The man died on Monday at the plant in Baunatal, about 100km (62 miles) north of Frankfurt, VW spokesman Heiko Hillwig said.
The 22-year-old was part of a team that was setting up the stationary robot when it grabbed and crushed him against a metal plate, Hillwig said.
He said initial conclusions indicate that human error was to blame, rather than a problem with the robot, which can be programmed to perform various tasks in the assembly process.
He said it normally operates within a confined area at the plant, grabbing auto parts and manipulating them.
Another contractor was present when the incident occurred, but was not harmed, Hillwig said. He declined to give any more details about the case, citing an ongoing investigation.
German news agency DPA reported that prosecutors were considering whether to bring charges, and if so, against whom.
49 comments:
Choi!!! Virus
Such a pity
No b smâll tin
No b small tin ooôo
Na wa oo
The robot should be arrested and sentenced for murder then
Ah... Aome serious gbese...
Meenah_wakil on instagram
Ah... Aome serious gbese...
Ah... Some serious gbese...
Against the robot noni...lolz
Linda,you don start blogging so early?Get hold of your self .Your life is spiraling out of control.You need to take things easy.You work too much.
Everything is not about working hard and making money.You cant spend all your life on working hard.You need to take things easy .You may be intelligent but you lack wisdom.
There are many of your mates that dont work as hard as you and dont have half the money you have but they are much more happier than you.
My advice:work less and be wiser and more happier.
Ghen ghen! Sebi dy wan create dm own human ni, God dey luk dm now.
Against Mr Robot nu
I expect this happen.
Charge should be against the Volkswagen company. Vicarious liability is what it's called in law. When an agent of a master defaults in line of duty, the master takes responsibility. Robot is an agent of volkswagen, whether they built it themselves or bought it. The crux is that they engaged it's services. They can choose to join the manufacturer of the Robot in the suit though.
Hahahaahaaaa... Developed world problems just as we have third world problems....
Rip...
Wetin we know go hear for dis world... rip to him
I don't subscribe to the creation of robots oh...in future now they would be created to assist in homes n live amongst humans. Then they will start marrying other robots, then they will fight for 'equality' n marry humans.
Hmmmm, do I watch alot of sci fiction?
Na so. The monster they created has become monstrous to them and them alone.
I Robot
Hian!
This is not the kind of robot that is obtainable in an car manufacturing plant. Pls give realistic pictures
Against the Mr Robot. Oyibo people self !!!!!. May his soul rest in peac
Na wa o! Person use hand build wetin kill am. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
Can u imagine? Dey want robots to do humans work, therefore causing more and more unemployment. Dave
Technology gone wrong
Wonders shall never seize...wat u built with ur hand now getting u killed 😂
No one can create like the great creator..We as human are bound to make mistakes, what a costly one in this case. May his soul rest in perfect peace. My heart goes out to his family and friends.
Let them investigate and knw if its human error, and bring the makers of the robot to court...... Besides u can't have a robot dat has killed some 1 to be working in an industry with humans
na wa... when human beings keep playing God this is the resuly
sounds like a movie to me and what a way to die. May his soul rest in peace.
Against the robot of course. Charge it for murder and sentence it to death by hanging. I make sense?
...and if so against whom. No against me!. see jamb question. Ofcourse against Volks Wagen!.
Dis is why I don't like robots...RIP to d dead.
May his soul rest in peace....
Wonderful
Hmmmmm
There is is time for everything in life time to dead time to live and time to play end will come to everything on surface of this earth may is soul RIP
Zero self consciousness replacing humans?
Please tell her she wan take the money go heaven no man will love u genuinely with all this and most of ur stories are boring no gist .....try leave Kardashian s family u are obsessed with her with fake boring things u show us learn u are just lucky ppl come to ur blog ....where the real gist is is stella dimoku I hope it's correct. ...get a life and stop bn fake as hell....stop showing off too u are young and beautiful
Yeah.........u have watched more than ur brain can assimilate......am happy a girl somewhere enjoys sci fiction movie like me......we shld get married u know
....and later start gay robot marriage
Linda, do u have to publish every asshole's comment? I can bet with my life that this idiot is one of the most unhappy people alive because, no doubt, he/she is jealous of your accomplishments. Anyway, na u sabi. Why then do u vet comments before publication if u end up publishing stuff like this. Fucking unbelievable!!
Chyke
City:Unknown.
Lol.....virus
i-robot
Wow I can't believe the hate I just read here. So you unconscious beings came on a blog after perusing it's contents over and over to insult the blogger? Woow you are dust and as dust you shall be scattered across the earth whence you came. Linda is living her life. If you were truly happy, you wouldn't dare spew such hate from your torsos. She has found her purpose. You find yours! May God have mercy on your pitiful souls
Can this girl's comments be blocked please? For the preservation of mankind's intelligence and its furtherance, can this girls comments be blocked?