Article is written by the Flamboyant Psychologist - Adejoro Olumofin
My upcoming Book "The Nigerian Wedding" encompasses the Pressures and Cultural framework that make up a Nigerian Wedding and the idea of Marriage in our Generation. Some of which are:
(1)Paternal Pressure I.e Nigerian Parents putting pressure on their children to get married. They say things like: Continue...
I)I wanted to be a Grandparent by 60 ii)See your friend Tola she's
married and pregnant what are you doing? iii)Pastor said you should fast
for 3 months so husband will come
Iv)Pastor said you must wear white for the next 3 weeks so you'll attract guys who are ready
V)Don't be anyone's bridesmaid again the next wedding you're attending must be yours
Vi)You're too old for casual friends. I want a son-in-law
Iv)Pastor said you must wear white for the next 3 weeks so you'll attract guys who are ready
V)Don't be anyone's bridesmaid again the next wedding you're attending must be yours
Vi)You're too old for casual friends. I want a son-in-law
(2) Social Media Frenzy: If your wedding isn't Bella Naija,
Wedding Digest or Nigerian wedding verified are you really married?
Some Brides put Financial, Mental and Emotional strain on their partners
just to outdo their friends or have the biggest wedding of the year.
Sometimes this causes friction between husband and wife before they even
leave the wedding hall.
(3) Expensive Jewellery and Wedding Attires: I've overheard
some Ladies say "if my gown isn't Vera Wang I'm not getting married, or
if I'm not wearing Red bottoms (Christian Louboutins) I'm not getting
married.. Red bottoms are now the Official wedding shoes in Naija.
(4) Destination Weddings: The new "it" thing. There's been
some controversy over Destination weddings. Some people are of the
opinion that it's a waste of money, others think its unnecessary stress
since you're Nigerian why fly abroad when all your friends and family
are in Nigeria. This is subjective as the choice for some people is not
about impressing others but doing what makes them happy and what their
pocket can carry.
(5) Makeup and Makeup Artists: A Nigerian wedding is such
an Institution now that more than 50% of Ladies believe they will meet
their husbands there so they don't joke with their appearance. Because
of this, a lot of young ladies have made good careers out of making
brides look gorgeous and also doing makeup for guests. But as Nigerians
we sometimes take things to the extreme by judging a bride by the makeup
artist she used or didn't use. You hear comments like "That bride was
random", " Her makeup was tacky", "her guests looked too basic"
(6) Aso-Ebi : This is a Traditional Attire chosen by a side
of the family either Bride or Groom for their guests. Aso-Ebi has ended
a lot of people's relationships or Marriages because some women spend
all their Salary and savings on Aso-Ebi and forget to cater for
important things at home such as children's school fees and meals at
home. Some Aso-Ebi's cost 150,000 Naira, multiply that by 7 weddings,
that's over 1 million Naira. This can go a long way if invested well.
(7) Wedding vs Marriage: No one talks about Marriage
anymore or the ideas of Marriage in our Generation. We get carried away
in the celebrations of the wedding and its Glamour that the idea of
Marriage is left out. In the time of our Parents,things were different.
There was no Instagram, Twitter or any form of social media to judge or
rate weddings. Social media now serves as a platform for your wedding to
gain approval and likes. Your wedding may be the biggest and the
foundations of your marriage are small and your wedding may be the
smallest and the foundations of your marriage are big.
8) Bride-zilla: Some brides, as a result of their Social
status and the status if their Husband, change and act "brand new"
towards their old friends. They make crazy demands towards the planning
of their wedding. Some bride's rent bridesmaids or screen their old
friends who can't afford or meet up to the wedding plans. A bride in
Lagos once told her friends to lose a ridiculous amount of weight or not
attend her wedding because she wanted everyone to look like Models or
Actresses.
9)Wedding based on Debt : As a result of the pressure to
have a fairy tale wedding or "wedding of the year" some couples exceed
their budget, sometimes get into debt from owing wedding planners,
caterers or artist who performed at the wedding. Real life cases in
Nigeria have seen couples owing between 10 to 15 million Naira after the
ceremony.
10) Mother Vs Bride: Some mothers since their child was an
infant they have planned their wedding ceremony. Most brides when they
become teenagers also have an idea of what their special day should look
like. Most times there is a clash of minds and hearts because some
mothers take over their daughters day and it basically becomes the
mothers wedding again with the bride being left out.
Your Wedding may be biggest and the foundations of your
marriage may not be strong whereas your wedding may be small and
intimate and the foundations of your marriage are solid. In all do what
makes you happy and is in the best interest of you and your family most
importantly your partner.
*Read More when my book is out* God Willing Summer 2015
DoktorMofins Blog is coming out soonIt will contain:
(1) Articles on pressing issues and real life problems in the Society
(2) People and Personalities of the Day
(3)Match Making (Giving people a platform to meet alike and similar personalities) I.e Hookups
(4) Personality Test and Psychometrics (Knowing yourself or Personality type is the first and key step in any form of Interaction)
(5) Fashion
(6) Interviews ( Hearing first hand from people have gone through Abuse, Divorce, 3 Decades of Marital Bliss, Single Mothers, Female CEOs, Female Billionaires, Actors, Models etc)
(7) Youth Empowerment
Read More Articles on his Instagram page : @joroolumofin and email : olumofinj@yahoo.com.com
111 comments:
Very correct! Bravo!
Tnx
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Cool idea!
We are waiting for ur blog nd book
Auntylindagoddaughter
this might just be the first time, I find his write-up interesting. nice
U be correct guy.
Chaiii.....dis is 2 much 4 me 2 read now, will do d reading later
Lovely Concept!!!
Congratulations Sir
Mr Dapper
Saw this on Instagram.. Nice one Bro
Number 1 is everything!!!! Lmaooooo Mothers can be mean sha
Goody Goody
Love Doktor.. Lmaooooo
Isn't that Powede? She's pretty..
#Godwin
Lolzz
This article is truth!!!!!
Adejoro!!!!!!!! Wa
Hisssss
So true
This guy dey preach sha
Another blog. Linda is all we need jare!
Abeg Abeg
Ode
Concept bad asss
Destination wedding my foot
Debt of wedding.. God forget.. Only in naija
Gbam
Issokayy
Mr Flamboyant
Ondo men rock
This is so true.. (1) and (5)
#1 2 3 5
Dead
Big things bro
Bless.. Big ups
Can I be a writer?, love your work sir
Good Job
Mother Vs Bride.. Preachhhhhhhhh.. Lmaoooo
Bridezilla
Saw this on instagram
Okiie, your idea follow small. So I dey expect to buy & read d book wen its finally out. Linda take note!
Money spinner
Okiie, your idea follow small. So I dey expect to buy & read d book wen its finally out. Linda take note!
Bmjs!!! Repping
Its due
Realistic Article
Okeeeeeeyy. Still dead
Who dash??? Commot
Really green.. No lies
All na packaging
Bless!!!
I'll buy your book G
Really good work
I'm a fan
Dokitor Mofin
Preachhhh
Number 1 2 6
6 7
6 7
I'm impressed
A list wedding.. Nigeria we hail
Congrats Cousin.. Omisores
Bad Ass Nigga
You went all inn
Your PR team is badttt
When is your book out??
Woman Wrapper!! Smh
Oga Boss!!!!!
Powede looks so Elegant
Kudos
What's with the blindfold???
Only in naija.. Nawa
Very correct!
This your angle of approach is something else.
Good writeup.
waiting..
Nice 1
Must all weddings b "A" class weddings? Definitely NO!
Wisdom in action is best attained wit application of practical knowledge.
www.naijawapbase.com
U said it as it is,am really impressed
All these people saying bravo. It dn't mean ur wedding should be haughty like the 1 I attended last month, nobody should invite me 4 that kind of wedding again o. It's 1nce in a lifetime. I don't see anything wrong with a big wedding but If u want a small wedding, keep it small and classy. Btw Mr.Flamboyant u made some valid points but try 2 focus on all genders. My bro is being pressured to marry afterall n he isn't even 28 yet. Gdluck -----C21
Na wah oo! Love doctor ko! I don't understand, because u studied psychology dosnt make you a doctor biko! Do u have a phd? Don't go and marry, all your post are only centered on women and ladies na Wetin they teach you for scHool? Many youths are suffering from depression and you are here only focusing on young ladies. Womanizer.
Nice one! linda the competition is increasing by the day. Better buckle up.
Ladies, take note!
Linda, stop calling this guy a psychologist I'm offended!
Joro Empty Barrel
Joro Olumofin is quite a dullard
We are Africans!
Joro Olumofin and Dokun Olumofin we know you spend all day on the Internet writing good comments for yourselves. Morons!
Words!!!! So on point.
And dats for a fact....u ae so on point bruv...pls tel em...
Hahaha! So true#Nice and interesting
It is their wedding, your marriage
Linda how is this psychology? What is so love doctorish about this? What new ideas has this man ever talked about. All he keeps writing about are things everyone and their mothers know. He does no research and he says nothing that tickles anybody's intellect. All he does is wear those ugly snake skin shoes. This guy has nothing upstairs. It's not by muscle.
This guy, your so-called psychology is self praising. You are dumb and stupid if you think we don't know you wrote nearly all the replies under anonymous. Get another life!
You are not alone. The boy is full of pedestrian beer parlour commentary that he hypes as professional view of some sort.
Very dull fellow.
He has said it all. Some have flamboyant weddings and go hungry after with lots of debt hanging on their necks. It takes a lot of self control to conquer peer pressure.
The guy is dead upstairs. No research. No solid intellectual views. Nothing. What has he spoken about that has not been cliche? Linda needs to stop this. The money cant be that much that you can't forgo this mans views?