Bomb Blast in Taraba State this morning. 10 confirmed dead | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 30 April 2012

Bomb Blast in Taraba State this morning. 10 confirmed dead

An explosion has been reported in Jalingo, capital of Taraba State. The incident occurred near government offices in the city. Parts of the finance ministry were affected by the explosion.

The explosion which occurred about 9 a.m. appeared to have been targeted at the convoy of the state's Commissioner of Police. Ibiang Mbasike, the spokesperson for the Police in Taraba has confirmed the attacks.

Three police officers are reported to have died in the explosion, which happened barely 24 hours after another bomb blast in Bayero University Kano.

Many have been seriously injured as the attacks come during the early morning rush hour.
It is unclear if the Commissioner of Police, Usman Gwary, was killed in the blasts, but the suicide bomber, a dispatch rider and at least eight others have been confirmed dead.

Meanwhile another bomb was this morning detected and successfully defused in Yola, the capital of neighbouring Adamawa state while reports reaching us indicate that there may have been at least two other bomb blasts, one in Gombe, the capital of Gombe state, the other in Maiduguri, the Borno state capital.

Source: Dailytimes

62 comments:

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Sigh!

My dad just told me about this. So sad. What happens when they bomb lagos?? Cos it will happen one day with all the bombings going on. They have so many places to pick 4rm to kill loads of people. Palms mall, 3rd mainland bridge etc. God help us

CHI

Na wa o! God help Nigeria! Cause @ dis rate, we need HIS divine intervention.

Victor Chijioke said...

God save us all.

Kudoz said...

Hmmmmmm!!

Mtcheeeewww!!!

GOD please come and intervene! Nigeria needs YOUR help

Hotguy! said...

What ΐƨ †ђξ meaning of this menace of these so called muslims abi Islam...U̶̲̥̅̊ guys are nothin but devils.mtchewww!!!

bambilurv said...

na wa for Naija, they have turned bomb to toy.........wicked pple..... God will judge them....

@chi as death will come to everyone. we still pray against. so go pray against it and when they do then we would have to chase the hausa's' away from the south including their elite

BLOGBABY said...

Na wa o..May God help this country o..let us always rmba this great nation in prayers biko!

Payme said...

This is simply heartbreaking. They are getting stronger in the North, how long before it gets down south? Nigerians cannot get used to this. Read 'You Dare Not Stop' http://paymes2cents.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/you-dare-not-stop.html

QF
OMG...i actually skul there wn i heard abt it ds mornin my hrt sank so dev found us at last...Lord av mercy innocent perishin evryday cos of hrtless animals, will ds eva end?*sobs*

Priscy said...

what is with bomb blast these days? God have mercy!

QF
OMG...i actually skul there wn i heard abt it ds mornin my hrt sank so dev found us at last...Lord av mercy innocent perishin evryday cos of hrtless animals, will ds eva end?*sobs*

Some days ago, there was a rumour in Ikorodu that they caught a guy trying to bomb a Methodist church. according to them, the guy listed some churches that they intend to attack in Ikorodu. yesterday, i noticed a reduction in number of peeps that came to church mehn and security has be tightened.

May God save us o cos Lagos own no go funny, cos we are always at same place all the time. Like on 3MB early morning, Silverbird/Shoprite/Park n shop/Beach at weekends, we even have plenty suburbs.

Its well with us o, may the souls of those that died RIP. meanwhile, I don tire for this government o, next thing na press release then life goes on like the peeps that died were goats not life n blood peeps, nothing is being done at all..
Linda post my comment o.

hmmmmm!!! what is dis country turning into, a graveyard site. rather pathetic. jonah's govt has no clue on how to tackle this madness. even the nsa is busy trading blames on the pdp govt. my heart bleeds for this nation.

God plz this is becoming too much for Nigeria! where did we go wrong? Plz God intervene n change d heart of this BH pple dia sponsors. we dont know if we are safe here in Lagos. God have mercy!!!!!!!!

jamaica said...

God come to our aid......just left taraba state

Atobatele said...

Nigerians! suicide bombers are at it again. What is the grouse this time around? Poverty, Jihad, War against anything that represents western education or what? If they are dissatisfied with being part of a secular state, they can change citizenship and become Nigerians or Chadians it is a free world. This show of bravery through bomb attacks on innocent citizens is insane. Countries are advancing progressively but what do we have to show, bomb factories springing up on a daily basis. I hope when all is said and done, the sponsors of this group of terrorists will have what to fall back on when "push comes to shove" Evil shall never prevail over good in Nigeria. Soon, Nigerians enemies both internal and external will bury their heads in shame. With all these incessant bomb blast the presidency will still come out tomorrow to say that the government is winning the war against terrorism; while some other groups will be clamoring for dialogue with TERRORIST!!! I think this menace will only come to an end when the direct relatives of those in power, President, Vice-President, Senate President or the Speaker of the House of Representative are casualties of these mad men masquerading coming the the mask of Boko Haram.
According to a Benin proverb, "a spoiler does not spoil in only only spot", it will soon get to even those that think they are immune from the threat. Where is Senator Ndume today? He has been released and he is sitting in the "hallowed" chambers of the senate to make laws for the "good governance of the country"!!! This is after the weighty allegation against him.
The president said he knows the sponsors of this evil group, how many people has been arrested? He even made mention of Senator Ndume as one of the high profile figure that has been linked in connection with the group, yet Ndume is publicly is in the senate chambers. Let us pray for our nation because it is in its most trying period. God bless Nigeria

Ziba! said...

Oh God of creation, direct our noble cause;
Guide our leaders right;
Help our youth the truth to know...

God please deliver us from the hand of bomb blast in Nigeria. Many soul in RIP

jamaica said...

Just redeployed frm dere....God shld come to our aid.....

Death tolls are increasing daily and it pains the heart to see that nothing, absolutely nothing is done to bring the sponsors to book. The suicide bombers have been brain watched so appealing to them na waste of time.

Maybe we shld try OccupyNigeria again, maybe we need come out in mass to protest. Shey GOODLUCK said that he knows the sponsors, he is waiting for us to die finish before he can point them out abi? If they the National Assembly does not have a hand in this mata, why there pple neva follow for one of the bombings ni? God is watching, Payback time will soon be here, and its gonna be bloody. Mark my words, no peace for them all, the souls shall haunt them down, and THEY SHALL NEVER HAVE PEACE, NEVER!!

Everyone are praying for God to come and Help , even if God comes will Nigerians accept him ? Anyway we hav to b d police of our nation now , when niger delta ,OPC , and some faceless groups , Nigerians were taking side , now the boys have all become men , so we all shld stand up and start a revolution of principle and integrity .

It seems to me that there exists 'political undertones' in all of this mayhem going on in d north,and they are masking under Boko Haram.

Cent said...

Instead of crying on here and other blogs,we can actually say a prayer for our country,even if once a day in our own convinient time,let's all ask GOD to forgive the sins of our country and intervene in this country,let's stop apportioning blames especially to the presidency,am sure Goodluck is not enjoying the bombings atleast if not for any other thing the fact that this bombings is driving away foreign investors should make it disturb him,it looks to me like his hands are tied and he cant trust people around him.

Haba, for Taraba too? Taraba na christian state na, where is Rev. Jolly Nyame. Benue...

And you my dear need an education badly. Smh

Another 1? Shuld Nigerian goverment sit dwn relax in deir offices watchin innocent peple dieing like foew? GOD pls we rely ned ur divine intervention @ dis timer cos tins is getin out of hands. Arise oh God.

Nigeria was never one,and will never be one,wetin concern flexing southerner with those ram from nothern nigeria? let them call for a national referendum and split this country once and for all. I weep for the entity called nigeria

dilinger said...

Please stop calling God. He is not going to come down from heaven and stop book haram.
Help yourselves by been vigilant, reporting suspicious activities, work with the appropriate authorities and then pray to God

Atobatele,u don kom again o.Chai! See as comment long.U bi journalist? Abi na storyteller.U must definitely have a lot of free time

GOODLUCK JONATHAN & BOKO HARAM are all worthless pieces of SHIT! Smh....

THE YEYE BOKO HARAM ARE BOMBING INNOCENT PEOPLE. WHY DONT THEY TRY THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY?

toksgreat said...

When will this menace stop? Just two suggestions: Obasanjo, Atiku, Abdulsalam, Buhari, Babangida, Gowon and Gen Danjuma shld all be questioned and a sovereign National conference be converged immediately with each community duly represented by its chosen 'citizen'
I rest my case.
May the souls of those who lost their lives in the recent bomb blats in both Abuja, Kano and Taraba rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Islam is a pain in the neck!!!

Occupy naija ppl will not come and protest 4 dis one coz no money is changing hands.

Janded said...

When will this stop. i am so unsettled by all this.

This is getting out of hand

Daniel Akobi said...

Unto thee oh Lord do we lift up Nigeria, we trust in thee, don't let shame be our portion. Let not our enemies triumph over us.(Psalm 25:1)

It is time to involve the international community. It's obvious the leaders can not handle this situation and they are not owning up to it. It's time the entire world sees what is happening here.

Innoxx said...

@ Anonymous Apr 30,
2012 03:39 AM; Note this: Da day wey diz Boko haram bastards go try dat shit in Lagos and any other southern part, da Hausas go hear WAR 4rm us.They should bomb all their buildings,equipments and facilities 4 all i care.Buh make 'em no carry dat shit*bomb* enter south.

Save us o Lord

@CHI...why u con dey suggest!...Ode!

Wander if TB Joshua saw this coming..smh!!

iamfascinating said...

too sad.

Good and natural retinol cream available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

You really shouldnt make general statements lyk dis.just cos a bunch of misguided pple hiding behind religion decide to carry out such dastardly acts does nt mean u shld condemn an entire religion.all religions v fanatics.direct ur statements to the group of pple carryin out these acts of bombing and NOT d religion of islam as a whole

Hia, na wa o, you say that people should not make misguided comments about islam but againts those who carry out the attacks. Let me ask you a good question, are they not doing it for islam and for allah? Are they not obeying the quoran? please, dont confuse yourself. Cos we are not confused, our eyes are open to all that is happening.

this is a comment someone posted in punch(on the net)after the report of the attack yesterday.

So, fight them till all opposition ends and the only religion is Islam” Qur’an 8:39
“Terrorize and behead those who believe in scriptures other than the Qur’an.” 8:12
“Slay the unbelievers [non-muslims] wherever you find them.” 2:191
“When opportunity arises, kill the infidels wherever you catch them.” 9:5
“Any religion other than Islam is not acceptable.” 3:85
“The Jews and the Christians are perverts; fight them.” 9:30
“Make war on the infidels [christians and jews ] living in your neighborhood.” 9:123
“Maim and crucify the infidels if they criticize Islam.” 5:33
“Punish the unbelievers with garments of fire, hooked iron rods, boiling water; melt their skin and bellies.” 22:19
“Do not hanker for peace with the infidels; behead them when you catch them.” 47:4
“The unbelievers are stupid; urge the Muslims to fight them.” 8:65
“Muslims must not take the infidels as friends.” 3:28
“Muslims must muster all weapons to terrorize the infidels.” 8:60.

Hotguy, u urself will also rot in hell 4 calling innocent ppl devils.

If these so-called BH people want so much for their demands to be met, why don't they appeal to their fellow northerners for support so that there could be split in the country. They can have their own country (The North) take the Evil name "Nigeria", why we start our own country over here in the south and figure out a good name for her and pray to God almighty for guidance. We can't continue like this, because the FG is doing absolutely nothing to help out. Sooner or later, they will spread their wings to our peaceful south. God forbid ooo. But seriously something has to be done and it is either now or never. God help Us all and may the souls of the dead RIP. AMEN. KENO

If dis text is frm quoran how then Islamic preach Peace as they claim. Christ never other anybody to kill fellow human,all he preach is gospel and never fight war or try to force people to accept him. Busy healling And performaning miracles.

This is an example of 'copy and paste' from d qur'an. There are definitely verses dat preceded dem which wud explain how dis verses were arrived at. For further info Google each verse or visit theamericanmuslim.org for the true picture and not rely on wat some ignorant person post as comment. ALLAH DOES NOT PREACH WAR AGAINST THE INNOCENT!!!!

Fatimah said...

@Anon 10:29 PM, you ought to be thoroughly ashamed of urself, you are the exact kind of person the world doesn't need! You saw it in one of the comments in Punch online, so? Did you bother to confirm? No! yet you came here to post it as a comment!

We are here talking about peace, possible solutions etc and you come here heating up d whole place with distorted and downright untrue quotes from the Qur'an? You do not merit the being called a christian and that's the truth.

*Moving on* let's take a look at some of the verses our dear anon mentioned:

From observation, it's clear that quite a number of the outlined verses are drawn from Chapter 8 of the Quran (Surah Anfal). This chapter was revealed based on the first battle the Prophet (pbuh) ever waged against any tribe.

Why would a Prophet wage war?
Let's delve a bit into Islamic history...

Muhammad (saw) became a prophet and messenger of God at the age of 40 and for those forty years he had lived largely in Mecca and had come to be referred to as "Al-Amin" or "Sadiq" i.e. the truthful/the trustworthy.
In all of these period, Mecca led by the QUraysh tribe was known to be a polytheistic society with over 360 different deities being worshiped (if you worship one today, you worship another one tomorrow, lolz) but quite like most societies there was still that common belief in One God (Al-Ilah = Allah) that oversees all affairs e.g. Yoruba has Ogun, Orunmila, Sango, Esu etc but there is Olodumare/Olohun. And then from nowhere comes one man telling them to jettison all of these for just One God? Apart from it being their cultural heritage, it was also of economic importance to their community, people from various cities came on pilgrimage to Mecca to worship these gods and lots of money was being realized.

Nobody wanted it to stop. The saving grace of the Prophet in the early days was the protection of His Uncle (a strong leader of the Banu Hashim clan of the Quraysh Tribe; one the most powerful tribes in Mecca at the time and also that of his wife; a wealthy and well respected business woman in Mecca)

Fatimah said...

As Islam grew, so did the persecution of Muslims grow, at a time, nobody conducted any sort of business with a Muslim. A lot of things happened, the Prophet's wife and Uncle died and for a while some Muslims fled to Abyssinia (a christian territory and were protected by the ruler and their people).

In the long run, due to the open hostility of the Meccans,the Prophet and his followers had to migrate to Medina (a city that was very much open to Muhammad's message and even welcomed the Muslims heartily). This move resulted in a lot of properties and even families of the fleeing Muslims being seized/kidnapped in Mecca and even an attempt on the life of the Prophet on the night of his migration.

Still the Meccans weren't satisfied that the Prophet(pbuh) and his message was being accepted elsewhere and to worsen matters Medina no less! Medina is bounded by one of the routes of trade of the Meccans and they were afraid that in one fell swoop, the Prophet(pbuh) and his followers could put an end to their trade and hurt
their economy. The Meccans began pressuring some rulers within Medina to cast the Prophet (pbuh) out. It was in protest of these (their properties and families being seized) that the Prophet(pbuh) decided to waylay and intercept one of the caravans of the Meccans. Someone got wind of this and decided to exaggerate the true situation of things. To cut a long story short, that was what caused that battle and chapter 8 was more or less a commentary of certain things that happened.

The verses do not even refer to Christians, rather polytheists that were violently opposed to the spread of Islam. How many Christians or Jews were even in Mecca at that time? Is it not the same Quran that says:

"Surely those who believe, and those who are Jews, and the Christians, and the Sabians -- whoever believes in God and the Last Day and does good, they shall have their reward from their Lord. And there will be no fear for them, nor shall they grieve" (2:62, 5:69, and many other verses).

"...and nearest among them in love to the believers will you find those who say, 'We are Christians,' because amongst these are men devoted to learning and men who have renounced the world, and they are not arrogant" (5:82).

Fatimah said...

Next on the list of verses is from Chapter 9. Let's take a look at those ones too.

Q9:4-6
"Excepted are those with whom you made a treaty among the polytheists and then they have not been deficient toward you in anything or supported anyone against you; so complete for them their treaty until their term [has ended]. Indeed, Allah loves the righteous [who fear Him].

And when the sacred months have passed, then kill the polytheists wherever you find them and capture them and besiege them and sit in wait for them at every place of ambush. But if they should repent, establish prayer, and give zakah, let them [go] on their way. Indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.

And if any one of the polytheists seeks your protection, then grant him protection so that he may hear the words of Allah . Then deliver him to his place of safety. That is because they are a people who do not know."

Q2:190-191:"Fight in the way of God those fighting you but do not transgress. Indeed God loves not transgressors.And kill them wherever you overtake them and expel them from wherever they have expelled you..."

As you can see, these verses were revealed in war times! Believe it or not, if we take this advice and start doing the same to BH members, we would have peace. Is UN a christian centre? what of Police headquarters (are Muslims not abundant there?), the recently bombed Police convoy? Thisday building? True! they bomb only christian religious centres to play it up as a religious war because they know if they dare bomb a territory largely marked as a Muslim enclave, Muslims will stand up and fight! So when they want to kill Muslims, they choose neutral spots like the UN building, cars parked on the road etc.

Q3:28 "Let not believers take disbelievers as allies rather than believers..."

How does this correspond to the quote by our dear anon. Should a believer(in a cause) take an unbeliever (in that same cause) as an ally?

Q3:85 "And whoever desires other than Islam as religion - never will it be accepted from him, and he, in the Hereafter, will be among the losers."

I believe this is a sentiment shared by each religion, Every religion believes itself to be unequivocally the way and it is a position shared by Islam and Muslims.

Q5:33 "Indeed, the penalty for those who wage war against Allah and His Messenger and strive upon earth [to cause] corruption is none but that they be killed..."

You saw wage war abi and corruption on the earth? Isn't that the punishment that should be meted out to BH members and even some highly placed members of our political class?

Q22:19 "But those who disbelieved will have cut out for them garments of fire. Poured upon their heads will be scalding water.... Every time they want to get out of Hellfire from anguish, they will be returned to it, and [it will be said], "Taste the punishment of the Burning Fire!"

This verse is clearly talking about hellfire and I believe the Bible has something like that too.

Fatimah said...

Islam as a religion has utmost respect for other religions and that is reiterated in the following verses:

“Let there be no compulsion in religion. Truth has been made clear from error. Whoever rejects false worship and believes in God has grasped the most trustworthy handhold that never breaks. And God hears and knows all things.” Q2:256

“If it had been your Lord’s will, all of the people on Earth would have believed. Would you then compel the people so to have them believe?” (Quran 10:99)

“So if they dispute with you, say ‘I have submitted my whole self to God, and so have those who follow me.’ And say to the People of the Scripture and to the unlearned: ‘Do you also submit yourselves?’ If they do, then they are on right guidance. But if they turn away, your duty is only to convey the Message. And in God’s sight are all of His servants.” (Quran 3:20)

So can we know truthfully say any of these verses is responsible for the Boko Haram of today?

I would leave us with this verse from the glorious Quran:

"Invite to the way of your Lord with wisdom and good instruction, and argue with them in a way that is best. Indeed, your Lord is most knowing of who has strayed from His way, and He is most knowing of who is [rightly] guided." Q16:125

My broda no tryam,I swear dis bh people dey r not muslim.dey just takin cover unda islam

tnk u fatimah 4telin us d truth..bt my Bible tels me dat on d lst day..evri one must giv acount of its deeds..either gud or bad..may d souls of departurs rex in peace..