Presidency accuses OBJ of plotting political crisis in order to head an interim government | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 February 2015

Presidency accuses OBJ of plotting political crisis in order to head an interim government

Following his recent public remarks about the GEJ-led government, the Presidency has accused former President Olusegun Obasanjo of plotting a political crisis in Nigeria with the intention of forming an interim government which he hopes to head. In a statement released this night by Presidential media aide, Reuben Abati, the presidency accused the former president of sowing seeds of discords among Nigerians so that he could come back into power through the back door. Find the statement after the cut...

We find the false claims and allegations reportedly made against President Goodluck Jonathan by Chief Olusegun Obasanjo on Saturday in Abeokuta very odious and repugnant.  

As we have had cause to say before, it is most regrettable indeed that a man like Chief Obasanjo, who should know better, chooses to repeatedly, wantonly, and maliciously impugn the integrity of a sitting President of his country for the primary purpose of self-promotion. 

It is obvious from Chief Obasanjo’s serial vituperations against President Jonathan who is doing his best to positively transform Nigeria for the benefit of all of its people that he has willfully chosen to close his eyes to the present administration’s good works and intentions. For reasons best known to him, Chief Obasanjo has set his mind on regime change by fair or foul means. 

Otherwise, it would be completely senseless, irrational and out of place for Chief Obasanjo, who still claims to belong to the same party as the President, to accuse President Jonathan of plotting to win the rescheduled presidential elections by “hook or crook” and planning to plunge the nation into crisis if he loses the election. 

For the record, President Jonathan has no such intention and will continue to give the greatest possible support to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and other relevant federal agencies to ensure that the rescheduled elections are successfully conducted. 

Indeed, it is not President Jonathan who remains faithful to his oath of office who is trying to plunge Nigeria into crisis, but Chief Obasanjo who is scheming to plunge the country into chaos in pursuit of a selfish and highly egocentric agenda. 
Chief Obasanjo’s plot with others within and outside the country to thwart the general elections and foist an unconstitutional Interim National Government, which he hopes to head on the nation is well known to us, but by the Grace of God Almighty, his odious plan to return to power through the back door will fail woefully. 

We know very well that it is in pursuit of this nefarious plot that the former President continues to sow the seeds of discord and crises in the polity by purporting to remain in the ruling party while openly consorting with the opposition, endorsing its candidates and predicting victory for opposition candidates in a manner most unbecoming of a supposed elder statesman. Thankfully, the vast majority of Nigerians who are patriotic and right-thinking cannot be fooled by Chief Obasanjo’s antics.  

We urge them to be assured that President Jonathan's commitment to democracy in all its ramifications remains constant and that he will never be party to the use of any unlawful means to remain in office or gain political advantage over his opponents. 

The President stands by his commitment, which he reaffirmed on national television last Wednesday that on his watch, all elections in Nigeria, will be free, fair and credible, and that all certified election results will be respected. As President Jonathan has also assured the nation, the rescheduling of the general elections was in the best interest of the nation and was never driven by any ulterior motive on the part of government as Chief Obasanjo and others have alleged. 

President Jonathan will continue to put his best efforts into giving Nigeria quality leadership and will not be distracted from his purpose by unwarranted and needless criticism by persons who ought to know better. 

The President also continues to trust in the good judgment of Nigerians and to believe that in appreciation of his sincere efforts to move the country forward over the past four years, they will re-elect him for a second term on March 28, 2015 with a mandate to pursue his agenda for national transformation to a successful conclusion.   

Reuben Abati Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity) -

104 comments:

tired of all these politicians
they all know them tricks

obietrezy said...

Its allowed !! Its allowed!!! Jor oh

Jojo said...

Too bad these old people can't go home to rest n pray for mercy before they go join their ancestors. Some are already living ancestors.

Because obj is not supporting you again
He is now planting seed of crisis
Mtcheeeww
This man is a slow poison

Dat one concern dem sha...GEJ till 2019

Always looking for who to blame, you rarely take responsibility for anything.smh.

All of una na the same biko. Enough of all dis abracadabra wey una dey do person. Linda take note!

ojo said...

They are confuses.i hâte This man called abati.i taught He has stopped talking.continue to sink Ur master gejs ship.

i find it hard to believe

Ehhhhhhhhhhn obj der is God o!

GEJ till 2019. U are the winner already

Obj, pls we done wt u, go attend 2 ur farm!

Victor said...

OBJ..LOOKING SO OLD..BABA GO AND REST NA..NA BY FORCE..

BREAKING NEWS!!!..BOBBY CHRISTINA'S ORGANS ARE FAILING

WHY DO PEOPLE PAY TITHE AND STILL LACK AND SUFFER?...IS IT WORTH IT

RIHANNA AND LEONARDO DICARPRIO CLUB TILL THEY DROP IN NYC AFTER A BIG FIGHT

Mess not with your former war lord.......words from SPARTACUZ.........

::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Abati should pls keep quiet, we are not fools,who nominated david mark at first to head d interim govt instead of handing over to buhari should he win,was it not ur boss ,pls say something new abeg,not a fan of obj either..... ....from a reliable source in d villa

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Linda Baby, pls try edit b4 posting,head an,not an head oh,thank me later.

Obj has always bn cunning. I just wonder what he has up his sleeves.

PGEJ till 2019. Come rain, come shine.

Now we know better. Obasanjo!, Obasanjo!!, Obasanjo!!!. How many times did I call you? A word is enough for the wise. Be warned or...

That's their own cup of zobo

Then Johnathan should do the election.

This Obj should resign completely from politics naaa, nawa ooo! Omaga ooo

Lin Lin my Val!

Nigerians!!! Don't believe all you read. This administration will say anything they like. They even change history. Don't be fools

Calm down

You are fool ooo....the govt should take responsibility by accepting that they want to plunge the nation into crisis. I no kuku blame you na your workshop be this ... na linda ikeji comment they pay your feeding money. That is Why you no dey use ur brain

why is it this Ruben and his Boss hate to hear the truth, nobody is calling OBJ a saint but the guy is calling it as he it at this moment in time, why is it GEJ and his team get so defensive

AUTOCORRELATION said...

As in ehnn... i jst tire for dis whole politics saga

Linda dis ur English carry weight oh u talk in order to an head interim government instead of ryting in order to head an interim government

IJust wish they all see the truth ..This is Army arrangement..OBJ and Buhari in charge..Buhari is not the change....GEJ wasn't as bad as any former President ..the APC camp is a game plan..very fishy

Williams Okikiola said...

...it is now we know that Abati and his boss uncle Jona are queit miserable! I mean misrable indeed... To the point of stigmatising any constructive criticism... I wonder what will happen next if eventually Jonathan gallantly loses this forthcoming election comes March 28! All that Jonathan touched are destroyed Naira devalued... Oil becomes oil doomed... Institutions across the nations are living dead... Health sector have become no go area... What exactly can we remember uncle Jona for... Families are daily displace in the far north-east! Tell what else?

This is a non issue if GEJ conducts the election and move on. we won't need interim president if the election is conducted in timE.

Supported.

Gbam! I talk am. I believe it. OBJ, behave like your elder states men and respect yourself. All the times you have ruled is not enough for you?

AMIJEZ said...

Obj is exhibiting anti party attributes and should be sanctioned. Never liked his ugly face.

vincent said...

What is wrong with the elder statesman?. He is today campaigning for APC and if APC comes to power , he will still fallout with Buhari unless he accepts to be taking instructions from him.

He is against GEJ because GEJ refused obeying his instructions. The elder statesman cannot prove that his eight years administration is better than the administration of GEJ.

Sorry Abati. You got this wrong. For Obj to mention this, then its true. No smoke without fire. Make GEJ no try rubbish. Sai Naija, Sai Buhari. Gbam.

Zeddicus said...

That's what this Gov't is good at; accusing EVERYONE ELSE for its failures...

Reuben will also throw GEJ under the bus if the price is right for him. Sycophants. Why did you go and pay homage to OBJ then.

Oga jona becareful with our intelligence, may be u think our brain is on vacation that u want to make use of it b4 we return.

When an elderly man doesn't respect his old age, Children will play "kpamkpam golo" on his head..,OBJ Plz respect your old age and quietly go back to d farm...GEJ 2015👍

You are so stupid to say dat, can't u see he's saying the truth! Idiotic Bonar in. ....

Obj go and make peace with God. During your tenure you didn't conduct any credible election,hide your head in shame

elovi said...

Na dem dem sabi

If you ain't planning one, why cry foul?

Please this Military turned politicians should allow us to do this thing by ourselves biko. We've had enough of them. Let the youths also master the act of governance. Past leaders should act as advisers.

They are not confuses ooo! Lol

u r very stupid....attention seeking magot

what do xpect frm a pig? obj has no class cluess old man bcos gej refused to be his toy boy that is why he is ranting like a dog ...anyway gej all d way they can't stop this

Mbok, make this election come and go already.

isiaka208 said...

They deny everything, I pray you deny yourself return to office

This nation needs a cleansing....Really! Why is it the same ol', same ol' people "fighting" for us? The same people who are responsible for the ruination and mediocre state our country is in? PDP? APC? They are all caught from the same cloth! Lord cleanse us from all these evil and give us a fresh start. Amen! Ugh!! I can't with these people!

OBJ should be made to keep shut, he is heating the polity and as an elder state man that he is, he suppose to be an adviser to both parties not inciting statements.

Eze911 said...

Presidency accuses OBJ of plotting political crisis in order to head interim government.

Above sounds like a 5 year old child lying.
These set of presidential liars are so, so dumb.

Forgive them.
Fani Kayode, Okupe, Reuben, Omokri and other, lying to their countrymen is their job definition at this time as long as the money continues to flow into their pockets.
Right now, they are PDP errand boys.
They eventually write books containing more lies including where service chiefs had guns to their head to force them to cook up lies for GEJ and PDP. One would also site been high on narcotics as reason for his rants, the other would site food requirement to maintain his morbid obesity and so on.

OBJ is no more in control of 9ja, that's why he is behaving d way he is doing. Godfatherism has stopped in 9ja! OBJ go n sit down!!!

mimidolly said...

Well I couldn't read all cos I really need to concentrate on my lipstick application. Going to church to cry unto the Lord to release fire on all ye corrupt leaders.

The presidency should focus on more important things jare. Oh do I hear someone say it's to late? Oga Jona has to leave come May!

Thunder fire all of una dia

Goodluck is so desperate for power which is really bad,he believes in corruption, datz y he can go any length to manipulate d March election. Dear goodluck, relax $ leave everything 4 God to decide, please don not use tru d back door biko!

If I may asked, is it only PDP and APC the only party contesting for this presidential election, because am tired of hearing of president jona and sir Buhari all the time.

Y not dis OBJ nd his likes just die nd leave nigeria alone,,I don't even know y some niigerians stil holds dis man in high regards?must OBJ rule?fuckin ugly useless crazy old man,

AMIJEZ said...

Baba obj has always been a cunny man. As if he did better than Gej.

Iphy said...

Well said Jojo

GMB 2015

Obasanjo has been a total setback to this country,this time around, it's my joy to announce to you that you are a failure,try everything-charms and media etc,it will always bounce bak.Jonathan, we endorse u and so God does! We shall celebrate and be celebrated soon IJN'

Dnt u hv a groundpa at home? old dt if u are discussing A he s busy talking B such s OBJ. Retired old man go & mk peace wth ur God cos u can leave ds world anytime Nigeria s not ur problem

His enemies are always after him.

Uncertified claims! That seems to be the basis of this year's election!

Let me consult the oracle and come out with the truth about this.

Who are they deceiving! How can a retired military man head an interim govt. It doesn't connect at all.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Shut up already!!! U really make me sick sometimes

Jesus Reigns said...

U know better from Reuben Abati???????? Naija dumb sha, that's why they still mess with us till today because we lack intellectuals.

y do u want gej to win?

#smh - GEJ and his supporters (I know his cabinet will never do) should think and re-think; is there something we aren't doing well? Anything we could have done but didn't do?? Everyone can't just be crazy and muslims and Obj - people complaining are citizens of a country he is leading!!! VOTE BUHARI FOR CHANGE.

Legalpedia said...

Betraying is common among the yoruba politicians, OBJ is a coward on his own part.

What is Gej blaming who for now apart from de truth!!! How can you endorse one person come out and say you didn't endorse den say bad tins abt de sitting president!! Don't you people ever tink at all!!obj is planning to return to power through the back door just as he planned to change the constitution for a 3rd tenure!! Old man with old brain OBJ

All this old people will not go nd rest they still want to rule Nigeria at all cost including Obj. U guys should leave GEJ alone let him think straight bikonu!

***floxycares***

So PDP already knows there will be an interim govt...this jonathan is a wild wolf in sheeps clothing.he wants to sit there forever abi?God no go gree

Don't mind the idiot. When we all know it's he and his minions that are plotting an interim govt in the event of an APC win.

Wen i watched Obasanjo on television talking i was totally disappointed dat a man at his age wil be instigating more problem knowing fully well dat de country is already in a mess.
Obasanjo is notin but evil. Very cunning and dubious.
Obasanjo is notin but evil and selfish.
Is he de only former president we hv had?
Why is he showcasing him self so much as if nigeria is his property?
Olichego Obulusonjo pack well,we no want u.
All dis evil men in our country,6fits awaits all of u ooo.
Rent and seek de Kingdom of God ooo
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Obasanjo na AGBAYA. Bad fowl e no chop and him want scatter the one wey another gather. He will see HELL on ds earth before he dies for all the troubles he has put Nigeria through from d civil war to his 3rd term agenda. To show that Lagos press is highly tribalistic they dare not critics OBASANJO's devilish behaviour. #SHAME

philippa okonkwo said...

pls dey shud save us all d drama!...

Who is talking? Reuben. Same old shit

I don't send GEJ nor PDP, but OBJ sucks! Where in the world does a member of BOT of a major political party romance and endorse a major opposition candidate and party! You lot are shameless bad statemen and example! PDP should fire OBJ! Who does he think he is? If u are not in support of ur party's presidential candidate shut up or leave pdp for APC or go form another party. Deranged power drunk lot. Nonsense!!!!

Na look I de lOOk

Arrant nonsense! Please! If anything is odious and repugnant, it is this administration! Being part of a party doesn't mean one must subscribe to it's wrong doings, and yes gej would be party to the use of unlawful means to stay in office because that has been the way of the pdp for years now, it's a cabal, and gej is a part of that cabal, but he doesn't make the rules for the cabal! Final note, Abati n gej, shut up! You know baba speaks the truth, but as usual all you want to do is to twist the truth!

All we want is change.

Oh pulzzz! Same mouth Reuben used to say in London that his master just wants to rule for one tenure.
Now they are all running around to secure their loot since shoes are far from their problems now.
Ndi oshi! Nigerians are not fools, y'all have selfish plans.
...Mama J...

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

Gej ilove

I tire 4 OBJ. Go enjoy ur retirement in ota farms that's where u belong great grand pa.

So those that believe the former president are not in their right thinking brain. I would appreciate the presidency to respect the citizens of this country (Nigeria).

Seriously wats all this noise about obasanjo. He is irrelevant, he was unachieving in his time and all he did was fight with his vice president and anyone who stood against him so jonathan isn't his puppet and he wants to slander him as much as possible. Obj go and die. Idiot animal. Ur own children hate u, na me go com like u? GEJ till 2019

Useless old men ... Leave naija for the youths biko

Naijasportscrib.com said...

Accusations and counter accusations... we are watching...

Click my name for sports news

Obj is a foolish old man wit no common sense he reasons thru his anus obj leave gej alone go and sit down obj. Gej is our choice cm 2015 to 2020.

Obasanjo should n chill his oya farm pls, wat is his problem

Don't mind the useless jonathan, he want to rule Nigerians by force and Nigerians don't need u anymore because u have failed Nigeria and Nigerians, u re too corrupt! U must leave that office this year!

Is Buhari we want Nigerians need #change#!!!!!!! GMB and Osinbajo. All the way

AGB said...

The Jonathan government is such a delusional association of thieves. How on earth can everybody only have bad things to say about them and yet all they (Jonathan and his thieving friends) ever say is that the people that say such are "enemies". How on earth can everybody be "enemies"?

Nah them sabi

Ntori Olohun @ Madam Juliet Y do U post ur comments more than 1ns? Madam if d netwrk is gud ur comment wil go for approval, pls stop litering comment section wit ur mutiple linda take note comments

Seyi said...

I think they are confusesing. .. LMAO