator Barrack Obama"

Linda - try "proofing" your articles before you post. You generally use the higher of public positions held. So its "President" Obama now, "Senator" has no place in the opening statement...

tosin said...

Ofcs dts wt obamam will say b4 he brings his military to invade our country n chop all our proft...I dnt trust americans...they always av agenda..they will neva help u if they dnt av smetin major to gain

tosin said...

I swear u are speakin my mind ryt nw....americans ALWAYS av an agenda for helpin...like they wud say they is no such thing as a free lunch

Now this is what I love to see/hear. What a better relief. Him no be God but lemme bask in the ambiance of this good news. *shines teeth*

America is only interested in our oil. Nothing more, nothing less. Wise up Nigeria! There's no free lunch.

ok nw ...make them give us free entry into their USA na, make we no need visa take enter, .... na then we go sabi the real story

Jaja said...

I no know say Obama don turn prophet o!!! Issorai!
I answer AMEN to dat o!!
Americans go soon start to dey queue up for Naija embassy in yankee sef!

If Nigeria is set to be such a strategic player in the global economy and the US prez believes so and is committed to bilateral relations, how come he did not show up himself but sent some ambassador? All na OP abeg *yimu*

dis na by force way 4 666 to enter Nigeria cos we r too religious so na our resources wey dey go use catch us

Story! I will believe him when he makes an official trip to Nigeria.

Obama,no jst try wash us.U tink say we b small pikin 4 here, we aint fools.we pray nd work to get better,nonetheless,we dnt wanna deceive ourselves

dosh said...

Ha

Praying and hoping so.
Felt elevated and proud when i heard the speech.

Beware of war, when ever America comes in to help in democratic processes, it always ends more rebels forces and destruction of administration. Nigeria has oil ooo, beware of America, when you dont agree with them they create or finance rebels to cause problems, let learn from other countries. Now am becoming very SUSPICIOUS about the origin and financing of BOKO HARAM.

All am saying is this, if he said Nigeria will be a failed state by 2015, and now the major economic giant, am very suspicious of American intentions.If we fail by 2015 as predicted, what better way for America come in,in the name of democratic liberation and our oil will be pay the price.dont forget that they are one of the highest buyers of Nigerian oil.I smell WAR in the future with American intentions. Now if i make ask,what is the origin of boko haram and who finances them. let us learn from other,IRAQ(alqaida) and the rest of the middle east, not to talk of egypt,Liberia,etc

Deyon said...

I say a very BIG AMEN to that,it shall come to pass in our generation in JESUS name.

ghozieh said...

Believe this or not, America is sponsoring the bombings going on in Nigeria through the 'Bankster criminals' led by the Rothschield family. What are they to gain? (1) to syphon money to the US from Nigeria's security vote and gadgets bought from the US. (2) to always impoverish Africa by inciting wars and crisis. (3) It is also aimed at destroying religious institutions that has kept Nigeria from being a morally bankcrupt society. Imagine a Nigeria where the legislators would enact a law encouraging gay marriage. (4) by way of crisis they increase Nigerian Assylum seekers abroad and thereby using them as modern day slaves.

Why is it that boko haram does not have any clear cut demand in their 'agitation'? All they are asking for are impossible things like islamizing Nigeria. The US has predicted the break up of Nigeria by the year 2015 and they are seriously working towards that. Of which they know if such would happen at all in Nigeria, that would lead to full blown war. Nigeria has so much to lose and the US has so much to gain!

Because the US operate with a secret code in all their activities, it becomes quite difficult for an average person to understand their operations. Though they are being sponsored by well known secret cult of which their leaders and security agent belong to. The US could go to the media to condemn security challenges in Nigeria but in secret finance the bombers. Terrorism was not an issue before 9-11 until the US security agents bombed the trade center to enable US enter Iraq and Afganistan just for economic reasons. For Irag it was for Oil and for Afganistan it was for Opium. They helped Osama form Alqaeda network.

Please if you are in doubt of these things, please google them. Especially the operations of the Rothschield family, Rockerfeller, Morgan Chase and so on. The US Federal Reserve(US kind of central bank) , Bank of England, IMF are not owned by government but by individuals mentioned above.

Actually, the truth is that they are worried about being replaced by the Chinese in Africa. Thars the reason for the comment!

Obama must have been drinking too much of his home-made brew....

The guy wan 2help wit his gademn illuminati