The strange tale of six brothers and one sister who grew up in New York but were never allowed out to explore the city's streets has become the subject of a new documentary.
The Angulo siblings - Bhagavan, 23, twins Govinda and Narayana, 22, Mukunda, 20, Krisna, 18, Jagadesh, 17, and their sister Visnu - lived with their parents on welfare in a four-bedroom apartment in Manhattan's Lower East Side. Their father, Oscar, kept the only key and the door was always locked.
Home-schooled
by their mother, the siblings found an outlet watching movies which
gave them a taste, albeit a warped one, of the outside world.
The lives of the Angulo family became the subject of film,The Wolfpack, from director Crystal Moselle.
The
documentary won the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival in
Utah last month. The six brothers and their mother Susanne also attended
the premiere. Their sister, Visnu, who is the eldest and suffers
developmental challenges, did not attend.
The
story emerged in 2010, when Ms Moselle met one of the brothers - then
aged between 11 and 18 years old - on a rare escape into the outside
world.
She
described first seeing them, on First Avenue, when they were all
walking in a 'pack', wearing sunglasses and with their long hair
blowing. Their look had been inspired by Reservoir Dogs.
Ms
Moselle said: 'It almost felt as if I had discovered a long lost tribe,
except it was not from the edges of the world but from the streets of
Manhattan.'
The
filmmaker befriended the boys, slowly earned the family's trust and was
invited into their sheltered world, bringing her camera with her.
Ms Moselle said that boy's mother, Susanne Angulo, slowly opened up to her but that the father, was a 'rollercoaster'.
Daily Mail Online was awaiting comment from the film's distributor, Magnolia Pictures.
According to the documentary's blurb, which runs to one hour and 24 minutes, it follows the siblings' isolated lives.
'All
exceedingly bright, they have no acquaintances outside of their family
and have practically never left home,' the film's press release reads.
They
fed their imaginations by meticulously re-enacting favorite movies -
works by Quentin Tarantino, Christopher Nolan and Martin Scorcese among
them.
Their
movie reconstructions were elaborate - at one point, two of the
brothers recreated Batman: Dark Knight Rises' costumes out of no more
than cereal boxes and yoga mats.
The
brother says: 'After I saw the Dark Knight, that made me believe that
something was possible to happen. Not because it was Batman, it’s
because it felt like another world.
'I did everything I could to make that world come true. To escape my world.'
In all they had watched about 5,000 movies which were rented or bought cheaply.
Finally,
one of the brothers escapes the home, and the clan is forced to
readjust and begin taking their first steps into society.
Ms. Moselle told The New York Times: 'It’s fascinating what the human spirit does when it’s confined.
80 comments:
Pheew,na wa o,wetin we no go hear.
This is strange
Visit my blog
www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com
Humm
Jeez!!! Rubbish
Hmmmmmmm
Notin person no go c in dis life ooo
Which kind house arrest b dat one
Funny father tho!
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Dat means dey are all Virgins, chai. I pray ooo #happyfriday
Good for them
RuBbish! No wonder De r so ugly
Well, i think they learned 4rom the all time best talkin bout Scorcese, Nolan n the almighty Tarantino. It can never get better than these 3 especially when u ve watched all their movies like i did. The kids indeed learnt well from these genius movies producers.
NA WOW OH, NOTING WAY DIS WHITE PPLE CANNOT DO, TRY AM FOR NAIJA.
hmmmm orishirishi,lol! remains me of the cartoon 'tangled'
All these stories that spring up from God knows where...next plz
My God, 23years in isolation. Wat kind of father is that?
Valentine's day outfit ideas@
Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com
Wow!
Dis is d type of family upbringing and virtues dat children carry along to their adulthood. D virtue of "self contentment".
Thumbs up to them.
I have often imagined what it would be like to grow up in isolation of the real world, that someone tried it is really amazing! They will start to experience everything but most of them as adults.
Wow!
Dis is d type of family upbringing and virtues dat children carry along to their adulthood. D virtue of "self contentment".
Thumbs up to them.
Nothing surprises me anymore
Wow!
Thumbs up to them.
Hmm strange!
Na what o so things like this still happen, they try o
Orishirishi
Hmm
This is serious
If na naija children them for escape jare still come back and the parents will not even know
Hmmm... What a story!
God forbid..see madness..they even look like serial killers................................#6God
Strange world, nothing man won't see in this world. They must be the most hostile and yet the best to be with when they become fascinated
Lin Lin pls be my Val!
Dem belike animals
Okay now for the first time am speechless
staying in my house for 23yrs i will just run mad. how did the cope being introduced to civilization.'
PADO
Hmmmmm, dats a real strange story. Linda take note!
Dat's so strange
Linda this one na story? really you dont have work.
Oyibi...nothing we no go hear
Odi egwu! Not only contamination but animation. Some control freak will not allow others freedom. If you think the world made you a failure you don't determine what it will make others through house arrest.
I am so happy for their freedom.
..Her Majesty
Odi egwu! Not only contamination but animation. Some control freak will not allow others freedom. If you think the world made you a failure you don't determine what it will make others through house arrest.
I am so happy for their freedom.
..Her Majesty
Na wa oooooo.wonders will never end
They look old school
God please forgive me but the look like george the jungle......so scary and weird.......damn!! Am so happy for the people that brought out socialization to this world........this is a definition of stay home disadvantage
:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::
weird stuffs do happen all the time.
Wow! I'm just trying to imagine how possible this is. These kids practically lost a quater of their lives. Nawah
Wow unbelievable
Hmmmmmmmm, oh Lord!!! Dis is incredible and unbelievable at the same time....WTF?? 23years under lock and key? I honestly find dis hard 2 believe.
Na wao! Things dey happen.
Craziness, wetin we no go hear
Terrific!
House arrest
Nawa oyibo mentality.
***floxycares***
Terrible.why did they not all escape??those kids wont really know what the real world is like i swear.
Strange....
Hmmm na wa !
Ok, so this madness is everywhere, not only Naija.
"Why You Failed At Love" up on the blog. www.udokajane.blogspot.com
Am so sorry to say but they've all grown to look like clueless idiots. ..Their dad has failed woefully as a father# smh
This is what happens when u have lunatic as parents...crazy world..
All sorts of bizzare stories everyday! No wonder the children all look like cavemen!!!
Real independent/freedom.. 23yrs, haha!
StillDatSame2015Dude
weird, strange and very sad!!
Na wa oooo! Oyibo and their mentality atimes. Everythin they knw in life was learnt from the four walls of their house. This is so unbelievable. No wonder they all have one kind ugly look
these people when u see then run away from them....ok they are psychos www.iwonpopular.com
Them for marry each other na.
@Sophia Stephen
this is serious
fastest way to fame
WHAT...Unbelievable! Me i for escape before i reach 5.
----
THE MOST INSIGHTFUL SCIENCE I'VE SEEN IN YEARS >> This Loophole Allows Any Man To Read A Woman's Thoughts As If They Were Written On Paper...
Vhiz is exactly what am planning for my kids...but mine wunt be dat long sha
Daffuq???Too weird.
Wonders shall never cease
This is incredibly incredible. I just pity them in the outside world, because they will remain gullible for a longtime.
A PSYCHO!!!!!!!!!
Odiegwu. Am glad they survived..
Na wa!
I guess they were happy with the way Their dad treated dem....becos the 6 guys cld Hve easily over powered their dad and dealt with him
Do u know u r annoying?
They still look strange in suit lol
This cant just be my life at all.
Interesting,our world with complexities
Na wa o.... I hope they don't have any psychological issues later on in life.
Let's help Sola walk again
Hmmmmmmm wetin we no go hear
Na wa. what won't we see and hear in this world. hmmmm
What a story