He said:
“ Our fight against corruption is not just a battle of virtue and righteousness in our land, but it is a fight for the soul and substance of our nation.
“ Corruption in our country is endemic and it constitutes a parallel system,“ he said. According to the President, corruption has made a potentially prosperous country struggle to feed and provide jobs for its people.
“ Hundreds of thousands of infants and maternal mortality statistics, hundreds of thousands deaths from communicable diseases are traceable to the greed and corruption of a few,“ he said. Buhari urged Nigerians to think of resuscitating the nation`s economy because two-thirds of Nigerians lived in extreme poverty.
“They must be helped, first to survive, and then, fully participate in the economy of the nation. “Consequently, we must create tenets for the very poor and vulnerable, while ensuring that social spending also resurrects investments in the economy. “We must invest substantially in relevant education; teachers training and vocational and entrepreneurial training,“ Buhari said.The President said a way out, was for all Nigerians to invest in infrastructure and all crucial components in the medium and long term means of diversifying the economy.
He continued by saying:
“Meanwhile, we must block all leakages and improve on our revenue base,“ he said. On insurgency, Buhari said Boko Haram had been weakened and lacked the strength to occupy the North-East zone or any part of the country.He also said the military was using local intelligence to thwart efforts of Boko Haram to regroup in the North-East or any part of the country.
He said:
“On security, we are on course to militarily route Boko Haram and make them incapable of taking over any territory. “Suicide bombings on some parts of the North- East are desperate acts of terrorists to create a sense that they are still in play.
“But, with vigilance and local intelligence, we will make these cowardly acts practically impossible,“ he said. Earlier, the President of CBCN, Most Rev. Ignatius Kaigama, said that the new administration in the country would recover the country`s wasted opportunities.Kaigama, who is the Archbishop of Jos, said the church will continue to pray for Nigeria. He said:
“The tendency to promote, defend, and protect narrow personal economic, regional and religious interests have been responsible for our unstable national journey of one step forward and many steps backward,“ he said Kaigama expressed optimism that the new administration would achieve positive change and recover wasted opportunities.
Vanguard
32 comments:
May God bless and guide our country and her president
Buhari is working, Nigeria is working
Leaked Video: Inside an Agege night club where young ladies dance completely naked and practice live sex on stage (18+)
Hmmmm just hope they re long gone away from d country.
Aunty linda
Aunty linda
Aunty linda
As long as they stop living.
Suicide bombings on some parts of the North- East are desperate acts of terrorists to create a sense that they are still in play - I totally agree with this statement. I mean, its been awhile u heard BOKO HARAM attacking a place except for the suicide bombing issue. I hope they can be rendered powerless soon
ride on our president...
gutsynaija.blogspot.com
Bla, bla, bla all this old man does is talk. Watev's abeg
That's what he said, we haven't confirmed
#iT will OnLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd In PrAiSE
I pray for it to be true.buhari and northern kings if you guys know's what you people gave them or tell them before the start this wickedness against the innocent citizen,make una go back an use the same tactic and stop them,before northern nigeria is wipe out.
100likes
Amen o!
Since some boko haram members have surrendered. I believe him.
One by one,GMB will keep fulfilling his campaign promises.BH will soon be history.Next in line is corruption. God bless the president
Oh yes o! Thank God for a President like the one we have now. Linda take note!
Annihilated and obliterated
Retarded born by mistake. No wonder ur father is requesting for ur DNA.
Wow!
I wish him all d best in d fight against BH and corruption. Tthumbs up and more power to his elbows.
Useless faggot. Obviously gay people to think and talk normal because they've been fucked in an abnormal place.
Wow!
I wish him all d best in d fight against BH and corruption. Tthumbs up and more power to his elbows.
Only time will tell. But I sincerely hope that what he said is the truth.
We'll have to wait and see for ourselves.....
Jonathan did that Jan, Feb, March! BH was since decimated by GEJ. What's new?
Fooooooooooooooool,there is no hope 4 u,give up
Wonderful
military action is not enough to solve the big problems in the north. the gvt needs to invest in extensive brainwashing programs if they want a permanent solution.
Buhari is really trying
I HOPE AND PRY SO....TOMJERRYSWIT
Of course. when u have their phone number. With GEJ out there is no longer any need for them to "occupy" anywhere. Kudos!
May God bless this two people for us shah no doubt.....
Where are they?...Killed or absorbed in the army?