Should Facebook have deleted this photo of new mothers and their babies? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 February 2015

Should Facebook have deleted this photo of new mothers and their babies?

Photographer Jade Beall recently posted one of her group portraits of nude mothers breastfeeding to her Facebook page and the social networking site took it down after men complained it was obscene.
"I have been photographing women for 15 years but it was a nude self-portrait I took of myself breastfeeding my son (when I was 80 pounds heavier), that sparked my desire to photograph and celebrate the beauty, 'flaws', shapes, &vulnerabilities of all mothers.
"This photo received a lot of traction quickly. I received many private messages (all from men) telling me I should remove the photo, though I'd posted the image with nipples and genital areas blurred (because I have had images removed before by Facebook where a woman's nipple was shown). Then someone noticed I had missed blurring one nipple and the photo was again reported and finally removed." She told Cosmopolitan. Continue...

While Beall (above) understands Facebook's anti-nipple policy, she sees this as a larger overall issue.
"Do I think it's silly that men can have exposed nipples but women cannot as a rule for this platform?  Sure," she says. "But that's a cultural thing, not simply a Facebook thing. I would love to post my nude breastfeeding mothers without blurring the nipples on Facebook, but what I would love most is for Americans to redefine their relationship to a woman's breasts and to praise and celebrate the nude, varying body shapes without having to label them 'disgusting' or 'unhealthy.'"
The uncensored photo below...
Source: Cosmopolitan.com

125 comments:

Wat is dis biko?

Ah ahhhh
Abeg dey shld
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Not befitting at all. It doesn't show respect for motherhood and womanhood. There are other better ways to depict motherhood.

Yep they did right by deleting it, imagine men posting the pix of the machines that did the work.
Nudity like this shouldn't be promoted under any guise, trust Nigerians to follow suit. When you complain,they claim you don't respect and value the pain they went through giving birth.

Facebook did the right things, a lot of teenagers are on Facebook.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

BLAQ said...

Mtchewww orishirishi

HAWT TALK WITH TOSAN said...

People do not want to see REAL bodies any more that's why there were complaints. It is so unfortunate because if it was the bodies of under twenties with firm tight breast no one man would have complained

Okay nothing way you know go see from Oyinbo people's

hmmm

Me likey.

Yes I think so....I mean children goes to fb too. Yeye pic.

derby said...

hmmm.lobatan..evn saggy bodies posses 4 nudes..nawa ooo

Yes

Yes, they did the right thing. This is inappropriate. Why must you be naked? The things white people do in the name of a "campaign, cause" for "equality" is so silly.

Hmmmmm, not a Bad sight though.. I LIKE WHAT I SEE...
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Chei, the picture are really obscene. Linda, you too check out the pics nah. Facebook shouldnt have posted the pics.

There platform, there policy , no nudity and if you don't like it move to other platform or open urs,I def don't want to see a nude breast feeding mother and won't have forgiven my mother if it where to be her doing this crap

Victor said...

lol...choi...baby mummy and baby sucking orgy....lmao..wetin be dis abi wetin dem wan show us sef...

666-I SACRIFICED MY MOM AND UNBORN CHILD FOR FAME AND WEALTH

DID SELENA GOMEZ GET A BOOB JOB..OR IS SHE DRINKING HER BF'S GERMAN JUICE..LOL..CHECK AM HERE

Yes it should be deleted it's not nice to me #onelovefromsnow#

SUNSET said...

They are not promoting breastfeeding, they are promoting nudity ....I'm glad facebook hasn't turned into a porn site yet!

DOS said...

But that's actually indecent exposure.. So i don't blame fb

We Luv Technology

Chei, the picture are really obscene. Linda, you too check out the pics nah. Facebook shouldnt have posted the pics.

7f098c19 said...

beautiful skin. mmm, sugar mummy's i think am beginning to want some. lol. Engr Emy

Not only should they delete the pix they should as well block that facebook account permanently. This pis isn't good at all for our youngsters on facebook to view.

D Bee said...

Facebook is right by removing this post. There better ways of celebrating and portraying the beauty of a breasting and over weight mother. You should do d same Linda and remove dis pix. Tx n God bless u

Facebook there wahala self...eeh

9jahub.com said...

nor be small boobs oh

Things like this are wrong in all areas.. totally morally wrong.. women's pride my dear. Col 3:14. @Bishop_Dammy

Silly picture...

The pictures are not appropriate to me
It deserves to be removed

But this is rubbish nau

This is very bad nude. Is not good @ all

wtf! may God help this generation that sees nothing bad in exposing there body.

Hmmmmm.....

Zamani said...

I don't like this sight/ photo before me. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

DNB Love Stories said...

Too nude. But still fine

Tendency oby said...

Nawah oo

yesssss enough of nudity weda the nipples show or not.Linda observe

Naked people is everywhere not just on facebook......if the law should be pass I guess it has to be in all social media.....me self am tired of seeing naked women everyday....

:::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::

Good facebook deleted it, he go post it on twitter, btw must mothers go completely nude to breastfeed a child? any pic is nudity because of sales.

Since its their policy not to show nipple, then I don't think idey were wrong but nice pix though. Linda take note!

Tony Shaka said...

This is the stage i love most in women,not when they've not tested motherhood.Men should learn treasure the natural and not the artificial.

Women breast-feeding their babies mustn't be shown with full nudity without reservation.

Why won't people keep their private parts to themselves?

Wat d hell is dis of course they should take it down,hisses

Why do pple seek 2 gain attention tru negative tins? The Americans are jst tired of living a normal lyf, instead they want wild and abnormal one. Rubbish women!

Hia, oooo

Arts indeed

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Whc kind art is diz?

Beautiful work of ARTz. It shld never be removed. Beside, which perv will lust after nursin mothers?

They were very rite to av removed it...

Al dis breast de block ma eyez frm commentin abeg....

She's totally shameless...When has nudity become the buzz of the moment?

all dis white people. dont ther forbid anytin all... na waook

#i'llmarch4GMB

Men/many are hypocrite..

Most of them complained while saving the pics to their device in order to jerk off with it in the future ooo

Perverted idiot... Lol

Sometimes I wonder what artist really see? Oh well .... some makes millions off some abstract painting!

Pure madness tufia

celebrating nudity is now the trend......God help us all

Are humans animals to go nude in public...dey no dey shame???? Celebrate nude kwa???

Lol @Anti nipple policy .But I do see nudes on Facebook? Abi my eye d deceive me?

Brown suga said...

Everytin for oyibo's is about freedom, expression & d rest but for me dis pix is a No No.

see as pikin dey play wit bobi

Wow!

So facebook do "delete" and they didn't care to block d ass hole dat posted rubbish on his wall showing naked harlots exhibiting their pussy and all dat.

Wow!

So facebook do "delete" and they didn't care to block d ass hole dat posted rubbish on his wall showing naked harlots exhibiting their pussy and all dat.

Its lewd and absurd. Men do not have mammary glands, how does it make sense to compare Ć  man's Nipple to a woman's ?

ASAMPOKOTO said...

It's very obscene

yes they shld remove it..... you are proud to be a mum so therefore u shld go naked, in reality are they usually naked when feeding babies... all for creativity but i think dse one is creativity gone far, let dem show some decency abeg

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Indifferent. #happyfriday

Lol! How did she miss blurring one nipple?!! Yes they should have! Too much nudity going on here! Women, put on some clothes, only the doctors and midwives need to see you like this, and while you're at it, put some clothes on the babies too! Lol!

Sagged breast is all i see...

Ma Fla said...

No decency again in this world. When Adam and Eve found out they were naked d bible said, the covered themselves even as they were before their maker(God) bcos they were ashamed and shy of their nakedness but in today's world being naked means being comfortable in one's skin. Tufiakwa!!! D devil just keeps having his way with some very blind people. #sad# #ideas from d pit of hell#

No comment pls

Goodluck Till2019 said...

This is not necessary. What is bad can never be good.

This is pure art!!! Only pervs will get offended by this!

Nudity has always been part of art,life as long as humans existed,i don't get y social media make a big deal out of it...absolutely nothing wrong in nudity done tastefully

HHAHAHAHA...DS WHYT SEF..C DEM WIT DIA REAL N NATURAL BODY NOT PLASTIC BODY..tomjerryswit

fikky babe said...

Don't mind them.

By the way, why r all these grown ass children still being breastfed oo?

destinysweet said...

Nudity d new trend

Auntylindagoddaughter

My brain has gone blank on this one

SWAAG said...

yes it should, but why post naked photos in the name of breast feeding?

am confused

What kind of stupid portrait is this.how can one call this creativity?nudeity is now the order of the day.

Beautiful wifey said...

God is indeed a patient God. I'm scared, what is this world turning into, nudity here and there. No shame! No dignity! This is really BAD!

Oh chi mu ooooooo

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Abi o, na him mama get am, but  love d pix...proud mothers

Ogbeni seat down somewhere mtchewwwwww

Nothing to it, very tastefully done and the women's bodies aren't repulsive or something, some men just don't like their food on display I guess.

Hypocrites! They appreciate Niki Minaj and that sort. This is art of nature's oldest industry since Adam and Eve. Text Fortune to 33020.

Its well!!!Godvis good""beautiful mothers JC

lami said...

I totally agree with u@Cute G.

hmm this is kinda confusing

Africans are funny. This same Africa where every body was naked until about 100 yrs ago. Abeg make u Na go sit down! There are posters of girls in their pants or the ones dancing in music videos that your kids watch yet mothers can not feed their babies in the natural way. Is the female body a sin? Are men not topless everywhere. Religion has really fucked up our mentality

Not really a nice picture...

omowunmi okunti said...

This is not right at all.

Kemdi said...

Models pose nude and they get admiration,breastfeeding mums do the same and it becomes unsightly. Twisted pple

What is 'machines'?? Sooo lame!!

I strongly believe that there is a demon behind social media.

it contain nudity and isn't good for children cos everybody visit facebook now

Yes because it ridicules motherhood which is a very noble profession.

It should be completely deleted even from source, is ds d only way to portray motherhood? Americans and dr way of thinking

Wetin be dx?

Guys ,this is not for promotion or any course, the western world just want to discredit God. Like some of you said, this is not right way to portray motherhood. In most of these countries, it's even a taboo to breastfeed babies in public and yet they are displaying a bunch of nude women in the name of promoting motherhood, that's not true.

This isn't a portrait but an insult to women. Its totally inappropriate and should be removed by facebook.

I like ur post man, men are not interested in seeing the real bodies again, unlike the the photoshopped ones. Dammy.

Abeg dey shud remove, it doesn't speak gud of motherhood

Art!!!

Can imagine! Dis whites are crazy!

Flora said...

So, wats d name of dis association??? Plus most of dose childrn are older dan 2 yrs ooo... Ha

Come on...the rules are the rules and she knew it. Don't think it has anything to do with the "body types". As liberal as I am...I mean, I don't mind nudity, but facebook is clear on their rules. The End!

Favour belle said...

So uncool...I second your thoughts @Cute G

Yes they should, the women are naked .

Madam Photographer so out of all the problems & troubles happening around the world, your biggest concern is to show other people's nipped. Nawa for some people

Not much of a nudist myself but I see her point. Good luck breaking down barriers by freeing the breast, lol.

Hmmmmm

Linda, there is nothing bad about facebook not deleting this, the only thing bad is that you had to post it on your blog to bring it to our attention when you already know its obscene, but i guess you know what you are doing. Make you dey remember say God dey sha..

All this women are disgrace to motherhood, if only d babies can speak,i can imagine wat dey will say to d bitches!

This is sooooo wrong

lord mosi said...

hmmm, isn't that meant for their husbands??

Celebration of ........
EARN ADDITIONAL INCOME INTO YOUR NIGERIA BANK ACCOUNT GUARANTEED SIMPLY DOING WHAT YOU DO NORMALLY! Just click on the link below to get started!
http://www.earnrealpay.net/aff/go/ekiomado

but they can allow videos/Images of men battering women or pictures of charred human remains...MORON

Uk Tog

Ogini? biko

"Why You Failed At Love" up on the blog www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Onyx post ur dick let's see. Ewuohia

prettiyz said...

This picture should never hv been posted