Book Review: Ada's Daughter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 30 April 2012

Book Review: Ada's Daughter

Pain, Exorcism, Molestation, Rape………….. 

Ada's Daughter: an intriguing and heart wrenching story that tells you the true meaning of the word survival.
Ada’s Daughter recounts the life of Nigerian-born Jacqueline Maduneme, who endured and overcame physical and emotional pain and suffering that most would find impossible to process. Jacqueline’s intense account takes us from early age of pain, suffering, rape, molestation by her own father. A gifted storyteller, Jacqueline weaves a spellbinding tale of a journey that is often terrifying, but ultimately redemptive and emancipating.

An incredible read. Please continue...

From an exorcism in a Nigerian graveyard to luxury hotels in Europe, Ada’s Daughter presents scenes of shocking abuse and cruelty interspersed with the foibles of a colorful cast of characters and moments of great joy. An account of how one woman transcended her abusive past and self-destructive behavior to find success in her business and personal life, Ada’s Daughter is also a story about a mother and a daughter, a family, and a culture that has been shrouded in mystery to most of us in the Western world.
Ada’s Daughter is a mesmerizing journey to the heart of what survival means, and creates a new dimension and understanding of what the human spirit can endure and what the soul deeply desires. Jacqueline Maduneme’s story will amaze and inspire any reader. Her victory is one that you will want to celebrate with her and share with others.
Now based in United States of America the author Jacqueline Maduneme is a successful CPA, tax lawyer and entrepreneur
For More information please follow Ada’s daughter on Facebook
To order Call: 08068061645
Excerpts
Chapter 5:       A PLACE OF WRATH AND TEARS

Bejide filled a bucket with water and grabbed soap and a sponge as I followed her into the bathroom. She removed my clothes and began soaping my hair first, and then scooping water with cup, she washed the soap off my head. She then washed my faced and upper body and proceeded to my lower body, where she washed my legs and buttocks, lingering as she sponged my inner thigh with soap.
Then I felt it- she had put her finger inside me. I stiffened and pulled away. “What are you doing?” I asked, I almost in a whisper. I was shocked and confused.
“Lie down,” she commanded, gesturing toward the floor. Her voice was husky and urgent and the look in her eyes had changed. She looked like she would hurt me if I didn’t do as she asked.
“Why? I don’t want to lie on the floor!” I cried. I was mortified. Even though the bathroom was clean- after all, we’d just cleaned it- it was still a public bathroom and in my mind would never be clean.
“Lie on the floor now,” Bejide said. This time she was not asking. She grabbed my shoulders and pushed me down so I was lying on my back on the floor, and then dropped o her knees. I screamed. She put her hand over my mouth and loomed over me.

Available at the following bookstores Nationwide:
Hub media book store
The palms shopping mall lekki, Lagos Nigeria
Terra culture
 Plot 1376, Tiamiyu Savage,Off Ahmadu Bello Way,
Victoria Island, Lagos
Debonair bookshop
 294, Herbert Macaulay Way, Sabo, Yaba Lagos,
Life style book shop
Silverbird galleria Ceddi Plaza, Plot 264, Tafawa Balewa Way, Central Business District, Abuja, Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory,
Chris Nolly Bookstores
Transcorp Hilton, Abuja

39 comments:

yemi said...

Gud bt a total rip-off of Chimamanda Adichie's diction.More power to her elbows cos it takes guts 2write.

A breath of Fresh Air outside our normal Gossip gossip I will surely get mine thanx Linda just like Oliver Twist can we have more of pleaseeeeeee

Sorry linda....I wont read this bk.4get how it ends,I dont need depressing tales.I am getting my fair share from the current state of the nation.

n.t said...

The excerpt is riddled with errors. I hope that's because it was copied. That said, I would love to get my hands on the book, mainly because it deals with issues society prefers to be kept hidden.

I am the biggest fan of African literature. But they are all so tragic and full of the worst kind of tales....rape, corruption, war, sadness, child labour.... Can an African pls write a comedy for once. From ken saro wiwa (lemona's tale)to buchi emecheta ( joys of motherhood)to Ben okri ( you can become suicidal reading his books ) to chimamanda's half a yellow sun to things fall apart to elechi amadi's great ponds of wagaba to Seffi atta's everything good will come. Tragedy tragedy tragedy. Now Ada's daughter. Someone write a comedy for crying out loud.

Asylum seeker hagiography!

kekere said...

Wow! The excerpt was shockin.

Linda's Book Club..

A beg with all this bombings..kidnappings and other atrocities I concur o!!..we need a bit of good cheer..bellyache laughter..thanks in advance..qed!!

Anon 11:44AM what an ignoramus you are! What do you mean by a rip-off of Chimamanda's diction? Diction means choice of words. So Chi holds a patent on a certain arrangement of words or what? Who did Chi rip off? Expand your reading list dude and stop making ignorant criticisms based on the ONE book you've read in your lifetime.

How can we get it in the Uk joor......

The excerpt is phoney sounds like American brain washed African writing. Linda don't let these people mislead you into thinking we are perverts like Americans.

Oma said...

Hw cn we gt it in d US?.....no b only UK

tam said...

Hw cn we gt it in china Nko

justthatgirl said...

Every writer's arrangement of words in his or her book is solely the writer's choice and form's his or her diction so there is no rip off anywhere by anybody guys....on the dude looking for a comedy, go grab Bobo Omotayo's "London Life Lagos Living' atleast it will quench ur hunger a little while we wait for a full fledged comedy.....it is a collection of hilarious short stories.

Linda!! Ɣø̲̣̣UЯ fans comments won't kill M̶̲̅ε̲̣!! I always luk 4ward 2 d comments!! 'Nyways!! Nt interested in d book if it nt investigative or thrillers..

Ms Flintstone said...

Ow can we get it in Iraq....

Uk,US,China;even iraq! Kilode! All ye LIB commenters will not kee me!LMAO

emarketstrategy said...

The UK & US peeps can buy it online, the China peeps should wait for the cheap chinese reprints (coming soon) the Iraq guy's should call China to remind them to make cheap Arabic versions ASAP!

Frenchie said...

It is available on amazon.com & BN.com so all of you international LIB readers you can order it there

Chimamanda's diction!? What the hell does that mean? Pls don't be silly or unecessarily uninformed. There is no such thing as Chimamanda's diction, ko make sense. Chimamanda is great but she doesn't own a style of writing pls. You are not well read, otherwise you would know that some her words were cleverly inspired by even greater writers.

Dee dee said...

If you want a book to make you laugh try 'The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives' by Lola Shoneyin.

Busy Bee said...

Read "I Do Not Come to you by Chance' Hilarious!

Dee dee you took the words from my mouth!! The Secret lives of Baba Segi's wives, great book. "Tajudeen, oloko eshin"

I just noticed the errors too, hopefully that is not the final print. Even at that, this should have been proof read by several individuals before sending excerpts out.
I commend her effort in putting pen to paper and writing

Please is an e-version available?

Try the romance novels by Myne Whitman, very enjoyable.

How can we get it in Syria plsss?

Ada's daughter ȋ̝̊̅§ the most touching african novel I ave ever read,I read d book 5times,gud dictions.Nice one

Chipmunk said...

@ Anonymous April 30, 2012 8:51 PM

Try Adaobi Nwaubani's "I did not come to you by chance" or Lola Shoneyin's "The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's wives"

The themes are still quite serious but the storytelling is done in a such a lighthearted comedic way that will keep you rolling, lol

RC said...

That is a very very ignorant comment. This is exactly the problem, our people think these things(rape,molestation ,incest) don't happen in Nigeria or Africa but they do. I know cause I'm a victim!! Everyone prefers to keep their mouths shut so we don't rock the boat. The westerners are very vocal about these things which is why you think they are perverts. News flash my dear, there are perverts everywhere including our beloved bible thumping Nigeria.
On another note, seems like a good read but too sad for me as I may just cry through the entire book.

Lmfaoooo

Igborian Girl said...

it would be really good if some of these books were available via iTunes

Abi o

OnileEre! said...

How do you rip off someone's diction? Explain pls

OnileEre! said...

How do we get it in afghanistan pls

MINE said...

But seriously aw do we get it @ Togo border...Pls suggestions

wondergal said...

i do understand wat she wrote,it my look like fiction or storytellin 2 some people buh itz real life 2 people like me.....dont need 2 write anymor tales about how my life went coz itz quiet similar....buh i cried when i read a book by a woman who eventually became d 1st woman prime minister of ireland like sum years ago titled Dont eva tell............& 4 dose of u lookin 4 comedy books i guess cowrie books still av some comics in print or get our husband has gone mad again by ola rotimi or wives revolt by jp clark cos una dey show say u pass literature class.....M U M U'S