'How I met and fell in love with my wife' - actor Chidi Mokeme | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 May 2012

'How I met and fell in love with my wife' - actor Chidi Mokeme

Excerpts from his interview with Encomium magazine:

How did you meet your wife?
I met my wife in America in 2008. I had gone for the inauguration of President Obama. There was one of the town hall balls that was organised in his honour by the 'Africa Business Round Table' in Maryland. I was there too. It was there I ran into my wife.

What was the attraction?
First, she's a pretty woman. She's imposing, she stands out. As soon as you see her, you will notice her. I think everything else must have grown with time. You begin to discover who she is. And then the more I discovered, the more I was sure we were going to end up married.

More after the jump...

When, how and where did you propose?
I proposed to her in the states last year. It was a surprise. She came back from work one day, she opened the door and I was there. Candles were all lighted up, I was there inside her house on bended knees asking her 'Would you marry me?'

Some are asking why go for a US-based lady when there are thousands of home-bred ladies looking for husband?
I don't think that is a problem. It doesn't matter where a person in based. You don't marry a woman because of  where she is based. What matters is her personality. And then geographical location absolutely means nothing because that arrangement can be changed by one conversation. It doesn't take anything to relocate. If she would be relocating to Nigeria, we would make our family in Nigeria.

I earlier wanted to ask if Jean would be relocating to Nigeria, leaving her thriving practice in America or would you likely join her?
She is in a business that is required everywhere in the world. There is nowhere in the world you don't require the services of medical practitioners. She's not only a doctor, she's a doctor's doctor. That means she has a doctorate degree in a specialized area of medicine. She has a doctorate degree in pharmacy. You know she can never be out of work.

Is she your dream woman?
We said 'I do' (laughs)

95 comments:

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Awwwww dis is so sweet.

Amarachi said...

Happy married to you both.I think she is lucky to have you as a husband and you are lucky to have her as a wife and a medical practioner too.Happy for the both of you.
Linda our own is coming ok.

Ok now congrats dude I know dis will last Nollywood guys sure knows how to keep their home unlike their female counterparts

Ayo said...

Hmmmmm this interview get as e be. Wish them well but dont think Mokeke is being very sincere, e be like say d bobo get agenda.....just my thots

Congrats my broda!

ohhhh how sweeet. am so happy for Chidi.

Eei Chidi so what did you do - cos this dude everyone thought will forever be a bachelor like Jim Iyke. You did good Jean. We women love you for this. Congrats.

H.bunny said...

i looove the way he answerd all his q's!so mature and direct not like 2face with his 'nobody special pass' comment!real man talking jor!congrats

Congrats chidi.... I am glad you feel this way abt her..makes me just want to tk mine to the alter rightaway

I tink they are made 4 each other. May God keep them

Ugo Boss™✅ said...

Happy married Life. Chidi .....

Honestly. Its all about the girl's profession and the fact that she is a doctor and can work anywhere. Chidi has seen paymaster o!

floricks said...

Sweet... Dey look so good together... I wish them a happy married life

hansel praise said...

linda will you marry me. location does not matter

aww sweet!Happy Married Life... #sorrytothebrokenhearts#

women endeavour to have something doing so that a man will take you more seriously

Nia Says said...

Anna Macaulay I hope you get to read this. This is how a man talks about the woman he wants to spend the rest of his life with. When he has nothing to say about why he is with you, you better watch out.

Laffffffing my yansh off. Tuface is an idiot.

Wishing u a wonderful home, Congrats Chidi.

Jesse's wife said...

Tubaba i hope you are reading this and taking notes!!! i like his answers very true distance does not really matter in a relationship as long as the interested parties communicate and are willing to work it out

Myne said...

Lovely one, wish them all the best!

BLOGWIFE (verified account) said...

Chidi abeg stay in America with your wife she wouldn't earn a quarter of what she is making in Naija plus you can always fly to naija to shoot your movies and fly back home to her...nice interview

dosh said...

i like their pair...

Which kin kiss be dis? R dey truly in love

yeah he is matured, tuface hope you learn from Chidi...

Hephzibah said...

Tu-baba!! Tu-face!! Ididia!!! Shebi you have seen how men-in-love reply to questions?? 'Nobody special pass'..still can't get over that line.

Liar! Liar! The inauguration of Barack Obama took place in 2009. The campaign organisation never took part in anything organised by non-Americans so your African Business Town Hall, or whatever you call it can't be legit and obviously had nothing to do with Senator Obama or President Elect Obama or President Obama.

Still cool that this event brought you both together. But there's nothing like a doctor's doctor. Either you are a doctor, or you are not. What is your wife? A pharmacist or a medical doctor? Or she answers dr because of her Ph.D. It's better to be clear on this.

As for she relocating to Nigeria. Bad advice! Very terrible idea! Chidi, pack up your sex toy business. I can't recall when last you got an acting or TV hosting gig and hit the states. Biko. The suffering in Nigeria is too much.

Chidi nna, happy married life. She must be very proud of you as you are of her. Love the way you answered the questions. Congrats to you guys.

candles were *lit*

God bless d beautiful couple.....

Save for candles all "lit" not lighted up, this was quite an impressive interview(nigerians can ask funny questions sha, which one is home-bred women again)? Lol. Jean sure is a catch and in faraway US, chidi can be called one too(we don see am finish for naija), wish them both a marriage filled with joy, love and blessings. Its always refreshing to see a couple so wonderfully express their love.

Even though "nobody special pass" 2face did well serenading annie last night. Just wished they'd kissed and not hugged last night. The thing with dencia and the 3 mammywaters/strippers was rather a stupid move on his part. Lack lustre performance IMO

Blak kofee

mama somtee said...

i see real love , i trust you would try your very best to sustain it , wishing you God's guardian as you thread through the path.

Mz attention said...

Happy 4 u chidi

lovely romantic story. congrats guys. but chidi pls dont supercheat on her especially with the abundance of geriatric ladies available.

this interviewer get as he be

FYI, a doctorate in pharmacy here basically means shes a pharmacist not a medical doctor. You have have earn a doctorate in pharmacy to practice as such in the US.

Nice.

But which one is doctor's doctor? And is she an MD or a pharmacist? If she has a PharmD then she is not a medical doctor.

is she a pharmacist (with a doctorate) or a medical doctor? i'm confused.

Rockstar said...

A doctor's doctor indeed. It's so obvious you are so so proud your wife's achievement.Nice one mate.Nothing like being with a woman you have absolute respect for and can also be very proud of.
Dude, you chose well!

Lol!!!

*coughs*happy for them both

Sasha Fierce! said...

Lesson from this ladies: A very smart,focused woman knows that she doesn't need to open her legs to reach her goals in life, or be selfish and greedy.Just like Linda Ikeji who has been giving her life a decent positive meaning through her blog, I challenge all of you naija ladies to step up your game and be counted.It's hard-work, but trust me,You will be respected among your peers.Men will adore you,fear you and above all respect and be loyal to you.Naija ladies, stand up and take control of your lives and stop depending on men for everything.May all your men speak and hold you in high esteem.
Well done Chidi.You have no choice but to respect your wife for she has worked so hard to give her life a positive meaning.G'luck.

dont mind tuface, tuface hope you learn from Chidi...

This is so sweet!may God bless ur union.@ ayo,u shldn't b pessimistic abt Chidi,4rm dis interview,u will kn dat sincerely Chidi is in love,n their marriage is made 4rm heaven.keep up d good wrk Linda!!!

At last, Chidi has settled down after all his running around from pillar to post... Unlike , Jim Iyke that still hasn't found his missing rib

Awwww....... Hw nice
i wish you both d best

ChiChiLuv said...

what is up with her bird cage veil? They look happy together, I wish them well. Chidi, you did well. Madam Jane, you did well. Please don't mistreat his child o, be a great stepmother and God will bless you. The mistake women make when they marry a man with a child is to mistreat the child, a marriage will come and go but a man's child will forever be his.

Wishing him a happy married life

Onyema Patrick said...

Fine Gal with dimples..... i am a sucker for dimples...
And yeah, chidi made a very wise choice. Jean looks very original and natural. There is no fake air around her, she does not have to prove anything to anybody like some of our naija ladies in the Uk and US always do.
Plus she is not a liability, Chidi nwanna e, married an asset. Guy man, it was worth the wait. Nothin like marrying a strong woman that you dont have to worry about fitting in all the time....

Chidi Mokeme after sampling all the Ladies and super MamaS!

Like d way he ans the questions.HML

Felix said...

To my Man Happy Married Life, I Wish you All The Best.

Awwwwwww......... Story that touch *mschewww* after u don collabo half the babes for naija finish...rme........ Anyway happy married life

Na wa for people like dis Ayo o.wat agenda the guy get? am sure u r just beefin d guy.Na u d guy 4 marry?becos am sure u r a lady with your tone of jealously like this.u beta face ur studies so u can b doctor of doctor too.may b at least one celebrity will marry u too. Mcsheeeew.

I wish d couple happy married life. I think d doctor is lucky to ve hitched him,after all he is handsome and a celebrity at dat.i also suspect d marriage will last long bcos being American oriented she wont be bothered by gossips.

"You know she can never be out of work".....hmmmmmmmmm....*checking Chidi's past records with women that are never out of work*faints*...HML sha

#Queeny!

joan said...

Aawwwww u see sweet guy, talks abt d wife with respect and love. Unlike no one special pass. Lwkmd

GlamNotchApparels said...

cool interview. wish them a wonderful married life.

diva said...

this is a wake up call to all the women that think dey can win good men's hearts with their flashy looks. Personality speaks louder than vanity. I'm glad more and more men are waking up to the fact that it is the inner feature that matters greatly. the woman is simple and yet she has won a man so worthwhile. me, i cannot wait to meet my own price charming. its abt time

NYC-1 says: Inasmuch as I wish them a happy married life, your response to the interview were insincere and elusive. First, you should say that you were in Washington DC during the inauguration and hence attended. Your reply suggests that America invited you to attend the inauguration. Who Are You that America should invite to attend the inauguration? Second, one can deduct that the inauguration has nothing to do with your meeting your future wife. Third, don't try to sensationalize stories by saying ... Simply say that you have a spare key to her home, thus decided to surprise her. The only way your story will add up is if she lives with her family or friend who know you and gave you access to her apartment/home. Finally, you were asked if you will relocate to the U.S. or she will come back to Nigeria. Why divert to her profession? Didn't you discuss your place of settlement b4 tying the knot? Perhaps, the question was too private for you to tell your fans? What is the big deal? Least I forget, what is doctors doctor? You sounded childish and inadequate. Why not simply say she has a PhD in ...

The world is now a Global Village so stop bamboozling your fans, its old fashion. Say the truth and no one will be able to refute it*** Why wed close to a Park, and call it a Castle; Why request a photo shot with Rev. Sharpton in a Church and say it was a political meeting?

And all ur long grammar is 4 wat na

Janded said...

lol. Who has time to be speaking all this bad grammar? You had some point but you talked too much and sounded like a hater.

lool! at his last answer..abi oh? lyk duh!!

Chidi Olodo! Thank God one of you has brains. a Pharmacist is not a doctor.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

@NYC-1..it's the Naijja way o!!..everything has to be embellished..just as well he didn't mention the Designer gear he wore to the Ball..the Obama segment..was so out of context!!..congrats still..ko ezy!!..
Yes oh!!..men eventually settle with this type of women..

Doctor's doctor definitely wasn't the right phrase to use but you can tell he's very proud of her accomplishments.

For those who are confused, this chic has 2 doctorate degrees. She got her PharmD ( doctorate in pharmacy) and later went back to medical school to get her MD. So she's both a doctor and a pharmacist. I'm sure she's the best thing thats happened to him in a while...na real jackpot.

Mrs F said...

@Nia Says, Madam adviser, so if Tu Face decides not to discuss what he sees in his woman, she shld run abi? Piont of correction from an experienced married woman, i would rather my man not discuss what he see in me to the public! Men that disclose too much about their partners ARE people you should BEWARE of. They are lots of vultures out there, ready to destroy a good thing. Less talk, the better

She studied phamacy and later went to school to study medicine and is practising as a doctor. Analyst

Sasha Fierce! said...

I am 24 yrs old.I completely ADMIRE THIS LADY. Please how long does it take to be a Doctor of Pharmacy in the US? And also, how long does it take to go back to Med Sch after obtaining my DPharm to be a doctor (GP)?Can I achieve all these before am 38?I want to be a doctor's doctor.If she can do it,I and other serious minded ladies out there can do it.This is so empowering.Ladies lets go.

I tot I was the only one who sensed that. Nigerian guys!!!! Na wah!!! There must be something attached to you (beauty aside) to make them propose. Congrats all the same.....Meggy!

OMG!!!! Can't stop laughing at ur comment! So so true all the way and so funny too. Lol....Meggy!

I second that! ....Meggy!

All the long grammar made sense! Maybe u are too daft to know the diff btw a true story and a fiction!

Makes sense but omo she must sabi school well well to get pharmMD and MD

Men like these make Tuface Innocent Idibia loook stupid and women like Jean make all of tuface idibia's concubine feel ripped off!

A medical degree is not a Ph.D.

Mr or miss Google America. We hear u.

Please find something to do with ur life. See how u have dissected someone's interview. Someone u don't know and who doesn't know/care abt ur existence. Why can't u just wish ppl well instead of desperately looking for negatives? U sound soo bitter. Abeg, go keep urself busy and get happy, biko

babeontop said...

Don't mind Chidi and his well intentioned bragging. Naija men mentality. It is called Pharm D., which is an extra year after pharmacy school. No biggie. Doctor of doctors ni...

Adaeze said...

She has a doctorate in pharm (pharmD) and went back to med Schl and got her MD, and apparently is in anesthesiology. He is obviously proud of his wife hence his comment, though he should have done a better job clarifying.

@babeontop, hope you have a pharmD which is why you said no biggie. Hate when I see ppl talking about stuff because they know someone who is in it, that doesn't make it easy. I've an MD degree, US trained, and can say I give her enough prop jare as a colleague. Plus being an anesthesiologist, isn't as easy as you think, not when you are the patient on the OR table who codes and passes away during surgery!

Best wishes to the newlyweds.

I agree

Onyema Patrick said...

Fine Gal with dimples..... i am a sucker for dimples...
And yeah, chidi made a very wise choice. Jean looks very original and natural. There is no fake air around her, she does not have to prove anything to anybody like some of our naija ladies in the Uk and US always do.
Plus she is not a liability, Chidi nwanna e, married an asset. Guy man, it was worth the wait. Nothin like marrying a strong woman that you dont have to worry about fitting in all the time....

Nana said...

woooow!! i wish u the very best in ur marriage Mr. and Mrs. Chidi Mokeme; love is indeed beautiful

Abi o..
Nothing like doctors doctor... ignorance
She's no pharmacist n medical doctor..
Guess she got PharmD...hence reason she's called doctor..
Else she's full time doctor and part time perfect pharmacist..

Exactly...
PharmD...is likely unknown to many..
Its simply a doctorate degree after pharmacy program n its the basic in US for pharmacist..

Those of us tha don't have pharmD, MD,MA,MS and common BS and BA can go and jump int the lagoon abi?? LOL!! NOT knocking anyone down or anything but the way some of you NIgerians go on and on about degrees, you would think that's the determinant factor to success and great quality of life or even a good marriage. For all we know Chidi could be up to his old tricks of being with women for their money or the gilr could just be fascinated by his nollywood celebrity and fell mugu. LOL! That said, let's just wish the couple Happy Married life and keep it moving abeg...on to Tonto Dike's wedding planning. Linda pls make sure you deliver the inside scoop on that one o

May be Chidi should have been clearer, but Jean is a Pharmacist (Pharm D) who went on to become a Medical Doctor. I guess that's what he meant by "doctor's doctor"

She is an awesome lady with a good heart. Happy married life to both.

congrats

yemmykiss said...

congrats chidi

Chidi is obviously over the heels in love with her, especially her accomplishment. She's definitely a pretty woman.

LOL @ Doctor's doctor. I love how Nigerians express themselves, even when it's not meant to be funny, it will still make you laugh. I'm doing the same thing she did. I'm a pharmacist but currently in medical school, which is what few pharmacists eventually do. I guess, for more prestige. But for me, I initially wanted to be a MD, the long years of residency discouraged me. After working as a pharmacist, I figured this is not what I want to do. So, here I am.

Oh gosh, Naijas are so critical. Nothing wrong with him mentioning Obama's inauguration. Okay, he got his dates mixed up, so what. I wish them the best, beautiful couple.

Nigerians too dey like titles.doctors doctor.if she is a doctor she wouldn't want to relocate to naija at all.this is another long distance marriage like ini edo's .wetin happen to dat girl sef.na after she reach menopause she go know say she suppose live with her husband.i bet the guy never finish with his ex wife divorce and the paper work

MY VIEW said...

@Sasha fierce...It is absolutely possible if you have the brain. You get into the university at age eighteen(18),get into a pharm D program,which is 6 years. You graduate at 24. May be you practice for one year.Then you are 25years. You go to medical school, for three years.That makes you 28years.Then, you do another three years of residency.While doing your residency, you are being payed some salary.At the end of that residency, you are 31 years.
Some people who are in a gifted program in high school, can enter the university at 14 or 15years. That means they will even graduate before 31. Everything boils down to hard work, determination and intelligence.
Good Luck!

MINE said...

HML to thenewl y weds

Lucky Chidi. Got married to a beauty with brains. That's the way to go!!

Women, you can do it yourself. You don't have to lie on your back to receive money from any ass....... Happy Married Life to both of them.

As in ehn....I'm telling you

Wondеrful beаt ! Ӏ wοuld like tο apρrеntісе whilst yοu аmenԁ уоur web site, how could i subѕcrіbe for a weblog wеbѕіte?

The аccount aideԁ mе a applісable deal.
I had been a littlе bit acquainted of thіs your bгoadcast proѵіded ѕhinу
clear idea
My homepage : challenge jackpot 247