Tony Elumelu's mother rescued from kidnappers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 29 April 2012

Tony Elumelu's mother rescued from kidnappers

The 80 year old mother of former UBA GMD, Tony Elumelu, has been rescued  from kidnappers who took her from her farm in Delta State on Monday April 23. Madam Suzanne Elumelu was in captivity for four days

A statement from the Elumelu family:
We are most grateful to the Federal Government, the Delta State Government and the respective law enforcement agencies for their professionalism, diligence and bravery which led to her rescue. The family wishes to thank Nigerians and friends from around the world for the unprecedented outpouring of concern, solidarity, love and prayers during the harrowing ordeal.

41 comments:

Thank God.

Farm!!!!! Az rich Az her kidz re??? Na wa

SOLUTIONWAP™ FOR MOBILE said...

Kidnapping case in Nigeria. Na wa o... Na so so kidnap, killing matter full my blog too... God go helep us 4rm dis yeye ppl.. Sorry.. Gud ppl.. Make dem no com kidnap me...lol

Thank God she is safe.

Fatimah said...

*yimu* rescue or ransom duly paid?

Abi ohh no b small tin ohh, farm ke? Hmmmmm

And whoever said farming signifies poverty. Aje pako like u. Farming has made some pple very independent and stronger health wise

Farming is actually very therapeutic to our grand parents. ., her own kind of fun May not come from what we see as enjoyments ... Thank
God for her safe return......

Pls naigrians, u need 2 wake up from ur slumber, who told u tht farming signifies poverty, thts y so many of us are lavishing in poverty. Thank God 4 her safe return.

its dat farming dat has kept d woman dat old and still bouncing...a lagos contemporary will be long dead.

Professor X said...

A lot of these old people do not like to leave the 'comfort' they've known all their lives. Bring them to civilisation as we know it and 3days later they're crying to go back to the village and firewood. Obafemi Martins mom died at her house in Orile. As rich as her son is, she refused to leave that house. So do not blame her kids. Its the life she knows. And I bet despite the kidnap, she'll be back at that farm in a week's time.

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Thank God.

QF
Ws d ransom paid? 10k God for her return

Who's saying that farming signifies poverty? That's our granny's gym pls, it keeps them strong & healthy.

Keyzmen said...

elumelu hw much did u pay pls...

Dat she farms doesn't mean she returns to a hut in the evening........

Rescued how?
Incomplete tori, shioooooo
'ransome paid' they mean!

and wats wrong in farming? People and their shallow minds..smh.. Thank God for her safe release

My thoughts exactly!

Daniel Akobi said...

Some people are so daft! Their idea of enjoyment is to sleep and eat all day, try it at that age or even at your young age if you have money and see how fast you waste.

Farming is a respectable job. It depends on the scale it's being done.

If d security rescue her why can't they published d faces of d kidnappers to d general public to c, hmmmm who is fooling who. D youth u refuse to create employment for are busy terorising us, may God deliver us.

Languishing mumu...

mama somtee said...

Mama aaabeg follow our children back to lagos oooh.

Lagos will deport her, what's their contribution to lagos, who asked them nt to develop their region while in office sitting on billions of dollars investment. How many graduate did he employ frm delta and how many youth enjoy scholarship frm him and what did he return to d society where he comes frm.how many hut did he tranform to mordern houses under mortgage planning, they are only interested in lekki ikoyi. Whatever u sow u shall reap. A society dat can provide for d poor definitely cannot secure d few rich.

D truth is bitter, whatever u sow shall u reap. Omo to Ni Iya oni su won't sleep as well. Create a factory and kp dis kids off d street. An idle hand is d devils workshop, wen u help Nigeria u ar helping urself.

I have been to dat woman's house in the villa, its a mansion. Farming doesn't mean she carries hoe herself, pls take note. Mstchwww !

Linda abeg we no wan see tony pix.... Show us d old woman dem kidnap naa ejoor...

Jay O said...

Why should mama run away from her home in the village? Thank God she is safe. Why kidnap an 80 yr old woman, regardless of who her son is? That money that you will chop on her head, will it save your life, when you appear on the day of judgement!

ransom paid,my dear
They try to butter it up......but we know better!

Where are the kidnappers, lets see them faces....who's fooling who. Tony paid up period!, but you got your mum safe n sound.

As long as kidnappers target the right folks....solidarity forever.

ugo frank said...

Exactly, ransom duly paid on code

Thank God!

Very stupid comment! And who are the right folks? Evil is Evil no matter the perpetrators. No worry, u r next on line.

Whatever scale, its a very honourable job

Lmao @ 'granny's gym'. ........so true

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Trolololololol

cynosure faces said...

80! farm!......mr tony take god care of ur mum oh!

Some people think farming signifies carrying hoe, cuttlass, basin and trekking 10 miles to the farm. A farm could be in your house. It could be a fish farm, turkey farm, ostrich farm, poultry farm. It can be a mechanised farm. So dumb ass coconut headed piglets thinks the worst when they heard she was kidnapped in her farm. Mtcheeeeew narrow minded blind bats. kk

niyi said...

What a big relief to know the Matriarch of the Elumelu's is now safe and back with her family. I met this woman exactly a decade ago, she was so humble, down to earth and God blessed her with a beautiful unblemished radiant skin - even at her age at the time. She'd been shopping in Balogun/Idumota and needed to come into the bank Branch, but got bounced by the security as it was past 4pm. She took it calmly, and stood by the gate perspiring heavily in the hot sun. I was just heading back into the branch when i saw her, and approached her to ask if i could be of any assistance - i instantly recognised her as TOE's mother as i'd seen a family pix of the Elumelu's as a patient of TOE's wife at a clinic, and arranged for her to be allowed in to the branch. This woman resisted all my entreaties to have her sit in the Business manager's office or one of the airconditioned rooms but rather preferred to wait quietly in one corner of a corridor. I followed up on her little transaction, walked her to her car and advised her driver to make more of an effort to assist her next time. No one else knew who she was apart from the BM.