Norwegian world champion swimmer found dead in bathroom | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 May 2012

Norwegian world champion swimmer found dead in bathroom

One of the London Olympic Games medal favourites, Norwegian swimmer Alexander Dale Oen, has died of a suspected cardiac arrest while training with the Norwegian national team in Arizona USA.

The 26 year old, who was the defending world champion in the 100 breaststroke, was found dead in his bathroom last night Monday April 30th. The country's swimming federation said he was found sprawled on the bathtub. Teammates became worried when repeated knocks on the door went unanswered. A team doctor performed CPR before an ambulance arrived, but the young swimmer was never resuscitated and was pronounced dead at a nearby hospital.

At 26, Dale Oen was already the greatest swimmer in Norwegian history. He won the nation's first swimming medal in Beijing. So sad. May his soul rest in peace!

18 comments:

That Cardiac arrest thing is dangerous, killed a 25yr old guy I knew
Anyway Life is a bitch sha.

RIP swimmer

At 26? A great loss! RIP bruva.

Jesse's wife said...

real sad may he rest in peace

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Omg may his soul RIPP.

olumayo said...

I don't just wanna believe in this cardiac arrest ish circulating the waves of super star's death nowadays. A 26yr healthy sport man would die of cardiac arrest. I think I need Doctors to enlighten me more on "cardiac arrest" am furious since it kills 500times faster than HIV/AIDS

LyricalMessiah said...

Hmmmmm.so sad..RIP Dale...You are a legend in ur country already.

Na wa o! May his soul RIP.

Nimma said...

Its a great loss for the Norwegians. May God comfort them most esp his family.

Princess Inuaeyen said...

May God give his family the fortitude to bear dis great loss. Amen

Blackberry games said...

Yeah. I watch the news. So sad. Rest in peace.

I am, the no Sender. said...

Hmnnn. Na wa. Cardiac arrest at 26? What is the world turning into? This is scary. God abeg na your hand we dey o. My condolence to his family and to the Norwegian nation. It's sure must be a very huge loss. Terrible.

Eyah.... Just time to reap the fruit of his labour... So sad :(

one word sad

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is the usual culprit in young athletic males, it causes Sudden Cardiac Death, drugs and alcohol poisoning can cause it also,

Sad. May he RIP. He was trending on Twitter yesterday.

Olumayo; I read he had an underlying heart condition.

No, the greatest swimmer in Norwegian history was Erik the Viking