Pope Francis: there are limits to freedom of expression | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 January 2015

Pope Francis: there are limits to freedom of expression

On a plane from Sri Lanka to the Philippines today, the head of the Catholic Church, Pope Francis talked about the recent Charlie Hebdo attack in Paris. While defending freedom of expression saying its a fundamental human right, he also said ‘you cannot insult the faith of others’
"One cannot provoke, one cannot insult other people’s faith, one cannot make fun of faith. There is a limit. Every religion has its dignity...in freedom of expression there are limits.”
He gestured to a friend and said “If my good friend Dr Gasparri says a curse word against my mother, he can expect a punch. It’s normal. It’s normal. You cannot provoke. You cannot insult the faith of others. You cannot make fun of the faith of others.”

249 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 249 of 249

Its like pope francis is still living in the old testament saying dat"an eye for an eye".
The new testament says"when some slaps ur one cheek, u turn the other cheek for him to slap".
Also, u forgive ur brother's offence, 70x7 times.
I am a catholic but most times, I dont agree wit pope francis line of thinking at all!!!
Sorry, but i dont like him as my pope, i never had.

Abeg kedu,pope Nwa nmadu is saying punch not kill as an example, and he is right, if is some people here saying I ain't agree, I aint Agree, if na der mama they punch as in freedom of speech, heyyyyy, come see freedom of fight hahahaha, easier said than done, pope nwannem, you dey rightoooo, na me be sexy wealth.

@ PATALEX you should understand that some people are very dull, and do nothing to educate and improve their intellect, hence they can't be on that said level, the more u pay attention to d comments on this thread the more the stupidity offends you, some people will remain stupid for eternity, it's not your prerogative to educate them...lol

Islam with them rigid religion that can't take a joke, do they have to kill to make their point Blood suckers!!!

Pope is hundred percent right. He said punch not kill, he uses punch as an example, All those pple saying I ain't agree, oyibo, if na their mama, it will be freedom of fight lol , ana eme, na me be sexy wealth

D J STELCH, take over na. You think say na Nigerian politics?

666 EMERGING STYLISHLY.IF YOU CANT SEE,NA YOU KNOW OOO.AK....SEE SOMETHING

True word of wisdom . coming from the holy man himself. God bless you for us . Our one true pope

Hmmm I'm a catholic n I adore my faith but I'm not very much happy about the pope's comment he has good intentions but his statement is questionable yes is wrong to ridicule other people's religion but taking lives in return is not normal he's indirectly saying he understands their grievances n action he could have condemned d action at least.

@ STELCH, mind wat u say b4 u dig ur own grave cos d last time I checked, d Popo didn't beg u to feel him at all.... Go and take over him na, wat re u waiting for??? #Rubbish # Long Hisssss

Well said!

LaaBee said...

He didn't say its ok to kill. He said don't provoke people into reacting.You cannot taut people and expect them not to react. Yes, the reaction here was very sickening and cruel, but we know how Muslim fundamentalists take these things. follow my blog though on www.laabee.blogspot.com

Do u av sense of reasoning?pls pray 4 me wisdom fake dj

If a God cannot fight for Himself and requires you to fight for Him then He is no God. You nailed it!!!

English pls...ur language cld cause virus here dear

Hajiya Barbie said...

Y is it hard for Nigerian adult to simply understand common sentence?? Na wa oo

See who's taking pls pack well jareee, na person like u go do more than a punch.

He is not asking u to kill, he is only telling u d consequences of not controlling ur tongue. I wonder y we Nigerian s always turn things upside down once the person in question is not part of ur congregation. Pls if u a Christian, behave like one and stop crucifying a person becos u r not frn that church. Nigerian mentality

@ PATALEX, pls tell them... Truth is always bitter... smh

Well I will say if the pope can do that, it means he isn't broken. And as for the freedom of speech thing Islam has constituted more problem in this world no matter what if there is truly a God let him fight for himself. Afterall the muslim say Jesus isn't the son of God so do the christian result to fighting and killing. The countries in the world with war are mainly fighting for the cause of Allah. Pls as an educated person it is logical to know this religion has no peace in it

Period! Do to others what you want them do to you. Stay Blessed pope.

There's nothing wrong with wat he has said....

You are d one that's sick. Foolish you

Well I will say if the pope can do that, it means he isn't broken. And as for the freedom of speech thing Islam has constituted more problem in this world no matter what if there is truly a God let him fight for himself. Afterall the muslim say Jesus isn't the son of God so do the christian result to fighting and killing. The countries in the world with war are mainly fighting for the cause of Allah. Pls as an educated person it is logical to know this religion has no peace in it

lol lmao.. this is the funniest most entertaining Pope ever! That said, as the head of the catholic church and the 'POPE'!!! you should not have made a statement like that not after this kind of tragedy!

You dont fight for God...leave Him to fight those that mock Him. Nothing justifies their wicked actions!! After all mere mortals come out to mock the Almighty n claim dy r Jesus, hw many has christians killed...

Hmmmmmm

Deedee said...

I AGREE 100%, CORRECT MAN OF GOD. GOD BLESS U 4 SPEAKING D TRUTH.

Yes boss ah feel you jaae tell em wah they don't know

well said, we shouldn't mock th faith of others and also killing doesn't justify it either, two wrongs can't make a right.

I think we are getting his message wrong. He said you can expect a punch but he did not say he will actually throw that punch. Not throwing the punch signifies tolerance and forgiveness.
I stand by my words when i say Muslims have no sense of tolerance, and to those who say they do not insult Jesus, you all insult him when you call christians infidels??

Dont v jamb to study for? Or u think linda's giveaways will last forever?

you know, as a blogger, you don't give people wrong impression just because you want attention. do well to complete the sentence so people don't get the wrong impression or make wrong assumptions. not everyone think logically so don't lead them astray. please note this.

Chili Pepa said...

This pope is walking on the very dangerous edge with these his radical views. Why endorse terrorism? It is not okay to insult others' religions but there are other ways to express grievance than murdering people. Haba

We are human n can never,I repeat can never be spotless,thats y God is merciful n forgiving....we all know wat the bible says royal priesthood...

Mumu children

What the Pope meant is cursing someone's mother warrant something close to a punch n that won't kill no one
Lindaikeji.blogspot.com take note

It's common sense. If u know someone can't take a joke, u don't make such mistake. Can u insult a drunk trigger happy Naija policeman even broad day light and not get the expected reaction.

TEEDEE said...

In as much as i am member of the catholic faith, i cant help but disagree on this subject PAPAL....some points valid but there should be no amount of provocation that should lead to violence or killing

The Pope spoke my mind a million times. Why make satirical comment against Prophet Mohammed? Why Prophet Mohammed? Im Catholic and when people say anything against Jesus Christ, it pains me real bad. U dont have to make fun of someone's belief and put other religions down. why dont you satirize other historical figures like Socrates, etc. anyone but Prophet Mohammed. What Hebdo did was quite uncharitable. When he did that years ago, i condemned it in my private world and I still do. I dont support the killings and no right thinking person should but I dont support the satirical comments either. The world is big enough to accommodate all, lets all tolerate one another.

give urselves brain said...

its funny how myopic some of us thinks...tel me how u cant relate to what d pope said...in his words again but in borken language "if u curse my mama,make u expect say i (fit) punch u"...simple enuf now for some of d mufus writing crap?

Nice of the pope to support Islam. Next he will ask us all to convert.

Brothers and sisters ....i came across some racist front page from these Chralie Hebdo guys and i said to myself they were not killed early,honestly i hate racists with my last blood ...they should go and die in jail. for thinking they were created better than other people.fuck them.*angryface"#fuckharlie#

MlleP said...

This pope is very intelligent! I'm not muslim and I do not support violence. However, I totally agree with Pope Francis, there should be a limit to freedom of expression

The Pope has spoken.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 249 of 249   Newer› Newest»