British High Comminssion in Nigeria replies Remi Sonaiya on high cost of British visa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 September 2015

British High Comminssion in Nigeria replies Remi Sonaiya on high cost of British visa

The British Embassy in Nigeria has explained why UK visa fees is high. This is in response to Remi Sonaiya, a former presidential candidate, who yesterday lamented on twitter about the high cost of obtaining a 2 year UK visa. See the rest of their tweet after the cut..

63 comments:

To think of the high no of visa applications that ae rejeced

Uk... Na one day shah.....

*Yawns* I believe in that woman.She's got the balls like late Prof Dora Akunyili. She'll do us proud if she gets the chance to pilot the affairs of this country in the next 4yrs or 8yrs

ma HAVE U HEARD???TOMJERRYSWIT

Alrighty then!

It is not good enough reason. 10yrs visa is costing almost 400k when it is not residency and 2yrs visa is almost 120k. American 2yrs is less than 35k

its crazy. 2yrs is about 120k, 10yrs is almost 300k while US 2yrs is less than 35k

Abeg dey should gerrout.
Dey denied me visa to go for my graduation with my sis.
I paid abt 80k and it just went like that.
I paid my complete masters fees, just becks my skol does graduation once,I had to come to Nigeria for some months and when I was ready to go for it,they suddenly realized I dont have a job.
They are nothing but thieves who are only interested in what dey can gain from u.
My dad has wasted his hard earned money in d name of UK masters.
I made distinction and am still at home, couldn't even get a job over there.

bee jay said...

It's actually true, the visa fees are too expensive and more are rejected

Good one.

Good one.

beejay said...

It's true, visa fees are too high and most are rejected

Bee Jay said...

It's true, visa fees are too high and most of them are rejected

Even if the Brits feel the money represents good value it's too much! my cousin was denied a visa even with sufficient funds in her accounts!

Dats not enuff reason why it has to be dat expensive, American visa is less than 40k.

UK High Commission is the most wicked and meanest when it comes to charging exorbitant visa fee! Their explanation here is the most stupid one can ever get! US embassy charges 31,200 for 2 years against 102,000 fee! Thieves they are! they stole from us! (Gollum's voice)

Okay seen...

The tweets don't tell us the reason why the fees are high. They should better recognise that they are no longer our colonial masters so they cannot fool us

Stupid reasons how come Yankee visa is far cheaper?

Issokay, now we know better. Linda take note!

Story

Wow!

Dis is wht I call epic and wonderful response. Nice one frm them and I so luv dis response.

That's not enough reason abeg. Why r they so over priced compared to d US? Tsheww

Make una leave my country alone o!

You sure say you get the distinction yourself or you use UKessay to pass your papers! I beg leave our country alone ooo!!!

Beejay, develop your Ajegunle o!

I suspect na UKessays do your papers for you! Leave our country alone o!

that's not an answer..its a waiver...
lets start an hastag! #reduceUKvisafees#

Where she get the fund from? From aristo or yahoo yahoo? Make she stay put for 9ja.

You get passport at all abi the gist dem give you?

Eeya! Body dey pain you o! GB, long live the queen!

Mumu! Who lets you that you are no more colonise?

Because Queen still reign here not Obama!

Rubbish explanation. It doesn't cost that much for other countries to obtain UK visa. So why Nigeria? If you apply in the USA, Canada or anywhere else the UK visa fees is far cheaper. Why is their embassy in Naija different.

Fola said...

Stupid anonymous, fuck off!

@ Royal priesthood, you are a foolish goat.

#reduce uk visa fees..i agree ,is it non refundable if denied? If yes then they are thieves, and I hear they dont give 2 year visa to first timers so tht explanation is so dump, im even scared to apply make I no enter one chance for oyibos,i better go balogun do shoping n sell till God corrects their head! #reduceukvisafes! Anitianoz!

Who is this crazy retard from British Council/high commission replying everybody. You guys are bloody thieves. That's how you keep milking us dry. God punish all of you

In fact,increase to 800k 4 all I care. I've got a good job here n was refused twice! Just an attempt, I got a US Visa n i've been to da country n back in just 3weeks. Wetin dey der o? God bless America.

Anonymous 5.34pm.;what has kayode said wrong? You are the daftt one. American visa cost about $140 for a 2year visa. The Nigerian govt ought to do something about the high cost of UK Vida.

valushi said...

There is no one to protect Nigerians, we pay through our nose for everything,here from DSTV to estimated electricity bills.

Not Good enough.

Stay in your country na

Stay in your country na Long live the queen. God heard our prayers ;)

Stay in your country na Your cousin na ashawo. We know them

Stay in your country na

Stay in your country na Nuisance

Stay in your country na Na by force!?

So? Stay in your country na UK doesn't need you

Stay in your country na UK no need Ina bad luck

memmie said...

@royal priesthood..what's so nice about their response. No tangible reason provided in their tweet.

What are we saying,what are they saying? How much does it cost to print that fucking paper they call visa? Is the visa fee the same price in other western countries?

They should refund money once they reject visa

omotara said...

Fool shouting stay in your country, you think everybody that wants to get uk visa is trying to run away and hustle overthere like you,i will rather go and hustle in cotonou than uk,there's absolutely nothing in that country anymore except for complains here and there

US visa fee has increased to 60k now as at dec 2014

The Jones said...

Royal fool,shutup,must you comment?

well it is not UK alone that increased their visa fees. Indian embassy did same from April this year from the initial N18k to N57k Reason being that Nigerian embassy increased their fee in India also. it was disheartening seeing medical patients standing outside the embassy gate,stranded. no be their fault, if we don better our economy, we will have no reason to visit any embassy for visa. how many Indians are in a hurry to leave their country for anywhere in the world despite some of them survive on less than $1 per day.

when we wake up, they will come begging us.