The rescued students who are mainly primary and secondary students are responding to treatment at the Igando general hospital, where they have been admitted.
The spokesperson of the South West region of thte National Emergency Management Agency NEMA, Ibrahim Farinloye confirmed the incident and said the body of the 6 students who drowned has not been discovered.
“The 14 school children were being conveyed across Ojo to Irawe jetty, to school. 8 of the children and the canoe driver have been rescued. 5 have been taken to Igando General Hospital for treatment, 3 have been discharged home. 6 children are yet to be recovered as I speak. Searches will continue tomorrow”he said.
Vanguard
58 comments:
It is well. May God comfort their loved ones
So Sad#
Dats sad...
Dat was risky of d school heads nw kaiii
May d good lord heal dem ijn amin na wa o.
So sad... May their souls rip
When they keep using canoe that has lasted for 100 years.. rip to those kids.
Damn. RIP
Rip to dem.
Choiiiii. It's a pity oh
Tragedy. When will all this be a thing of the past? Is there any health and safety board for canoes, jetty and small boats? What happened to life jackets being onboard albeit a few?
Omg May God save them ,,#heretostay
This is heartbreaking. My prayers goes out to their families.
God have mercy
Too bad
*lib's namesake*
This is horrible. So so horrible. But y are they going to school on a ferry? Are the floods that bad?
So sad
Why would they go there inb the first place
Hmmm.... Why will they cross river to go to school it is very risky nah may their souls rip
Chai. Poor kids. There is no way they can be found alive.
So no other schools on dry land apart from the one across the river. Na WA o,nigeria.even if no other schools, so that sick wood structured boat is their only means of transportation, a boat that can be turned by the littlest breeze. The fact that parents even allowed their children to go to school with a boat is alarming. Rip to the dead children.
na wa oo so withoit a boat dem no fit go skul ni
Searches will continue tommorrow??? :o :o....are they for real??....peoples children
Thank God
What a tragedy! Incident crudely took away innocent souls... Roger Linda!
You carry innocent children without life jacket on that thing called canoes? Why can't we be safety conscious for once? What country is this anyway
OMG!!! Young innocents....eternal rest grant dem Oh Lord!!! May God console deir individual families.....
Chai rip to those kids too bad
So sad....
May their souls rest in peace
Sad news
Am so scared of this boat thing and water ehn, chai rip to the dead
it is well
Why won't they be provided with life jacket.. travelling on water without life jacket is like driving a car without seat belt. I wish dem quick recovery tho.
Hey its a pity. May God be with their souls.
Wondering how ds even happened with all d spaces ...
So bad! How awful.
So unfortunate
OMG what a sad news.
Y going to school dat far? With all d public and private schools surroundin Ojo.oh well may their souls rest in peace Amen
I suspect they were not wearing life jackets.
Can the government please investigate and ensure that all boat operators carrying fee paying passengers provide life jackets.
Charities please donate life jackets or subsidise the cost.
Nigerians do something!
Terrible.
This is the most heart breaking news iv ever read. I woke up to this and I'm stil sobbing in bed. Its not fair. How can they allow fourteen kids into that tiny canoe without a life jacket. What kind of govt do we have? This is a flagrant disregard if human right to life. Rip young ones.
RIP to the dead. God please, may we not see any of these things again. Please protect your children. The government should devise a means to avoid people using this as a means of transportation.
these children aren't even wearing life Jacket.. I keep saying it when I pass by such on water trp(when going to work) we know God is a life saver but one has to take precautions o, may those children be found soon and even miraculously be found alive IJN.. Amen. Please parents on those island should stop taking things for granted o
Oh Lord!
Sad. May their souls rest in peace.
and how come d fibre boat couldn't control speed or divert, d water is that big now(some wicked/hrtless boat captains).. they usually slow down or divert when they see more other boats on water.. God knows best! thank God for those that were rescued and those that yet to be rescued cos I belve they wil also be found and restored
Haba! Dis is really sad. May their souls rest in peace + wishing the survivors a speedy recovery. Linda take note!
That's not cool
Nuelcode
SO SO SAD
Please can somebody give me a link to post an info to linda. Pls. Help me LIB
Please LIB readers! can somebody give me a link to post an info to linda. Pls. Help me LIB. Thank you in advance
Lindaikeji@gmail.com,
Linda look alike
For what? Did u read this story at all?!
RIP to the dead.
Oh my! So sad!
Sad! May their souls rest in peace....
Thank you #Dora. Fine gal
May God gv der parents d fortitude 2 bear d loss. RIP 2 dem n quick recovery 2 dos in d hospital
My sympathy goes to their parents. Sure bad occurrence will not happen again.