Meet the kids who never left their tiny NYC home for up to 23 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 February 2015

Meet the kids who never left their tiny NYC home for up to 23 years

These 6 brothers and a sister never left their home for 23 years because of a paranoid father who believed that New York would contaminate them. The children had to learn everything they know from watching over 5,000 movies. Read the strange story below from UK Daily Mail
The strange tale of six brothers and one sister who grew up in New York but were never allowed out to explore the city's streets has become the subject of a new documentary.
The Angulo siblings - Bhagavan, 23, twins Govinda and Narayana, 22, Mukunda, 20, Krisna, 18, Jagadesh, 17, and their sister Visnu - lived with their parents on welfare in a four-bedroom apartment in Manhattan's Lower East Side. Their father, Oscar, kept the only key and the door was always locked. 
Home-schooled by their mother, the siblings found an outlet watching movies which gave them a taste, albeit a warped one, of the outside world. 

The lives of the Angulo family became the subject of film,The Wolfpack, from director Crystal Moselle. 
The documentary won the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival in Utah last month. The six brothers and their mother Susanne also attended the premiere. Their sister, Visnu, who is the eldest and suffers developmental challenges, did not attend. 

The story emerged in 2010, when Ms Moselle met one of the brothers - then aged between 11 and 18 years old - on a rare escape into the outside world.
She described first seeing them, on First Avenue, when they were all walking in a 'pack', wearing sunglasses and with their long hair blowing. Their look had been inspired by Reservoir Dogs.

Ms Moselle said: 'It almost felt as if I had discovered a long lost tribe, except it was not from the edges of the world but from the streets of Manhattan.' 
The filmmaker befriended the boys, slowly earned the family's trust and was invited into their sheltered world, bringing her camera with her.
Ms Moselle said that boy's mother, Susanne Angulo, slowly opened up to her but that the father, was a 'rollercoaster'.
Daily Mail Online was awaiting comment from the film's distributor, Magnolia Pictures. 
According to the documentary's blurb, which runs to one hour and 24 minutes, it follows the siblings' isolated lives.
'All exceedingly bright, they have no acquaintances outside of their family and have practically never left home,' the film's press release reads. 

They fed their imaginations by meticulously re-enacting favorite movies - works by Quentin Tarantino, Christopher Nolan and Martin Scorcese among them.
Their movie reconstructions were elaborate - at one point, two of the brothers recreated Batman: Dark Knight Rises' costumes out of no more than cereal boxes and yoga mats. 

The brother says: 'After I saw the Dark Knight, that made me believe that something was possible to happen. Not because it was Batman, it’s because it felt like another world. 

'I did everything I could to make that world come true. To escape my world.' 
In all they had watched about 5,000 movies which were rented or bought cheaply. 

The parents above...

Finally, one of the brothers escapes the home, and the clan is forced to readjust and begin taking their first steps into society.  
Ms. Moselle told The New York Times: 'It’s fascinating what the human spirit does when it’s confined.
'The downside to all the movies - and they have seen, like, 5,000 - is that there are certain formulas to them. 

'Real life is different. In real life, the girl doesn’t always break your heart. The boys are still struggling to understand that.'
The children come across as a likable and intelligent group in the film, despite their unimaginably sheltered lives.
Their mother, Susanne, appears to have been controlled to the same extent that her children were.

She is described as a former hippie from the Midwest who is both the provider and educator for the family. She met her husband on the trail to Machu Picchu. 

Their father, Oscar, appears on briefly on camera. The Peruvian immigrant, who is devoted to Hare Krishna, appears caught in a struggle with paranoia and alcohol. 
The once aspiring musician, with a deep love for AC/DC, instilled his love of music in his sons and daughter. He believes that New York will 'contaminate' his children.
However filmmaker Ms Moselle reserved judgement on Mr Angulo, telling The Times: 'The thing is, these brothers are some of the most gentle, insightful, curious people I’ve ever met. Something was clearly done right.'

According to The Times, social services did have involvement at the home and the children have received some psychiatric treatment. 
In the film, all the siblings can be seen struggling with resentment towards their father for the life they have been forced to lead. 

Six of the siblings still live in the family's Lower East Side apartment - only Govinda Angulo has let home.
From left to right) Jagadisa, Govinda, Narayana, producer Izabella Tzenkova, associate producer Megan Delaney, the siblings' mother Susanne Angulo, director Crystal Moselle, Bhagavan, Jagadisa, and Mukunda attend The Wolfpack premiere during the 2015 Sundance Film Festival at the Temple Theate in Park City, Utah

80 comments:

Pheew,na wa o,wetin we no go hear.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

This is strange

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Dotted lines said...

Humm

Jeez!!! Rubbish

Hmmmmmmm
Notin person no go c in dis life ooo
Which kind house arrest b dat one
Funny father tho!
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Dat means dey are all Virgins, chai. I pray ooo #happyfriday

Good for them

RuBbish! No wonder De r so ugly

Well, i think they learned 4rom the all time best talkin bout Scorcese, Nolan n the almighty Tarantino. It can never get better than these 3 especially when u ve watched all their movies like i did. The kids indeed learnt well from these genius movies producers.

NA WOW OH, NOTING WAY DIS WHITE PPLE CANNOT DO, TRY AM FOR NAIJA.

hmmmm orishirishi,lol! remains me of the cartoon 'tangled'

All these stories that spring up from God knows where...next plz

Linda Fashion Blog said...

My God, 23years in isolation. Wat kind of father is that?

Valentine's day outfit ideas@
Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

Wow!

Dis is d type of family upbringing and virtues dat children carry along to their adulthood. D virtue of "self contentment".

Thumbs up to them.

I have often imagined what it would be like to grow up in isolation of the real world, that someone tried it is really amazing! They will start to experience everything but most of them as adults.

Wow!

Dis is d type of family upbringing and virtues dat children carry along to their adulthood. D virtue of "self contentment".

Thumbs up to them.

Nothing surprises me anymore

Wow!

Thumbs up to them.

CHERRY said...

Hmm strange!

Na what o so things like this still happen, they try o

Orishirishi

Hmm
This is serious
If na naija children them for escape jare still come back and the parents will not even know

Hmmm... What a story!

God forbid..see madness..they even look like serial killers................................#6God

Strange world, nothing man won't see in this world. They must be the most hostile and yet the best to be with when they become fascinated

Lin Lin pls be my Val!

omo jasmine said...

Dem belike animals

zipibyte.com said...

Okay now for the first time am speechless

staying in my house for 23yrs i will just run mad. how did the cope being introduced to civilization.'
PADO

Hmmmmm, dats a real strange story. Linda take note!

Dat's so strange

Ginger said...

Linda this one na story? really you dont have work.

Oyibi...nothing we no go hear

African Icon said...

Odi egwu! Not only contamination but animation. Some control freak will not allow others freedom. If you think the world made you a failure you don't determine what it will make others through house arrest.

I am so happy for their freedom.

..Her Majesty

African Icon said...

Odi egwu! Not only contamination but animation. Some control freak will not allow others freedom. If you think the world made you a failure you don't determine what it will make others through house arrest.

I am so happy for their freedom.

..Her Majesty

Na wa oooooo.wonders will never end

They look old school

God please forgive me but the look like george the jungle......so scary and weird.......damn!! Am so happy for the people that brought out socialization to this world........this is a definition of stay home disadvantage

:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::

weird stuffs do happen all the time.

Wow! I'm just trying to imagine how possible this is. These kids practically lost a quater of their lives. Nawah

Abeni said...

Wow unbelievable

Hmmmmmmmm, oh Lord!!! Dis is incredible and unbelievable at the same time....WTF?? 23years under lock and key? I honestly find dis hard 2 believe.

lami said...

Na wao! Things dey happen.

Craziness, wetin we no go hear

Fola said...

Terrific!

House arrest

Nawa oyibo mentality.

***floxycares***

Terrible.why did they not all escape??those kids wont really know what the real world is like i swear.

Strange....

Hmmm na wa !

Ok, so this madness is everywhere, not only Naija.

"Why You Failed At Love" up on the blog. www.udokajane.blogspot.com

PRETTY GIRL said...

Am so sorry to say but they've all grown to look like clueless idiots. ..Their dad has failed woefully as a father# smh

This is what happens when u have lunatic as parents...crazy world..

All sorts of bizzare stories everyday! No wonder the children all look like cavemen!!!

Real independent/freedom.. 23yrs, haha!

StillDatSame2015Dude

weird, strange and very sad!!

OJAI baby said...

Na wa oooo! Oyibo and their mentality atimes. Everythin they knw in life was learnt from the four walls of their house. This is so unbelievable. No wonder they all have one kind ugly look

IWP said...

these people when u see then run away from them....ok they are psychos www.iwonpopular.com

Them for marry each other na.

@Sophia Stephen

this is serious
fastest way to fame

OPEN HER BOX! said...

WHAT...Unbelievable! Me i for escape before i reach 5.
----
THE MOST INSIGHTFUL SCIENCE I'VE SEEN IN YEARS >> This Loophole Allows Any Man To Read A Woman's Thoughts As If They Were Written On Paper...

joy anthony said...

Vhiz is exactly what am planning for my kids...but mine wunt be dat long sha

Daffuq???Too weird.

Wonders shall never cease

This is incredibly incredible. I just pity them in the outside world, because they will remain gullible for a longtime.

A PSYCHO!!!!!!!!!

Odiegwu. Am glad they survived..

Na wa!

I guess they were happy with the way Their dad treated dem....becos the 6 guys cld Hve easily over powered their dad and dealt with him

Do u know u r annoying?

Jeni_zee said...

They still look strange in suit lol

Nomso said...

This cant just be my life at all.

Interesting,our world with complexities

Petite Diva said...

Na wa o.... I hope they don't have any psychological issues later on in life.
Let's help Sola walk again

Hmmmmmmm wetin we no go hear

Muobs said...

Na wa. what won't we see and hear in this world. hmmmm

What a story