Six-year-old girl beats the odds after being born with her heart outside her chest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 October 2015

Six-year-old girl beats the odds after being born with her heart outside her chest

Virsaviya Borun, a native of Russia who moved to South Florida with her mother, suffered from a rare condition - called Pantalogy of Cantrell- that caused her heart and intestines to form outside of her body. Her heart is protected only by a thin layer of skin.

“When I was pregnant, the doctor said she will not survive, that she is going to die,” Dari Borun, the girl’s mother, said.
The remarkable girl defied the odds set against her and lives, for the most part, like any other girl.
"I like to draw Jesus, ponies and angels,” Virsaviya said. “I don't go to the school and I don't go to the ballet but I want to do it at home."

Borun said she found a surgeon in Boston able to treat her daughter, but the cost prevents her from pursuing it.
“It's gonna be expensive for sure and I tried to work with social worker and she said we don't have opportunity to apply for insurance,” she said. 
An NBC 6 story on Borun and her inspiring little girl was shared millions of times following its intial airing, prompting many throughout their community to reach out and help.
An anonymous donor even reached out to the station and offered to cover the remainder of Virsaviya’s fundraising goal.
“I don't have a family here. It's just me and Virsaviya, but now I feel like I have a family because a lot of people just caring about us. They love us. They want to help,” Borun said. 
Though funds are being raised to help the girl receive treatment, she is currently unable to undergo surgery.
“She can't get it because of her high blood pressure and pulmonary arteries. So if it goes down, if she will feel better, they're going to check her in two years,” Borun explained.
At the moment, the mother is concerned with covering basic treatment as well as living expenses for herself and her daughter.

Despite the challenges, Virsaviya said it’s the heart that keeps her and her mother going.
“My mom always told me that she loves my heart and I really like it,” she said. 

79 comments:

osangaope said...

Nice one..

Such a cute kid!

God is really awesome. It is well with her. Linda take note!

Very pretty girl she will surely survive dis

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Wow! Very strange, wetin person no go see for this world! The Lord is your strength!

- Ken

Beulahkalu said...

Healing is your children's bread , Lord please heal her, give her a life changing miracle , Amen!

awww! thank God for her life, I hope she gets the needed medical attention.

Eya!
Cute girl.
Happy girl.

Linda it's called pentalogy not 'pantalolgy' lol

Eiya... God will surely work wonders soon for d lil girl

#It WiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd In PrAisE

Bless u

Albert Gideon said...

awww Lesbianism scandal hits Kogi university, sex video goes viral (Download)

NAWA OO

AUNTY LINDA........

Awwww....shes so beautiful

May God help them

aproko manager said...

Dis is scary

Awwwwww
May de Lord she love so much c her tru in Jesus name,Amen
All de very best 2 her & her mum
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Allahu Akbar! What a beautiful girl

qweentee said...

Awwwwn, God help her

laulipop said...

All I see is her hair...lovely

ugochiada said...

Ha! It is well

Thoughtful all the way. Allah is fully involved.

Jesus is Lord! What a miracle
And just look @ the hair on this small girl.What an assignment!

Loving ur heart too. Move on in life babe.

becky said...

Oh my the girl is pretty, her mom too :) and the hair she gat jeez, God be with you all the way girly mwah.

It is not pantalogy, It's called pentalogy of Cantrell, Linda. It is a condition xterised by 5 abnormalities; omphalocoele, anterior diaphragmatic hernia, sternal cleft, ectopia cordis( heart located outside the thorax), and ventricular septal defect. It is an extremely rare condition.

seyi crown said...

God be with her, she beautiful with her long and lovely hair, God kept her alive for a propose ....

Seyilicious

dorothy said...

Ahwww . Too much love

head of state(linda's foe) said...

Nawa ooo.dat is some condition.i pray God heals her.

Candy Crush said...

Beautiful baby girl, God bless your mom

Sisi De'nim said...

Oh my God! See their smiles. We are normal yet not satisfied....it shall be well in the end dear. I will you all the best. The good Lord be with you.

Wow!
See long hair
Wishing her the best

Damie Ojo said...

Such a precious bond between mom and daughter...God will continue to keep her...she will be an example to many of her generations....Such a brave child <3

I hope she gets the treatment she needs, she and her mom are stunning girls.

slimmie-ade said...

Just one prayer for u Virsaviya.......i pray that God strengthens u n keep u for the glorification of his name alone.

Her mum is hurt as fuck though no doubt..

What a cutie! The lord is her strength....

Awww,shes so beautiful

First it was heart rendering but know you are a bitch with this last picture,sorry kid, the Lord will heal you perfectly after you are able to do the surgery. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

She is too tender to suffer from such,May God see them through

Beautiful child..she z strong & know she ll survive d surgery..

Linda hunny it's called "pentalogy" of cantrell. Sure it was a typo.

Awwwwwwwn

SMURF said...

But she needs something solid around it for protection.

KWEEN said...

Aww. What a beautiful girl. I pray she gets the treatment she needs.

God! And d little angle is damn happy. God is great indeed

It is well with you little girl.

God, I know you have your divine ways of getting solutions for cases like that of this cute little girl above. I believe so much in you and in your only begotten son Jesus Christ. Pls make her your personal case and do not even send any of the Angels neither Michael nor Gabriel. IJN! Amen.

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Oh dear.

Did anyone notice her mom shared so much semblance with Lola Omotayo in the last image? (Those eyes don't lie)

With my teary eyes I say.....God please work ur miracle in dis angel's heart!!

bummyla said...

God Bless You Both In Christ Jesus! Amen! http://www.bummyla.com

Wow...i'm just speechless. Please God, take care of this little girl and her mom.

I'm Touched.
The Lord is ur strength kiddo.

Black Belle said...

Wooow

GOD is wonderful

KIZITO~SANTIAGO said...

It's well. She will definitely survive it

God be with you cutie

extremely cue...God keep u both

MISSVEE

Divaclan said...

I read about this sometime back. I pray something is done fast cos this is a very dicey situation.

...wot is this, are u blessing and cursing from the same mouth at the same time, even calling someone "bitch" for God to answer??

you are kidding!!

Jesus Reigns said...

Google tins

Jesus Reigns said...

Google tins

Has anyone paid attention 2 the 3rd down picture

She's such a pretty and brave girl, I wish her the best

Aww. I hope she gets enough money for d surgery. Cuz its kinda scary. Any little mistake can hurt her heart.

Aww cute little girl, U will surly be fine soon.

Oluwadamilola said...

Very beautiful girl

Wow. Cute lil girl

My daughter had something similar at birth, (stomach and intestines). It was a difficult time for us as a family. I pray this brave little girl gets the help she needs, she's indeed a warrior

She will get well IJN

cool said...

Omg she's so adorable I wann meet her, I wish her a soon recovery,Jesus will be for here.