Cross Rivers state govt suspend morning devotion in primary and secondary schools, CAN reacts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 October 2015

Cross Rivers state govt suspend morning devotion in primary and secondary schools, CAN reacts

The Cross Rivers state government has ordered the suspension of early morning devotions held in primary and secondary schools across the state. A statement signed by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education in the state, Anne Odey, stated that the decision to suspend the devotion came from security concerns raised by the state Commissioner of Police, Henry Fadairo.

She said the state police commission had suggested the suspension of the age long practice following the prevailing security concerns in the country.

In a swift reaction, the Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN, in the state released a statement rejecting the suspension of the early morning devotion by the state government. The statement which was signed by the chairman of CAN in the state, Archbishop Joseph Edra Ukpo, reads in part;
“Sequel to the letter from the Ministry of Education with reference No MOE/S132/VOL 1, by the Permanent Sectary of the Ministry of Education dated October 21, directing public and private primary/secondary schools across the state to suspend all assemblies (morning and afternoon) till further notice, the Christian Association of Nigeria , Cross River State chapter, hereby, says that such directive is totally unacceptable. This directive will negatively affect the moral upbringing of our children who are future leaders of this country”.

65 comments:

Juliet Iwobi said...

THIS IS SERIOUS O

LESBIANISM SCANDAL ROCKS KOGI UNIVERSITY: SEX VIDEO GOES VIRAL (Download)

Strange development

SMURF said...

That's just plain stupid, why would u do that? These prayers help some students, I guess they have a genuine reason.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

How morning devotion take after security...

The Nigerian police force is a failed system

What security concerns made them suspend morning devotions? Na wa o.

Is the Ministry devilish or simply for security or learning?

What kind of security concern is that? That's not enough reason o, morning devotion is schools don't take up 45mins na

#It WiLL onLY geT beTTer
#It mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

Gud for them

Alma said...

The kind of things we hear, dey are crazy to make such directive, its unheard of. Abeg CAN fight this to d last, instead of them to focus on more trivial issues dey are disturbing students, go have several seats, rubbish!

Witches in cross River are finally out...you want to be like America, can you pay the price? You want to remove God from schools you are setting those children up.

Nawa

I don't understand what the morning devotion has got to do with security. Linda take note!

Security concern indeed...Ogboni people. Make as much as 500$ daily online by simply clicking the link and registering, it's absolutely free with much benefits. http:// www.job4living.com/?ref=266419

hmmmmmmm...
Buhari and his evil agenda to islamize nigeria will not stand...
Buhari before you do that, you will join ur ancestors first. ask ur oga abacha

Its just for a short time and it wil soon b revisited so no need for otherwise.

Sign of end time (unique)

That's totally uncalled for. What has devotion got to do with security concerns? Not nice at all.

Suspending early morning prayers? Who know suffering it's those early morning prayers that is saving them.

Suspending early morning prayers? Who knows if it's those early morning prayers that is saving them.

Na dem saka

The reason given by the state government is quite reasonable,its for security purposes.

Nawaaoo this is sooooooo wrong

Why morning devotion?? That's not fair to God cos he's the only one that can protect us when we're in danger....

And so it begins!

Security concern?I see christianity in Nigeria being beaten while Islam is upheld.with all bomb in north can a northern governor say this about muslim prayer?evil occult governor.how does the prayer affect u and how is it a big issue.sir I will die in that seat.stupid man.....Linda Abeg post am ooo.nawa for this country.we still have alhaji rochas in IMO and now this.

aproko manager said...

Make evil spirit dey dwell for d kids abi?una try

After praying at home student still do same thing in school.. Abeg is just too much jor..... #NowPlaying>> ijo oloti: omo akin.....

For security reasons abi? So anything can't happen if they are inside the class,you people wants to destroy Nigeria totally with this foolishness,pls God don't be angry with us in this useless country of ours because of our stupid leaders, the gate of hell shall not prevail. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

How will it affect theit moral upbringing , it is a public school not a Christian school . Does it stop the children from having sex,lying ,gossip ! U guys should know the boundry line...private school can do watever they want

Which security concern?

Na wa o. But pls hw wil stopping mrn devotion better our country? Rulers of darkness at work.

have u ever asked urself why muslims rejected the new hundred naira note? They removed the arabic words from it cos all our notes from 100 to 1000 have arabic words when we are not an arabic nation and u think they are not hiding something. Dont trust their lies or excuses, u cannot appease them, just reject it

Why do Christians never take their FAITH seriously? What has the morning devotion got to do with security issues? Have there been any cause for alarm in Cross river State over the years?
So when the pupils and students are in their classes taking lessons gathered together there is also no security threat? Why is it that its always the things of God that we Christians always cut off 1st when issues arise. I tire oo.

When evil rules the land!!! May God forgive him. Oloshi

cant the devotion be done in each class individually? dats how they will be forming over-spiroro till bombs start exploding

MAYA OLEKU said...

Na so e dey take start o.....see America today. Okay no proble, we are watching.

This is unbelieveable. I bet you. There is a devilish person on seat, either the governor or the state COP. But they will never succeed, the Lord will fight for those children. Only God knows what the enemy wants to do.

WHEN POLITICIANS AND TOP CIVIL SERVANTS ARE MEMBERS OF THE OCCULT, WHAT DO YOU THINK WILL HAPPEN. THE SAME THING HAPPENING ABROAD WILL HAPPEN HERE. PEOPLE WHO HAVE SOLD THEIR SOULS.

Islamazation in progress

Picohontas said...

I disagree...If the government is concerned that students may be at risk when gathered for morning devotion. How do we reconcile the fact that students also gather in classrooms for their lessons, or do we cancel that as well?...This reason is not good enough!

Please can we incidents where Ministry of Education is implementing a ban on muslim prayers in muslim public schools in the north? If not then this is an attack against christianity

Hear you "royalpriesthood", is there a time to stop praying to TheLiving God...? So, this ur "priesthood" has been exposed.

Bonario, watch d evil coming out from ur bowels...is security able to take the place of true prayers?
*instead of praying at the general assembly grounds they should pray in their classrooms NOT stop prayer.
The new govt. admin sign oath with devil abi, dem don fail alrdy, IJN Amen!!!!

Hmmmmm
Dis is unacceptable
Dia is more 2 dis evil plan
Buhari & his agents na wetin?
Come plan naa & stop all dis u guys hide & seek
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Na wa ooh.is the commissioner of police a christian?Obama in cross rivers

Make why, they are mad

Devotion can happen during the day. It does not have to happen early in d morning

Mama Ada said...

GOD WILL SOON PUNISH SOME OF THESE POLITICIANS . IF THEY DONT HAVE ANYTHING FOR THE NATION, ABGE MAKE THEM COMMOT FOR SEAT BIKO

There should then be no boarding of students and pupils so that their parents can take better responsibility of their upbringing since state and church are abdicating the faith-based moral responsibility

Many Pentecostal churches
do not deserve to be allowed to go near unguarded under-aged children. They make Satan to seem more powerful and more dreadful than God. Indirectly this affects the childs mental stability.

This is a seriously precarious situation that must not be handled with kids glove. We all agree that if this measure were to have been announced in a northern state, for the tag of security attached to it, it would have been accepted and thumbed up by us all. Here we are down south south east and it is coming up. SOUNDS MORE TO ME LIKE SOMETHING THAT COULD BE OBTAINABLE OR NORMAL IN YUESSAY! Though we also must not forget the fact that morning assembly in our schools has never been a CONDUCTOR FOR MORALITY even if it helps some cool-headed students remain good. A classmate of mine way back once lit a firecracker (banger) besides me right in the middle of a sermon during a morning devotion exercise. You can imagine the stampede that ensued with even the social studies master that was administering sermon scampering to an assumed safety. What made matters worse was on discovering what happened, my guy was so scared he accused me of being an accomplice. All my pleas fell on deaf ear and we took the dire punishment together which incited me to experiment more fire cracking mischievous sprees as a pay back against the said friend and some school officials that didn't believe me.All those are in the past now and we do laugh over it these days. Moral of this short story of my life being, PEOPLE CHANGE PEOPLE and not MORNING DEVOTION!

TJ said...

The governor is not in the country and did not give such instruction. The woman who did has been suspended immediately. The governor is a Christian and will never stop the devotion in schools.

TJ said...

The governor is not in the country and did not give such instruction. The woman who did has been suspended immediately. The governor is a Christian and will never stop the devotion in schools.

anonimous said...

You can't try this in an islamia school, yet foolish christian government of this state wants to do this! Truellyyy satan is at work here! We must work effortlessly to condemn and reject this statement! If God cannot keep or secure the state then no police or military can do likewise.

TJ said...

The governor is not in the country and did not give such instruction. The woman who gave the instruction has been suspended immediately. The governor is a Christian and will never stop devotion in schools.

Please disregard the security report. This was the same way, prayers were taken out of public schools in the U.S.A.; because nature abhors vacuum, something else had to takeover. Guess what took-over, GUNS!

Do not take Prayers out of public schools.

Occultic people have started.

All the children uphold in GOD he is only one with that name o! Sis lili over to. You! Blis

U must be foolish and daft like all other stupid fellas saying islamisation. Oloriburuku niyin. Trouble makers. Haba! Is it that u can't read or what? So i'll knw where 2 start from. Where in d post dd it say FG did dat? The state govt did. N u def knw he is a xtian n ds is a xtian dominated state. Y not direct ur anger to him and leave them Muslim peeps outta ds.

Since wen has der bn issue of security concern in dat state or any oda south south state for dat mata? I smell d hand work of occultic fellows in d govt house.