Former Super Eagles Striker Rashidi Yekini Dies at 48 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 May 2012

Former Super Eagles Striker Rashidi Yekini Dies at 48

One of the greatest players Nigeria ever had, Rashidi Yekini, is dead. The two-time African Footballer of the Year died this evening in Kwara after a prolonged illness. He was just 48 years old. Yekini was Nigeria's national team highest/record goal scorer, scoring 37 goals in 58 appearances.

He's survived by two children. So so sad. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

94 comments:

Frenchie said...

May his soul RIP! This is shocking he was still young.

Amen.

kween said...

Oh no.. I was hoping it would turn out to be a rumor.. How sad!! May his soul rest in perfect peace ♥♥♥

Rip...he's quite young...

Kinzua said...

What??!! Damn!!

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Ok dis is rili rili sad,RIP Rasheed Yekini*sad face*

Yekini Goal. Omashe. May he RIP.

Duchess___ope said...

:O , sooooo sad. May his soul RIP

Emmanuel said...

Rest in Peace....u will not ßε̲̣ forgotten

May his soul RIP

Joshua-Chigbo said...

... Reli sad... Very unfortunate, he was one reli a good player! Rest in peace

Emtrica said...

Oh dear... so sad! R.I.P Yekini.

Olawande Ayewalehinmi said...

so pathetic, jst 48, so so sad

there goes another of nigeria's star. omo iya alamola, may his soul rest in peace.Amen

And all along we never heard of his illness or NFA even helping out in terms of fund, oga ooo there can never be anyone one like him, RIP Rashid, I will miss u even if Nigeria wont

I pray for his soul to rest in peace and i pray to the Almighty Lord to give the family courage,strength and support.. So sad!!

Oh my!!! I saw him even spoke with him sometime last year at the gate way stadium Abeokuta, he wasn't looking too well btw. This is so sad, may his soul rest in perfect peace. Pray that the good lord grant his wife and family the fortitude to bear this irreparable loss, Amen.....Meggy!

ifeoma said...

this is such a bad and sad news. 48 is too young to die. i hope there was no money problem. RIP. I wish u had stayed much longer.

ugo frank said...

RIP Rashidi Yekini

So sad, may his ever winning soul win favour in the sight of God and rest in perfect peace Amen Adieu a patroit

Cynthia said...

Sad. May he rest in the bossom of the Lord.

May His soul Rest in Perfect Peace. Amen!!

Danny King said...

Na wa ooo.. RIP Rashidi Yekini. O dunmi gan..

may his soul RIP.

mcfussion said...

This is truly very sad i can't believe it kai life...!

Oversabi Carrot said...

Wow! Such an important event n not a single comment? Anywayz we appreciate wat he did for our country, may his gentle/skillful soul rest in peace. Amen! (Walus dis post is for u)

RIP Rashidi Yekini (born 23 October 1963)
was a Nigerian retired footballer who played
as a striker. He scored Nigeria's first goal in a
FIFA World Cup. He died on 4 May 2012.
Yekini was born in Kaduna. After starting his
professional career in the Nigerian league, he
moved to Côte d'Ivoire to play for Africa
Sports National. From there he went to
Portugal and Vitória de Setúbal, where he
experienced his most memorable years,
eventually becoming the Portuguese first
division's top scorer, in 1993–94, as his
performances (32 matches, 34 goals) earned
him the title of African Footballer of the Year
in 1993, the first ever from the nation.
In the 1994 summer, Yekini was bought by
Olympiacos FC, but did not get along with
teammates and left. His career never really
got back on track, not even upon a return to
Setúbal, which happened after another
unassuming spell, in La Liga with Sporting de
Gijón. He successively played with FC Zürich,
Club Athlétique Bizertin and Al-Shabab Riyadh,
before rejoining Africa Sports. In 2003, at 39,
he returned to the Nigerian championship
with Julius Berger FC.
In 2005, 41-year old Yekini made a short
comeback, moving alongside former national
teammate Mobi Oparaku to Gateway FC.
Scoring 37 goals for Nigeria's national side in
58 appearances,[1] Yekini is the national
record goalscorer. He was part of the team
that participated in the 1994 FIFA World Cup
(where he scored Nigeria's first-ever goal in a
World Cup, in a 3–0 win against Bulgaria) and
the 1998 World Cup.
Additionally, Yekini also helped the Super
Eagles win the 1994 Africa Cup of Nations,
where he also topped the goal charts, and
participated at Olympic level, in Seoul
1988...... This is the Rashidi Yekini whom close
sources said he took ill and Nigerian
Government never came to his aid. Who said
" the labour of our heroes past shall never be
in vain"????? Phil Mike Paku.

Ameen Ya Rabbi.

May his soul rest in peace.

Rest in Perfect Peace Yekini. Rest in eternal glory. Amen.

Its so sad.just pray that the govt will assist our sports men and women

AKT PRINCE said...

AKT PRINCE....Yakini scored Nigeria FIRST WORLD CUP GOAL US 94, MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE. AMEN.

RIP Rasheed Yekini Amen. But lighter mood,Pls iss dat his real age or football age? Jusst curious oh! Don't crucify me

AJ from England said...

I am so sad about this news. Nigeria is the only country i know in the world that one would serve and never cared for while old or in retirement. Some people even steal people's retirement benefits like police pension fund.
Awwww poor Yekini... first world cup goial, highest goal scorer, two time african footballer of the year all for nigeria and yet was left with nothing in old age. You have paid your dues!!!!!go rest in peace 'YAK' Can the government now cater for the 2 kids he left behind ??

Kwase said...

God rest ur soul Rashidi Yekini & continue to take care of the family u left behind. Rip

Should i believe this or not?no no,can,t believe it for now,,,
but let me ask ooo?where was this all write up about him since he was suffering?he was suffering and now death,,,so what next?great celebrations or what?i respect my good friend from vienna who cried out about majek fashak,,which his present photos with okoacha jay jay,soon look nice,,
if the great men of nigeria did,t fight against this,,,,wah ,,then who will fight?/
medias or one of them will come out and fight?before supports?IF SO RIP,,,

Str8FrmDaHips said...

What a Legend..what a way for Nigeria to treat it's heroes..those set of players gave more thrill.. happiness and pride to millions of 9jas home and abroad much more than those wanting hero worship.. boasting..showing off the money they stole from the Treasury and never worked for..plus the useless ineffective NFA another bane of corruption!!..R.I.P

Requiescat In Pace. One of the greatest players we ever had

Str8FrmDaHips said...

What a country!!..people say..ask not what your country can do 4 u..not in 9jas case..look at what Dude did when he put on that Green-White-Green jersey..
People can be so silly..of what relevance would his football age be..now that he's dead..u know there's a saying if u got nothing sensible to say..u know what to do!!

It really baffles me how a country such as ours fails to recognise most of our heroes and legends. He made a remarkable difference in the entire history of football with that outstanding turn-around goal in the 1994 FIFA World Cup. How did his condition come to this? Whatever happened to 'the labours of our heroes past shall never be in vain'? *Sighs* R.I.P Net grabber!

so sad RIP.WONU

WONU said...

so sad RIP.WONU

RIP Yekini.

chuksomoyibo said...

oh no. this is very bad news. He was only 8 years older than i am. how could he die. seriously we need to start taking care of our health in naija. we take a lot for granted. RIP Yeko. you made naija proud at some point in your life.

Rest in peace yekini...

Rashidi YekinG. Go in peace. If Nigeria don't like you, I love you

Yekini is/was older than 48. He was 45 at the 1998 worldcup in france. RIP!! Alhaji

Blue said...

What a shame?

He was quite young.Gt ur tenses right fr God's sake.

Who said
the labours of our heroes past shall never be
in vain?liars,,iam very much happy that our presents leaders are seeing all today,,,
president do well,,,governor,do well,,,senators do well,,,chairman,,,do well,,,
becos ur name must be remember as emeka ojukwu today,,,i must tell all my children unborn about emeka ojukwu,,,heros are a hero,,,RIP,,nigeria government did not care,,but GOD cares,,

Omg! This is sad! May his soul rest in perfect peace. Amen We will missed you!!!

So sad wat killed him

Olu-omo of d source said...

Rest in peace 'Dangling'!

its a shame, when rashidi yekini needed the nation most in his time of need, d nation deserted him. i learnt that for the past 10Yyrs he has been seriously sick but our govt, football administrators, ex players gave him a cold shoulder. yekini died in penury. i weep for this nation our heroes and icon are always neglected. adieu yekini!!!!

Dis is so sad! Jes lost an uncle four days ago now dis? May his soul rest in perfect peace!

Sunny said...

Shame on nigeria that have no welfare for its people after using them.. This Legendary is said to be walking the street bare footed suffering depression, hallucination and all, how disgraceful is that to the Nigeria govt. Shame on all those responsible...W̶̲̥̅̊ªª†̥ a Nation..Its so useless serving D̶̲̥̅̊i̶̲̥̅̊s Nation..

wow!!!! that's crazy...if you all don't mind me asking...is he the one that had some mental issues in Ibadan or something like that? idk but he might have been frustrated or the effect of years of playing might have gotten him. The Lord will grant him eternal rest...Amen

No one knew he was I'll. RIP

Alaran Wonder said...

KING of Goals, RIP. Naija loves u.

floricks said...

RIP...:(

Loisy said...

Linda, wetin kill am? Abi d sickness no get name? I wanna know.

Life is short... I could still remember when he scored the first naija world cup Goal.... Nigeria enjoyed him more than he did of nigeria.... May his soul rest in perfect peace....

sad said...

This is not good news. Just horridly sad. Chei....rest in peace. I remember him sooo well. His name, Jay Jay Okocha, Mudashiru Lawal,Henry Nwosu, Fatai Atere, Sunday Oliseh, Tribo West and Mutiu Adepoju will always have deeply rooted meaning to me in naija soccer. Just sad. RIP

Kunle said...

'Present Nigeria is not a country you can sacrifice ƒor but rather go to where you will be much appreciated or seek partnership.' A friend once told me this and he analyse it scientifically to a greater precision. The govt/leader are so daft that they don't have any STeady program ƒor our hero and heroines. People that have brought glory and reputation to this country in any amount. I can't expect Mikel Obi to die on Nigeria match as he said in recent time ƒor his club side Chelsea. What a message they are passing to other prospective sport men/women. Even though i lack information about whether govt has assist him or not, i strongly believe they did nothing. Even if it worth us donating ƒor him,he has a name and a lot would love to save this man life no matter the health complication which i believe is treatable or manageable. I am really sad ƒor Nigeria govt/leader. Little things like this bring blessing(unforeseen circumstances to the nation). We must change from this ignorant and evil act. Truly so sad.

Rashidi Yekini, May your soul rest in perfect peace and my condolences to those he left behind.

Rip yekini

nnennai said...

Aegoli Gold. wrote:

...My Naija govt. knws hw to give a "befitting" burial. Died wretched, buried in -N-1Milllion casket. I rmb when it was reported smtime last yr that Yekini was roaming d streets of Ibadan. Watch out 4 his 3-day burial parade filled with pomp and pageantry, sponsored by d Fed. Govt/ NFF...smh***

may his soul rest in perfect peace of the lord,AMEN!

...... said...

Really really sad and some idiot mentioned him not long ago on another one of lindas post. Rip sir

OSE said...

r.i.p. omg i feel so sad,God luvz him best

Why is everyone asking why the government did nothing to help Yekini??? What about Yekini's old team mates- what did they do to help him out??? What did he do with all that money he earned??? I am so tired of the constant criticism levelled agaisnt our government, though I am not supporter of the corrupt politicians currently ruling over us at the moment. Why can't Nigerians do something for themselves without constantly blaming the government- Nigerians are the most negative and laziest people in the world. You have to understand by now that the government owes you nothing- especially if you yourself are not ready to contribute your own quota. I sometimes doubt whether Nigeria is even ripe for democracy. In anycase, as I understand it, Yekini was a goner before he died, having lost his mind and succumbed to the ravages of mental illness, of which we as a society must do something to combat

Ernest said...

May God bless and keep ur soul....Rashidi Yekini. U rilli payed ur dues for Naija and the Lord will grant u an eternal reward in his heavenly kingdom. Adieu!!!.

Ernest said...

Rest in Peace Yekini.....U will forever be remembered.

Ernest said...

May God bless and keep ur soul....Rashidi Yekini. U rilli payed ur dues for Naija and the Lord will grant u an eternal reward in his heavenly kingdom. Adieu!!!.

I picked interest in football after seen the exceptional skills he display in a match against cote divoire 1994 in nations cup

May his soul rest in peace.

linda is it true ,was he mad

This a heartbreak news! Still can't believe Yekini is no more... Gosh, it hurt. I pray dat God will console, protect, guide and be his wife and kids. Rest in PEACE Rashidi...

LALICIOUS said...

Arise O' compatriot
Nigeria scored 3 goals
Against d Bulgaria
Yekini scored first goal
RIP Mr Yekini,,,u made us proud

LyricalMessiah said...

I wonder why Nigerian government neglect pple who sacrificed for them in time of need...You are a Hero Yekini...RIP

So sad. I remember how I used to watch him when I was younger. That's when I started getting into football. May he RIP

CHI

rest in d bossom of d lord

A-BABA said...

LINDA LUV, NO POSTS FOR TODAY? VISITED UR BLOG MORE THAN I HAVE DONE MY KITCHEN! OR IS THE 'BORED FLU' CATCHING UP WITH YOU TOO??

RIP!! Rasihidi,we gonna miss u,buh i belief GOD luvz u most....crying....*sobbing*

Cynthia said...

Too bad. Its appointed unto man to die once...........There is time to live and time to die...........may he rest in peace and like a commenter said, i hope he also scored goals in the heart of his God.

Vikkie said...

This is so so sad, i am feeling so sad right now, well wat can we say.......may his soul rest in perfect peace

"@PatObahiagbon: That the intrepid Rashid Yekini acquiesced to demise owing to mental decrepitude is insouciance against heroism. Deus dona eius anima pacem" #:-s.

may his soul rest in peace when the pot bellied sensless rulers were giving out award they did not remember a man that has bought so much honour to the country in the past so sad

Ayolekan said...

It's exactly two years today that musa yaradua left us...A national figure at that but I wonder how soon Nigeria has forgotten him... 2weeks ago was Dagrin's two years remembrance he was celebrated again all over the country... This is as a result of how Nigeria people often forget and treat our national heroes.. Most of our national heroes and heroin are often neglected and abandoned. Taiwo Akinkumi who designed the national flag died in penury and uncelebrated,Ajala who traveled all over the world died wretched also Rashidi Yekini who just passed away today has been in what I describe a total abandonment. Yekini is one of the few people that did exemptionally well in Nigeria football, Majeek Fashek is another example out of numerous which has been totally abadoned..

wow. terribly sad news..RIP. You represented naija well. lol@ the person who typed Honorable "Obhia-tabon's" comment on yekini's demise

Its so sad to hear of his death.I can remember his spectacular opening goal at the 94 world cup even though I was only eight then. my friends and I could not stop describing the accuracy of that goal for days. Its only in countries like ours that national heroes are forgotten once they've lost their shine .May Allah accept your soul; Rashidi Yekini, you were truly great !

OAU Admission said...

Rumour has it that he was seen last year walking the street bare footed. Is it worth suffering for nigeria? The answer is a big NO! Rest in Peace Sir.
We will miss you! I wish someone close to you have started a fund raising to help eliminate any money problem.. We Nigerians Love you.

Oh dear. Rest in peace.

I guess u don't know what "'" does to a sentence.
He's..could be "He is..." or "He was..."
Olodo rabata...

Haruna ibraheem said...

may his soul rest in perfect peace,He so nice to me,is really a good man,he has help me so many time,i love you,i will be always pray for you,i am so shock.