Okonjo-Iweala replies Oshiomole over allegations she spent $2.1bn oil fund without approval | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 June 2015

Okonjo-Iweala replies Oshiomole over allegations she spent $2.1bn oil fund without approval

Immediate past Minister of Finance Ngozi Okonjo Iweala has responded to allegations that she spent $2.1 billion from the Excess Crude Account without the approval of the National Economic Council. While speaking  to newsmen after the inauguration of the National Economic Council yesterday June 29th, Governor Adams Oshiomole  accused the former minister of spending  $2.1 billion from the Excess Crude Account without the necessary authorization.
"We looked at the numbers for the Excess Crude Account. The last time the former Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Mrs Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, reported to the council, and it is in the minutes, she reported by November 2014 that we had $4.1 bn. Today, the Accountant-General Office reported we have $2.0bn.
Which means the honourable minister spent $2.1bn without authority of the NEC and that money was not distributed to states, it was not paid to the three tiers of government,” Adams Oshiomhole said
However in a statement released and signed by her spokesperson Paul Nwabuikwu today June 30th, Dr Okonjo-Iweala said there was no authorized spending from the Excess Crude Account under her watch as Minister of Finance. She described the allegations as a political witch hunting. 
"It is curious that in their desperation to use the esteemed National Economic Council for political and personal vendetta, the persons behind these allegations acted as if the constitutionally recognized FAAC, a potent expression of Nigeria’s fiscal federalism, does not exist. But Nigerians know that collective revenues, allocations and expenditures of the three tiers of government are the concern of the monthly FAAC meetings. It is important to acknowledge the efforts of governors who are working hard to overcome the current revenue challenges facing their states without resorting to character assassination and blame games.  
It is clear that this is the latest chapter of a political witch-hunt by elements who are attempting to use the respected National Economic Council for ignoble purposes having failed abysmally in their previous attempts to tar the Okonjo-Iweala name.  It will be recalled that one of such attempts took place in May when some of these governors, hiding under the auspices of the Nigerian Governors Forum asked Okonjo-Iweala to explain $20 billion alleged to be missing from the same ECA. The Finance Ministry subsequently issued a news release and published an advertorial in national newspapers on May 25, 2015 giving details of what the Federal Government and states received from the ECA in the last four years. It also provided details of the use of the funds for payment of petrol subsidies for the Nigerian public and SURE-P allocations to the three tiers for development purposes. 
After the publication, the accusers lost their voice. But the latest allegations show that these persons are still in the business of throwing up wild, unsubstantiated figures to damage Okonjo-Iweala’s name. For instance, within the last few months, Governor Oshiomhole and his fellow travelers have asked Okonjo-Iweala to account for “missing” $30 billion, $20 billion and now $2.1 billion. What they don’t seem to understand is that the strategy has lost all credibility because the falsehood is clear for all to see.  How can some governors who fought FG’s efforts to leave robust savings in the ECA and even took the Federal Government to court over the matter turn around to make such unfounded allegations? The world knows that it was Okonjo-Iweala who pioneered, during her first stint as Minister of Finance in the Obasanjo administration, the practice of publishing monthly updates of all allocations to different tiers of government in order to empower Nigerians with information and knowledge of government revenues and expenditure.
This enabled the Nigerian public to ask questions about the utilization of these resources. Of course many elected and appointed public officials were not happy with this development. She continued this practice when she returned in 2011 and even added periodic updates on the Excess Crude Account, subsidy payments for verified claims by oil marketers for fuel imports as well as SURE-P payments to the three tiers of government. Against this background, the idea that she spent $2.1 billion “without authorization” is simply not credible given that details of government receipts and expenditure are public knowledge. We believe that Nigerians are too smart to be hoodwinked by this partisan desperation to tar the name of Okonjo-Iweala. In the interest of the country, we advise that public officials should avoid the temptation to politicize economic issues so that balanced analysis can lead to real solutions.”the statement read

127 comments:

No truth in this. Lindaobserve

You cup will soon full,that head tie go turn to helmet! Barawniya!

Was expecting her reply....

Make dis old woman go Sidon jooor she no day carry last to defend her self,baraou people shioooooooo

As usual they will always come up with stories.... Ok...

Na dem sabi

Waiting for the outcome of the investigation.
Don't know what to believe again.

Dani said...

This liar and thief shut up

I don't trust dat woman at all. ....

kemikane said...

Whether it's true or not how come it's always billions no millions again&na dollars o like say Naira dey in extinction. It is well.

Too long abeg

haaa...where do we stand now??
?
Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

okopi said...

Ok on jo the idiot..This is gibrash, it is always a political witch_hunt.Answer the question or allegations, was the expenditure authorised? Silly woman who had just a clerical job with the world bank.

*your*

Smh

hmm oshomole

You shall identify their lies by the context of their argument.. Madam dey try sha.. No matter how she try, we go hook her.

Story

NeeNeeHenshaw said...

I just don't get. When will this country be at peace?

original gluthathione products call 07082661360 said...

dis people sef, dey don't get tired of their lied

Those Governors were just being mischievous. They have accused her about such before and she published what each state got. The investigation will amount to nothing. Even that of the NNPC too, common those governors don't expect NNPC to remit every dollar they earn. NNPC has obligations, JV's production cost, overhead cost etc...

mira cookie said...

She ugly sha!

original gluthathione products call 07082661360 said...

*lies

Dey r colleagues so dey know dem selves better

I dnt trust her at all !

Oshimole is so dumb, Nigerians Shar

On the contrary.Nigerias have not out smart pre independce 1960 #iknowmyself

ejoec said...

And is Oshiomole any better. That thief. Pretending to be clean.

I pity this generation of youths Bc u r all air heads. She just referred ppl to faac publications and u r here shouting no truth from ur brainwashed empty head. Learn how to research before diving into conclusion. Same applies to a bunch of u blog visitors

The truth will always shine forth. I believe her that their is a witch hunt to tanish her name. Let them publish the books in the dailies for the Nigerian populace to see and also get independent forensic audit firms to analyse those books so that the truth can shine. We cannot move forward with this mob mentality of "ole, thief, barawo let's throw tyre over their heads and burn them" any time someone is accused of stealing without actually bothering to do a thorough investigation to find out whether the person is guilty or not. It is shameful because the
accuser can not also be the judge and jury at the same time

Zee9ja said...

U're a thief jooorh shut up..see har face lyk monkey..she ruined Gej administation

Jabar~says~so~via samsungE1170

I don't believe Oshiomole. $2.1b? Do you know how much it is in naira? Why will NOI do that at this critical period of economic melt-down, and esp when she knows that APC is monitoring all her moves? It doesn't add up to meme. The sum is just too large

Wey D money? Too much talk talk!

PLS CAN SOMEONE TELL ME THE FULL MEANING OF NIGERIA

All of them nah theif , inshallah they will suffer .

Well I'm watching but I know dis r all Apc propaganda. #heretostay

Start prisons renovation asap, some new inmates are coming

I expect no less from you because you always comment like an illiterate. Why don't they publish the books for us to see. I sway you have been so hood winked that i pity you. If ISIL were to make an attempt on you they would succeed at the first try

those of you condemning her dont like hearing the truth. who ever study accounting n common sense will see this one is just too smart from the obj time n she knows her job wella.#badbelly

Have you thought that she does that because she is innocent. Use your head man. Think.

Is it just me? Stories + excuses = lies!!!

I have come to d understanding dat wen dis pple chop our moni and clean mouth like chicken for ground.....wen dey catch dem dey start calling we Nigerians sweet names or following us to ginger e.g we r not fools anymore, we want change, we ve empowered ourselves to fight these corrupt leaders (na d person chop d moni ooo) now we r on d level of " Nigerians r too smart for" If I hear!!! Talk true where d moni? Abi she fit swear with her children's life on dis story?

Oai

So if it was you, you'll carry last to defend ur self?? Not everyone hates themselves so allow her

I only want to kn where kept the money.

This woman always has a way to defend herself...

Will you sharrap. You are the liar and thief here. You want to crucify a lady before she is proven guilty beyond reasonable doubt. APC has used propaganda to scatter you peoples head to the extent that you are rodderless. This country is filled with so much idealogues that a man (Buhari) preaches to pull down the moon and hand it to us on a silver platter and people believe him. It's a shame.

That's your business. She doesn't need you to trust her. She just needs to say the truth.

OKONJO-IWEALA HAS NOT ANSWERED THE QUESTION WHETHER OR NOT SHE GOT APPROVAL FOR THE SPENDING OF $2.1BN OIL FUND. SHE PRACTICALLY RULED THE ECONOMY UNILATERALLY BY DIPPING HANDS INTO THE "COOKIE JAR" WITHOUT ANY APPROVAL. I CAN ALSO REMEMBER HER OPENLY LYING BEFORE CNN AT ONE INSTANCE WHEN AMANPOUR INTERVIEWED HER. SHE ANSWERS QUESTIONS WITHOUT ANSWERING THE DIRECT QUESTIONS BY TALKING OF OTHER UNRELATED MATTERS. THE ANSWER SHOULD HAVE BEEN YES I GOT APPROVAL AND THEN SHOW EVIDENCE OF THE APPROVAL TO THE PUBLIC. DEAR IS GOD OOOOO.

what more can I say,other than very soon the truth will cam.

She did not and has never made any point to understand,
madam just make a point like as soludo was make last time against ur leadership .etc
29naira was given to this state or that state

Shut up,she is a respectable woman

Nigerians believed you on subsidy but today under your watch where are the progress nigeria made from your subsidy?

Ladun Liadi said...

Only bigoted folks have issues wit dis woman cos I hvnt seen a rational critique.

Leave the woman alone

Nah correct woman

sam said...

You call her old, liar and yet your mum is frying Akara in the village, shame to all you butter souls. At least make Una mama go school at all before you comment on a well qualified and over intelligent woman

I will likes to share this on 360cribng.com

Karlsson said...

U just lack common sense. U re full of nonsense n I noticed U lack wisdom. Use ur brain for ones n try to read b4 U make a fool of urself pls

Ubanagum

you wont trust her na. thats why your people will never be free from hausa/fulani slavery.

Lmao!!

U won't know wat to believe cos u re a fool like ur broda warri aboki rubbish. U tink governance is for refrats like u.

Is it just me.cuz there's no concrete reprove on this very allegation,she only talked about how they tried victimizing her before...What Oshomole said was You said we had sososo left in ECA,the new government met sososo, What happened and she's writing abound vendetta case.like u said my dear princes,we'r smart now.and yes this woman is our princess and we did not see power or enjoy good road or water all trough her stay in office.if u are found guilty OYO.me no praying for her not on this matter

Her biz

About*

Am from Edo state and we all know that our dear Oshiomole is also a big thieve...immediately I saw his name I just smiled bcos I know that is all politics but APC should know something we can't achieve d so-called change like dis..who is not corrupt in APC?.so they should stop all d blaming n insult and start working simply...Y playing games with d nation like dis,APC brought live hatred in Nigerian politics.

isioku said...

Maybe it is true that Nigerians have short memories but definitely not me. If there was some other misappropriation somewhere I would just keep quiet but not when it comes to ECA account and Sovereign Wealth Fund. Indeed, it was these governors that pressured GEJ to share the money even when Obasanjo was able to restrain them during his administration. They depleted the money till it got to the present state including taking the FG to court before the Supreme Court to share the remaining! They even opposed the setting up a Sovereign Wealth Fund for the federation which 1Billion USD seed money was sourced from ECA account and certificates of shareholding was issued to individual states. It's just bad politics for Oshiomole to be shouting now where the money is when in fact they have used their shares to fund their campaigns. That is why almost all the states can't pay salaries because they frittered their funds on campaigns. The focus should also be on these thieving governors too.

Tjrs rubis shes right why must they keep on laying false accusations. Oshomole shld go land sit down with his undersized brain . and stop pointing at those better than him.

"Governor Oshiomhole and his fellow travelers"... This part cracked me up ..Lmao

k said...

Madam don't mind them.we are keenly watching the unfolding events.it is foolhardy for one to believe their hastily unsubstantiated claims.your hard earned reputation can never be dented.

Corrupt leaders....corrupt minds

I love this woman,Nigerians no no wetin dem want.See correct woman dem do rubbish,Sound Nigerian

Wadoo Wadoo said...

What she is really saying is that there was no need for authorisation to spend funds in the excess crude oil account because the expenditure was made public. Does that sound convincing? I think not. With her level of education and experience in financial and political matters I would have thought that she would come out with a very strong statement to say she obtained the required authorisation or that the National Assembly gave her delegated powers to spend this fund without recourse to them. Hmmm, babe Iwela, this smells of fraud all over o! Fin another thing talk o before the matter pass be careful stage o!

Gov. Adams no be any body witth Igbo name kill your wife oooo. Stop the attack.

Thank you Madam for replying and shaming these agents of shemale, Obj Ezekwesili, in their nefarious bid to rubbish you image and degrade you to her level.

God catch u. Thief

I can't wait for her to be caught live

I detest the arogant and 'know-it-all ' attitude of the woman. She was in charge when the GEJ govt and the cronies squandered our collective fortunes on frivolities, and she claims to be an economist. My gradute student of economics would have done better job given the misplaced confidence the past govt had in her. Sometimes, I think she delibertely led the GEJ govt on this shameful path just to please her international Brenton Wood cabal. Madam, you are not a patriot!

She is denying the alleged figures and offence

Devil

Gov. Adams Oshiomole should substantiate his claim(s). I honestly do not believe in quoting humongous figures without any empirical evidence. We, Nigerians people, have long past this stage...

Gov. Adams Oshiomole should substantiate his claim(s). I honestly do not believe in quoting humongous figures without any empirical evidence. We, Nigerians people, have long pass this stage...

Well madam, no smoke without a fire.. And for every piece of lie sef........... Nigeria is the only name we care about!

Cheugo said...

Shame on you Gov. Adams. You have continued to attack this woman in order to look innocent and cover your inadequacies. Shame on you Sir. You are an epitome of reckless spending, flippancy and disrespect to women. You need to change dear Governor.

People dy talk dix old man 1 still talk

Business Barbie said...

Mumu she is saying no such spending occurred. If it did, you would have seen it because they publish financial reports publicly. Go back to school

Nigerians and their evil mind. Change ohhh .you guys know yourselves. I pity the children of politicians,their furture and the impact it would have on future Nigeria.

My dear you are blessed. You just hit it at the head.

Okonjo has just accepted she spent without authorization. She disbursed as she deemed fit. Jonathan virtually left Nigeria treasury in her care to manage and mismanage. She believed once she published figures, she was transparent! Spending without authorization is not transparency madam!

Thanks Isioku...You are the only knowledgeable person here

Chai dis woman with gramma

talk2frankky said...

You chop money yes or no?
Madam no fit answer.

obiora said...

It's your mother that is a Thief.

Hmmmm.... THERE IS GOD OOOOOO... While many are suffering, some are chopping $2.1bn without approval and not N20,000

Correct woman finish the olodo man with book, see pot calling kettle black, Osho the biggest crook who has wasted Edo states resources on importing and exporting whores sharaaap there orangotang like u, Apc full of hate, thieves and best of all excuses. U tink say na beans to get job for wrld bank u wan spoil her name u no fit. Apc stop making excuse and get to wrkN slow coach govt

Sea Angel said...

Thanks so much my dear thought I was d only one wu dey observe her risible way of trying to deny d accusation. All she s saying is just non commonsensical enough for even a mad man to bliv ( don't know bout pdp fanatics o) but she can jus simple deny saying is " it d same 4.1 we still have there or that d 2.1 was duely spent with accountability, proof and authority from. oga at d top instead of all dis her silly talk. How many pple r into finance, how many know all the body she dey mention. You have been accused in a simple lay man tongue now u replied like Hon Patrick. It obvious d bitch blood sucker is hiding lot but whatever you guys have stolen from Nigeria will only b useful if and only if it can stop you from death

Am Sure investigations need to be carried out, the accusation was, they spent this money without FG consent, the people that have been receiving should have a form of document for record purpose and also to the people that disburse the money should have theirs, they should bring all this together to support their claims, afterall GEJ, including his forensic auditors accept that unspecified (roughly $2B)money was missing after all their denials.These people has run this country to the ground, they are not worthy of believing.

I sincerely don't trust this woman...

isioku said...

With due respect, I think you got her explanation a bit twisted. She did not say publication equals authorization. She only made reference to publication to show she encouraged transparency in government spending and allocation to states and LGAs. But she did say the withdrawal from excess crude was authorised by FAAC (Federation Accounts Allocation Committee) which is a statutory body charged with approving and sharing monies accruing to the Federation to the three tiers of govt every month. If you recall, each time there was a short fall in amount to be shared each month, FAAC which all commissioners of finance in each state are members always agree to draw the money to "augment" the shortfall in the monthly allocation. Ngozi is not even a member of that body but the Minister of State, Finance who chairs the committee. It also does not require the National Assembly authorisation to share but the FG needs the authority of the NA to "spend" their own share. So, I don't see fraud here. I only see bad belle and bad politics.

Seconded. These are the proven facts on this matter bar all/any sentiments.

Since osho baba left as labour chairman and return for 2nd tenure, he changed entirely nd this has kept me worried cos of my gr8 regard for his person. Okonjo! A woman of enviable xties! My role model 4 life. Give this APC NEC assignment

International thief thief (ITT), God go judge all of us. Linda take note!

Alan, the spelling is "THIEF". Haba! Linda take note!

Thats my darling Madam Okonjo, I believe her anytime any day. She simply said the records are there....See who's accusing her self....Oshiomole, mtcheeew. Thank you Madam. THANK YOR OOO.

Gabby said...

Is the FAAC not in purview of the Minister of finance? I think what we want to hear or read is her agents in the ministry to also published how the money was allocated and that settle the matter and not long grammar.

I hope the truth will come out soon, let's know who is telling the truth and who is lying haa!!!

I think you have perforated brain.

Senator said...

Obviously u have problems reading English or ur just simply clueless. Lemme educate u a lil....no withdrawal from the ECA can be made without the authorisation of the FAAC committee. It comprises of the finance minister nd the Ag's of the 36 states nd Abuja, nd inputs from d CBN. So madam clueless go back nd re-read her piece. Thank me now

Na ur papa money? You pig! It's her oil money. What's with this filthy aboki people and our oil? Dirty species.

davies said...

Well,she gave us a reply but the truth is,this reply is empty and does not proffer any explanation to where or how they spent the 2.1billion dollars missing. We are not fools and this people should stop acting as if every accusation as political undertone? It was not disbursed to the state or local govt. So what was it used for? That is the answer she needs to provide.

THE NAIJAGRAPHY BLOG said...

Let's wait for the result of the investigation and find out who the liar is.all this rubbish must stop.

Kindly visit www.naijagraphy.com

Paul Ofou said...

What I don't understand is where is this oshomole fellow getting all this figures he is throwing up. Is he even an account? Focus on ur governorship job. Ur not even doing well in ur state and u abandon ur keep responsibility and start focusing on issues ur not an expert on... like she said this is just political witch hunting

It as though you did not go to school. What she has said is that FAAC and the governors agree on what should be paid out of ECA and it is paid. If you didn't read that you must be an Olodo being deceived by the thieves called governors. After looting their state treasuries they want to blame madam Iweala. Won't work. Yeye governors.

Well said Madam OkonjoIweala. Nigerians are not fools. We know the thieves called governors go after those who are upright. The fact that they are going after OkonjoIweala tells me the woman is upright. I wonder why they are still afraid to mention Diezani's name even when talking about petroleum. I know! Because they have oil blocks. God bless Ngozi OkonjoIweala. The more they try the more they fail. Evil people.

Madam Ngozi shall soon be disgraced. Quote me

Madam Ngozi shall soon be disgraced. Quote me.

How can oshomole be a part of this confused committee to probe okonji Ngozi. it's wrong. Besides he has shown several times that he lacks understanding of the financial language and figures.
why would buhari even allow it.

She is a theif...jst answer the damn questions nd stop beating around d bush..we don't want to no about our politicians...jst post the figures and write names period, ...

The audit of ECA,FAAC was last shown on November 2014,which means no money paid to any harm government or distributed to rightly channel, thereby not making the governor to pay workers salary, that's the is indeed a thief, she stole the without any approval the will be disgrace let's wait and see he who laugh last laugh the best

U wey feel say u fine,u go end up for one dirty yoruba man kitchen dey cook amala...

Willy B said...

Let the probe starts. She will surely pay for her sins if convicted. She is not innocent at all from the way she twist her mouth while talking.

Oshe baba carry go!

Etsako Pearl said...

Yinmu!

The problem with us Nigerians is that we are very pessimistic, we don't and can't see any thing good in us so we believe every thing about every body especially when it has to do with bad things. we have to try and give people benefit of doubt at lest.....

Just like the way ur name sounds,"okopi" mumu,all ur generation both past nd present has nd can never attain de heights she has,u will remain in dt village that u are in,nigerians never respects what belongs to them

Nig said...

Are u for real , u are still asking where he gets his figure from , ignorance will finish ssome people sha

Best comment so far. I agree with u. Is this how "hot" linda's blog is? A battle ground! LOL. Not funny anyway.

We can't just condemn Madam Okonjo becos Comrade said this or that....Let's wait for the "truth" to surface....if there is ever going tp be truth anyway.

She does not become a thief because Oshiomole said she is.

I trust that woman more than I trust those calling her thief.