Robberies in traffic on Lagos roads - woman tells her story (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 1 July 2015

Robberies in traffic on Lagos roads - woman tells her story (photos)

This is also an appeal to the appropriate agencies in Lagos and other states. Curb the menace of traffic robbery now before these robbers start killing people. Talent manager Isioma Osaje shares her experience below.
'I want to give my testimony. At 11:30pm two sets of people attempted to rob me in traffic. I had just gotten off the phone with my mum to say I was in standstill traffic. When the first set of two guys yelled at me from outside my window to wind down. Unknown to me she immediately said a prayer for my safe return. I remember hearing that your best escape was to honk your horn repeatedly. I put my hand on the horn and didn't let go. And I called God in my mind to help me. Immediately I saw an opening in the next lane and swerved in, still pressing my horn. They fled.
5 minutes later three guys came to the drivers side window. Pointing torches into my car. Same instructions. Wind down give us something. Next thing I see something swing and my window shatters. At that very minute another space opens on the next lane and I swerve in while honking. They fled.
Many would say I was almost robbed, I say I was saved. Thank you God for your mercies.

73 comments:

I need a hand gun

When will all this end. D authorities should do something about this naw

Happy New Month!

I pray today marks total turn around in our lives, and point of contact to every household wit God meeting our needs even b4 they arise.

Change does not necessarily assure progress but progress implacably requires change. Change is inevitable. Change 4d better is a full-time job.

Change is here in Nigeria, and remember true change begins with a change in our attitude!

God bless Nigerians!
God bless our leaders!
God bless u&ur household!

Welcome 2d month of July!

Shalom!

Too bad! Thank God she's fine and hopefully the government do something about it.

fgtf said...

Pls which part of Lagos and location did this robbery occur so that the necessary authorities could keep a tab on such location

Thank God for that... Hope the Govt finds solution to it asap...

Good to hear you were not robbed but you should have indicated the location were the incident happened so that others will avoid there if possible.

ThankGoodness

ah, God pls save us from the hand of evil..

meenah_wakil on instagram

ah, God pls save us from the hand of evil..

meenah_wakil on instagram

Wow! Dat was wholesome, and brave of her. If not for d smart move frm her it wil b another story. Thank God for her life, and I bless God for dis narrow escape frm dis heartless souls.

Happy New Month!

I pray today marks total turn around in our lives, and point of contact to every household wit God meeting our needs even b4 they arise.

Change does not necessarily assure progress but progress implacably requires change. Change is inevitable. Change 4d better is a full-time job.

Change is here in Nigeria, and remember true change begins with a change in our attitude!

God bless Nigerians!
God bless our leaders!

Shalom!

COLLIN said...

How can there even still be traffic @ 11:30...

His God nd only God may his.name be praised

Lagos! We just have to pray for God's protection always Isah 54:17

linda onyx said...

Hmmmm. Too bad.

See robbery o lolz,y dont I belive this? Well thank God for ur life o

Na God win. You can't be a meat to those dare devils. You are divinely covered.

Thank God Almighty for your life.

God save us. Thank God for her.

They said you should give them something.. you should have just given them that white earphone naa

Have encountered such along CMS bridge only God saved me. Its becoming a regular thing along traffic routes. something should be done about this before it turns into bloodshed.

Paul Ofou said...

Linda inform Ambode it seems traffic issues in Lagos is his only priority right now, insecurity isn't one of that.... so much for Eko oni bage... lol

prettiyz said...

Thanks be to God

Alabekee said...

Thank God she was saved unhurt
Pls visit www.alabekee.blogspot.com

Han said...

Thank God for u

Wow! Dat was wholesome, and brave of her. If not for d smart move frm her it wil b another story. Thank God for her life, and I bless God for dis narrow escape frm dis heartless souls.

Happy New Month!

God bless Nigerians!
God bless our leaders!

Shalom!

Happy New Month!

God bless Nigerians!
God bless our leaders!

Shalom!

Thank God for her. But 11:30pm is too late for a lady to be out alone on the road. Linda take note!

God bless u real good. Prayers on point.

Aw thank God She was able to tell the story, may God continue to guide $ protect us all the days of our lives.

So she smashed her own window?or decided to lie cos she will be paid to do so?
Please be reasonable in your comments.

Sorry dear...

Juliet,your comments are usually ok but this isn't.
First,so it would have been alright if it was a man?secondly,if work kept her out,she should drop her resignation letter?
I don't know of the mainland,but yesterday was crazy on the island.15 minutes drive became 5 hours.Ambode is slacking a little please.I figure he's trying to put things together,he should hurry.

Dis is quite dangerous. I'm sure she sustained injuries.

Willy B said...

It's time for self defense. It's time for individual to own licensed hand gun for self defense. This is CHANGE and we all need this as well.

thank God for safety and lives.

But the story is incomplete. Kindly provide the location where it occurred so we can be careful in that path and let the authorities know.

All we shd b praying 4 is Gods protection over us. Thank God she ws able 2 save r life n r properties.

charmz said...

Tank God she is safe

Where did this happen?

Ladun Liadi said...

I need a Concealed Carry permit

Thank God for saving you

Ladun Liadi said...

Pepper spray, stun gun, blade, dagger, stun grenade for when they're many. Anything to put up resistance to dis sub-humans.

Thank God for saving you

So its u dat is reasonable dats y u dcided to comment under anon abi smfin is wrong with ur brain ni

Thank God for u....

@Barbara you're a fool for this comment. Mumu!

THIS HAS BECOME A TREND IN TRAFFIC THESE DAYS. OPEN/FREE ROBBERY.
OUR SO CALLED SECURITY MEN ARE SEEN AROUND IN THE DAY DOING NOTHING BUT TAKING BRIBES AND ASSOCIATING SHAMELESSLY WITH THIS HOODLUMS/AGBERO AT NIGHT THEY DISAPPEAR AND DECLARE THE ROADS FREE FOR THESE HOODLUMS TO OPERATE.

Thank God for her life. i was also robbed of my IPAD AIR 1 last week at Obanikoro bus stop around 6.30am.This has to stop. Government should deploy security agents on our road during heavy flow of traffic.God help us alL. And as for Barbara joy, your comment is disgusting. You better beg for forgiveness and pray this never happen to you.

Thank God for saving her and for moms' prayer and God will continually save us all. Sometimes what i do is to play very loud local music with my front glasses down and sometimes have to wind up when I feel so. Like yesterday it was Osadebe all through the 3hours traffic. God help us in all. Amen
Signed: Ogamazi

abujakenneth said...

Good one woman. We thank God for His mercies

This happens everyday along my route , Suru Alaba - Mile 2 , 2nd rainbow ,( Agboju-Oluti- alakija )

There should more patrol men of the force especially at gridlock, it could reduce drastically these dare devil robbers. One day those guys would meet their match

Amy said...

Time to bring out my pepper spray.

Amy said...

Time to bring out my pepper spray.

Next time give them something.They could have drag you from that car. go church and thank God not twitter

Bless God

I will always say it:Nigerians need taser gun to deal with this people,Just have two in your car, bag or pepper spray

Secretman said...

This is a stupid narrative, you calling the authorities to check menace at WHERE? Where were u attacked?

Jenn!!! Thank God you are okay and to think that I thought of you yday. please ignore the silly comments from some people

This Davido driver should just alws keep the fuck up.

This is getting excessive. Most times its all these guys who hawk in traffic

Lagos is something else. Thank God for your safety. Mean while one can help himself by purchasing one of these security gadgets, there's this new stunt batton/gun that is sold to individuals, it can be used in this kind of situation, it's easy to use, it also has a siren(police like) to scare away car robber's, the stunner sends high voltage electric shock when used on this car/ petty criminals. It's quite easy to use. I also advice peeps to purchase and instore a vehicle tracking device in their car, just in case of theft, one can easily turn off the ignition of the car from the comfort of your mobile phone, even if ur phone is stolen, u can authorize a trusted partner to shut down the vehicle. You can contact me for more info, sales and installation... Fastrack Security and safety Ltd. Bbm 7A854CC2, WhatsApp 09091402282

I hate Lagos!!!

lin lin said...

Barbra receive common sense IJN

This is just too bad!!!! in the 21st Century and we claim to have governments in this country,yet it is feels more like Afganistan!!!
Linda Ikeji, you a are a person of influence, and you can surely add pressure to the Gov Ambode to solve this issue. The solution is very simple: 1. Lagos state traffic management know all the bottle necks in the state and the times of the bottle necks, the Govt should simply dispatch security agents (Police, Mopol, WAI, KAI) to these areas to provide security to citizens. In the case of impromptu traffic, then use rapid response to dispatch security agencies. Its just a matter of hours before the traffic dissipates but lives and properties would have been saved.

This is just too bad!!!! in the 21st Century and we claim to have governments in this country,yet it is feels more like Afganistan!!!
Linda Ikeji, you a are a person of influence, and you can surely add pressure to the Gov Ambode to solve this issue. The solution is very simple: 1. Lagos state traffic management know all the bottle necks in the state and the times of the bottle necks, the Govt should simply dispatch security agents (Police, Mopol, WAI, KAI) to these areas to provide security to citizens. In the case of impromptu traffic, then use rapid response to dispatch security agencies. Its just a matter of hours before the traffic dissipates but lives and properties would have been saved.

Alhamdullilah 4 her o...chai!

Obasanjo's Son said...

The best solution is to enable us have hand guns. At least that would give some form of confidence when these cowards show up..

Nky said...

thank God for giving you a testimony

kelechi said...

Please Legalize guns. Na machine gun perele I go buy