This coup comes less than a month before elections meant to restore democracy in the West African country.
Burkina Faso was plunged into chaos yesterday night when the elite Republican Guard, a pillar of long-time former President Blaise Compaore's regime, seized President Kafando, Prime Minister Yacouba Isaac Zida, and two ministers.
The powerful presidential guard has repeatedly meddled in politics since Compaore was toppled in a popular uprising in October last year.
"The patriotic forces, grouped together in the National Council for Democracy, have decided today to put an end to the deviant transitional regime," a military official said on RTB state television.
31 comments:
Kk
Wow! In this age??
Ngwanu
Na wa o. This doesn't speak well of Africa at all.
Hmm the break of a new dawn in Burkina Faso has just began.I hope they weather the storm!
I Thought the world has gone past the age of coup...
Na wa o. This doesn't speak well of Africa at all.
Ok. Gud for dem... Who E help
Oh!
Dis dude's r really fair ooo...
All d same, our civilians wil not conduct themsef properly and act lik people drunk wit excess power thereby leading to military taking over. Wht a shame.
Nice one,when did african's started acting as human's.thank God for this.i pray for this to happen to other african country.
Politics tho
nsogbu di ebe nile
#iT wiLL oNly gEt bEttER
#It mUsT enD iN prAise
Oh noh!
Nawa
Doesn't say well for Africa!
HMMMMM...TOMJERRYSWIT
wow,so this can still happen at this point of civilisation. It is really sad to see that some African countries don't want to move forward and portray positive change. I hope things go well for that country.
Nice One
Sad for that country. And some people have found it hard to give all credit to GEJ for keeping Nigeria together..
It is really sad that something like this can still happen during this era of civilisation. I don't understand why someone will not want positive change for his country. I hope all goes well for them.
In dis age and time??? Na wa o! Linda take note!
What a news..! Na wao!
Is it that easy? Two (2) successful coups in a year.
Linda for 2days nw ve not read comments! Do u publish ur comments at midnite? Am no longer enjoying this blog!
It's a good thing actually. The interim president is friends with Blaise Compaoré, a former leader who seized power from Thomas Sankara in a bloody coup. I guess this is change for them
Thomas Sankara!!! How my heart weeps when I remember that he sacrificedid his life for Burkina Faso and see how they ended up. All his great achievements for his country destroyed by greedy men aided by the West. Rest in peace Sankara. Your beloved Burkina Faso will be free one day.