Cross River Govt suspend Perm. Secs. over suspension of morning devotion in schools | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 October 2015

Cross River Govt suspend Perm. Secs. over suspension of morning devotion in schools

The Cross River State government has indefinitely suspended the Permanent Secretary of the state Ministry of Education Anne Odey, who last week released a statement suspending all forms of morning devotion in schools across the country.
The State Security Adviser (SSA) to Governor Ben Ayade, Jude Ngaji who made this known to newsmen yesterday in Calabar, explained that indeed the state police commissioner, Henry Fadairo, had contacted the state ministry of Education about a possible attack by Boko haram members during early morning and afternoon devotions in various schools.

Ngaji said the permanent secretary unilaterally took the decision of suspending the age long practice of morning devotions in the state, without consulting the state governor.
"The governor has directed that the permanent secretary be suspended indefinitely while the ban on suspension of devotion has been lifted immediately. It is true that police got intelligence information that Boko Haram is planning to bomb schools during morning devotions and therefore directed authorities in the Ministry of Education to act fast.
But the permanent secretary did not bother to refer to the governor or call for stakeholders’ meeting to that effect.
So, the governor feels pained that the permanent secretary got such sensitive information without seeking for his advice and went ahead to issue directive suspending morning devotions in schools," he said. 
He added that the governor is a strong believer in God and will not do anything that will prevent people from worshiping God.

70 comments:

Hmmmmmm!

- Ken

Very good! What impudence! Linda take note!

Cross river is just a dramatic state

osangaope said...

Nice one..

"...suspending all forms of morning devotion in schools across the country"?
Are you sure it's not the state?

Was he suppose to wait till there is an attack on the innocent children?

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Peace nwadire said...

Nice work

Serves him right.

Its so appropriate

#It WiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd In PrAisE

This is how stupid a governor can get in trying to pretend he is religious.d permenent sec took a discretionary decission to protect children.cnt they pray in their individual classes.on days of heavy rain abi they dnt go out.to be a leader u ve to take tough decisions now i no y people say u re not qualified mr.devoted christian.as for CAN u people re jst politicians in religious umbrella

bummyla said...

Thank You JESUS! http://www,bummyla.com

Ayade d talkative, immature governor, decisions will b taken without you cause you are busy with siren like a new teenager, the state is so filthy like wetiin, d perm sec is a saddist to try to abolish morning devotion, calabar is on past glories.

GOOD TO SEE

AUNTY LINDA........

aproko manager said...

Eyahh poor secretary

Hmmmmmmm
May God blind and cripple all of dem IJN,Amen
It's not our portion and wil neva b
God is God and he wil expose dem all
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

yabsy said...

So what's all this? The pupils cannot hold the morning devotion in their classes? What has this judgement got to do with the Governor? An intelligent report is received and forwarded to the Ministry of Education to act and the person in charge of that ministry takes a decision.
Not all who passed thru higher education are literate!

So God forbid an attack on the pupils during morning assembly now what will d Gov say?

The parents of these wards should come out and petition the State Govt.

As Nigerians, we only like to react after the deed has been done. Why not even try to prevent it from happening in the 1st instance?

A far developed country like America will not take chances. Does Wike have the capacity to deploy additional security , surveillance cameras
and bomb detectors to all these schools 24/7?

Cos if he's insisting on having the morning devotion then certain things must be put in place immediately!.

Gentletee said...

He was too forward.

Hmmmm his intention is harmless but he forgot the rules

ALL AFTER BUHARI VISIT,WHEN HAS CALABAR BECOME KATSINA

Wow good news, and I was even thinking the governor had a hand in this wow. God bless him.

It is only through prayers, fasting and mainly praises that brings down the presence of God.

When God is around sh*ts doesn't happen.

That vuvuzela P guy

Wow good news, and I was even thinking the governor had a hand in this wow. God bless him.

It is only through prayers, fasting and mainly praises that brings down the presence of God.

When God is around sh*ts doesn't happen.

That vuvuzela P guy

ZeeZee said...

He realized he had goofed and is now using the permanent secretary as a scape goat.

How can a permsec in a state suspend morning devotion all over the country. I believe this blog has one or 2 back up editors. And besides I feel this story was just posted to fill up space .

In Nigeria when a leader fails in his duties is subordinate receive the brunts on his behalf Perm Secretary is now the sacrificial lamb. Same I too know Governor that made declaration that the state will be sending envoys to different countries, this decision is not in conformity base on the fact that Foreign Relations is under the exclusive list in our constitution.

Yeye overzealous permanent secretary...

Good for him

New post www.avikyphoenix.blogspot.com

Nwa Imo said...

I think its just a brige of protocol from the permanent secretary,who was only trying to protect lives,hence, he should be forgiven and reinstated.

When they seek for a political office they remember their maker , they go frm one church to the other, and move frm one mosque to the other but after d victory they forget God that gave them victory.

So, really if people's lives are at stake. Is the permanent secretary not in the position to take unanimous decision?
I don't see anything wrong in what she has done. The stupid governor is acting based on the fact that CAN reacted. If Boko Haram had bombed and killed children, they will still sack the perm sec for not taking security advice as a matter of urgency.

This Governor shall, he is cute
*wink*

Nna see gobe at the making abeg....

This Governor shall, he is cute
*wink*

Nice one,the Lord knows how to handle boko people,nothing evil will happen to the children in Jesus name. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Thank you my Governor, I know how God lifted you up, and through that Environmental write up around 1995, when I saw that publication that you suspended morning devotion in schools, I became worried and ask myself if you can forget God this so fast. Thank God you didn't. I carry on with your good works. C. O.D.

Awesome .

This is the type of governor we need in all the states. You are stopping devotion which is what the devil wants so he can plan the attack well. Morning devotion is not just a devotion it is a prayer offered to God by thousands of children every morning. And you think when you stop it, God will be happy? She needs to sacked sef.

So boko haram day cross river state na,

Very strict man, well cultured and with good heart. My lecturer back from in DELSU.

Please turn the suspension to him being FIRED!!! What nonsense.

Good riddance hopefully. I think am beginning to fit Ben Ayade into a palce I once had for Donald Duke. A no nonsense serious Governor who wouldn't accept impunity for a careless impulsivity or mild official infractions. That man had absolutely no such right to make such a declaration without the consultation and validation of the Governor. And here most of us where, thinking Mr. Ben was the culprit. (All the same, I really do hope the Perm.Sec is not a scapegoat).

Boko Haram and their Muslim sponsors want people to be afraid of worshipping God... The Police should checkmate ALL Muslims in the state and Closely monitor all the activities of Northerners in the state...
If they dare carry out any attack the Government should repatriate ALL MUSLIMS AND NORTHERNERS BACK TO THEIR STATE..

Good way to go. That man is incompetent.

Wike Wike.

Excellent right up anonymous 6.54. Unfortunately not a lot of people think like you do

Progreat, faith without works ..... Is useless. Ur argument is baseless

lustrousGift said...

Better!

Very good, in fact he should be sacked! That is how they let d devil to creep in gradually and we know what d idiot can do so it's better to have morning prayers(that's d best way to start ur day) it keeps d devil off! All these many occultic men in government.

Anaigbo said...

Mr Governor you are totally wrong to suspend Perm. Sec.Hold the police responsible if they didn't inform you of impending danger in your state. Reinstate them back for god sake.Schools,Train stations are always evacuated here for ordinary hoax and authorities here have never been suspended. First sign of incompetent Governor

All ur points are good to go but this is Ayade of Cross River NOT Wike...

Oga leave Wike out of dis, it has nothing 2 do with his state, we r talking abt Cross River State, Calabar 2 b preside.

Lie...so before the strange news cross Calabar reach LindaIkejiBlog, Governor no hear such inside the full Calabar...???
*Nigerians, take note Buhari intends to use BokoHaram to hold Nigeria to "satanic religious ransom" But devil don FAIL, IJN!

BH in Cross River? It means that Buhari took them there during his last visit. No weapon fashioned against us shall prosper.

He shld av contacted stakeholders b4 issuing such sensitive directive. Someone in dat position shld knw beta.

Fool!

Exactly

I dont understand pple $ hypocrisy. Cant dey do their devotion in their classes? Aw come evry1 is religious all of a sudden? Everytin is not d work of devil there are ways we human affect ourselves. I hope nothing happen 2 d kids cos i wonder what dos in support will say then.

Why did the police commissioner offer this intelligence report only to the ministry of education? Where is the Governor's special adviser on security matters? Why did the police or permanent Secretary not contact the SSS or DAS? There are more questions than answers. There appears to be more to this story.

Abeg...help me ask him o. The perm. Sec took timely action. They still wanted stakeholders' meeting? Smh @ these tin gods we have as leaders.

Thank you. You mean Ayade....

Really? With that head?

Dear, cross River isn't. Rivers State is.

Adaobi said...

Wike is for River state,check your records well.

wait oh, is it a law or policy that skools should have devotion, this governor is not expose and he is has not acted educated.

Criver is very very dramatic oo ...d govnor is d worst ! Wouldn't just allow som1s ears to rest wid his stupid siren !

Been waiting fr that