Why some Abuja men spend more time in beer palour, gardens | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 February 2015

Why some Abuja men spend more time in beer palour, gardens

This is a NAN report and it's quite interesting. Read below..
Some men in Abuja have given reasons why they prefer to stop over at drinking joints before going home. Few of them who spoke to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja noted that they did that to avoid unnecessary squabbles with their wives. They also said disturbances from their children contributed to making them stay late night at drinking joints. 
Ferdinand Lucas, a welder, who usually visited a joint said that he stopped over at the garden to relax with a bottle of beer before going home to avoid argument with his wife.
“I recall when we newly got married, my wife use to be very humble and caring but now it is the opposite. My wife complains on every issue and sometimes I don’t even know how to handle or manage her. In one of the occasions when I got home, she started complaining over the children school fees which I already promised to settle at the end of the month,’’ he said.
Lucas said he wish he was still single to avoid the usual ranting of the wife, even when he came home late. Mr. Samuel Olaedo a business man at Wuse Market said he preferred to stop over at beer parlour to drink and watch football to ease off tension before going home.
“I recall an incident that happened some time ago, my wife asked me to buy a separate television for her to avoid her disturbance during football match. I told her I have no money for that now, since she comes back home before me she will start watching her soap operas; she will hide the remote control from me. When I return home and try to change the station from the decoder we will start arguing which will result to insults,’’ he said.
Olaedo pointed out that he preferred going straight to his bed to sleep even when he returned home late just to avoid the wife’s disturbance.

A male boutique operator, who spoke on the condition anonymity, said the desire to take care of his girlfriend keeps him out in a garden every day. According to him, the wife is incapable of making the home interesting for him.
“My girlfriend is a very interesting person and she makes me very happy; that is why I spend more time with her than with my wife. My wife doesn’t make the home interesting, she is always busy chatting with her friends on phone and leaving me to myself but my girlfriend gives me attention and notices everything that bothers me,’’ he said.
He further said that he could be married to the girlfriend if the wife does not change.

Source: NAN

94 comments:

This is not news...it applys to most men all over the world. Posting this is totally uneccesary.

Mz MNB said...

Congrats to them

Amarachi said...

Drinking themselves to death .Stupid men

Na so we see am o...

Interesting to know...
Nice write up and thumbs up.

7f098c19 said...

we men we always give a dog a bad name just to kill it. theres no reason we chill at the bars if not to drink alcohol, be it with someone or without anyone. Engr Emy

Lmao why now?

Taaaaaaa,they enjoy drinking beer jare....

Princess G said...

Mtwwwwwww. What a stupid n dumb excuses.

Ghen ghen

D most hilarious is dis..."He further said that he could be married to the girlfriend if the wife does not change."

Wht on earth is dat for... Dat dude need to change or else he wil broke up his home.

Yeye boutique man,the girlfriend is nice because he runs a boutique.he no get sense.

Na wa

some old men are just plain stupid.......u go fear reasons......

:::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::

I ended up laughing.

They stop over at beer parlours to top up their radiator so that they can storm the house with red eyes and pummel their wives should they talk trash. Men are interesting animals

Hehehe Lindiway this stuff is fallacious and shouldn't be used to judge Abuja men.
Most of them visit gardens with their wives, Abuja men are very responsible, that man must be staying at Suleja or Nyanya,which are not Abuja.

dodo said...

Very serious, lesson to all women

I think is women that chase them out

See marriage wahala. Prolly y someone said that "Marriage is when the Man lost his Bachelor Degree n the Eoman earn her Masters Degree". Still lovin this Bachelorhood.

See marriage wahala. Prolly y someone said that "Marriage is when the Man lost his Bachelor Degree n the Woman earn her Masters Degree". Still lovin this Bachelorhood.

All the men that were interviewed are obviously the cause of the trouble in their marriages. Their wives are complaining because they come home late, they use all their money for drinking and what not. It is obvious that the wives are frustrated with these men. You men do not realize that you can marry up to 50 women, if your attitude does not change, it will still end up being the same situation

Yea this are the tinz We Men Face Linda ; am nt Married Yet But I face the Same tin; I stay late outside nt @d bar but in d studio gisting ad chtn up wif Frnds,Till 8:30pm dn get home 9 eat ad go straight to my Bed with no words ; cz if u talk too much na wahala....

See their mouth, they better sleep in the beer palour. See them complaining as if some of them dont have their own wahala.

Uhmmmmm @dat last person, who knows wat ur girlfriend too will turn into wen she becomes a wifey appreciate wat u have men, wen u treat ur woman like a queen she will definitely treat u like a king dats d fact

Irresponsible men blame their inefficiencies at home on their wives. Men shouls know that marriage ia different ball game from being single. Issues should be discussed and resolved amicably and not blame.. I am. Sick and tired of grown ass men who can't resolve and think of the impact of their actions on their family... Everything issue is women yet they go back to the same women because they are 'single' marry them only to discover it's thesame vicious circle. I rest my case

Women really nag about everything.....God help me keep my husband in his home....Help me respect and understand him...its not easy coz I also need some of his attention and prompt response to certain issues...buh I need wisdom to handle the situation and not send him out of our home

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Na wa o. #happyfriday

True miss linda don't think it happens to only those on low income it's just a thing with most families.

Stupid men who don't know how to manage relationships with their wives! What kinda stupid reason is that? I though drinking was for the purpose of unwinding!

Goodluck Till2019 said...

These excuses are too flimsy to avoid going home early . For how long would they continue running. It's a weakness on the part of those men. BE MAN ENOUGH TO FACE YOUR WIFE at any point in time.

Still on the matter

On the 28th of March vote for freedom.

Lwkmd oooo
No comment
Let me just be reading odas comments
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Na wa oooo

Who comes up with these irrelevant studies,and where do dey find such shallow pple to interview??smh

Hmmmmmm, dat is life n u v 2 take it d way it comes 2 u. Marriage is all abt tolerance n endurance, c ur wife as ur li2 sis n also remember dat u guys r nt 4rm d same family or background. Pray 4 ur wife @ every opportunity dat u v n all wl b well in ur marriage. It is nt a bed of roses, it as it's own ups n downs wh must b accepted wen ever it come

Dumb,stupid,vain,shallow and outrightly offensive

SOME OF DEM ENJOY IT N TEKS IT AS HOBBY NT BCUZ OF ANY REASON...I KNW A YOUNG MAN DAT DRINKS EVERYDAY AFTA CLOSE OF WRK. HE MUST STOP BY A JOINT TO TEK SOME GREEN BOTTLES,AND EVN WEN HE MARRIED HE CUDNT STOP DAN TO DO WAT HES BIN DOIN SINCE..SO MOST MEN DONT VE XCUSE FOR HANGING OUT TO COUNSEL SME BOTTLES BFORE GOIN HOME YL A FEW VE REASONS OF WIFE ETC...tomjerryswit

When you don't know christ.....you mess your life up

ndidiamaka said...

hummmmmm idiots when you marry that your girl friend you will begine to appreciates your wife, please go ahead & marry her biko stupid men always looking for a reason to misbehave.

Flimsy excuses

Don't find the report interesting, kind senseless

He'll marry d girlfriend and she'll become even worst than d wife cos he'll stop toasting and flirting with her. Na woman wey u get interesd in and have time for, go give u pleasure.

Flimsy excuses to b part of drinking spree...

Money dat could hav b useful to do better tins@home.

Didn't you see 'welder' and 'wuse shop owner'. Nansense people

Instead of them to go home and make things right..see dumb reasons.SMH

PRAYER said...

Ok, you will settle the fees at the end of the month, meanwhile you spend the money you have on alchohol. If you had any sense, you would have saved up for school fees 3 months before time. Bloody welder. Small minded men. Awon oniranu.

Linda please can I get a drum role please....
What a stupid excuse for them stupid men.

Soon you will hear those women killed bec of money that is not worth their life.

My 2 cents here is that, men if the women doesn't make the home interesting, you guys should. must everything be in the hands of women to do? I just hate useless excuses. If u know wat ur woman doesn't like then don't do it. men have special ways of irritating women and later they will blame everything on women. Men please get a life.

They must stop justifying negative tendencies. Text Fortune to 33020.

Seriously! These guys aren't man enough

Am glad that the men they interviewed are touts.
So that explains it all.
Abuja big boys are very responsible. most tyms is to conclude business or catch up on old tyms, or celebrate ones birthday.
This is my 15 years in Abuja so am stating the facts.
Stop interviewing Drunks and touts pls...

Hehehe men are dere life style na wa o
@shantel

Men kwenu hai.......ladies should change there atitude before getting married to u the Men as in real man like me.

Naaaa. I don't think so. It's reli reli reli high in abj. D amt of gardens are countless

Women and their nagging lifestyle.

See what civilization has brought upon our women. Instead of women to be sober, show remorse and get the man back home, ALL i read here is yeye, stupid, oloshi. Haba !!. Continue to abuse us, right in your presence, we will marry, two three wife's and this will curb the disrespect

Onyx shut d fyck up..when u are grown and married, you can comment ..for now, go and watch Sesame's street. Lol

bonario,did you say nyanya is not Abuja?how dull are you sef?Because you live at Mpape,you think you are inside Abuja abi.

U don't know what men want? There is nothing u will do that men will not complain. Is God that will continue to intervain

Emily B said...

Pls speak on it... This is a stupid article, as if women don't already know.

It is big lesson for women to learn how to handle their husbands. They need to give them more attention a times and understand their partners. The men should also know how to tolerate their wives and make them understand. Drinking cannot solve their problems.

When there is no peace, understanding, communication, men are bound to spend more time drinking and womanizing. It seems childish to run away from your troubles. Better to face it, resolve it while you can and be happy.

Welders, traders, etc.sounds to me like ibo men who frequent gardens for their regular ugba, nkwobi and beer. With their myopic african mentality - when a marriage is bad its the woman's fault. Abeg next!

Some wise fellow once said (and I paraphrase),

"A woman should behave such that her husband longs to come home, a man should behave such that his wife is sorry to see him leave"...or something like that.

The current generation of Nigeria youth will probably have the highest divorce rates ever, because man and wife have all but abandoned the principles that sustain happy and bilaterally fulfilling marriage.

God save us and our kids.

P.S. Ladies, take some responsibility, it takes two to tango y'know.

good for them

Women should change their attitude before marriage.some women tongue ate as sharp as two edged sword.

Please visit.
Bolateethole.blogspot.com

Chi said...

These are the reasons why Children are not raised properly. One parent is always absent.these men are typical examples of men who don't know how, or what to do in a marriage. They don't know self; therefore marry any woman in the name of marriage. When things starts going south; the disappear A and start behaving immature, irrelevant and irresponsible in their own homes.

Linda's100kBoo speaking. Mtcheww

Foolish men, their wives are also cheating on them. This irresponsible husbands.

win said...

Can't believe what am hearing. Are these men for real?. You can't afford your child's fees but you spend money on a daily basis in a beer parlour. And you think these kids are not watching. Tomorrow,when they start taking care of their mother...you will still be the first to start complaining . Anything a man sows he will definitely reap.

Oh wow! This is interesting! But truely, some wives force their husbands out of their homes. And d one of chatting? Omg! I'm kinda guilty of that. I gotta stop!

Looking for solace at the bottom of the bottle. Marriage can't be that bad! Why are these guys scaring potential husbands and wives?!

Linda dis is not news joor

Beautiful wifey said...

Dat Lucas must be very irresponsible. So because ur wife disturbs u for children's school fees, u av to go to d beer parlor. Stupid man. I know people like u

And who told u Nynaya is not Abuja??

Abi

Zamani said...

Which men did they base their study on? Pls visit

Which political parties do these Abuja men belong to. APC or PDP?

Choi! Ewoooo wives this is red alert for u all....o

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Hahahahahahaahahha that's common sense

Onyx shut up dia ... What do u know .. are u a man?

Cheap boy! So ignorant. Who says Nyanya isn't part of Abuja? Can your father afford a house there?idle idiot. Lazy boy. Always on a blog! Men, sorry, males like you give us bad names. Squatter like you. For your info,60%of Abj residents live in that axis,and these are the major ppl oiling the wheels of Abj's movement. Meanwhile I live in Wuse 2. Just that I hate pple running others down for no reason. And by the way, Gardens and Lounges are the only 'fun' in Abj. Most ppl irrespective of class keep this way of life. Stupid child. Dan banza kawai.

Some single men who feel cool go home with the stench of alcohol everyday. You enter into the room of a 'sober' person and you can't breathe freely because of the smell of alcohol. Highly irritating and annoying. A married man who keeps different girls and late nights because he needs to step down will then blame his wife for his irresponsibility. If he combine e flexing money, dem for don forget say dem pay school fees. E nor wan pay end of month, na posting.

These men surely have no blemishes except for gross incompetence on the home front.

Bia enyi, what are u still waiting for? Pls go ahead! Oloshi! Public dog that has no owner. Stupid yeye boy!

Linda u need to stop posting this kind of news.. this are no news and honestly your using it to spoil homes.. some of our husbands are libers too, when they read this kind of article , they hold unto it, use it to talk to their wives, use it as an excuse to do bad things like its right.. you will understand someday when you get married.. For the mean time stop acting like ur trying to judge women..

The women will always be the problem in the family, while the husbands are the good, faultless and solution to the problem I guess?. Mtchewwwww, they are not serious.

QHNets said...

All the men here are poor . Nt interested abeg

Just saw this post and it reminds me of the greatest man of Africa, Nelson Mandela. Madiba was unjustly imprisoned, beaten,made to sleep in a tiny cell,tortured for 26 years and he was still happily married. Then freedom came but one year of living under the same roof with his wife after 26 years apart he comes out screaming, I cant take this sh.t anymore. As u can see, marriage to the wrong person can break even the strongest person created by GOD whether male or female.

Well said. Thank you

Men too should cherish their wives instead of lavishing money on girl friends & given nonsense excuses.