32 years after she was stripped of her title, Miss America Org. officially apologises to Vanessa Williams | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 14 September 2015

32 years after she was stripped of her title, Miss America Org. officially apologises to Vanessa Williams

The Miss America pageant offered a formal apology to Vanessa Williams, the first black winner of the contest, 32 years after she was forced to resign. The actress was crowned Miss America in 1983 and stripped of her title 10 months later when nude images taken before she entered the competition were published by Penthouse magazine.

During the nationally televised Miss America pageant held on Sunday, September 13, the executive chairman of the pageant, Sam Haskell welcomed Williams to the stage and apologised on behalf of the pageant for the way his predecessors treated her.
"Though none of us currently in the organisation were involved then, on behalf of today's organisation I want to apologize to you and to your mother, Ms. Helen Williams. I want to apologize for anything that was said or done that made you feel any less the Miss America you are and the Miss America you always will be." Haskell said.
Speaking to journalists after the ceremony, Vanessa Williams thanked the public for supporting her when she resigned as Miss America and all through her career.
"I want to thank everyone who has come up to me over the past 32 years and said, 'You'll always be my Miss America. I got a chance to be on the stage and represent what I represented back in 1983. Thank you so much for being so welcoming to me."

60 comments:

Good vibes

Good vibes

Only Kim can do nudes and still be praised...lol

Congrats to her.

I knew this woman will be so damn beautifull as a youth..... What a gud feeling though no doubt...... #NowPlaying baby daddy: iyanya.....

That's cool.

Good for her.

Vanessa Williams aka wilheminna...I so luv her

Better late dan never

Better

#it WiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT muSt End In PrAise

It's not 2day racism started nah.

Thats nice.

Thats nice.

Hmmmmm

Aunty linda....

Hmmmmm

Aunty linda....

Awww! That's so good. Congratulobia to her.

AQO said...

Good!

They should apologize to other stripped beauty queens

Okay, nice one.

YOU CAN NOT CLAIM TO BE BLACK , BECAUSE YOU LOOK WHITE.

Tayo(OMG) said...

Don't even know how I feel. I feel sorry and happy for her at the same time. She looks like my gf when she was younger doh!.

Well, nice one.

Hmm

emmaDioku said...

ehhh yaaa... Happy for her

emmaDioku said...

ehh ya. Happy for her

emmaDioku said...

ehh yaa. Happy for her

emmaDioku said...

happy for her

That's good

Nelson Nwegbo said...

This is a pointer to the loss of morals in our age. 32years things gas gone worst.

Why not reinstate her crown? She's still disgraced if they don't reverse the original decision.

Better late than never. Linda take note!

Anonymous Personified said...

Wilheminna, is that where you copied your blog name from???

Well, truth be told, posting nude pics of herself shows how irresponsible she was/is. Beauty queens are meant to be seen as role models. Her cup of beans though.

Thats why you are wicked like her idiot

Nudes: Putting girls in wahala since 1900

JIRO said...

This exemplifies the difference between 1983 and 2015, how NUDE was RUDE then but 'GOOD' now. May all morals not be completely lost on humanity.

Ok. Seen

Meen!, she now looks very old

Nice one. congrats to her. Guess nudity can now be reconciled as an everyday lifestyle.

Okokobioko said...

Nice one, big ups to Vanessa

it was just racism, never bout her nudes

Good one

Their matter

Hottest gists, gossip,news, fashion and healthy lifestyle said...

Good for her

Wow!

So nice and good of them...
Dis wil go a long way to heal d wounds and hurt dat must hav b caused.

Wow!

So nice and good of them...
Dis wil go a long way to heal d wounds and hurt dat must hav b caused.

And why are they apologizing..bcos nudity is no big deal today or what exactly??????

Good they correct the mistake their racist predecessors made mtewwww!!!

Swt hrt...wats the meaning of Wilheminna...

Stupid damaged control that is no longer necessary. They all should go and sit.

hhhmmm! Better late than never

Gud fr her

Awww after these years

I loved her role in Ugly Betty. One of my best comedy movies till date. She must have been devastated then at loosing the crown, but it definitely sent a moral warning to some youths then, especially the ones that were aspiring to contest someday. Examples had to be set

So they were taking nudes in 1983..hmmm

Nice....

Awwwwwww, how nice