'Buhari is Nigeria’s problem, not its solution' - Wall Street Journal writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 June 2016

'Buhari is Nigeria’s problem, not its solution' - Wall Street Journal writes

And how did they arrive at that? US Wall Street Journals shared an article on its website written by Pete Hoekstra titled "Buhari Is Nigeria’s Problem, Not Its Solution". The article accused President Buhari of Inflexibility, lack of vision and reactive approach to issues. Read the article below
Nigerian President Muhummadu Buhari writes of building an economic bridge to Nigeria’s future (“The Three Changes Nigeria Needs,” op-ed, June 14). It’s hard to see how his administration’s inflexibility, lack of vision and reactive approach will achieve this. Mr. Buhari notes that building trust is a priority for Nigeria.
But an anticorruption drive that is selective and focused on senior members of the opposition party creates deep political divisions. Meanwhile, members of Mr. Buhari’s own cabinet, accused of large-scale corruption, walk free. Seventy percent of the national treasury is spent on the salaries and benefits of government officials, who make upwards of $2 million a year. As for Mr. Buhari’s ideas to rebalance the economy and regenerate growth, his damaging and outdated monetary policy has been crippling. The manufacturing sector, essential to Nigeria’s diversification, has been hardest hit, exacerbating an already fast-growing employment crisis. Foreign investors have started to flee en masse. Mr. Buhari makes only brief mention of the country’s deteriorating security situation. But security and stability are precursors to economic growth and development. Boko Haram has been pushed back for now, but little attention is paid to the structural issues that have spurred its rise. Instead, the Nigerian government has diverted much-needed military resources to the Niger Delta, where rising militancy has reduced Nigeria’s oil production to less than half the country’s capacity, and half the amount required to service the national budget. Much of these tensions arise from Mr. Buhari’s decision to cut amnesty payments to militants and an excessively hard-line approach in a socially and politically sensitive environment. Other ethnic tensions are also growing. In the country’s south, protests have been met by a bloody response from the Nigerian military, stoking the fire and galvanizing support for an independent state of Biafra. Rising tensions could again pose one of the greatest threats to Nigeria’s stability and future.

135 comments:

As in eh... Bad luck sef!

Very true

True talk! buhari ur days are numbered

Mtcheew

******************************************Fulani cow !!!!!!!!!!!! U cee ur life ???????????????? Ayam sure he won't read ****************even if he does !!!!!!!!!!!!! He does not understand Englis either !!!!!!!!!!!!!

NaijaStore said...

******************************************Fulani cow !!!!!!!!!!!! U cee ur life ???????????????? Ayam sure he won't read ****************even if he does !!!!!!!!!!!!! He does not understand Englis either !!!!!!!!!!!!!

I see PDP hands in this. @least he makes things happen when he is in the abroad GEJ that sat there clueless while people looted our Money nko I still say their generation should be ruling us young minds should. Or better still we should be able to call for their resignation if they don't deliver

Nigerians open your eyes.

THEY ARE TRYING TO BREAK OUR NATION, THEY SEE WE HAVE SOME DISCIPLINE TO WEther this storm without borrowing everything from them they want to break us down.

1. fIRST OUR HOUSE OF REP ATTEMPTED RAPE + PROSTITUTION
2. NOW OUR PRESIDENT OUR PROBLEM.

they want to scatter us, let us stand united.
BEWARE OF WHAT HAPPENED IN IRAQ, AFGHAN ETC

What does wall street know about Nigeria? They should leave us alone

Noted

Make una helep us tell am o. This manis clueless a swear.

Buhari may be 'a man of integrity' but he knows NOTHING about governance, all his political experiences were under despotic, military regimes.
There's ABSOLUTELY NOTHING on his CV to suggest he knows what he's doing.
Buhari and GEJ are more alike than the gullible masses will care to admit.

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

@Buhari is Nigeria’s problem, not its solution...EXACTLY!!!

Nigeria News said...

Really?

Buhari still has a lot of work to do. Hopefully we see results soon from him

Exactly!

"his administration’s inflexibility, lack of vision and reactive approach"
This is the conclusion of the whole matter.

Buhari is a fool ...

Karlsson said...

That's just the honest truth. Buhari is operating a military style of governance without any proper economic policies. All he does is make noise and empty promises. Nigeria needs a miracle or else things ll only get worse with the style of the present administration.

Ubanagum

Make dem carry another man's problem for head, leave theirs for road side. Linda take note!

"Boko Haram has been pushed back for now, but little attention is paid to the structural issues that have spurred its rise."
GBAM!!!

Gbammest gbam! Rip nigeria

SURE, corruption will fight back with all its might. No one has ever told us that the Corruption in Nigeria and by extension Africa in general is the only source of quick nontaxable income for most foreign press, Banks. Legal Firms and Finance houses ETC. SURE they will all keep fighting this country be it decently or by proxy or by suggestion. For them in the west the looting with impunity government is better than Buhari. Nigerians Please these people cannot love you anymore than you love yourselves. Let the Wall Street Journal please help us to write about the stolen oil loot hidden in Wall Street and the USA

Aunty Linda pls tell Buhari to investigate rochas okorocha

Lube-section said...

Oh well, Reno is vindicated

I hope the good LORD gets us out of this mess.

Well written. Thanks wall street journal for saying what many of our media houses especially Punch refuses to acknowledge .

BLISS said...

Hmmmm. Time will tell. #lindaobserve!!!

you are just realizing that?

Linda to say the least, am so disappointed in you for asking how they came up with this. Are we not in Nigeria all together? Everything said is nothing but the naked truth! If you no post am kokanye

pls linda, I'm an nddc scholar in the uk and blog reader. pls kindly publish our story. nddc claims to have paid our living expenses. it is not true. they ve paid no one. pls.put up our story. plss we are suffering abroad. our mail address Is nddc2015scholars@gmail.com

Gbam!

so you just they realize say BUHARI NA OUR PROBLEM,TUFIYAKWA

The writer wrote like someone that has leaved in Nigeria and understands the dynamics of the Nigerian state. I hope someone in the government's cabinet see this timely message as intended and advised appropriately rather than cast aspersion on the opposition. Buhari and his cohort are indeed the problem of Nigeria and can never proffer any solution.

Hmmmmmmm

Post sponsored by PDP. Try harder!

Now, We have the article. Waiting to read comments from gullible LIBERS who don't know how to process information

Folbis said...

That is good x-ray of Nigeria present governance.

A whole gospel truth n nufin, the truth is pmb's administration has divided nigeria n those agitations won't stop in the SE n SS imagine supporting western Sahara (in morrocco) for independence and Palestine in middle East, then in ur own country u order to crush biafrans, how hypocritical!

So true.

Hmmm......
I hope buhari is reading this article.
A clueless man in position of authority,
is just like a caterpillar in the hand of a four old baby.
politicians should never be mistaken for leadership.

Only few of them(politicians) rise to the position of leadership.
The said president buhari should honorably tender is resignation and Nigerians like me would regard him as a father and true hero.
Long live Nigeria

Hahahaha!!!!! Men of good reasoning and conscience see and speak truth for majority of like-minds to know. Let the loud-mouth folks keeping living in illusion of "change"

It is finished 😪

Folbis said...

That is good x-ray of Nigeria present governance.

Probably sponsored!!

Very apt.

Very shallow piece,at least they acknowledged he was fighting corruption and not looting our treasury dry.
UK has played a part in our current predicament, they provided safe heaven to those who looted our country and through their media they are bent in tarnishing the image of the man that came to rescue us from the criminals that held us captive.
It can only get better for our country whether they like it or not. We must fight this monster called corruption to a standstill.

A big thank you for saying PMB is Nigeria's problem not its solution. When David Cameron said Nigeria was fantastical corrupt, PMB thought he was referring to GEJ not knowing the statement was actually for him. A president that keeps fighting his opponent all the time. Let's call a spade a spade.

well said.atleast from an international journal where he initially run to....truth cannot be shielded...psychophants wont allow him to hear this anyway!

Is Saraki not facing trial? Is he not part of APC? Was Buhari's ex-ADC not arrested? So why are they saying Buhari is selective? If you have concret evidence against Amaechi or Tinubu, bring it forward to court and lets sue them. You cannot expect Buhari to just go and arrest them without evidence. Bring evidence against APC memebers or Buhari's so called carbinet members otherwise, shut up and hold your peace. The Nigerian govt works with evidence and not by word of mouth or wailing. If you have evidences against APC members, bring them to court and stop wailing behind social media like a coward. Thank you.

Na now day break? Mtcheeeew

People frm d outside are sayin, what about us inside d Nig, with what we are passing thru, speechless!!!!!

Ok. Seen but thatsvtoo harsh

Ok seen. But that's harsh in this cold weather.

Linda, I love u I swear

I agree completely with this wall street assessment.... PMB has an overly aggressive approach towards sensitive matters.. THIS IS NOT A MILITARY REGIME!!!!!!!

La face said...

Please tell him, but of course the blind and biased APC members will attack and call you wailing wailers! They never see anything wrong in whatever this man does even though he's clearly driving this country down the wrong path

The president should work on the issues raised and find a way of fixing the economy the hardship in the country is unbearable.

We don't care. As Buhari said to the UK govt, we want our money back. Corrupt Nigerians have been enriching your economy for years. We are done with that.

Happy 1 year in office,the holiday has just been declared yours and truly over.
Yorubas will mess this man up,historically a leopard does not change it,s spots,only 1 ss ana 1 female northern minister are effective in the whole cabinet that took 6 months to set up.
Ghen Ghen!!!!.

You don't need to tell us we all know his government is lopsided in everything he does.

javar10 said...

His supporters wld say It's a PDP sponsored post.

JIRO said...

Cannot be truer.

Hmm

This is just the true position of Nigeria state at the moment.

Gbam true talk..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

Actually 1 niger delta(not ss)and 1 female northern minister are working in the entire cabinet that took 6 months to set up.
By monday emefiele would kill the naira more,and nobody is talking because they have all collected dollars at bank rate and gotten jobs for the relations,u think oyibo,s are stupid?
Ghen Ghen holiday over dis is what buhari has acheived from globe trotting as if it was going out of fashion.

Sponsored post by wailers,simple!

tell them oooo....when I heard he's coming bak I said "Our problem is comin bak"

I concur

White man's dog

Corruption is corruption whether broom or umbrella.
Is APC a party of saints?
You think the PDP loot will just lie fallow?
As soon as the dust settles, it will be redistributed among the new czars in town.

Gbam!

This writer have said it all. This international crictisism is just beginnen, more will follow. This is one leader Nigerians will regret having. Since assuming power he has effectively brought the country to it knees by his outdated policies. The amount of time it took him to set up a cabinet is sickning. He played an ethnic card that has possed great danger to national unity, he was supposed to play the role of the fathher of the nation, but he choose not to. He turned blind eye to the activities of Fulani herdsmen which has devided the country tremendously. His fight on corruption is lopsided.The change mantra is a hoax!

We've never had a nation, Nigeria is just a country with definite geographical boundaries and nothing more.
Can two walk together unless they agree?
When have we sat down and agreed to be One Nigeria?
OPEN YOUR EYES.

He makes things happen???
Like what and what pls?
Anti corruption?????

Godwin said...

Hmmmm thank God the whole world is saying the truth now.
If that statement ejected from this country, those myopic youths will call it; The hand work of wailers.

*NWA 042*

and here we thought GEJ was going to be the most criticized president, PMB in about a year has bagged the honours is criticism

Buharishit the vision less cattle rearer.. No education but with corruption money ( as he said he has only 30 million Naira liquid cash ) can hire 13 rotten Yoruba SANs to defend his forged secondary school certificate ... Shame on buharishit ! Bigger Shame on the SANs

Please did we elect these people for their religion or skill, this is in respects to what is recently happening in the west. Skill is absent which is evident by this article, what good is religion in governing a sovereign state. What exactly. We are facing things that are not relevant to our positive development. We make the country not the ruling few, what do we really want, and what can we do as individuals and a whole to get there.

peaceful said...

Is as simple as that... u re fighting corruption only one sided.. that is d very problem

Kay said...

true talk jare.

Im sure by now a lot of Nigerians would have learnt the hard way that the presidency is not a place for NEPA bill. I pray by 2019 we will lean to put sentiments, tribalism aside and give a deaf to propagandas... If something sounds too good to be true chances are it's not, like one dollar = to 1naira. Those who do not learn from the past are bound to repeat their mistakes..

fechar said...

How?? But they assisted your sai baba to win the election

VERY TRUE. The day this buhari man said he will make one dollar= 1 Naira I knew the guy was sick and that Nigerians are in trouble. I KNEW IT!

Wall Street Journal is based in US dummy. Nothing you write has any integrity, Ur simply a biased sycophant now.

OJ said...

Truth is bitter. Buhari has killed Nigeria.

Were we the ones that brought the evidence he's using to detain ffk, and other pdp politicians? Don't be stupid abeg. Saraki is being prosecuted because he rebelled against tinubu and became senate leader with the help of pdp. Do you honestly think this his case would have arisen if he followed the wishes of his party? If you pretend you don't know that, then you really need to jump off the lagoon..hypocrite.

Person wey go (good) school go school leave matter...see analysis...Im about to have an orgasm reading this piece cos Im a sucker for knowledge...Well written and articulated.....I did post a comment on Buhari and Tinubus pics in London on LIB as outdated leaders with no visiom and backward policies and this article reconfirms my earlier post...

*Linda's Future Hubby*

Mich_damz said...

Ignorance is not an excuse. If at all the Wall Street journal is more than a hundred percent corrupt than Africa as a whole . All looted funds are reinvested in the Wall Street. Same Wall Street that Lobys top political figures here in the United States. Nigeria wake up, do not be white -washed and do not ever think they have got your best interest in mind . Certainly they don't .

I see PDP's mischievious hands in this post. They would have bribed UK wall street journal to write against this administration. Useless looting fools

Sam said...

Na PDP sponsor this post

PDP try harder. We are no fools

Sandra said...

PDP's sponsored post. Next pls

Akpos said...

Watin concern UK inside Naija matter? When UK and Spain's economy was crashing few years back, did we put our mouth inside this matter? Did we blame it on their prime minister? Instead, we consoled them. Abi una wan take style come colonised us again? Abeg clear!

When the oyibos you(PMB) worship and constantly visit looking for recognition tell you you have no idea how to be a president..... Smh. I'm sure he will agree with them that he is fantastically confused!

Heavy problem,those way de support confused buhari and Apc Una eyes go clear soon

We expect more of negative media reporting as our money is no more available to develop their economy. Let the Street Journal give us update on our loot invested in the Wall street; they will not.

Because the free fund is not flowing into their economy, they can write all the rubbish. If the street journal is sincere and willing to help the Nigerian Economy, let them gave detail of Nigerian with Legitimate investment in the Wall street.

Most of the investment are our loot.

Ayo Michael said...

I have said this before. The Wall Street Journal is just repeating what I have said before.
Buhari is a CURSE to Nigeria.
Buhari is the PUNISHMENT God is inflicting on Nigeria and Nigerians for their various sins.

Hmmmmm

ngwanu lets go there

In 2019, they will tell you, they will equal one dollar to one naira, create 3 million jobs in one year, peg fuel at 65 naira. And Nigerians will vote them again....shame!!!

truth is bitter!

I na gree

And the foreign media writes positively about Buhari's government, who sponsored it? It just shows the mentality of Nigerians and those in power; unable to accept criticisms.

Hummmm

I really hope and pray Nigeria will get better but all I see is clueless men in power.

EZIVIN said...

If he is not the problem and not the solution what is he?

Send your cheap bulk sms: www.winnersbulksms.com

May God heal you from this zombie virus that has eaten deep into every cell of your brain as well as your blood that makes you not to know that Buhari is truly misleading this country with his poor economic vision...and until you understand that corruption is not our only problem, you will die in this sentimental and biased crippling venom that is flowing in your blood!!!!

LoGic

May God heal you from this zombie virus that has eaten deep into every cell of your brain as well as your blood that makes you not to know that Buhari is truly misleading this country with his poor economic vision...and until you understand that corruption is not our only problem, you will die in this sentimental and biased crippling venom that is flowing in your blood!!!!

LoGic

LooooL. US Wall Street journal now works for PDP? U r a barrel of laughs

Lwkmd.Buhari supporters for how long will you remain blind. Pls wake up and call a spade a spade.

It is. Mouth dat cos the most damage, they shud peg it for us

ric said...

When Jonathan was called ineffectual buffoon by the same foreign media did you see APC hands in it? Mumu.

abujakenneth said...

We know this. He has the born to rule in archaic way mentality. He is the only saint in his world every other person is corrupt. He is a trabalist to the core. We know all these but most Nigerians are weak including GEJ

You are a fool because you dont know about Buhari's profile. You just live blindly on rumour. Buhari attended Nigeria Defence Academy (NDA) which is equivalent to a university degree. You cannot attend Nigeria Defence Academy without WAEC certificate. Also, no SAN will stand for anybody if the person doesnt have concret evidence to defend himself. For many SANs to stand up for Buhari voluntarily, means that Buhari's certificate is very authentic. So you can go hug transforner or jump into a lagoon.

Naija Man said...

WSJ editors and writers can go hug transformers.
WE WILL VOTE BUHARI IN FOR A SECOND TERM IN OFFICE.

@gentle you are the one who is very stupid and a fool. The issue here is proof of "evidence" and not whether Tinubu faught with Saraki or not. PDP is opposition party. So they should provide evidences against APC too for people to believe them. APC provided evidence of PDP's looting through their account statements with banks as witness. Since PDP calls themselves opposition party, they should also provide evidence against APC members that they feel are corrupt. Was it APC that jailed Ibori? So was it Buhari that caught Ibori in London and jailed him there? How is Buhari selective when there is no evidence? He will only treat the cases with strong evidences. EFCC is working for the govt and for Nigeria to recover all our stolen money. They are not working for Buhari. If you dont have evidence against APC members, stop wailing like a fool and go hug a transformer. You bloody hypocrite that is blindly supporting looters and thieves. Idiot!

The dangerous thing is, whether you believe this article or not, it is damning to us. Investors listen to bloomberg and read Wall Street Journal. They dont need to come to your country to see 4 themselves

Cedarality said...

Cedarality: i am quite cool with our president, maybe unsure of his methods though; however a very vital point raised in the article concerns the earnings of top gov officials. My concern bothers mostly on the senate and house of rep; their earnings has to be reviewed drastically down including all their allowances and constituency fund, in-fact the constituency thingy should be scrapped completely. I feel this is what we should be dwelling on, always felt so, more so when pump price increased and labour was fighting for a reduction, they (labour) should have made their case about this; such that labour would say " no problem just reduce ur earnings to a million per month; furniture allowance 120k I hear there are really good furniture in badagry that are quite cheap..." After all, if the country is seriously broke, then everyone should be willing to sacrifice, just as the masses are been told to sacrifice; its just logical

Those saying PDP bribed them, that's the kind of thing you all are used bribing everything and anything in this country. UK is a western world, not third world that monetize everything even their lives. This post here, is Buhari's image world over. A time will come when they will stop him from entering any of these western countries for treatment and aimless visits.

This is my problem with this govt.

Ban check points
Ok, check points come back

Maritime reforms
No, lets revert back

Only NNPC will be importing fuel
No problem, you can all import fuel now.

No domiciliary account
Ok, you can now have your dom account.

Petrol will go for 87 naira
No, only NNPC petrol will be 87 naira.
No, everybody, sell for 145 naira.

We will tighten the ropes on foreign currency. Our monetary policy will be tight. We will determine the value of dollars.
-Months later: Now, let the market determine it!

The question is: DO THEY THINK b4 making these policies?
Do these people think Nigeria deserves trial and error govt?
What is change if u cant make policies and stand by them?
Do you know how many businesses and sources of livelihood these policies have destroyed?
Was it all to try to paint the past admin bad. If not, why are they returning back to the previous order?

Anyone who knows and deals in forex will tell you the harm indecisiveness can bring. A day of delay can ruin you.
Nobody invests in a country where policies change everyday. Investors always need results, security and stability. This is why they arent coming in droves. Trust me, I know what I am saying. Its sad when people think we dont like this administration just because we dont like their faces. Its a lie!
Our economy today is a result of these outdated socialist policies. YOU CANT DETERMINE DEMAND, SUPPLY and PRICE at the same time! It has never worked successfully.

The worst is, when they make the policies, they tell you why its the best. What it will benefit us. Why it will stop corruption(thats all they ever say to inflame their supporters), then the supporters will come on blogs to praise the policy and disparage anyone who says contrary.

If the policies were so good, why reverse them within months? What changed?
How do we trust the new one is the best again? And how do we know it wont change again?

Now, after they change it. Their supporters will still come out and praise the change.

Is it now about ego or governance?

Hope this will be taken as constructive criticism. Sometimes it takes an outsider to give a clear situation/update on how Naija is seen and what it must do to move forward.QED@atm

Did I hear u say voluntarily omg u r a fool I'm sure u read but u don't understand anumanu like you

Yeah right. Because he has blocked every means of stealing and exploitation by foreigners the so called investors. You all sustain your businesses all around the world from Africa operations. yet those in your Africa operations are treated like slaves. You want a piece of our wealth? Work for it, treat us properly. That is not too much to ask. I you were hoping that Buhari will sell us out as usual? Sorry this is not business as usual. Wake up. Change is here. How long will our growth as a nation depend on external forces. We have taken the bull by the horn. Darkness and sorrow may endure for the night, but Joy will surely come in the morning. Buhari is not a magician, but I know that his intentions are pure. He is not in office to make money, neither is he there because of power. He has seen all of these before in abundance. And is closed to where he is going. At 73, he only wants to leave a legacy. So let him repair Nigeria. And keep your wall Street greed tinted opinion to yourself.

Please @anonymous you are extremely naive at best. I don't get why Buhari supporters have refused to criticise his govt. That you put him there doesn't make him perfect and we must all together criticise him to get the best out of him.
Stop your nonsense of evidence, there are people being detained in EFCC without any proof and even after meeting all conditions of bail
and yes evidence from the current Rivers state govt have been filed at the EFCC against Rotimi Amaechi without being treated. Let's stop deceiving ourselves. That you voted for Buhari doesn't mean you must defend him with your blood. When he does wrong let us acknowledge it. That's the only way we can grow.

Idiot

You have hit the nail on the head. God bless you

Please just preach it👏👏👏👏 nobody can speak up when a president is acting wrong cos some ppl voted. Was it not an opposition president that ensured it was free and fair in the first place?
Please let us call a spade a spade. Buhari has reneged on a lot of his campaign promises and blames it on the opposition, didn't you know they were there when you were campaign in and making mouth?

Anon 7:05 in Nigeria people go to university, graduate practise as doctors without WAEC. A fake medical doctor who practised without license nor certificate was caught in Abuja mind you.

Anon 10:59,probably you're one of those on his payroll because you don't get it. People are suffering and there's hunger in the land.